This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Phil from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

Namibia Feb 16

Namibia between 6 Feb 2016 and 25 Feb 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Generally all the hotels and lodges suggested by EA and we stayed at were very, very good on the whole. It was a good itinerary but some of the drives between stops took longer than we thought they would.

Great views great scenery. Beautiful game-but its not like the Mara or some where like that-because its very different climate."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2016
"Good"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2016
"Very interesting stay-worth it. Average on facilities-lack of external sitting area and pool not inviting.

Reasonable distance to Fish river canyon."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2016
"Very nice pool. Good food."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

"Dabis Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 12 Feb 2016
"very informative, enthusiastic hosts. we have an interest in sustainability and so their ideas were especially relevant to us. The rooms were relatively basic - no fan, air con and we had a problem with the toilet (which was dealt with quickly but not completely). Limited choice for vegetarians - emphasis was on eating meat they had produced.

Good they had a pool and tennis court. Sunchairs could be better."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2016
"The park is well worth a visit.

The lodge is a good location inside the park.The actual chalet was a bit of trek from main facilities; be sure to ask for a chalet closer but not to close. Otherwise very nice."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Fantastice room with view of sea!"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2016
"Great location overlooking the sea. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed (possibly permanently). Had to drive into town for dinner.

The Tug : Worth visiting but book in advance - make sure ask for window seat. Outside can be cool so take jacket or fleece.

The room was the best so far. Great window overlooking the sea."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Very good."

16 Feb 2016 • All-day excursion

The trip to Sandwich harbour was very good but a bit uncomfortable to be all day in a Landrover.

The "vegetarian" message didn't get to the tour operator so no option prepared.
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Great views from the roof of the hote;"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2016
"Very warm welcome by very friendly staff. Food was very good.

One of the best rooms we stayed in."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"A definate must."

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2016
"Worth 2 nights under canvas - very civilised.

Great experience to walk with a knowledgeable guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great waterhole viewing"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2016
"The only reason to stay here is the waterhole on you doorstep-a great place to view animals.

We upgraded room because the standard room was basic; overall the room we changed to was clean and tidy but most of all in a much better location. Food was worst on the whole trip. For example if Breakfast is from 6 am then everything should be available from 6.

We took one game drive which we could have done on our own. There is a shop but it has virtually nothing in it apart from some basics."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Terrible
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great for viewing leopards and cheetahs"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2016
"Great to get close-up to some of the cats on the game drive. Outside your room views of Warthogs, Oryx and other animals.

Nice dining room and swimming pool."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team