This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr G x 4 from Norway

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

20

Excursions taken

1

My Oct 2013 trip

Namibia between 20 Oct 2013 and 5 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful trip and including the highlights we had it was even better than expected.

We always want to come back and see more of this vast and arid contry.

There are some regions left that we not have been, so until next time, cheers!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2013
"We only stayed there for one night before heading towards Fish River Canyon.

Nice room and service ok."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2013
"We had 2 nights there during our trip around Fish River Canyon.

All in all good service, but they were a bit surprised when we arrived and showed them our vouchers.
A nice spot in the middle of nowhere, with a beatiful view from top of the hill only a short walk from the lodge.
We did see some Oryx and Springboks on the plains."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2013
"We had a warm welcom at the lodge and were guided to drive out to our cabins in the desert, were we should stay for two nights.

It was a lovely sight when we arrived there at sunset and the cabins were almost hidden in between the boulders. When we parked the car, two Klipspringers were taken by surprise and bolted away when we stepped out.

We had a barbecue the first evening and we could hear an Oryx grasing in front of us. He was not scared and reluctanly moved away when we put the flashlight on him.

Very good service and a wonderful place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2013
"We had 2 nights there and it was a wonderful place.

Since it is a lot of tourists visiting and very busy, the atmosphere is not that casual. Apart from that the service and all arrangements are taken well care of and we enjoyed our stay there."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2013
"We had 2 nights there and enjoyed our stay in Swakopmund even if the weather was misty most of the time.

Good service and friendly staff.

Whilst in Swakopmund these guests took a day excursion to the coast south of Swakopmund. This is what they said about it:

This turned out to be one of the highlights during our trip, highly recommended.
Our guide Ernst Ritter shared his knowledge and showed us a lot of facinating and interresting things in and around Sandwich harbour. We even got a bit of sunshine when we headed back.
We also enjoyed the driving on the sand dunes and along the coast almost in the waves.
An exciting day we will never forget, thanks a lot."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Ernst made the day!!"

29 Oct 2013 • All-day excursion

This turned out to be one of the highlights during our trip, highly recommended.
Our guide Ernst Ritter shared his knowledge and showed us a lot of facinating and interresting things in and around Sandwich harbour. We even got a bit of sunshine when we headed back.
We also enjoyed the driving on the sand dunes and along the coast almost in the waves.
An exciting day we will never forget, thanks a lot.
Excellent
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

"Damara Mopane Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2013
"We only had a stop over heading for Etosha.

It was a green oasis and they had a big pool where we had a swim before dinner.

Nice rooms and good food."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"A wonderful place!"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2013
"We had 2 nights at Dolomite camp.

When we arrived at Dolomite camp and saw the surroundings, the lovely cabins and the smiling staff we were all feeling very spoiled. This is a little paradise taking into consideration the remote location and the harsh environment.

Stunning view from the cabins with a lot of animals moving to and fro the waterhole. Day of departure we watched a beatiful sunrise and hearing the bush "waking up".

The last evening when parking the car, a big male lion put his head out of some bushes only 100m away and gave a mighty roar. This was the highlight of our trip and my heartrate was way above avarege during the few minutes he used to walk around us. Guess we blocked his way when he was checking his territory."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2013
"We had 2 nights in main camp.

Well organised and we could sense a bit more service minded staff compared to our visit two years ago, so keep at like that.

A lot of animals showing up at the waterhole and we had some stunning encounters with lions at two other waterholes as well.

The chalets were very nice and all in all good service."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2013
"Just a stop over before heading back home.

Our third stay here, very nice and friendly."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Self drive in Namibia

Namibia and 1 other country between 2 Oct 2011 and 18 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful trip. We got what we came for, a lot of wild animals, great nature and an exciting holiday.

A beautiful country with friendly people. It was very easy driving on good roads and no problems occured.

We are very excited and will certainly make another trip in the future.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

When we entered Etosha, we saw that big areas were burnt down. This probably affected the wildlife, and we would want to have some info about these conditions in forehand, if possible of course."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2011
"Just a stop over during arrival and departure. Very friendly, clean and neat."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2011
"We only stayed one night, therefore no activities were available.
The staff told us that we had to stay for at least 2 nights to get the sundowner trip, a little dissapointing.

We did the walk to the viewpoint on top of the escarpment ourselves, nice view.
If we had known that we could not join the evening drive, we would have driven directly to Etosha."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2011
"We had a very nice chalet near the waterhole. We spent several hours by the waterhole and in the park, it was a wonderful experience.

The service in the restaurant could be better. The waiters seemed a bit uninterested."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2011
"A very warm welcom by the staff. A very nice lodge with a friendly atmosphere. The tents had good standard and everything were clean and neat.

A positive experience compared to the National parks."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2011
"A very warm welcom by the staff. A very nice lodge with a friendly atmosphere. The chalet had good standard and everything were clean and neat.

Interesting to learn about how the lodge contributed to the community, very positive initiative."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2011
"We arrived this place with high expectations, but the manager was not a very friendlly person, and he was both rude and arrogant. However, the fishing and the boat trips were great. We had a great guide named Small, and thanks to him we had two nice days in the panhandle.

If you want to come here you must know beforehand what to do, as the management is not very helpful in suggesting what to see or do. Obviously fishing and birdwatching are the attractions."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Camp Kwando review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"Very friendly and informative welcom. Beautiful location and we really enjoyed the evenings by the river with a tremendous amount of sounds and smells. Food were excelllent. We had a boat trip on the river and a game drive in Mudumu National park. We saw a lot of elephants, buffaloes and other plains game.

Very nice place with good atmosphere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2011
"Good atmosphere, nice hosts with a "familiar" touch during meals and by the fire."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"Nunda Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"Very beautiful lodge with a more formal approach. We enjoyed our stay here, new facilities wth high standard."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

"Kalahari Arms Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2011
"Just a stop over on our way back to Windhoek."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"Same feedback as for our first night. [Ed: see below]"
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team