This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani
Qambani

Reviews of Qambani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Qambani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Family G
Newbury

"Beautiful hotel with fantastic chief "

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2019
"Although the unmade road to the hotel, lack of signage, and poor entrance/gates didn’t give great first impressions, it really didn’t matter as the hotel itself is delightful. The decor is wonderful, with fantastic rooms, the staff willing, and the position great overlooking the beautiful blue sea. There is a lovely infinity pool too.

The South African chef, Philip, made us all extremely welcome, and went out of his way to accommodate our tastes. His cooking is excellent. You can alter the menu, decide when you want to take meals, and have snacks during the day. The local Swahili dishes on the menu one night were fun.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
DGJM
London

"Gorgeous beach resort end to trip"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"Qambani is a beautiful resort with access to beaches but also a few great pools on-site. Our villa was the most secluded and looked different from the others, with its Moorish architecture - but was also great as this was the conclusion to our honeymoon. This may not be the best spot for travellers who don't wish to be far away from the rest of the resort, or who have difficulty with steps.

I was a bit concerned when we were not greeted immediately upon our arrival - but we soon realized that this is because there is no official "front desk" or "check-in area". The whole resort is meant to feel like home for guests, and they have basically access to all the areas for lounging, etc. For the most part, we did not have difficulty finding staff if we needed anything during our stay.

The villa itself was well maintained, and any issues we ran into were solved very quickly. I especially loved the toiletries provided! We also had a private plunge pool, which had beautiful views of sunsets each evening. We were also able to utilize a roof deck for meals and spa treatments.

The staff was very friendly and always greeted us with a smile. Meals were very well-done, and even though we were told that we could make special requests, we were pretty much always open and happy to take the lunch and dinner meals as suggested. It is a nice touch to be able to have your meals at a time and location of your choosing, and luckily the staff was flexible if we had not made up our minds in the morning.

We weren't sure what to expect after reading that the tide goes out ~1.5km during low tide, and that the beach in front of the resort is essentially tide pools - but we enjoyed utilizing that time to take a walk out and check out the marine life, or lounge in our villa or at one of the resort's main pools. Indeed, the infinity pool with the swing is a standout! Going for morning and evening swims during high tide was also wonderful. We utilized the resort's kayaks, snorkel masks and aqua shoes.

We were especially appreciative of the personalized touches during our stay - complimentary champagne to help us celebrate our honeymoon, and a private dinner set up for our last night at the resort. " See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R&K
Frisco CO

"Beautiful grounds but issues with service"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2019
"We visited mid-July 2019. The grounds are beautiful and a very secluded location on the tip of the Michamvi peninsula. There is not really a beach at high tide, and at low tide the reef rocks go out probably 300 meters so it's not 'classic' Zanzibar beach.

However our main concern was the poor attention to details that we expected. The initial room we were booked in was one of the original buildings - musty, dark, no window in the bathroom, dirty water in the Nespresso machine.... We did get a room change on request without problem. We left laundry and it wasn't done by 9p the evening before an early departure and had we not reminded them we wouldn't have gotten it back. The food was very heavy - fried, not an emphasis on vegetables or when they were they were drowned in heavy dressing. " See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Tom
London

"Beautiful hotel with amazing rooms"

5 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Qambani was a stunning hotel in a beautiful setting.

We loved the room, whilst the pool was huge and had the most gorgeous views.

The staff were lovely and the food was very very good. " See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Traveller
Teddington

"Qambani"

5 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2018
"Qambani is wonderful. Stylish, comfortable, amazing food, incredible views, stunning infinity pool – the stuff of my wildest holiday dreams!

We stayed in the Castaway apartment which was really spacious and perfect for our family of four.

The highlight for my children was the chance to visit Axel's ice-cream lab – and to help him make a batch of what they described as the best ice cream EVER! " See all these reviews: 12n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
france

"Idyllic stay at Qambani"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"Stunning location, although not easy to find, without even a nameplate on the gate!

Beautifully designed interiors, and exteriors, luxurious and comfortable, an oasis of calm!

Staff very friendly and attentive, but also discreet, food was fabulous.

Although we were very undemanding guests, we felt that nothing would have been too much trouble!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Vienna

"the best"

6 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2017
"Qambani is really a wonderful place. It is a beautiful, stylish place with wonderful staff and great food. " See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
91%
7 reviews of Qambani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
0
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Michamvi Peninsula

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Breezes Beach Club

Breezes Beach Club

Breezes Beach Club is a family-style resort that also appeals to honeymooners, and is perfect if you want plenty of facilities.


90% (35 reviews)
Baraza Resort & Spa

Baraza Resort & Spa

Baraza is a high-quality resort, with a buzzing atmosphere and a range of activities that appeal both to families and lively honeymooners.


97% (13 reviews)
Sultan Palace

Sultan Palace

Romantic Sultan Palace is a luxurious sea-view lodge that is deal for honeymooners and couples, with fantastic food and a secluded beach.


95% (4 reviews)
The Palms

The Palms

The Palms is an exclusive and luxurious beach getaway - though the main areas are small – next to Breezes and sharing Breezes' facilities.


100% (4 reviews)
Kono Kono Beach Villas

Kono Kono

Kono Kono is a contemporary beach resort on a quiet stretch of west-facing beach on the Michamvi peninsula.


73% (3 reviews)
Anna of Zanzibar

Anna of Zanzibar

Anna of Zanzibar’s warm atmosphere and five spacious and inviting villas make it a great place for a relaxed stay on a lovely stretch of beach.


90% (2 reviews)
White Sand Villas

White Sand Villas

Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa is a stylish, small resort lodge located near the town of Paje.


100% (2 reviews)
Zawadi Hotel

Zawadi

Set on a pretty cove on Zanzibar’s Michamvi Peninsula, Zawadi is a modern boutique hotel offering lots of space and privacy.


100% (1 review)
Xanadu Villas

Xanadu Villas

Situated on a picturesque beach on the Michamvi Peninsula, Xanadu Villas is a sophisticated boutique hotel with six luxurious private villas.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa