This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp
Kwetsani Camp

Reviews of Kwetsani Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwetsani Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"The Jewel of NG25"

3 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2012
"We believe this was our fifth visit to Kwetsani and it remains our favourite. Despite the limitations on game drives imposed by the rising annual flood, we absolutely loved our 3 nights in this wonderful Classic Wilderness camp. The rooms are exceptional, the ambiance just perfect and we were, as ever, looked after royally by a professional and attentive staff. The food was varied and despite the remoteness, of a consistently high standard.

Our guide Ronald has an infectious sense of humour but this belies an uncanny ability to seek out the most elusive sightings. It was with him that we began our relationship with the Hunda leopards which was to continue unabated for the next 6 days. He instinctively understood our wish to see and talk about everything, going out of his way to explain and describe all that we were seeing. A great guide.

Management was outstanding, starting with Dan and Charmaine Myberg the senior managers for the 3 Classic camps in the concession. They looked after us wonderfuly well while clearly being 'in charge' of every aspect of the delivery of service. For our last day the resident management team of Annelize and Bradley seamlessly resumed control.

Our fondness for Kwetsani remains intact but we have one single niggle. On previous visits during the annual flood we have been taken on game drives onto and around the Kwetsani island and local flood plain. Previous guides delighted in describing the activity as 'swimmin safari'! The practice now seems to have been stopped because there have been instances of vehicles becoming stuck or 'drowned' elsewhere in the concession. This was always the case and was, in the past, taken as one of the hazards of holidaying in NG25. We have personally experienced it twice from Kwetsani with little or no lasting effect. Perhaps the new policy is a slight overreaction and one misses some great birding opportunities. Still, a niggle, and this remains a great camp." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J of WC2
UK

"Kwetsani Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2011
"A wonderfull camp with extremely friendly staff.

Excellent game viewing, a particular point was the fun on the boats getting to the island, would definately recommend." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 5n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr L
Maryland

"MOST FABULOUS PLACE WE STAYED"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2011
"EVERYTHING was terrific - from managers to cook to guide. Fabulous location." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs MJ
SW London

"Kwetsani Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2011
"Kwetsani is a really well run camp and we especially liked it because it is so small and intimate. Our guide, Florence, was exceptionally good finding a lion with an impala kill one day and a leopard hunting on another. She is to be commended.

Our boat rides were quite enjoyable and this is the only camp where we could take a mokoro trip. We had no idea on booking this camp that both islands that have game are located at the Jao Camp and Handu island, not directly at Kwetsani." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Texas

"Kwetsani Camp...had canals for roads"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2011
"I thought that this would be my favorite camp for it's over-the-top tree-house rooms, but it was not. The rooms are very picturesque, unique, and comfortable. The common areas are well designed; the only improvement would be two restrooms instead of one.

We went through some magnificent thunderstorms and torrential rain here. The safari vehicles had insulated rain ponchos which kept us dry(mostly) and warm; and our guide kept his good humor driving the flooded tracks. Believe it or not this was fun, being out in the downpour watching the animals. Our guide was an excellent driver in these conditions. He also made a good boat captain with a vast knowledge of the fauna in the delta. Although we are not bird watchers it was interesting to hear our guide locate, identify and give us all the particulars on the hundreds of bird species we saw. We saw thousands of red lechwe, and smaller numbers of lion, zebra, wildebeest, bushbuck, and elephant.

We had some aggravations with the staff. On our first night in camp the staff had left on lights in our room when they were there for turndown service, and when we retired 4 hours later the room had thousands(really) of white moths. The next morning we mentioned this to the manager, he apologized, said it would not happen again. For the next two evenings the lights were again left on, the only difference being that we now checked as soon as we returned from the evening game drive and turned them off.

The camp also had some equipment shortages/breakdowns. Due to car problems, we were scheduled one morning to go on a game drive with two professional photographers, who planned on spending 4 hours in one spot filming lechwe jumping over water-submerged roads. We did not do that. We and our fellow jeep mates were also asked to give up our scheduled boat trip for two Wilderness Safari communications employees who were making one night visits to a number of camps (due to afternoon rains, the morning was the only reliable time for a boat trip). After the 4 of us protested another boat was borrowed from Jao camp.

