This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr S & Mrs G from Malaga

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

1

Great trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 16 Jan 2016 and 14 Feb 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a super 3 weeks driving ourselves around Namibia basically staying 2 nights in each location. We really liked the country, the people, the scenery and it has a very good infrastructure of roads and places to stay at.

Maruska really helped to organise the whole trip very efficiently. I also found the website to be very useful to prepare the trip

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really. I was very happy with everything (except the Ford Ranger vehicle)."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Perfect , quiet B&B"

1 night Arrived 17 Jan 2016
"A very good, relaxed, tranquil B&B which was perfect for us to stay overnight and recover from the journey from Europe.

Nice for bird-watching and there is an excellent Portugese/Mozambique sea-food restaurant 5 mins away. Helpful owner and a superb breakfast the next day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Beautiful red sand-dunes"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2016
"We stayed 2 nights but I would recommend 1 night to break the journey between Windhoek & the South.

The combo afternoon game drive/ cheetah feeding & sunset drink was very good and I highly recommend the 7am walk with some bushmen"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Pleasant place"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2016
"It is a bit different with old vehicles littered around the place which is a bit wacky. The food was OK rather than good, but some very nice aloes in the garden and we saw a lovely sunset sitting out on the terrace. We needed our 4WD the next day as there was heavy rain and a stream turned into a biggish river coming back from the Canyon.

We had lunch at another lodge nearby which we preferred."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Incredible setting"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2016
"Fantastic views from our chalet, especially at sunrise and sunset.

The BBQ kit and breakfast kit are very good and it was fun cooking our own dinner, although we needed to find some kindling to help start the BBQ. Very well equipped and a good selection of wines and beers available in the chalet.

Highly recommended 2 nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

"Fantastic camp"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2016
"We arrived in searing 34 degree heat to find that our tent had some much needed A/C which made it perfect.

Great views, quiet location, excellent tents and the food at Sossusviei Lodge 5 mins away was very good.

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Lovely, friendly place"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2016
"Beautiful setting with great views out to the valley and the morning sun moving up as we sipped tea on our verandah at first light.

Excellent, friendly hosts and it was fun and interesting to join them and the other guests for a very tasty dinner featuring springbok. It was quite hot for sleeping but we were there in January.

I would personally recommend 1 night rather than 2."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Perfect B&B"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2016
"We really enjoyed our 3 nights here. Nice, quiet location but close to the restaurants. good rooms and an excellent breakfast.

We had a problem with our hire car here and Robyn was most helpful in getting it sorted out. It is worth getting her to book restaurants beforehand to get a good table for the sunset. The Tug is a particularly good seafood place.

Whilst in Swakopmund these travellers enjoyed a Pelican Point kayaking excursion. Here's what they said about it:

Craig was a very good guide and we had a most enjoyable morning with him, first of all birding on the drive out to Pelican Point and then the kayak trip amongst the seals. Recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Nice outing"

29 Jan 2016 • Morning excursion

Craig was a very good guide and we had a most enjoyable morning with him, first of all birding on the drive out to Pelican Point and then the kayak trip amongst the seals.

Recommended.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Unique place"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2016
"Slightly mixed views on Doro Nawas.

The setting is gorgeous and we had great sunsets seen from the verandah, excellent food and a lot of fun with the local Damara staff who were most attentive. We did however find it rather expensive for what it offers and N$800pp is over the top for a game drive especially as we did not see any elephants or other exciting game.

It was very hot when we stayed at the end of January, 45 degrees with a hot wind, and A/C would have been very welcome. One night would have been enough for us."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A bit run down"

2 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2016
"The best things are the water-hole in front of the verandah and the private reserve it is set in where we went for a very nice game drive.

The tents are quite old and run down and I found them quite tacky and small. The food was OK."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Fantastic camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2016
"This was the best place we stayed at in 3 weeks in Namibia, 10 out of 10.

Lovely spacious tents and a very well designed central reception/restaurant/lounge area looking out onto a nice garden. The food was first class and we enjoyed a lazy afternoon lounging around their excellent swimming pool area. Very reasonable price as well.

HIGHLY recommended"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Nice place"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2016
"We enjoyed our stay here and particularly the early morning walk.

I would recommend 1 night."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch Guest Farm

"Perfect place by the airport"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2016
"Very conveniently situated 5 mins from the airport but on a farm in the bush with a lovely garden and interesting succulent plants."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Acorn House

Acorn House

"Super B&B"

5 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2016
"We really liked our stay of 5 nights here.

Good, quiet location but not far away from Central Capetown. The staff were very nice, efficient and helpful in organising our activities and making restaurant bookings.

Highly recommended but best to have your own car."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team