This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club
Breezes Beach Club

Reviews of Breezes Beach Club

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Breezes Beach Club and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
B family
Shropshire

"Breezes Beach Club review"

5 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2011
"The rooms and general facilities at Breezes were exceptional and we were very impressed with them. The food was fantastic - there were a huge number of choices covering a wide range of different tastes and absolutely everyone in a party of 10 was happy with every meal.

Our main disappointment was the fact that so few of the water sports were available to us. Unfortunately, because of the location with the reef immedieately in front of the hotel, the tide was out when the wind got up on the few days we were there which meant that windsurfing, sailing and, particularly, kite surfing had to be abandoned.

Additionally, one of the major factors in choosing Breezes had been the dive school. For a number of reasons, only one of our party was able to dive in the end and because he didn't have a "buddy" to dive with it seemed he was not going to be able to dive for the entire time we were there. Fortunately on the last day he was invited to join a group and was able to get a dive.

One other fact I would mention is that the water sports centre advertises a "reef walk" when the tide is out. This is downright dangerous. You struggle out there trying to avoid stepping on sea urchins and scratching yourself with coral and have to return "blind" with the sun and ripples on the surface of the water. We all arrived back with several coral cuts and sea urchins needing to be removed. Fortunately there is a nurse on site who was able to administer antiseptic and remove urchin spines!

Otherwise our trip was very much enjoyed. Fishermans Tours were excellent - far more helpful than the hotel's own staff when we asked about tours. They arranged everything exceptionally well and we spent a very enjoyable day in Stone Town and visiting a spice farm with an excellent guide, Ramadan." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The P-W Family
Surrey

"Breezes Beach Club review"

5 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2011
"We have mixed views about Breezes Beach Club. The rooms were very good and the hotel is set in a beautiful location. Service was varied - good sometimes but very slow (particularly in the bar next to the restaurant) at other times. The food was good and varied every evening eg Buffet, Barbecue evening, Spice evening, set menu.

The Water Club were very helpful (particularly Sara, the Danish girl) but a lot of the actiivites are very dependent on wind and tide conditions. My son had 1 kite surfing lesson but was unable to get onto the water because there wasn't enough wind. The children were also not able to windsurf because of lack of wind. The snorkelling trip was good but expensive.

The Padi Dive Centre were not very helpful and my husband was very disappointed because he wanted to dive on the Monday we were there but because he didn't have a buddy they wouldn't take him out. They did take him the following day at a cost of 190 dollars.

An additional tip - beware if you decide to do the reef walk at low tide. We were all wearing reef shoes but on the return walk it was very hard to see where you were walking in the sunlight. You have to avoid treading on coral and sea urchins - 3 of our party had to visit the nurse to remove sea urchin spikes!" See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Streatham

"A Pleasant stay at Breezes"

10 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2010
"Our view is that there are better hotels in Zanzibar.

Swimming in the sea only posible for 3 hours per day at high tide.
Staff are not as interactive as at other hotels such as La Gemma Del Est, i believe now called Diammonds." See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Streatham

"Breezes Beach Club review"

10 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2010
"Breezes was lovely - clean, pretty, well run, fabulous food, lovely accommodation.

It does need an all 'inclusive option' though; it is tedious having to sign for everything and their exchange rate when settling the bill wasn't good. We would have paid in Tanzanian schillings if we had known
" See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs F & family
London

"Breezes Beach Club review"

6 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2010
"The rooms seemed quite dingy after Beho Beho, but this was due mainly to the lighting. The bathrooms in particular could do with a decent light for shaving, contact lenses, make up etc! Housekeeping and cleanliness was excellent. Always plenty of sunloungers, particularly overlooking the beautiful beach.

Staff brought round fruit kebabs mid-morning. We regretted not taking reef shoes, as there are coral and sea urchins everywhere in the water, although shoes can be borrowed from the water centre for a small fee. We sailed and canoed from the Breezes water centre, and learnt to scuba dive at the independent Rising Sun Centre (this was very expensive - $500 for scuba diver level and $655 for open water diver per person).

Charges at Breezes for drinks, lunch, laundry etc all very reasonable. I had an excellent Thai massage at the spa. The service in the bar and restaurant was friendly and very good. Food was generally good, and different each night. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

It was a relief not to have TV and phones in the bedrooms - our teenage sons watched an Arsenal match in the TV room which pleased them!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The M family
UK

"Breezes Beach Club review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2010
"After 6 days on safari Breezes was a good place to unwind." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The H family
Surrey

"Breezes - Started badly but came good in the"

6 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"We arrived in Breezes after our transfer from the northern Serengeti and immediately hit a problem. There was a long delay and eventually the assistant manager appeared and told us there was a problem with our rooms. He said that another family with the "same name" had arrived earlier and had been given our rooms by mistake! As a result it meant that our teenage daughters were in a completely different part of the resort (at the back of the property) whilst we were at the front. Now I can accept that hotels make mistakes with bookings and that rooms are shuffled around depending on circumstances, but this is the first time I've heard this excuse. Surprisingly we didn't meet the family with the same name during our entire stay here!

The manager said that this was only for one night and that they would put us into a pair of rooms (the villa) which were attached with a sitting room the next day. This rather dampened our spirit but we were assured that these rooms were more suitable and they also offered us a complimentary lunch. The next day we were asked to leave our bags packed and after spending some time on the beach were contacted just after lunch to move them. I went to see the rooms and whilst they were OK they felt very hot with a bit of a musty/damp smell. I assumed that this was because the air conditioning had not been switched on, it was also disconcerting that someone else's bags were still in the room. I went back to the room later in the afternoon at about 3pm with my wife as she wanted to unpack and the air conditioning was still not working and the room smelt even worse. My wife was rather upset by this and I went to speak with the assistant manager. We sat around whilst the air conditioning was fixed in one room, however it was incredibly noisy in the second room and the smell was still present. Eventually I asked them to move us to some different rooms which provoked a lot of head scratching. I gave them an hour to come up with a solution. Eventually they said they had asked another family to move rooms as they were leaving in the morning and gave us two rooms next to each other, however there was another delay of an hour whilst they organised this and cleaned the rooms (they wanted two hours which would have meant we didn't get into our rooms until gone 7pm).

Once we got past this initial issue and we were able to settle down the hotel was fine. We got our lunch and a bottle of wine one evening, plus the girls were given a massage voucher. It's just a shame that the first couple of days were handled in this manner and that I had to threaten to leave the property before a solution was found. Expert Africa were great in helping us resolve this as they applied pressure to the hotel on our behalf as well. Other gripes: The welcome drinks reception was a bit of a joke and basically an excuse to sell you additional services. The diving centre is good, however be warned that they don't take credit cards, only cash.

The location is excellent, we were lucky with high tides and didn't suffer from problems with sea urchins on the reef walks. We found that the sunbeds had gone fairly early when we returned from a diving trip at 10am, however there were plenty at the side of the pool. Lunch menu is great, drinks were good and the meals were reasonably varied during the week." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The P family
Norfolk

"Breezes Beach Club review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2010
"Just what we needed after a week or more of early morning starts. Only let down by the weather with rain one afternoon and the next day. Having a gym and tennis court was great for the kids and this was perfect for unwinding.

The shop had limited opening hours, some fabulous crafts but they were expensive compared to Stone Town.

The food was fantastic, the service excellent and everyone was friendly and courteous. Would thoroughly recommend this for everyone who needs to unwind in great surroundings." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The C family
Surrey

"OK but a bit disappointing"

8 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2010
"Breezes has a good pool and it is located on a very long sandy beach.

The highlight for us was that we (my 12 year old son and I) signed up with the diving club and got PADI quilified - diving club is child friendly and they are a good friendly team.

The rooms were good but very few are by the beach and have a sea view (even the deluxe and premium ones) - most have garden views. Accodation buildings are a bit concrete and crammed together on the site. When the tide goes out the lagoon drains and you can walk out half a Kilometer to the reef. The lagoon is not good for swimming or playing in however as it is full of coral/rocks and sea urchins.

The biggest drawback was the food which was consistently disappointing particularly in the evenings. It simply lacked quality, however, when we filled in a comments card the head of catering, Marsha, did track us down and discuss it with us, however nothing changed,. it's obviously just the formula that the resort thinks works.

The tennis court had only 2 useable adult racquests available and some tired tennis balls.

Overall it is no more that a 3/4 star hotel from our perspective. Breezes need to up its game a little as it seems to be getting a little complacent. Not much evidence of "The Mangaement", apart from the catering side! No feedback questionnaire was requested from us by the hotel.

A lot of the financial dealings at Breezes was "cash only". It would have be useful to know this in adavance of our trip as the only way to access cash was to go to authorised dealers/banks in Stonetown, one hour away. Hotel not authorised to let guests withdraw cash. It would also have been useful to know in advance that long trousers are required in the evinings (I would have packed a pair!)" See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
The A family
Oxford

"Breezes Beach Club review"

6 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2010
"After the top quality of the Selous Safari Camp we were a bit disappointed with Breezes. The location was fantastic but the service of the staff was variable, the food at the beach bar was dreadful and the food in the main restaurant was not always great.

A particular comment was on a snorkling trip we did. It was run by a gap year student who had only been there a week and we were just dropped off on the coral where the current was very strong. This was not communicated to us and lead to 3 of our party suffering grazes and stings. There was nothing on the boat to deal with this and when I tried to feed back my comments the staff at the Water Sports (not the dive centre) were only interested in covering their backs!

Rooms were quite dark and the whole decor of the place seemed tired. We definitely got the impression it was not very well run.
Having said that we did not make any complaints to the main management so appreciate we did not give them an opportunity to address our concerns. This was because we did not want to sour our trip with any arguments and on the whole we did enjoy ourselves.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 35
90%
35 reviews of Breezes Beach Club by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
10
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Michamvi Peninsula

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Baraza Resort & Spa

Baraza Resort & Spa

Baraza is a high-quality resort, with a buzzing atmosphere and a range of activities that appeal both to families and lively honeymooners.


97% (13 reviews)
Qambani

Qambani

Qambani is a luxury property on the tip of the Michamvi Peninsula, set on a low cliff above a white, sandy beach, with stunning ocean views.


91% (7 reviews)
Sultan Palace

Sultan Palace

Romantic Sultan Palace is a luxurious sea-view lodge that is deal for honeymooners and couples, with fantastic food and a secluded beach.


95% (4 reviews)
The Palms

The Palms

The Palms is an exclusive and luxurious beach getaway - though the main areas are small – next to Breezes and sharing Breezes' facilities.


100% (4 reviews)
Kono Kono Beach Villas

Kono Kono

Kono Kono is a contemporary beach resort on a quiet stretch of west-facing beach on the Michamvi peninsula.


73% (3 reviews)
Anna of Zanzibar

Anna of Zanzibar

Anna of Zanzibar’s warm atmosphere and five spacious and inviting villas make it a great place for a relaxed stay on a lovely stretch of beach.


90% (2 reviews)
White Sand Villas

White Sand Villas

Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa is a stylish, small resort lodge located near the town of Paje.


100% (2 reviews)
Zawadi Hotel

Zawadi

Set on a pretty cove on Zanzibar’s Michamvi Peninsula, Zawadi is a modern boutique hotel offering lots of space and privacy.


100% (1 review)
Xanadu Villas

Xanadu Villas

Situated on a picturesque beach on the Michamvi Peninsula, Xanadu Villas is a sophisticated boutique hotel with six luxurious private villas.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa