This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Piotr & Glen from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

0

Our trip was absolutely one of the best!

Namibia and 2 other countries between 24 Nov 2017 and 13 Dec 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"The entire trip was excellent and once again we really were so happy with the service and preparation provided by Sabina and her colleagues at Expert Africa.

We also ended the holiday with a self-organised further 3 days in Kruger in South Africa, spending time and seeing incredible animals there too, with our friends from Cape Town, so in its entirety our holiday was by far one of the best we have ever had in this part of the world.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep doing the good job.

And - although more on the joking side - perhaps advise in more detail customers who plan to drive in Botswana about the speed limits and how strictly they are checked (and penalised!) by the Botswana police. Also, worth advising that sometimes the speed limit will be reduced from 120 to 60 in a very short distance which almost can make it impossible to get under 60 - I was done for this although doing only 67, had my licence retained (in Gumari) while I drove to the cash machine to extract Pula to pay the fine. And the potholes on Botswana roads - this was something I have never seen before and so worth tipping off the drivers to pay really close attention to them, as they can be really dangerous if you are not careful!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


River Crossing

River Crossing

"Great place to rest after long flights"

1 night Arrived 25 Nov 2017
"River Crossing was a really nice, quiet and friendly place to stop for one night and a good rest after a long flight from Heathrow to Johannesburg and then onto Windhoek.

The cottage was really nice, secluded and thus quiet, and the bed super comfortable, the shower had lots of hot water and the swimming pool in the main house an extra comfort.

The dinner was very tasty indeed and staff very friendly."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

"OK stop-over en-route to Okavango Panhandle"

1 night Arrived 26 Nov 2017
"As otherwise in Ghanzi there are not many options to stay overnight, the Kalahari Arms Hotel was fine for a 1 night stop over.

The dinner was really good, especially the piri-piri chicken livers for the starter! The cottage itself was fine. Although it cannot be helped, the bathroom had a big ant invasion however this wasn't too bothersome.

I would recommend staying here for no more than 1 night, but it is definitely worth having this option if you are doing a long drive towards Maun or Okavango Panhandle (which is where we were heading)."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Superb and private hideaway"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2017
"Nxamaseri Lodge was excellent - not least because Glen and I were the only two guests for the entire stay.

We loved the chalets, with the front being completely opened which meant getting to hear lots of animals in the night and early morning. The staff - Tiaan and others, and our guide, Phoraki - were all brilliant. The food is definitely another memorable thing about staying at Nxamaseri - the lady who cooks does an incredible job - the beef and then pork chops for dinner were amazing.

Really cannot fault anything there. Definitely worth coming back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

"Nice place for 1 night stay"

1 night Arrived 29 Nov 2017
"Whilst the accommodation was very luxurious, comfortable and relaxing, we found Divava to be exactly what it is, a luxury hotel & spa rather than a Namibian wildlife destination.

We enjoyed the dinner which was served to us in a private room, which was a nice touch; the food was nicely presented but perhaps the quality could have been better (definitely hotter in terms of temperature), bearing in mind that Divava advertises itself as a 5 star location.

It was a nice place to stop over at though but perhaps on the next travel would not be staying there and have chosen a more remote, or more wildlife-based, option."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Fabulous setting and a great host"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2017
"The first night we were the only guests at the Lodge which meant that we felt as if we were staying in a totally private venue! Excellent. We really enjoyed relaxing on the observation deck with book and cold beers, watching the elephants across the river and hippos, of which there were many!

We had a great river cruise with Alfred, saw lots of hippos, and our sun-downer was made super special by a sudden arrival of a herd of elephants on the river bank where we were having our wine! We were served a delicious dinner, at a lovely set table on the massive veranda deck, and slept incredibly well!

The next day had an awesome drive with Dusty - quiet to begin with but again, the sun-downer stop by the Hippo Pool was made super special by another - this time even bigger - herd of elephants (we counted at least 30, with lots of little ones) which came over to drink from the river. And the massive croc which was trying to get to one of the little elephants but was effectively nearly stampeded by protective mum and aunts was a sight to see! Superb. Food on the second night was great again and also we would like to mention how nice, friendly, laid back and helpful Annette, the manager, was to us, as was Michael from the nearby Lianshulu Bush Camp.

