This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D from Bristol

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2014 trip

Namibia between 5 Jun 2014 and 26 Jun 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an amazing time. All the arrangements worked well. The accommodation was of a high standard and we were very impressed by the friend and efficient service that we met everywhere we travelled. We were so pleased you highly recommended a spare wheel as we don't know how we would have coped without it. Some of the days required a lot of driving over gravel roads which would not be for the faint hearted. Shame some of the money being spent on widening the road near Windhoek is not being used to upgrade the tourist route to Seisriem. However, that is not the fault of Expert Africa. We have already recommended your company to friends and are full of praise for your website which gave us all the information we needed in order to put the trip together."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2014
"A delightful way to start the holiday. A lovely room with very welcome hot water bottles placed in the beds as winter in Namibia in early June can be and was very cold! We had the evening meal in the hotel which was well served and of a high standard. Staff were very friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2014
"The room was good with lovely hot shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing that spoilt our stay was the insistence that everyone had to eat at the same time. The hotel is so far from everywhere that it is necessary to eat dinner there. However, the kitchen was clearly struggling to serve over 60 meals simultaneously on our first night. On the second night it was worse as there were even more residents. It was extremely cold in the dining room (early June) and a long wait between courses. On the second night we gave up before we reached dessert. We very fortunate in being close to the kitchen so our meals were reasonably warm.
Both game drives (sunset and sunrise) were very good with lots of information being conveyed in a relaxed manner."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2014
"What an amazing hotel! We were delighted by the quirky surroundings. Eating dinner surrounded by vintage vehicles is a very interesting experience. The room was good with an air conditioning units which doubled as a heater once we got the hang of it. Comfortable beds and very friendly and helpful staff. The food was served hot and there was an interesting variety on the menu. It was easy to navigate our way to Fish River Canyon from the hotel."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2014
"This was a very modern and well appointed hotel with an excellent Wi-Fi system which we could access in our room. There was some confusion on the first night and we were told we had to have the set menu. On the second night we were denied access to the set menu and told we had to have al la carte as we were only booked for b&b. Strange as our meal on the second night was cheaper than on the first night! Service in the restaurant was very slow and staff not as friendly as those on reception."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2014
"We were the only guests at this Retreat due to being early in the season. However, our hosts gave us a warm welcome and took over our difficulty with a shredded car tyre. The wheel was changed whilst we were at breakfast on our first morning. Meals here are taken around the dining table with our hosts. This was an amazing opportunity to learn more about Namibia and the difficulties of farming in such difficult terrain. The food was delicious and the wine was also.

The rooms are built into the dunes. They are spacious and have good hot showers. They are well decorated and the farmhouse/reception is a delightful building with very few right angles! Lots of beautiful artifacts are displayed and it was just like staying with friends. The outlook from the room was delightful as was the garden in front of the main house. The meercat was delightful to watch and Coco the Australian Sheepdog made us very welcome.

An evening drive across the farm to a high point to watch the sun set was delightful."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2014
"A beautifully appointed guesthouse, although we found the pebbled floor in the bathroom a little hard on the feet! Breakfast only here but that did not matter was we wanted to return to the Tug restaurant to enjoy their extensive fish menu and wine list. Breakfast was buffet style with hot options if required. Well situated and easy to park."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"A long way to travel to see nothing!"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2014
"We asked to stay at Brandberg White Lady Lodge as we had previously enjoyed a stay there looking at the Desert elephants. However, when we arrived we found that the safari vehicle was off the road and it looked as though it had been for a while. The room was not ready and we had to wait which was curious because as far as we could tell there was only one other couple staying. The food was average and took a long time to serve. We did not like the room which was badly in need of updating. There was a general air of gloom about the place. So different from our previous experience. We left early the next day.

However we picked this hotel not Expert Africa so we only have ourselves to blame!"
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Sustainable tourism at its best"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2014
"We were a little daunted by the vertical ride up the side of the mountain (in the Lodge's 4x4 vehicle), but when we reached the top the view was spectacular. The restaurant terrace ends in a sheer drop over the side of the mountain and from our cabin we had a similar vertical drop from our veranda. But you can watch eagles circling below.

We went elephant tracking on the first afternoon and after a long search managed to locate one elephant. The second day we tracked rhinos and were fortunate to find a mother and baby as well as father lurking close by. The guide and trackers were very knowledgeable and explained how the local community has come together to work to increase the number of rhinos in the surrounding area.

The Lodge is run by the members of the local community under guidance at present but that will gradually reduce until 2015. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was good and plentiful and much to our surprise we had Wi-Fi in the lounge areas.

On our last day we found our car had been cleaned for us. En route to our next destination and not more than 3 km from the entrance to the Lodge we to wait whilst 7 elephants (mothers and babies) crossed the road in front of us. Could have saved all that time tracking had we known!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Best water hole in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2014
"The accommodation was comfortable and warm. Staff were friendly and helpful.The food was much better than we were expecting from reading other reviews. It was also well served. The maintain attraction was the water hole which could be reached on foot from our lodge. It is very well designed and a large number of people could be accommodated without difficulty. The animals did not disappoint. On the very first evening 35 elephants came down to drink. On the second night we saw 7 rhinos. Springboks, zebras and jackals were part of the supporting cast."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Best food in Etosha "

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"The food here was of a very high standard and well served. The accommodation was very modern and well designed. Bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. We tried driving out to some of the water holes near the Camp, but the approach roads to some were in very poor condition. However, we did see some animals especially rhinos, elephants, springbok and zebra in great numbers. The water hole is delightful but you do need to be pretty nimble on your feet. We did not do any game drives here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Africat and the honeymoon suite"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2014
"When we arrived at the first entrance gate we were told we had been upgraded to Bush Camp from Garden Suite. When we finally reached the Bush Camp (27 km later) the welcome was very warm and friendly and we found we had been further upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite. Unfortunately there was no heating in the suite which was a grave disadvantage as the temperature plummeted after our arrival and the hot water bottles provided were an essential item.
Food was taken around dining tables which seated 6-8 and was well presented and served, with a good variety.
The game drive on the first day was a disappointment. The tracking equipment did not seem to be working very well. We did manage to get a glimpse of one leopard (which strangely did not have a collar!) On the second day we looked for Cheetah and found two very placid looking ones which had not long since been released into the hunting area. A special treat was the Porcupine watching after dinner from a specially constructed hide."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team