This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Muz from Colchester

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

1

A wonderful safari and beach experience

Kenya and 1 other country between 11 Feb 2020 and 5 Mar 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"We are well travelled but this was one of our best holidays ever.

A great safari experience with a bit of Zanzibar adventure thrown in at the end.

Expert Africa have come up trumps again."

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

"The Norfolk Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2020
"lovely colonial atmosphere that has not been diminished by the modernisation.

A lovely place to stay and at a very reasonable price"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness

"wonderful game viewing experience"

4 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2020
"fantastic game viewing with an excellent guide, Supukia. The game was everything we hoped it would be and Supukia definitely went out of his way to give us a great experience.

The food at Lewa Wilderness was nowhere near the standard it should have been for the cost of staying there. It was not a patch the two other camps we stayed at. I would describe the food at Lewa to be grandmothers cooking. Carrots, green beans and chicken, carrots, green beans and ( overcooked ) pork, carrots, green beans and overcooked fish. All devoid of any creativity and very plain. My wife's vegetarian dishes were basic and not very good. Fortunately the game viewing and our guide were exceptional."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Excellent
Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors' Camp

"Little Governors Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2020
"wonderful location and staff and quite exceptional standard of food. Our balloon trip was brilliant.

Not nearly as much game as we expected but for someone who is a first time safari visitor probably OK.

Our guide, Moses, on our two morning drives almost said nothing. On both mornings he drove for almost an hour without explaining what he was looking for or what we were doing. Gave the impression he didn't want to be bothered talking. Fortunately the amazing scenery made up for his silence. He did a bit more talking in the evening drives when prompted. I think he is tired of the job and I would feel sorry for anyone only visiting this camp for their safari experience and getting Moses.

Altogether a fabulous place to stay. Moses needs a break."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Balloon flight over the Mara

Balloon flight over the Mara

"wonderful"

19 Feb 2020 • Morning excursion

Great experience - the pilot, who was the senior pilot, was great - very knowledgeable and entertaining
Excellent
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"a Roll Royce experience"

3 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2020
"the best overall game viewing experience we have ever had by far.

great game, excellent guides - we had two different ones, a wonderful bush cam experience. The hosts were very attentive and professional. Excellent food.

We'd like to go again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

"Great experience"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2020
"what a great taste of Zanzibar city life - dinner in the rooftop restaurant is a must"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Breezes Beach Club

Breezes Beach Club

"Wonderful beach experience"

7 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2020
"incredibly well run. The lush undergrowth and palm trees make you really feel you are on the equator.

There are so many different areas to relax it never feels busy.

The staff were all exceptionally friendly and overall we enjoyed our stay enormously."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2017 trip

Namibia between 8 Sep 2017 and 28 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were very pleased indeed with all the arrangement Sabina made for us for this holiday and have since recommended Expert Africa to two couples. Both have already booked with you for visits to Namibia.

We understand that some of the accommodation that Sabina originally wanted to book was not available. Unfortunately we found one of the substitute hotels, Ugab Terrace Lodge, sub standard and not a nice place to stay. We really did not want to be there, the management of the place was very poor.

However we hope to return to Namibia and will certainly use you next time around.

Many thanks for a great holiday and memorable experience."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Great food and very comfortable at Olive Grov"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"made us welcome and enjoyed our first night in Namibia at Olive Grove"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Great fund at Bullsport"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"great fun on the early morning 4 x 4 trip up the mountains and the 5k walk back to the farm

Second morning we really enjoyed a couple of hours on horseback

We had the large guest room at the end of the cottages, it was excellent"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kuala was a wonderful experience"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"wonderful experience at Kulala"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel was a great place and great loca"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"great hotel if you have a room looking out over the sea, the fish restaurant in the same building was outstanding"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe is our favourite place in Namibia"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"a dream location, outstanding food, we want to return as soon as possible"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

"Ugab Terrace is tired and poorly maintained"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"we did not enjoy staying here. When we arrived there was nobody at the desk. We found a man in jeans who seemed disinterested and told us nothing about the hotel.

Our cottage was at the end of a row of others. They have built a huge generator beside this cottage. It ran for a few hours over sunset and again a few hours from sunrise to breakfast. The noise completely spoilt the ambience of the location. There was a small pool of stagnant water next to the swimming pool. There were broken lights and broken walkway planks in the swimming pool area.

The room has no fan, no fridge, no kettle, the room of the cottage and the base of the bed looked hand made in chipboard. The sheets had a feeling of being old. It was a very unpleasant place. Because of the generator noise at our bungalow we went for a sundowner in their bar, we couldn't find anyone to serve us. The only good thing here was that the meal was good. We were not happy staying in this badly managed and badly maintained place. They let Expert Africa down badly. Expert Africa should not use this place unless they are sending budget travellers there."
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Terrible
Service
Terrible
Activities
Terrible
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali was a pleasant surprise"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"a very pleasant recently updated room with zircon, kettle, large fridge, good quality bedding

we stayed here for two nights and returned later for another two nights. There was little wildlife at the waterhole on the numerous occasions we went there.

The food is good for one night but tends to be the same every night with just the choice of meat changing.

Overall a pleasant place to stay"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo gave us an unforgettable experience"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"Okaukuejo is all about the amazing water hole which sometimes has hundreds of animals drinking from it

the Bush Chalet, semi detached bungalow, was spacious and well equipped.

The food, buffet style, was good but they kept running out of plates !!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali was a pleasant surprise"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"same comments as for first stay here [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Meet the cats at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"great to learn about the leopards and cheetas

the camp is very up market and a lovely place to stay"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team