All of the other staff were also very friendly! The swimming pool is also a great option for a bit of chilling out and cooling down."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"Great alternative type accommodation & safari"

2 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2017
"We really liked staying here as the accommodation - tents on stilts - was different to the other places we stayed so far on the trip or were going to stay afterwards. The food quality was really good and Simone, the owner and manager, was very friendly, welcoming and helped to make our stay really nice, especially by joining us and others for dinner for the first night.

We really enjoyed lazing around the swimming pool (it is small but definitely does the trick and is excellent for cooling down) the following day and then the big combo drive with Derek. It started off quiet but our patience paid off - we came across a really massive male lion that we were tracking in our car for quite a while, until the point that he came across two warthogs - the lion at some point looked like he was going to go for a kill but in the end got too lazy and walked off into the grass.

We then joined a boat cruise and were rewarded with lots of hippos and another spectacular sight - a lioness and two male lions eating an antelope which they must have just killed, followed by the two males rolling around and playing in the grass. Fabulous."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Great location, food, hosts & activities"

2 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2017
"We cannot fault anything about Garden Lodge - enjoyed everything there, starting with the warm welcome from Gaby, meeting her friends from Germany, having excellent lunches together, brilliant food for dinners, cooling off in the swimming pool, enjoying the views from our veranda, and having a really excellent time with our guide on both river cruises and the drive.

While the drive itself was quiet in terms of animals, we did see a big python, and the abundance of birds was excellent. The river cruises were amazing - dozens upon dozens of buffalo, dozens upon dozens of hippos, lots of crocodiles, scenes of animal carnage - crocs, vultures and other birds of prey eating a fallen elephant; and a pack of lions with two cubs eating another elephant right be the river, with a protective mother attacking a crocodile that was trying its chances with going for one of the lion cubs!

Really incredible and so overall definitely recommend Garden Lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Very comfortable place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 6 Dec 2017
"Ilala Lodge was a very nice if not overly-colonial looking place, although perfectly nice and thus enjoyable for our stay at Victoria Falls.

We enjoyed the swimming pool and the room we had, also breakfast was abundant and tasty, but otherwise we spent lots of time in the Falls park and both nights ate outside of the hotel, at The Three Monkeys right next to the hotel.

That is a place we definitely recommend for excellent food, really affordable prices, great cocktails and superb staff service."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Outstanding honeymoon and a wonderful country

Namibia between 21 Nov 2015 and 5 Dec 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Although we have traveled in South Africa numerous times before, this was our first ever trip to Namibia, and we are extremely happy that we have chosen to go there for our honeymoon.

The entire trip was absolutely wonderful and memorable, with some of the camps that we stayed at being absolutely wonderful in terms of their location, activities, quality of service, friendliness and welcoming of the staff - these were Little Kulala, Desert Rhino Camp and Okonjima Plains Camp.

Everything was so finely organised by Expert Africa, we found the instructions, information so helpful and we really couldn't fault the preparation that we received from Sabina.

We will certainly be going back to Namibia, as we feel we only got to see such a small part of this wonderful, friendly and beautiful country.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Nothing really, as the service we received from Sabina was excellent."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"Very comfortable after a long flight"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2015
"We were welcomed by the team from Galton House and, after sorting out the car hire, we got some rest and then had dinner in the city.

The breakfast was very nice in the morning and we were the only guests, which made for a very nice and private morning meal!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Excellent location, slightly funny check-in"

1 night Arrived 22 Nov 2015
"The location of the Ranch is fantastic and our tent was extremely comfortable. The private jacuzzi on the veranda was wonderful. We enjoyed a very nice hike and also the dinner was very good.

Upon checking in we had a bit of a funny experience, as the representative on reception looked a bit confused why two men would be on a honeymoon, and after we explained to him, he then even asked, "so, who's the lady" - which was slightly odd and misguided. I would suggest that for the type of place that Bagatelle aims to be staff should avoid comments like that. Otherwise everything was fine."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Wonderful lodge - cannot fault anything"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2015
"One of the three highlights in terms of where we stayed during our trip. Little Kulala is excellently located, and we had the most private cottage, the concept of the massive deck area and interiors is wonderful, and we also enjoyed a sleep on the roof bed under the stars, with the full moon.

The staff were incredible - welcoming, friendly, helpful, with an excellent sense of humour, those to mention especially were Andrew, Ingrid, Rosa, Eduard, and our guide Chris. The activities were excellent, perfectly organised, both the two sundowners and the trip to Sossusvlei.

Definitely recommended!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"In great location for Swakopmund city walks"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2015
"We found the location very good, for exploring Swakopmund. It is a guest house and does what the name suggests - we had a lovely room, very private, the breakfasts both days were very nice; the staff weren't present that much but we did not mind this at all - preferred to be left alone and in any case, we were out most of the time.

