This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms K & Mr B from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

Can't wait to return

Tanzania and 1 other country between 8 Oct 2014 and 22 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall the trip was great.

Some gliches. Lots of traffic from Zanzibar because of arriving evening last day of Ramadan. Luggage broken into and things stolen from luggage at Nairobi airport. No museum visit at Olduvai gorge and no lunch provided last day of safai as outlined in itinerary. Lots of flight delays. Last Masai village visit we felt extorted for the suggested donation of $200.

However, this was the best trip we have ever taken and we travel extensively. Thanks again to the staff of expert Africa for matching us up once again with a like minded couple whose company we enjoyed and for providing a TRIP WHOSE WONDERFUL MEMORIES WILL LAST ALL OUR LIVES. We hope to do a 3rd trip with your company."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

"Treated like Royalty at Dhow Palace"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"We felt like we were in a very special and exotic place. The hotel had lots of character and charm.

We loved the zanzibari bed and the Persian bath. The rooftop terrace was a delight for sunset viewing We had the terrace all to ourselves. We also enjoyed having the balcony overlooking the pool and the breakfast provided was more than adequate."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Princess Salme Spice Tour

Princess Salme Spice Tour

"Anjam Hassan is the guide you want!"

9 Oct 2014 • All-day excursion

The Princess Salme tour was outstanding! Informative,entertaining and delightful describes our guide Anjam.

We did have a slight issue with Fishman tours office as they insisted we had not pre paid. When our driver brought me to the office, a woman there showed me the body of an e-mail from Expert Africa asking for payment. The e-mail did not show a client name or reference #. When I asked to see both she reluctantly showed me the client name and # which was a different party entirely. I pointed this out and we were on our way. We not only enjoyed the tour but the included lunch was outstanding as well. We truly enjoyed the experience.
Excellent
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Ponwe Beach is Paradise found"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"Ponwe Bech Hotel was everything we hoped for and more. We had the end unit furthest away from reception (as requested thanks!) To fall asleep to the sound of waves every night was priceless.

The staff and food were perfect as well as the atmosphere in the bar (great music). This hotel experience alone is worth a trip to Zanzibar. The infinity pool was enjoyed daily as wee as walks in the ocean at low tide. The statfish became true stars as we photographed the many different types we saw while wading in the water. Starfish that looked like gingerbread with icing and navy blue sarfish and all the colorful sea urchins truly amazed us.

We also took a walk to the village when the tide was out. The local people were very friendly to us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

The Arusha Hotel

"Aruha Hotel good laction"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2014
"The hotel in Arusha had a good location , but was lacking in amenities. The pool was not heated as advertised and the Jacuzzi was broken.

The doorman tried to discourage us from walking to the Masai Market without an escort form the hotel, telling us that we would not be safe. It was 1pm and it was a short walk and the Bradt guide recommended it , so we walked over ourselves anyway. We enjoyed ourselves and I bought many items. The vendors were very anxious to sell as mentioned in the guide and very persistent , but polite."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

"Tarangire small park but big on game"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2014
"The lodge was comfortable and the food was good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

"Kirurumu Manyara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2014
"We loved the Kilmanjaro unit we were given here. Beautiful views.

We felt that the masai guide was too hard sell on his book he had co written. He even posed on a rock for pictures while holding his book we he presigned and practically forced us to buy for $25."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

"Hard to leave the Lodge its too nice!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2014
"Beautiful views. Excellent food. Great bedding. Good service.

Top notch except for boxed breakfast packs which were terrible. Chips and a candy bar in a breakfast pack? Really?"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Image alt

Kirurumu Serengeti Camp

"Kirukumu Camp not to be missed"

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2014
"The staff was remarkable at the camp. They kept the tents immaculate, cooked delicious meals and had our buket shower the perfect temperature. all with a smile. We were even treated to a surprise birthday celebration for Bill (thank you!) There are not adjectives to describe what a fabulous experience they provided. Plus, we even heard lions outside our tent at night. Fabulous!!!

Great bedding too. One drawback. If you are short like me the shower handle can't be reached. A step stoll would be helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team