This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by raedrian from Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

0

Our great Namibia and Botswana adventure

Botswana between 21 Apr 2017 and 28 Apr 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were 6 people wanting to avoid the bus tour type trip so that we could control our own schedule and itinerary.

It started with us trying to arrange everything but soon found it difficult to determine which location/accommodation would be "right" for us. Luckily, we came in contact with Expert Africa and the help and recommendations that were given were excellent and in the end, they arranged all the accommodations (save one), the safaris and the air charter. Their guidance on length of stay was very helpful and the resorts, hotels and safaris proved to be excellent and enjoyed by all.

We were guided by Sabina for the Namibia portion and Lucy for the Botswana portion and were rewarded with prompt responses and suggestions to our many questions.

Highly recommend them."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

"Kalahari Arms Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 21 Apr 2017
"This hotel was a good stop-over location for our drive to Maun. It was easy to find and had plenty of secure parking. The grounds were well kept and interesting, filled with a mix of room types.

Only complaint was lack of hot water, only got lukewarm water for our showers."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

"Terrific African Tent Safari Experience"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2017
"We arrived at this camp after extensive rains that limited access to some game areas but we still got plenty of game sightings with highlights being (close) encounters with wild dogs and leopards. On our last day, Gideon (our excellent driver/guide) managed to get us to some farther areas with some exciting river crossings.

The facilities were as promised, not luxurious but in keeping with traditional tenting camps from the past. Everything was clean and well kept. Only downside was that there was no electrical outlet in the tent for charging tablets/phones etc. However, there was a charging "station" in the dining/common room. Meals were in the open air and beautifully presented. The service was second to none, the staff was outgoing and eager to please.

We have been to much more luxurious resorts but we felt that here we were more in the "real Africa" and thoroughly enjoyed it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

"Good location and value"

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2017
"We stayed here on a drive from Windhoek to Maun and it proved to be a good location for our stopover.

The hotel was easy to find, had plenty secure parking and an interesting mix of rooms and the sprawling grounds.

The only negative was a lack of hot water resulting in lukewarm showers. This was mentioned to management who were aware of it and advised there was a fix in work."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Amazing Namibia

Namibia between 31 Mar 2017 and 28 Apr 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our second trip to Southern Africa and was very different from our previous organized group (36) excursion as we were only 6 and planned the trip ourselves with huge help from Expert Africa.

[Ed: this 'previous organised group of 36 was not organised by Expert Africa.]

The desert scenery that covers about 2/3 of Namibia proved to be beautiful and diverse. We always felt comfortable wherever we went and we were constantly impressed by the friendly and helpful people.Getting around was no problem at all and communication was easy as English is spoken everywhere.

We highly recommend visiting this country as it is different from rest of Africa, very unique.

One word of caution regarding the roads which are asphalt on the main arteries but gravel elsewhere. The gravel roads are generally wide and well laid out but the washboard effect of the roads results in loud and somewhat rough ride, of course very dependent on the vehicle used. So if renting a vehicle, consider that it will spend a lot of its time on gravel if you want to see the best scenery on the "roads less travelled".

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We were very pleased with the arrangements suggested and made by Expert Africa and Sabina's knowledge of Namibia proved invaluable.

The pros and (if any) cons of the resorts, hotels, safaris and itinirary were clearly communicated to us to allow us to makeour decisions for our final itinerary.

We give full credit to Sabina's patience with our many "twists and turns" in our itinerary and we wound up wth a terrific self drive trip in a beautiful country."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 31 Mar 2017
"This was a great one night stop after our flights from Canada. The facilities. rooms and staff were great and the location was convenient.

We would surely go back if spending any time in Windhoek."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Apr 2017
"This lodge is somewhat dated but is a very interesting property, it has a very historical look and ambiance. location was in middle of town with a parking area within the secured property.

Some aspects of the room such as door fit and some other minor details were so so but given that it was priced accordingly, we had no problem with it. The staff were excellent and provided a great candle light supper in the open central court yard.

The staff also was very helpful in pointing out local attractions and providing directions."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2017
"This property was outstanding in facilities, location and people.

The rock surroundings were awesome and the grounds with cabins into and by the rocks was superb.

It was a great base for viewing the Fish River Canyon and spend time at the pool with a beautiful view of the desert and mountains."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

"Island Cottage review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2017
"Modern, newer condos with lots of space. Great view of the bay and the island(s), not far from town at all.

As this was a self catering accommodation, there is no rating on food or service although there was an excellent breakfast place a few doors down and the reception was friendly and efficient.

It would have been a plus to have had a dining table in the condo."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Great stay at the Desert Horse Inn"

1 night Arrived 6 Apr 2017
"We stayed here just one night so as to see the feral horses in the area. The facilities and rooms (very roomy) were great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate supper in town so could not rate it but the breakfast was excellent.

We were a little late in arriving so did not see the horses at the nearby waterhole but by getting there early the next morning, we were rewarded by a beautiful sunrise and seeing the horses (6) saunter over from afar to drink at the waterhole, followed by a lone Oryx bull.

As elsewhere in Namibia, the scenery was outstanding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Fantastic food at the Hoodia Deset Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2017
"We stayed here 3 nights so as to give us plenty of time to see the dunes and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owner/manager (Thomas) could not do enough for us and the staff followed his example.

The game steaks provided were exceptional, second to none.The individual cabins were excellent with an outside tub and shower.

The nights were clear and full of stars and laying back in the tub with some accompanying wine made for a magical experience.

Our guide to and in the park was very knowledgeable and gave just the right amount of guidance and free time. The lunch provided by the resort was a treat in the middle of the dunes."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Delight

The Delight

"Delightful stay at the Delight."

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2017
"This is a modern hotel near the old railway station and had a very unique layout and ambiance. Location was very good, easy access and a short walk to the beach.

The rooms were oriented to beach holiday visitors with plenty of space and amenities. The breakfasts were terrific and our room was especially spacious with a loft and cathedral ceiling.

Secure parking was provided"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"The end of the road at Terrace Bay."

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2017
"After a long drive, we arrived and had a flat tire as we drove in. The staff immediately changed the tire for the spare and patched up the flat tire. However, the damage was severe and we didn't trust the tire as we would be going into Damaraland on more gravel roads. However Richard arranged for us to see a man named Diamond in Damaraland and miraculously, he had the exact same tire, size and brand, in his shack and mounted it on the rim in place of the damaged tire...we were very relieved.

The facilities are basic but clean, they are oriented to fishermen going after the plentiful fish in the bay.

The rooms were a good size and had a nice view of the Atlantic. It is the only place to stay and one must keep in mind that caters to a different clientele than other resorts. The food was basic but very good with an excellent breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Magnificent Hill Top Doro Nawas Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2017
"Driving up to this resort was like approaching a medieval fortress as it sits by itself on top of a hill looking out over the desert.

It has a roof top terrace for watching sunsets and star gazing as well as a small court yard with a fire place and bean bags for socializing. The cabins were great....lots of room and comfortable... spread around the base of the hill.

The safaris to see the desert elephants were terrific as we found ourselves in the middle of a large herd (50?) of elephants.

Other game was seen along the way."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Pleasant stay at Ongava Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2017
"This resort had a unique character as the cabins and main buildings were very airy and the dining sitting area had a close view of a watering hole. This made for interesting game viewing from an easy chair with camera and beverage in hand. The game safaris in their own reserves surprised us with close sightings of Rhinos (rare blacks) and giraffes.

The safaris into Etosha were more challenging as there had been a lot of rain so the game was not as plentiful at the usual waterholes. Nevertheless, we saw about a dozen lions spread out over 3 locations along with other game."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Good stay at Mushara Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2017
"This resort has a more traditional look to its spacious cabins which were spread out on the grounds giving privacy and character.

The food was very good, the staff generally good but a few seemed to need some guidance from their colleagues.

The safaris were in Etosha Park but game was somewhat sparse due to the unusual heavy rains keeping game away from the traditional water holes...no fault of the resort.

A good value resort in a good location."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Spectacular resort, Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2017
"The main building is huge, modern and filled with pictures of big cats and Namibia of years gone by.

Is seemed a bit sterile compared to the other resort but no less impressive. We stayed in the View Room and its highlight is a huge picture window looking over the plain were the wild animals grazed. It was awesome at night as the moon lit up the landscape and seeing animals while lying in bed was a delight. The safaris were keyed to finding cheetahs and leopards, the resort's claim to fame, and we were not disappointed. The cheetahs were found using their tracking collars and were asleep in the middle of the day.

The leopards were more challenging even with their collars on and we enjoyed tracking them through the bush. At first it seemed artificial to be tracking animals with radio collars on but realizing that they are there to be rehabilitated and given that the very tough nature of the terrain would make it extremely difficult to find these cats, we got comfortable with the program."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

under own arrangements

"Our own great Namibia adventure"

7 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2017
"We were a group of 6, family and friends, including an 89 year old woman, who rented a VW van and covered 4700 kms. touring Namibia from bottom to top and back starting and ending in Windhooek. While we did a lot of planning ourselves as to were we wanted to go and lengths of stays, the help and guidance from Expert Africa proved invaluable.

Sabina at Expert was immensely patient with our barrage of questions giving us help with choosing resorts, hotels and safari camps when we were in a quandary of which one of many to choose from. They arranged for someone to greet us upon arrival and that same liaison was very helpful when we found ourselves changing airline reservations at the end of our trip.

The B&B suggested by Sabina for our first and last night in Windhoek were wonderful and doubt if we could have found them on our own.The VW van (we rented ourselves through Hertz)was roomy for the 6 of us and our luggage but was very loud and rough on the many washboard gravel roads in the interior, however, there were not a lot of alternatives.

We highly recommend Namibia for its beautiful diverse scenery and especially its friendly and helpful people, they were GREAT!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Very nice B&B at Villa Violet"

1 night Arrived 28 Apr 2017
"Very unique property layout with excellent rooms and facilities. As this was our last stop before going home, we only spent the night here but would highly recommend it.

Breakfast was good although not as diverse as other locations on our 3 week trip.

The location is close to many restaurants in the down town area yet easy access to the airport of interior roads."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team