We must mention the two highlights of our stay in Swakopmund - firstly, our kayaking trip with Jeanne Meintjies in Walvis Bay Lagoon, seeing thousands of seal, playing with them, rescuing a seal pup, also so much enthusiasm, knowledge and wonderful service from Jeanne. We recommended the trip to two people whom we later met at Desert Rhino Camp, who were going to be a few days later in Swakompund, and they contacted Jeanne and also went kayaking, and both got back to us to say that the activity was absolutely excellent.

The second highlight was our dinner at The Tug by the jetty in Swakopmund - best seafood we have had in a long, long time."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Wonderful location and a great concept"

1 night Arrived 27 Nov 2015
"When we arrived at Mowani we felt like just relaxing, which is exactly what we did - reading books by the swimming pool, then on our private veranda with a gift of a sparkling rosé wine from the staff to recognise it was our honeymoon.

The sundowner - the location - is brilliant and the dinner that followed very good, with excellent service from Gerard. After dinner we had some drinks around the fire, and the manager spent a good amount of time speaking with us, which was a really nice touch."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"The best part of our trip"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2015
"Desert Rhino Camp was by far the best part of our entire trip! There is absolutely nothing we could fault - from the welcoming of all the staff, led by the wonderful Elfreda, Simon, with particularly wonderful service from Elerie and other staff, to all the wonderful dinners, particularly the private "honeymoon" table that was set up for the two of us by the swimming pool.

All the singing, the dancing in the evenings, and the private and really moving farewell from staff, were something that we will not forget. We were made to feel so "at home", welcomed, felt like we were amongst old friends! We also met two great new friends, with whom we did all the activities, and that also made our time even better - not to mention the excellent service and sense of humour from our guide, Erwin.

When we were leaving we had absolutely nothing negative to feedback to Eflreda, and said afterwards that it will be very hard for any other place to be better."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Nice place though a little tired looking"

1 night Arrived 30 Nov 2015
"We had a nice stay at Hobatere - by far the best part was the service and friendliness of all the staff, and also the night drive when we got to see lots of nocturnal animals, and the very rarely seen aardwag.

The dinner was nicely set up for us in a private part of the garden, and we were recognised that it was our honeymoon, and so the service from everyone was really lovely.

The rooms are a bit tired but we understand that the Hobatere Lodge was only recently re-opened, so we hope that it has a successful future."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Lovely location but not great on service"

2 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2015
"This was the third Wilderness Safaris camp we were staying in during the trip. While Little Kulala and Desert Rhino Camp were outstanding, as per earlier feedback, Ongava was let down by service.

The location is wonderful, as was our very private tent, and the waterhole viewing from the verandas is incredible - particularly seeing 5 black rhinos while having dinner - were all very memorable. But in terms of the service, we felt it was quite distant, at times even strange (with one staff arguing that we shouldn't get a glass for a bottle of beer as it might get knocked over!), and also not once was it acknowledged that the trip was our honeymoon.

There was one lovely lady who served dinner to us both evenings, and another very friendly lady who served breakfast, but otherwise the service didn't feel very personal. Also on departure I was settling the bill and found the guy doing the check out to be rather cool, with not even a handshake for good-bye. It was a shame as the two previous lodges which are part of Wilderness Safaris were excellent.

We would not come back to Ongava, but perhaps even stay within Etosha at one of the camps there."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Wonderful place to end our holiday in Namibia"

2 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2015
"What a wonderful camp to finish our memorable trip! We absolutely loved it - the room - even though called Standard - was excellent, the massive lapa brilliant for relaxing and for food, the activities and getting to know the work of AfriCat were all outstanding.

We really enjoyed the drives, and by far the highlights of the stay at this camp was the quality of the food at dinners, the acknowledgement of our honeymoon, and - most importantly - the friendliness of all the staff. We had a wonderful guide, Ims, helped by Opari, who were both extremelly funny and friendly, open-minded and helpful, and Ims particularly knowledgeable for a guide who is only 21 years old. And of course the staff at the Camp - led by Tobias, Angel and all their other colleagues, particularly Dennis, who looked after so well in terms of drinks from the bar. Absolutely fantastic time and we felt it was definitely worth spending two days before flying back there.

We will certainly consider staying at this camp again, and will be following the work of AfriCat, as we have made a donation to the NGO already."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team