This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse

Reviews of Canyon Roadhouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Roadhouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Roadhouse.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

67% success

Zebra

33% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Nick and Jane
Woolpit

"didn't stay here - changed to Canyon Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2016
"Changed to Canyon Lodge ( had to pay quite a bit more ) as didn't think 2.5 days at the Roadhouse would be fun ( pool cloudy and no other activities).

Canyon Lodge proved to be excellent in every way." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr S & Mrs G
Malaga

"Pleasant place"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2016
"It is a bit different with old vehicles littered around the place which is a bit wacky. The food was OK rather than good, but some very nice aloes in the garden and we saw a lovely sunset sitting out on the terrace. We needed our 4WD the next day as there was heavy rain and a stream turned into a biggish river coming back from the Canyon.

We had lunch at another lodge nearby which we preferred." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Taylor family
UK

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2014
"A quirky place to stay.

As themed roadhouses go this one gets it just about right. Could so easily tip over into being tacky but doesn't. It is instead a fun, lively place to stay. Our room was in one of the innner courtyards and was perfectly cool, clean and comfortable. It was within easy striking distance of the Fish River Canyon, which is about the only thing of note in the area.

Food was lovely and the bar was reasonably priced." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Bristol

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2014
"What an amazing hotel! We were delighted by the quirky surroundings. Eating dinner surrounded by vintage vehicles is a very interesting experience. The room was good with an air conditioning units which doubled as a heater once we got the hang of it. Comfortable beds and very friendly and helpful staff. The food was served hot and there was an interesting variety on the menu. It was easy to navigate our way to Fish River Canyon from the hotel." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr D & Ms E
Herts

"Great stay at Canyon Roadhouse"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2014
"Excellent stay, good location, service in the restaurant was very good and the food excellent." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Pandoras Box"

1 night Arrived 4 Mar 2014
"Stunning place, like no where else in the world. A must have stop off if you are travelling in Southern Namibia.

Lovely staff, great breakfast, love the toilets - make sure you open Pandoras box!!!

Pool is gorgeous and accommodation is lovely!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms E & Mr J
Spain

"Interesting place, very well located."

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2013
"It deserves a stop; the decoration is unique. Very well located to visit the Fish River Canyon." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr G x 4
Norway

"Canon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2013
"We had 2 nights there during our trip around Fish River Canyon.

All in all good service, but they were a bit surprised when we arrived and showed them our vouchers.
A nice spot in the middle of nowhere, with a beatiful view from top of the hill only a short walk from the lodge.
We did see some Oryx and Springboks on the plains." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Canon Roadhouse"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"We had three nights here to explore the Fish River area. It is a quirky place to stay with all the old vehicles inside and outside!

The staff were helpful, most especially Arvid, who helped to try and sort out a problem with our wheel rim, which had been damaged prior to our picking it up. But had been impossible to spot at the time of delivery as it was not visible until the tyre was flat and the wheel taken off!

We enjoyed our stay here and the food was very good. We also did a self guided walk here which was well marked out." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Bristol

"Quirky place to stay!"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2013
"Weather very cold once the sun went down!

Bathroom freezing!

Lovely meals both nights and enjoyed chatting to the staff.

Had to buy a fleece in the shop to combat the cold!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 34
88%
34 reviews of Canyon Roadhouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
19
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

Just 20km from Fish River Canyon, Canyon Lodge was the first lodge in the area, with individual chalets built amongst huge granite boulders.


89% (100 reviews)
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (74 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (14 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


73% (6 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa