This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani

Reviews of Qambani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

13 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Qambani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 13
Duration
Arrival date
J+G
Portstewart

"Qambani review"

6 nights Arrived 9 Dec 2023
"Very enjoyable stay at Qambani. Food was great with new lunch and dinner menu daily with great fish dishes. Is about 90 minutes from Stone Town so we didn't feel a day trip there was worth it. We opted for snorkelling from a nearby beach which was good fun and coral was pretty vibrant. Was a welcome rest after a busy week on safari. Beach is quite nice for a walk, it is very tidal but when the tide is in it is beautiful." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ava
NYC

"Absolutely stunning property "

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2023
"Absolutely stunning property with unobtrusive but attentive service. The common areas and villas were impeccably appointed. Entering the property took our collective breath away. We ate, drank, lounged in the pools all day, and practiced the art of 'pole pole' or slowing down from our busy lives. They provided kayaks which we took into the ocean when the tide was in. The beach is mostly a coral reef (?) so not too swimmable, but is nonetheless lovely with crystal clear turquoise waters and powder white sand. It's also practically private when the tide is in; we had it entirely to ourselves when kayaking. I loved that each meal was set up in a different location and that the menus changed every day. Their in-house masseuse is brilliant - I had the best massage of my life here!

The food taste ranged from OK to great. There were some minor communication issues (such as their brochure listing that you were invited into their kitchen and that the chef would recommend off-menu dishes for you) - but when we asked about this, the staff and chef looked really confused. However, communication improved a lot when we started using their WhatsApp number to ask questions and place orders, so maybe it was just a language issue. We were also able to request a specific off-menu item on the second day and they made it for us.

Overall a wonderful, memorable, relaxing and bespoke experience at one of the most gorgeous properties I've ever seen. Would highly, highly recommend." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
SA
Kingston upon T

"Qambani review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2023
"Exceptional location. Brilliant staff. Great rooms. Fantastic beach that almost feels like a private one.

Flexibility (within reason) on food choices and very responsive staff.

Infinity pool is a real highlight.

Suggestion: Kayaking equipment and set-up needs better upkeep and was short of the standard you would expect in a resort this extraordinary. However, still worked and made for a special day on the water." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Peyia,

"Qambani review"

5 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2023
"Secluded and isolated which allows for a peaceful and tranquil stay. Only 5 villas so very much private and special.

Villa was very spacious with a nice verandah and balcony area. Huge bathroom, all impeccably clean and luxurious.

Food was good and accommodated dietary needs when necessary. All the staff are attentive and passionate about looking after you.

Swimming pool a delightful area with very comfy sun loungers and again first class service for drinks/ food." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mrs. K
Minnesota

"Qambani review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2021
"Wow, we loved Qambani. Our villa was luxurious, and it was incredible to have that type of relaxation and beauty at the end of a week and a half of safari and bumpy game drives.

Our host was welcoming and extremely helpful in setting things up for us and making sure we were happy about everything. The food here is phenomenal - you get to pick your meals (like a restaurant) from a daily menu.

The infinity pool was really nice to have. The ocean wasn't great because of the location on the island - the tide has pulled the water out for most of the day.

Still, we would love to be able to stay here again!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr W.
Brussels

"Qambani review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2021
"A real luxury resort that doesn't feel like a honey moon place.

Until I saw this pool, I didn't understand what an infinity pool meant. and the beach is amazingly beautiful." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Zambia; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family G
Newbury

"Beautiful hotel with fantastic chief "

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2019
"Although the unmade road to the hotel, lack of signage, and poor entrance/gates didn’t give great first impressions, it really didn’t matter as the hotel itself is delightful. The decor is wonderful, with fantastic rooms, the staff willing, and the position great overlooking the beautiful blue sea. There is a lovely infinity pool too.

The South African chef, Philip, made us all extremely welcome, and went out of his way to accommodate our tastes. His cooking is excellent. You can alter the menu, decide when you want to take meals, and have snacks during the day. The local Swahili dishes on the menu one night were fun." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
DGJM
London

"Gorgeous beach resort end to trip"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"Qambani is a beautiful resort with access to beaches but also a few great pools on-site. Our villa was the most secluded and looked different from the others, with its Moorish architecture - but was also great as this was the conclusion to our honeymoon. This may not be the best spot for travellers who don't wish to be far away from the rest of the resort, or who have difficulty with steps.

I was a bit concerned when we were not greeted immediately upon our arrival - but we soon realized that this is because there is no official "front desk" or "check-in area". The whole resort is meant to feel like home for guests, and they have basically access to all the areas for lounging, etc. For the most part, we did not have difficulty finding staff if we needed anything during our stay.

The villa itself was well maintained, and any issues we ran into were solved very quickly. I especially loved the toiletries provided! We also had a private plunge pool, which had beautiful views of sunsets each evening. We were also able to utilize a roof deck for meals and spa treatments.

The staff was very friendly and always greeted us with a smile. Meals were very well-done, and even though we were told that we could make special requests, we were pretty much always open and happy to take the lunch and dinner meals as suggested. It is a nice touch to be able to have your meals at a time and location of your choosing, and luckily the staff was flexible if we had not made up our minds in the morning.

We weren't sure what to expect after reading that the tide goes out ~1.5km during low tide, and that the beach in front of the resort is essentially tide pools - but we enjoyed utilizing that time to take a walk out and check out the marine life, or lounge in our villa or at one of the resort's main pools. Indeed, the infinity pool with the swing is a standout! Going for morning and evening swims during high tide was also wonderful. We utilized the resort's kayaks, snorkel masks and aqua shoes.

We were especially appreciative of the personalized touches during our stay - complimentary champagne to help us celebrate our honeymoon, and a private dinner set up for our last night at the resort." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R&K
Castle Rock CO

"Beautiful grounds but issues with service"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2019
"We visited mid-July 2019. The grounds are beautiful and a very secluded location on the tip of the Michamvi peninsula. There is not really a beach at high tide, and at low tide the reef rocks go out probably 300 meters so it's not 'classic' Zanzibar beach.

However our main concern was the poor attention to details that we expected. The initial room we were booked in was one of the original buildings - musty, dark, no window in the bathroom, dirty water in the Nespresso machine.... We did get a room change on request without problem. We left laundry and it wasn't done by 9p the evening before an early departure and had we not reminded them we wouldn't have gotten it back. The food was very heavy - fried, not an emphasis on vegetables or when they were they were drowned in heavy dressing." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Tom
London

"Beautiful hotel with amazing rooms"

5 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Qambani was a stunning hotel in a beautiful setting.

We loved the room, whilst the pool was huge and had the most gorgeous views.

The staff were lovely and the food was very very good." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 13
95%
13 reviews of Qambani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
0
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Michamvi Peninsula

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Breezes Beach Club

Breezes Beach Club

Breezes Beach Club is a family-style resort that also appeals to honeymooners, and is perfect if you want plenty of facilities.


91% (37 reviews)
Baraza Resort & Spa

Baraza Resort & Spa

Baraza is a high-quality resort, with a buzzing atmosphere and a range of activities that appeal both to families and lively honeymooners.


94% (14 reviews)
The Palms

The Palms

The Palms is an exclusive and luxurious beach getaway - though the main areas are small – next to Breezes and sharing Breezes' facilities.


100% (5 reviews)
White Sand Villas

White Sand Villas

Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa is a stylish, small resort lodge located near the town of Paje.


100% (5 reviews)
Sultan Palace

Sultan Palace

Romantic Sultan Palace is a luxurious sea-view lodge that is deal for honeymooners and couples, with fantastic food and a secluded beach.


95% (4 reviews)
Xanadu Villas

Xanadu Villas

Situated on a picturesque beach on the Michamvi Peninsula, Xanadu Villas is a sophisticated boutique hotel with six luxurious private villas.


100% (3 reviews)
Kono Kono Beach Villas

Kono Kono

Kono Kono is a contemporary beach resort on a quiet stretch of west-facing beach on the Michamvi peninsula.


73% (3 reviews)
Anna of Zanzibar

Anna of Zanzibar

Anna of Zanzibar’s warm atmosphere and five spacious and inviting villas make it a great place for a relaxed stay on a lovely stretch of beach.


80% (1 review)
Zawadi Hotel

Zawadi

Set on a pretty cove on Zanzibar’s Michamvi Peninsula, Zawadi is a modern boutique hotel offering lots of space and privacy.


100% (1 review)
Kisiwa On The Beach

Kisiwa On The Beach

Kisiwa On The Beach is a small resort lodge located near the town of Paje.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa