This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr F & Mrs A from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

5

My Feb 2013 trip

Namibia between 1 Feb 2013 and 24 Feb 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was one of our best holidays as a result of a tremendous effort by Sabina who made sure it was tailored for us in every way.

She is a valuable asset to the company.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Your name says it all, you are experts so how can I suggest improvement"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Zum Sperrgebiet Seaview Hotel, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Zum Sperrgebiet Seaview Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2013
"We did not spend much time in the hotel, but the staff were very friendly and helpful"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sperrgebiet tour

Sperrgebiet tour

"We didn't find diamonds!"

4 Feb 2013 • All-day excursion

We enjoyed this tour very much, our guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and served us a good lunch under conditions which were not easy.
Excellent
Sperrgebiet tour

Sperrgebiet tour

"How could the women tolerate it?"

5 Feb 2013 • Morning excursion

Charles van Zyl had done a lot of homework on this (and the whole trip) and so we got a lot out of the visit. The conditions the people lived under amaze wimps like me and I admire them enormously.

The site is well-maintained and their guide was good.
Excellent
Halifax Island boat trip

Halifax Island boat trip

"Not for me!"

5 Feb 2013 • Morning excursion

My fault entirely. The day was cold and very windy, the sea rough. We did not realise how far out to sea was necessary and are not good sailors, so as soon as it got rough we asked to return.

The skipper and his helper were very kind about it and did not show any exasperation which would have been understandable.
Terrible
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2013
"What a gem of a place! The staff are so welcoming and so talented, their singing was superb and they put themselves out to give us a great time. We are so grateful for the lovely candle decoration of the wine-cellar where they served us a special dinner. The guide we had when Charles left, Willie, was very friendly and gave us a good trip to the wine-farm.

Sleeping on the roof was wonderful, no bugs and not cold, but it seemed a waste of time to sleep when there are so many stars to look at.
We loved the lay-out of the room and its exterior."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2013
"We always enjoy staying with Sam and Beethoven, both of whom are extremely friendly and welcoming. We admire Sam for the way he cares for and trains his staff, for their benefit as much as for his own. Sam was so generous in giving us a free wine-tasting as a celebration.

We will stay there whenever we are in Swakopmund, the garden is delightful for relaxation and reading."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Sightseeing with a difference"

10 Feb 2013 • Morning excursion

Jeanne and her helper Francois were excellent leaders, most knowledgeable about the area and its wildlife and enthusiastic about their work.

We coped very well with the kayak and the sea was calm so we enjoyed the whole experience. It was exciting to get so close to the furseals and both guides were great at identifying birds for us.
Excellent
Image alt

Conservancy Safaris

"Conservancy Safaris review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2013
"I doubt if we will ever do anything as exciting. Russell was an amazing guide/host, so knowledgeable and caring about the whole environment, plants, animals, geology and people. He took us on great trips and was a charming companion. Special mention must be made os Sonja who conjured up outstanding meals and accommodation under very difficult circumstances, including champagne and a special cake which she baked for us over a fire (how???)

Meeting Flip was very special, this man is awesome (not a word I normally use), his dedication and capacity for working under extraordinary conditions is incredible. We feel it was a great honour to be allowed to observe him at work and enlightening to talk to him, thank you for arranging it. This is work we will follow on the website.

We watched a large lion from close quarters as he ate from an oryx and played with his cub. We watched Flip recollar a lioness, tale measurements and display his affection for and knowledge about his animals, all of which he was happy to share with us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2013
"Another camp with happy, welcoming, singing staff, led by the wonderful Maggie. Once more we were welcomed with champagne and rose-petals. Nestor was our able and friendly guide who took great care to find things to interest us.

We were ready for a rest after our camping experience and enjoyed the accommodation and outlook. The trackers were successful in finding a rhino with baby, and sensitive, not only for our safety but also for the welfare of the animals when the mother became a little agitated. Most enjoyable.

A delightful surprise evening meal was given to all of us in a lamp-lit secluded area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2013
"A wonderful place to finish our sightseeing trip. Once more we were given special treatment, champagne on arrival at the airstrip, the honeymoon suite, special private dinner in a pavilion, and more champagne at the end of the stay.

Such delightful people, especially our guide, Gheradus and our waitress, Gina. Gheradus made sure we saw as many birds as possible, all of which he knew at a glance, and took us for two exciting boat trips, one of which resulted in us seeing at very close hand, a crocodile take a cow from a group drinking in the river.

We were so pleased that Wilderness's CEO was staying there and we were able to express our appreciation for everyone's efforts and attentions, including our travel agent in London!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 22 Feb 2013
"Thank you Sabina for suggesting this for our last night. Bettina is a lovely host and her place is different.

Next time we would like to begin our trip with two nights here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

A memorable holiday

Namibia between 8 Feb 2012 and 2 Mar 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was outstanding.

Very well organized - thank you Sabina for all your hard work, care and suggestions. We will be back in the near future and hope that Sabina will look after us for a third time.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Get another car-hire firm or make it clear that they must deliver what is promised and payed for - we got only one spare wheel though payed for two.

But that is a minor complaint compared to our overall appreciation and enjoyment. Thank you"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove, an excellent guest house"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2012
"this is a wonderful place to begin and to end a holiday. Mike and Carol are great hosts, very friendly and caring.

Their luxury room was superb and when we returned they upgraded us to a fabulous suite. I would strongly reccommend them to any traveller and will return there next time."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport is worth a visit"

3 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2012
"A wonderful welcome, everyone so friendly and helpful. The family-gathering round the table at mealtime is so inclusive and one soon feels at home.

Arrangements for outings was designed individually to suit interests and each was most ably guided by knowledgeable guides.

We loved it"
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Beautiful Rostock Ritz"

1 night Arrived 13 Feb 2012
"A delightful place to stop-over on a long journey, one to which we would return for a longer stay. All the staff were friendly and interested in what we wanted to do.

As we were there only overnight we did not do activities but looked upon it as a welcome and indulgent rest. The pool area is a dream, both during the day and at night for star-gazing"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Welcome return to Sam's Giardino"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2012
"We were so pleased to return to Sam's. He is a great character and charming host. We were the only guests and he really put himself out to make us welcome and to spend time with us.

We enjoyed his wine-tasting, he is so well-informed and enthusiastic. His dog, of course, was on form as co-host, and the beautiful garden was a haven of rest after a hard day's shopping."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Interesting birding in Sandwich Harbour"

15 Feb 2012 • All-day excursion

Our guide was excellent for birding and showed us lots of interesting places. H

e provided a lovely luch and we had interesting discussions.
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe was a lovely interlude"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2012
"Again, this was a stop-over on a long journey so we did not partake in activities. The setting is delightful and staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our night there and the rooms and centre are lovely.

Compared to other places we did not find mixing with others as easy, probably because there are individual tables and we were not there long enough, nor did we go out in vehicles. I loved the outdoor bathrooms and the way the rooms fitted into the natural setting."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"Everyone should experience Huab Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2012
"A wonderful place to visit. The family-style dining is so enjoyable and makes one feel at home.

Jan, Suzi and all their staff are excellent company and do everything to make their guests comfortable and welcome. Excellent guiding by Jan, plenty of nearby places to stroll to around the lodge and enjoy seeing birds, lizards, various insects and plants and the most superb bungalows in which to enjoy comfortable relaxation and privacy.

Some people might be disappointed not to see lots of game but anyone with wider interests in plant-life, smaller animals and geology would enjoy being here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"A great bush-camp"

3 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2012
"One could not hope for a better or more well-informed guide than Bruno. We were the only guests so everything was catered to our interests. We had a dramatic first night with violent thunderstorms which made the outdoor dining and bathroom experiences ones to remember.

Everything was provided by Bruno and Tommy, Bruno cooking over a fire after a full day out with us walking which was no mean feat. We learned a lot and had close sightings of a variety of animals, some very close to camp. The access road was difficult after prolonged rainfall, maybe at some point it will have to be addressed.

A welcome experience and a change from luxurious lodges, an adventure really."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Return to Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2012
"Lovely though main camp is I prefer their (more expensive) Bush Camp. It was lovely to see the leopards and cheetahs and this is probably the most reliable way of doing so.

It is also a more acceptable way of allowing lots of people to see them as I find the idea of several vehicles chasing after stalking predators abhorrent and at least we know that these beautiful animals will be cared for if necessary.

At the same time the idea of educating people about the dreadful treatment we mete out to these animals is laudable. They do a good job here."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Skeleton Coast Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Last stay at Skeleton Coast Camp"

4 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2012
"It is such a shame that this camp is now closed. With tourism so important to Namibia maybe the tourist board should stop to think about the implications of granting only short-term licences to companies who have to set up well-run and well-appointed camps miles from anywhere. It seems an appalling waste of physical and human resources.

Our guide was outstanding, all the camp staff outgoing and friendly and we had wonderful trips into this special area, appreciating the beauty and vastness and changeability. Everyone was sad that it was ending, but they gave us a great party to see it go out in style."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Return to Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 29 Feb 2012
"As I said in the first comments this was an excellent end to an outstanding holiday. The premier suite is the best we have ever stayed in.

I would not go to any hotel in preference to the personal, individual accommodation on offer here"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team