There was also a problem of bugs in the food. All of our camps in Botswana had more or less open dining areas and they all had bugs flying about in the evenings when you're eating by candlelight. We have been on safari before and we expected this. However at Kwetsani when you have 4 drowned moths in your soup every evening, and 4 or 5 insects on your plate eating your food with you every evening, it is time to redesign your dining area.

The junior management team seemed to act in a professional manner, but the temporary managers (filling in for a vacationing manger) seem to be out of their league. They seem to be creating a fraternity house atmosphere, way left of casual or laid back.

After all this is said, these are minor problems and we enjoyed our stay at Kwetsani. Would we come back to this area? Probably not. This is a bird lovers paradise and we would rather watch large mammals. It is also a 'water camp' that becomes quite flooded during rainy season, which is an adventure one time." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Dartmouth

"Early concerns unfounded at Kwetsani"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2010
"The drive from the airstrip at Jao to Kwetsani camp suggested a dry and game-free experience. Very different from the reality once we got to the delta.

Fantastic boating experience to see birds in their profusion and early each morning on our way to the game drivers on Handa Island. What a way to wake up!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Wandsworth

"Kwetsani Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2010
"Lots and lots of water all around. Very good Mokoro trip.

Less big game because of the amount of water but still good viewing.

We needed a boat trip prior to game drive on either of the two large islands above water." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Bedford

"Kwetsani was a mix of rustic, luxury and charm"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2010
"We had a very enjoyable flight from Kasane airport to the Jao airstrip, flying relatively low over parts of the delta so that we could see both the sheer size of the landscape and the incredible amount of water. The highest levels in some 20 + years, I believe. The high levels caused some headaches and logistical problems for the management and staff at the nearby camps, especially Kwetsani.

Part of the airstrip and surrounding area was under water so we had to drive just past the airstrip, park the vehicle and get into a motor boat. It was then a 30 + minute ride to the camp where we got into another vehicle to take us to the entrance to the camp itself.

The motor boat ride through the water channels and Papyrus was an awesome experience which we both enjoyed. Each time we went out for game viewing, however, it involved swapping from boats to vehicles and vice versa which was quite time consuming and not appreciated by everyone but it couldn't be helped and anyway we are both a bit like kids and found it great fun and exilerating.

We liked the camp very much, it had a tree-house look and feel to it with a rustic comfort. We were well looked after by Ian and Michelle and the staff and the food and facilities were excellent. Views from our room, the main deck and the plunge pool were stunning." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L
Bishopston

"great time in this watery wilderness"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2009
"Kwetsani is small and compact compared with the larger camps I stayed in but very charming and nicely appointed. I liked the almost "tree house" chalets and elevated walkways . It was great watching the animals like bushbuck in the dense undergrowth in the camp below the walkways. Even elephants can walk underneath., as one was trying to do when I arrived!

The Okavango was very high when I was there, so the camp was perched on an island amid a wide flooded landscape. Despite the water everywhere there was no shortage of game..buffalo in the reeds, many elephant, kudu and lots of Lechwe. Got good photos of Malachite and pied kingfishers as well as saddle billed storks and the rare slatey egrets. Highlight was probably the Male leopard in a tree ( just like in the classic photos ) as well as the amazing sunset displays of thunder clouds in the distance. Had a good sunset Mekoro trip as well. Of interest to me also were the clouds of dragonflies of all colours and sizes.

The food here is truly outstanding and we had some memorable meals, and plenty of fresh fruit and fresh bread on hand.

My guide Penyo was amiable and competent with a charming personality and I feel we became friends after a short time. We compared photos and I was happy to download some of the leopard we found for him.

The staff here are all oustanding with good management as in all the Wilderness camps I stayed at. I really cant think of any negative comments about Kwetsani." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Kinross

"Luxury living at Kwetsani"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2008
"An entirely different experience - from dry and dusty to lush and green. Superb hospitality, and luxury accommodation.

Our guide, Peno (?pronounced Penyo), was again very friendly and helpful with a great amount of knowledge about the country and wildlife. All the staff were very welcoming, and it was great to be able to buy some of the baskets made by the ladies who worked at the camp. Truly local souvenirs of our visit." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 22
95%
22 reviews of Kwetsani Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa