This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by R&K from Frisco CO

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

Expert Africa created a fantastic experience!

Tanzania and 1 other country between 11 Jul 2019 and 21 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic trip put together on short notice and appreciate the guidance of Richard and others.

I contacted a few other big-name agencies who wanted to provide me with their agenda; Richard listened and put together an agenda for us.

I appreciated the detail in their website and that is what led me to call them (okay, it may be a bit old-fashioned in design, but it is encyclopedic and sometimes that's better than glitz)."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

"Excellent location next to Arusha Airport"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2019
"Immediately adjacent to Arusha airport (not noisy) but incredibly convenient."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ikuka

Ikuka

"Incredible guides, location, service in Ruaha"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2019
"We stayed at Ikuka mid-July 2019 for 3 nights. We loved Ruaha for the uncrowded wildlife viewing it offered, and Ikuka knows how to make that happen. We had a phenomenal guide (Festo, aka "professor" by other guides) who grew up in the Ruaha bush and knows it.

The location of the lodge on an escarpment makes for incredible views from beautiful huts, each very private, all handbuilt by Mark and Chloe the owners. Their presence - and lack of big business - are clearly felt throughout.

The location with its view is about 20 min from the riverbed, but the drive back and forth did not get tiring. The large population of baobob trees add depth to the landscape. We will likely return in February just to see the area green. If you go, do take a walking safari for a half-day with Mark or one of the guides."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"A beautiful, fantastic lodge away from crowds"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2019
"The location of Sand Rivers Camp is at a fantastic bend in the Rufiji river - and there is more to see than hippos although it is great to see them in this big river compared to shallower locations.

We visited mid-July 2019. Our guide Ernest was fantastic in his ability to spot wildlife and flora as well as his knowledge base. Our first 1/2 day guide (not Ernest) was not to our liking and the managers immediately accommodated our request for a change.

Would highly recommend this camp!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Qambani

Qambani

"Beautiful grounds but issues with service"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2019
"We visited mid-July 2019. The grounds are beautiful and a very secluded location on the tip of the Michamvi peninsula. There is not really a beach at high tide, and at low tide the reef rocks go out probably 300 meters so it's not 'classic' Zanzibar beach.

However our main concern was the poor attention to details that we expected. The initial room we were booked in was one of the original buildings - musty, dark, no window in the bathroom, dirty water in the Nespresso machine.... We did get a room change on request without problem. We left laundry and it wasn't done by 9p the evening before an early departure and had we not reminded them we wouldn't have gotten it back. The food was very heavy - fried, not an emphasis on vegetables or when they were they were drowned in heavy dressing."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team