This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel

Reviews of Nest Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

57 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nest Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 57
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Mrs L
Kent

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2012
"Modern hotel on edge of town.

Good rooms except for poor insulation from TV and talking noise from neighbours. Breakfast was very good but we ate in town in the evening as the restaurant was expensive." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr M
UK

"Wonderful views from Nest Hotel"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2012
"No particular comments. We were very lucky with the weather the day we visited Luderitz and also drove around Diaz Point." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Suffolk

"Nest Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2011
"Nice location and very good reception staff who were welcoming and very helpful on arrival having the twin beds converted to a double without fuss and booking a table for dinner for us without us even knowing just because we had mentioned it in passing at check ini. Later, when we complained of building noise in the evening from a nearby room, we were told they would be asked to stop but it continued and was very intrusive. We later discovered we were not the only ones to bring the matter up to no avail.

It is not our first stay here and we always enjoy the a la carte seafood at dinner but once again were outnumbered by several noisy groups eating from a buffet which meant we were rather forgotten and ignored by the staff especially a very unwelcoming manager lady who 'greeted' us.

The food, especially the oysters, were great but the atmosphere and service were not although there were some lovely personalities working in the restaurant at other times. Similarly on arriving for breakfast with 20 mins to go before it closed we were told rather unwelcomingly that it was almsot finished and felt we had to rush although we were not the only people eating at that time.

The Nest is a place of contradictions and mixed experiences but a good base in Luderitz to walk into town, see the sights and admire the view." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms H & B &Mr B
Norway

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr C B & family
UK

"The Nest- Completely different!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2011
"We werent particularly looking forward to the Nest having read all the other reviews. Strangely enough we loved it.

European "Holiday Inn" style hotel, completely naff. Immaculately clean, no atmosphere. Our room on the ground floor; the balcony was level with the rocks on the sea shore, the sea lapped up just underneath it, fabulous view across the bay. Loved it!

Arriving on Sunday night to find Luderitz closed, we had to eat in hotel. Excellent food, good service. Enjoyed it a lot.
Did morning trip to Ghost town, one of our highlligts of trip. Absolutely fascinating and made Luderitz whacky, worth a detour." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs S
Aberdeen

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2011
"While the Nest Hotel was fine, Luderitz was the one spot on our tour that we could have skipped. The penguins were almost worth seeing and Kolmanskop and the mining museum were interesting but overall we thought Luderitz was a "one-horse" town.

We did see around 100 ferral horses near Aus en route to Luderitz." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2011
"A lovely warm room, receptionist moved us to a room with a balcony actually on the rocky shore which was small but very comfortable with seabirds feeding 3m away from us. Lovely warm, charming staff and good food. There was even a washing line in the bathroom!" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"MIXED EXPERIENCES"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2010
"Afeter a long drive from Fish River Canyon, we were warmly welcomed by staff. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea from which we spotted a pateinet heron fishing! The first night we decided to eat 'A la-Carte' rather than the buffet and were disappointed. The food was not good; but upon commenting about this to the staff - the bill was reduced. The second evening we had the buffet which was actually good and better value.

The highlight of staying here were the two most amazing trips we had booked. The first was down through the Sperrgebiet and onto Bogenfells Rock Arch. We had fantastic guides and the atmosphere at the deserted mines was amazing! That trip was worth every penny! This was really fabulaous. From our first stop at the deserted mines; we really absorbed the atmosphere of the place. We have taken some amazing photos of the deserted buildings at Pomona and the guide was brilliant. Lunch at the old Schoolhouse was wonderful and gave us plenty of time to wander round. The cemetry was particularly poignant. We enjoyed the contrast in visting Bogenfells Rock Arch with the wild waves.

We later manager to buy the book ' the harsh and forbidden Sperrgebiet' book to learn more about this amazing place.

The second booked trip was out on the boat Sedina- where upon returning from Penguin Island; a hump back whale breached in front of our boat! What an amazing experience. A great trip. The skipper was fun, very knowledgeable and informative. We saw doplhins and penguins on our trip out and then the hump-back whale breached in front of our boat on the return journey- a truly magical experience and one we never expected from our Namibian trip.

It was fascinating to learn so much about the fishing industry and tides of Namibia too. Well worth it - even without the whale sighting- although that was the icing on the cake!

We did visit Kolmanskop on our final morning which was good; but after the Sperrgebiet was rather an anti-climax." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Dr S
London

"Nest Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2009
"We only stayed here because we weren't able to get two nights at Klein Aus Vista. Only stay here if you're desperate!
We were given a room with a partial sea view (301): probably one of only three rooms with just a partial view, and I can't believe it was that busy.

Maybe eating here will serve us right for not being more adventurous (ie, going into town) but I had the worst meal I've eaten (or not!) for decades. For 'Thai stir fry of seafood in own juices' read 'not particularly fresh seafood in canned lobster bisque soup'. It was inedible. And not cheap, so it's reasonable to expect more. I didn't eat it and said it wasn't enjoyable, and so a supervisor marched over, and basically said I should have expected it to be a soup (??).

They then seemingly redeemed themselves by not including it on the bill and my partner gave a good tip as she thought they'd dealt with it well. However, when we came to check out, they had charged us for it." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
The Blue waxbills
UK

"Nest Hotel Review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2008
"The hotel was fine and once more the staff were helpful for example offering to book a sea trip to see penguins, seals and dolphins, which we did.

I have said the location was good, that meaning within Luderitz. I cannot say Luderitz itself was a highlight. The wind almost blew us away and there seems little of real interest had it not been for the sea trip, which was by the way well worth it. The crew and captain were relaxed and enthusistic, and again keen to share their experience.

The drive to Luderitz was exciting. The sand was being blasted across the road by the wind and even with headlights on it was quite difficult to see far ahead. It sounded like a hailstorm in the car and selfishly I was glad that it was not my vehicle since I guess the paintwork suffers somewhat. The outward journey was very different, perfectly calm. Apparently huge changes in weather conditions within a short time are the norm.

A trip around the peninsula is well worth doing." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 57
80%
57 reviews of Nest Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
28
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


95% (79 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


89% (43 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa