This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The B family from Swindon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

Amazing trip to Zambia

Zambia between 20 Jul 2019 and 6 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was wonderful, very well organised and planned.

Our special requests were all noted and fed through to the camps which made us feel very special. Thank you

We loved Mchenja and Chongwe camps and although the treehouse at Flatdogs is totally unique, the experience does not quite match the other 2 camps.

Our suggestion would be to stay at Flatdogs first, outside the park before moving into the much quieter and exclusive inner park.

We loved being asked to record our wildlife sightings."

Arranged By Megan Green


Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

"Excellent Lodge in Lusaka"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"Lilayi Lodge is an excellent place to start a safari. Being able to walk around the grounds and see wildlife by yourself is an added attraction.

As is the elephant orphanage at the end of the road which the lodge are happy to drive you to.

The lodge is relaxing, quiet and friendly. The chalets are very well appointed.

We would definitely return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangement in Kafue

"Own arrangement in Kafue NP"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2019
"This part of the trip worked well."
Good
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Amazing location at Mchenja Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2019
"The remote location and small number of chalets at Mchenja Bushcamp is excellent and gives a luxurious air to the camp.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. John, the Camp Manager was an excellent guide and Nation was a super scout to spend time with. They had a super sense of humour.Alice was a great deputy camp manager/host.
The food was amazing and plentiful.
The chalets are well designed, loved the outdoor bathroom and super views of the river. You feel secluded form other guests which is lovely.
The wildlife experience was excellent with plenty of great sightings of most species and birds.The camp species tick let booklet was an excellent idea.
They provided a special anniversary dining experience which was very special and thoughtful.
It would be lovely to have spot light in the chalet to shine across the river at night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Staying in the Tree House"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"Flatdogs Camp is situated outside the National Park but adjacent to the entrance. Therefore it is only a short drive to enter the park however, there tends to be a lot of vehicles entering at the same time and this causes a lot of dust. It is noticeable that this part is busier than else where in South Luangwa and there are a lot more vehicle per wildlife sightings.

The guides are still very good and the hosting team are excellent. They were very attentive to all our needs.
The menu had a good variety and was excellent.

The tree house has an amazing location which is quiet. It has its own waterhole which gets plenty of visitors and is an absolute highlight to this camp. However, the monkey population can prevent you from relaxing during the afternoons and being under a tree can leave a mess on the furniture. The tree house has everything that you require and no one minded coming to collect you or bring your food. Japhit is employed to look after the treehouse and does a great job keeping the moneys away while you are out."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Wonderful Change of scenery at Chongwe"

4 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2019
"It was lovely to have a contrasting environment for this part of the trip. The team were absolutely first class and you were treated like one of the family. All aspects of the camp were superb.
The guides were a very high standard and made sure that you had a variety of activities.
It was wonderful to spend time in a canoe and on a boat in the Zambezi. The opportunity to see wildlife from a different perspective was exciting.
They helped us celebrate our anniversary with a special meal on a pontoon which was incredible!
What else can we say - it was amazing!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Wonderful Safari Experience

Tanzania and 1 other country between 19 Aug 2013 and 31 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful time, Asilia provided us with an excellent guide for Manyara and Ngorongoro. The camps were good and some brilliant. The beach extension to relax was just right. We can't wait to do our next safari."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

"fantastic views"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2013
"There are great views across Lake Manyara if you get the right tent. otherwise the tents are set back in the garden. The food and restaurant staff were lovely. The tent was spacious and well equipped. It is very close to the park entrance. They provided a Maasi guide for a free walking tour of the area."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

"Fantastic camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2013
"The camp is very well organised and although it can be really cold (take gloves and wooly hat for trip into the crater) they provide hot water bottles and a gas heater in your tent. The tent is spacious and well equipped. It is nice to have the same staff member looking after you and your tent during the whole of your stay. It is a brilliant location at the top of a quiet road into the crater - great for getting in before most others, campfire is excellent too. We had a totally fantastic time there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

"Simply the best!!!"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2013
"Wow, what can you say - didn't want to leave!!! Everything is just perfect, location, staff, tents, views, Migration game viewing is brilliant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Breezes Beach Club

Breezes Beach Club

"Lovely Beach location for relaxation"

4 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"This is a very nice hotel, the staff are really friendly and the food is great. It is well organised with beach front service to your sun lounger. There are also activities during the day and evening to join in. Perfect sun, sand and sea. It can live up to it's name as it its breezy there at times"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

a truely memorable experience

Namibia between 2 Aug 2010 and 20 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"we have just returned from our trip to Africa and wanted to say a huge THANK YOU to Expert Africa for the brilliant advice and organisation that went into the trip. We had the most amazing time."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2010
"Very tranquil location, where you felt that you had arrived in the middle of nowhere. A great start for the holiday.

Amazing beds, bedrooms and camp. The food is really wonderful.

Sleeping under the stars is like you are in a planetarium... we had a fantastic night up on the roof."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2010
"Great experience ... you need good walking shoes and brown/khaki clothing as they are very strict on their interaction with the rhinos.

Seeing black rhino in this environment was the highlight of the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2010
"Lovely camp (My favourite) best of both worlds – Ongava private reserve and Etosha national park, teaming with game, double the opportunity to view the animals.

Great to have a night camera on the camp's water hole... with both black and white rhino whilst eating dinner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2010
"My favourite camp, with first class accommodation.

Leopard tracking, leopard feeding and a cheetah release were a thrill to watch.

The rooms are half 'open' and you can feed the birds from your room.

You get to see lots of cheetahs as the plane lands."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

The Safari Club

"The Safari Club"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2010
"This was a disappointment, after the first class experience in Namibia. We were left 25 minutes before our hotel pick up arrived, no apology from the driver or hotel, despite us having to call the hotel from the airport. The car to the hotel was shabby.

When we arrived at the hotel our room was around the back in the car park – it was little more than a motel. If we had arrived any later we would also have not been any to order dinner which due to it's location would have been a problem.

On the positive side, it was a friendly boutique hotel and a room overlooking the gardens would create a different feeling."
Poor
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Image alt

Marlin Lodge, Mozambique (this camp has since closed)

"Marlin Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2010
"A luxurious location. Did everything the website promised, even flowers on the bed and stories in scrolls.

A relaxing, paradise beach location, everything we were looking for. I really loved our own private deck chairs, shade and beach.

They will do anything to help you out and the staff are really friendly. A great chill out place"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team