This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Staffs

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Days to Remember in Namibia

Namibia between 8 May 2016 and 30 May 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was truly a most rewarding experience, we both were enthralled by the journey and the sights we were able to see.

The trip was very well planned and organised, and offered a really in-depth insight into Namibia and its wildlife and stunning scenery.

We covered a lot of ground in our in Namibia, and whilst distance itself is not a problem, the state of the roads can make road travel very demanding. If we are able to return again I would seriously consider flying in and out to the lodges.

Our thanks go to Elizabeth for producing a very detailed travel plan and itinerary"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2016
"This was our first stop, and a truly superb location.

The afternoon drive and sundowner were well organised, every aspect was taken care of during our stay. The only comment I would make is that one night is not enough.

To appreciate the site and its attractions two nights are required."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2016
"Central Lodge provided a welcome stop over.

The hotel rooms are a little `tired` but the overall impression of the place with its court yard, restaurant ,and staff was very good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2016
"This is a marvellous place to visit and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Its location near to Fish River Canyon makes it a superb stopover.

The staff were marvellous and I would recommend this site to anyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2016
"This hotel is superbly located on the sea shore and offers a level of luxury that we really appreciated after some difficult long driving.

The hotel has all the facilities you could wish for ,including some stunning sea views and some seals in the water as well.

Luderitz is worth a visit to look at the German architecture,and gain an impression of how life used to be years ago."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"A truly wonderful place to stop over."

1 night Arrived 14 May 2016
"The location is fantastic, with incredible scenery and really well worth a visit.

The afternoon tour with drinks and game drive was a marvellous experience. This site is worthy of a two night stop over. One night is really not enough to take in all the tours and attractions the site has to offer.

The buffet meals really exceeded our expectations as was by far the best to date."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"A truly magical place to stay over ."

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2016
"Until now we had been very pleased with every location we had stayed at. Arriving at Kulala with its marvellous welcome and really personal attention elevated our experience to a new level.

The Staff at this location are absolutely superb. The lodge is stunning. The entertainment at dinner time by the staff was first class.

This was our first taste of what was to become one of several fantastic locations to stay over."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"A touch of German culture by the sea."

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2016
"This hotel whilst situated outside of town sits on a marvellous location overlooking the sea. It has very good rooms offering every level of comfort you could wish for, and the rooms are very large, and with a very large bathroom.

The only down side was that the restaurant was not open in the evenings. Apparently they close the restaurant in the low season. It will open in July I believe. It was open for breakfast only.

The restaurant offers superb views across the ocean. Again the staff were very good, especially the restaurant staff. Activities on offer were limited mainly due to the weather, it was very foggy.

We were able to arrange a taxi to take us to the town centre and spent an enjoyable few hours at the aquarium and looking around the town. Swakopmund is a fascinating town to visit as its in sharp contrast to any other town in Namibia."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"A really rewarding experience."

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2016
"This was to become our best experience to date.

We were met by Teek who was to become our guide for the duration of our stay. We arrived at the lodge to be greetly by drinks, cool towels, and a welcome song from the staff. This was to become a trend during our stay here. The staff would sing and dance after every evening meal. And also sing a goodbye song on our departure.

The elephant drive and outdoor breakfast led by Teek was an unforgettable experience. The evening meals which are communal, and themed, so that they are different every evening. They were truly an unforgettable.

The lodges were marvellous, and I would recommend this camp to anyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Exciting evening Safari."

1 night Arrived 21 May 2016
"Hoobatere Lodge provides a very relaxing and quite place to stay, with the chance to see a selection of game, if you are lucky enough. It really requires two days to fully appreciate whats on offer.

We did the evening game drive, and although Martin our guide tried very hard to fine some large game to view, we only managed to see a selection of small mammals. But it was well worthwhile. The next morning their were plenty of game around the water hole, but we had to leave. The lodges we found rather small, and coming from Damaraland the atmosphere was not quite so warm and engaging.

Nevertheless, I very much liked this more relaxed approach, and would certainly visit the site again. The restaurant staff were superb."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Watch life go by at the water hole.."

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2016
"This site was dissappointing, and lived up to its many reviews. What makes the site a `must ` to visit is the water hole, and the game drives. You can spend all day at the water hole its just so rewarding. And this really is the place for game drives, you will see everything here.

The accomodation is in need of refurbishment , and looks and feels very worn out, particularly the bath/shower room.

The request for 350.00 $ inventory fee is a real annoyance. We checked our inventory and found only 4 + ( 1 damaged coat hangers) We reported this to reception, the receptionist stated they were not too bothered about some of the smaller items. The deposit was refunded on our departure without the room been checked for any defects,or breakages. It was a complete was of our time. The staff are not as motivated as the private lodges, and therefore the experience was not as good as at previous lodges.

The restaurant was also disappointing. During our stay there were a number of large groups and this seemed to cause seating problems. Some of the restaurant staff were very good, others were somewhat less attentive.

The camp caters for a whole range of visitors ,but the facilities are in need of a review. The grounds whilst reasonably well kept, could be more tidy."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"A great place to see Rhino"

1 night Arrived 24 May 2016
"This farm has recently changed hands, and the new owner has introduced more game onto the farm. This was a truly magnificent place to visit, its reminiscent of the old colonial days and really takes you back in time.

The lodges are spacious and very well equipped, and well within walking distance to the hide and water hole. The staff were excellent, and the food fantastic.

Its certainly a place I would return to, its so peaceful and tranquil ,and set in some truly wonderful surroundings. During our stay there were no activities on offer, but I would recommend two nights here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2016
"This is not a place I would return to, the whole camp and grounds are rather run down . We were given a chalet with no water, then we were moved to another chalet which had no chairs in the room. They provided an additional chair and advised we should use the other chair from the veranda. The reception staff were polite but not engaging.
They requested a 500$ deposit for the chalet key, a really annoying condition of entry.

They do not sell diesel, and the on site shop lacked most basic items.

The chalet was rather grubby inside, and we had to give our key to the cleaner the next day to gain access, as she did not have a key. There is no street lighting from the reception to the restaurant and onto lodges, With limited lighting on the road in front of the lodges. The restaurant is housed in the old German police station and is worth a visit. The breakfasts were good and the staff were very helpful.

The real and only prize for this site is the game drive onto the Plateau. This was once again a truly fantastic experience."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Poor
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"A truly stunning place to visit."

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2016
"This was to be our last destination, and it surpassed every other lodge we had stayed at. The location is stunning, the quality of the staff excellent, the lodge we stayed in was marvellous, very spacious with views you have to experience to believe.

We did some Leopard, Hyena, and Cheteeh tracking with our guide Daniel, and these were really unforgettable experiences,made even more interesting with our guide.

The whole 3 days were really marvellous, I would recommend this site to everyone. For some reason we were given the honeymoon suite, and gave us the opportunity to experience the local game at close range.

The only minor draw back was the limited evening menu. Always meat, But every other aspect of the stay at Okonjima was truly stunning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team