This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms J from Woking

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

The most incredible, amazing holiday

Tanzania and 1 other country between 3 Dec 2016 and 16 Dec 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had the most incredible, amazing holiday. It was truly a holiday of a lifetime.

The gorillas were unforgettable in Rwanda and I would definitely advise others who are thinking of going to do a trip to the golden monkeys first and two trips to the gorillas, as the second trip was even better than the first. We got so close to the gorillas we could have touched them (we didn't!). A silverback actually brushed past my husband - we all held our breath!

The safari in Tanzania was also incredible, but made even more special by our driver Faso who was so knowledgeable about all the animals and birds.

The holiday was not cheap, but it was worth every penny that we paid and would not hesitate to recommend Expert Africa. In fact, we are already of thinking about doing another safari, once we have saved up a bit!!

I want to thank Expert Africa for organising our trip.

We have lots of videos (especially of the gorillas) and photos if you would like us to send you some."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Great time at Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2016
"The Gorilla Mountain Lodge is in a great location with amazing views of the mountains where the monkeys and gorillas live. The lodge is quite quirky, with rooms spread out over the site. The food was great; three courses at lunch and dinner with plenty of options. The evenings were quite chilly so we had a real fire in our rooms, which were very welcome. Also, hot water bottles in our beds; very nice!!

We had a great time here, the only negative points we would say is on the point of tipping. We decided to leave a tip at the end of our stay, to be shared amongst all the staff. Whenever any of the staff did anything for us they would linger, obviously waiting for a tip. We actually found this quite embarrassing and it made us feel uncomfortable. I would suggest that the hotel is made aware of this, as I am sure other people felt the same.

Whilst in Rwanda, we organised a private driver-guide and 4WD for these travellers. They commented:

Theo picked us up from the airport and was very professional at all times. He was a very careful and safe driver and made us feel very confident, even when we were in busy traffic. He was very knowledgeable and told us a lot about Rwanda and the genocide that happened. He recommended a visit to the local market which we found very interested. We didn't really do a lot with him as we were only in Rwanda 4 days; one day travelling to the gorillas and three days seeing the monkeys and gorillas.

On our return to the airport my daughter left her passport in the hotel. Fortunately Theo hadn't left the airport and was waiting to make sure we got on the plane OK. He quickly took my husband back to the hotel to pick up the passport; I don't know what we would have done if he had gone."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Luxurious stay at Hotel des Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 6 Dec 2016
"We only stayed at this hotel one night on our way to Tanzania but were very impressed with it. It was very much like any international hotel; very chic.

We were very tired and decided to have a massage. It was one of the best massages I've had."
Excellent
Location
Good
Rooms
Good
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

"Amaizing stay at Kati Kati Camp"

4 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2016
"We had the most AMAIZING time here. Yes, it's a tent, and is quite basic, but it was fabulous.

We had lovely clean comfy beds and a sink and flush toilet. The 'shower' was a man behind the tent with a bucket of hot water hoisting it up shouting 'shower no. 1 ready'. It was great. The food was great, especially considering we were in the middle of know where in a tent. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. Each evening they would make a camp fire and we would sit round it listening to all the animals.

One evening, the animals were making a lot of noise and we couldn't get to sleep. All of a sudden we heard a huge 'crack' outside our tent. We had a peek out and right next to our tent was a huge elephant that had knocked down a tree and was ripping the bark off. Incredible.

It was really the best experience we had in Tanzania."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

"Very nice stay at Bougainvillea Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2016
"Nice stay here, the rooms were basic but nice and there was a welcome swimming pool.

Throughout their time in Tanzania, we organised a private driver-guide and 4WD for these travellers. They commented:

What can I say about Fazo? He was the most amazing guide I think anyone could have had. He was patient, pleasant and kind and his driving was extremely safe and sensible. He seemed to know everything about every animal in Tanzania, without exception. He also seemed to know where all the animals were and within 2 hours of arriving in Tanzania we had seen 4 of the big 5.

We saw 4 leopards, three cheetahs, dozens of lions and cubs and we even saw a pack of wild dogs, twice, which hadn't been seen in the Serengetti for 10 years. I don't know whether we were just lucky or not, but Fazo just seemed to know where to go to see the animals we wanted to see.

One day he took us to a remote part of the Serengetti where there were few other tourists. It was great to be out on the planes and we saw lots of different animals there which we didn't see around the touristy areas.

Fazo was genuinely superb and we would definitely like to use him again if we ever went back to the Serengetti."
Good
Location
Good
Food
Average
Rooms
Good
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

"Great location with lovely views"

1 night Arrived 13 Dec 2016
"The Kiruruma Manyara Lodge is in a great location and we had a great view over Lake Manyara. The tents are basic but well equipped with flushing toilet and shower.

The food wasn't great here, probably the worst food we had during our trip. The breakfast was particularly poor, very little choice with birds pecking at all the fruit which was left uncovered.

Evening meal wasn't too good either, again with very little choice as a vegetarian."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari Lodge

"Great stay at the Tarangire Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2016
"The Tarangire Safari Lodge has the most amazing view overlooking the valley with baobab trees, river and animals.

The tents themselves were a little tired and could do with some TLC. There was no electricity in the tent until 6.00 pm which wasn't a problem, but if we wanted a shower before that time, it was almost in the dark.

We had some great cocktails here and probably had the best food here. Lots of choice, especially for vegetarians, and had a great packed lunch.

There were animals all around the tents, dikdiks, antelopes and vervet monkeys. Great experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team