This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr M from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

1

My May 2012 trip

Namibia between 16 May 2012 and 6 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very happy with the itinerary as it allowed us a brief look at many different parts of the country in a relatively short period of time. We travelled 4200 kms in 3 weeks. We are used to driving on gravel and corrugated roads but other less experienced drivers may have found the length of trip tiring. It also meant that some very good camps became overnight stops instead of the destination they deserved to be. (eg. Mushara)

We purchased goods for which we could reclaim the VAT. Our claim was processed without problem other than a 70 minute queue after check-in and 15 minutes before check-in to complete the form and have Customs and Excise check that we had the goods in our possession. Some people in the queue did not get their claims processed before having to board their flight. At the time I was queuing most of the people were on a flight to Angola and had a very large number of receipts with their claims. These were being audited carefully and many rejected which added to the time being taken."

Image alt

Vertigo Boutique Hotel, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Very comfortable hotel"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2012
"Very pleasant hotel and helpful staff.

It would be a bit isolated if it were to be used for anything other than a one night stop on arrival."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Good stay at Bagatelle"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2012
"Good to be able to walk around by ourselves and get a feel for the area around the camp."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Good base for Fish River Canyon viewing trips"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2012
"No lounge area for sitting in the evening, only a small bar area."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Wonderful views from Nest Hotel"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2012
"No particular comments. We were very lucky with the weather the day we visited Luderitz and also drove around Diaz Point."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Great braai under the stars at Eagles Nest"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2012
"There had been flooding in March and the resort was in the process of rebuilding access roads; for which they apologised. This did not cause any undue difficulty for us but access to the Eagles Nest part of the resort was very sandy in part. We believe that an ordinary car may not have been able to access our particular lodge.

A member of the restaurant staff was very efficient in getting a braai pack prepared for us together with wood, firelighters and matches. All other guests returned to the lodge for dinner leaving us to have our braai in the dark under the stars - one of the best nights of the trip. This is definitely the way to do it at this resort!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Wonderful memories of Hoodia"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2012
"The service was both professional and personal and the food the best we encountered on our trip.

We went on the all day excursion to Soussusvlei. The guide, Angula, was excellent and his knowledge and the excellent picnic lunch contributed to a very memorable day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Excellent location"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2012
"The location and services provided made this an excellent base for exploring Swakopmund. The "receptionist" Anya was particularly helpful and went out of her way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

There was a problem on one night when a cat (whose owner was on holiday) got back in at night time and woke guests on the top floor and was indeed put outside again by a guest (us). This was dealt with by the guest house the next day."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Excellent guiding by Ernest"

26 May 2012 • All-day excursion

Wonderful! No other words necessary.
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Two very good guided drives"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2012
"Excellent guiding by Stewart and very good service by staff at camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Wonderful views"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2012
"We enjoyed our stay at the camp and wish that we had been able to get the extra night that we initially tried to book rather than having the extra night at Okaukuejo.

It is worth noting that this camp is probably not suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties.

The game viewing in this newly opened up section of the park is more interesting than the eastern section as the game is not yet used to the presence of vehicles."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Good central base for Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2012
"A good central base but due to its size this camp does not have the same feel as many others.

It was pleasant to note that there was little noise around the floodlit waterhole but it was very annoying that people insisted on taking photographs of elephants at very close range (close to the stone wall around the camp) using cameras without first disabling the flash."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Wonderfully relaxing"

1 night Arrived 2 Jun 2012
"Only 3 tents occupied and only 1, very well behaved, child. So we found it very quiet and relaxing but it may not be in the high season. If we returned to Etosha we would spend more time here.

We would particularly like to note that we found Victoria, who appeared to be in charge at the time, a very impressive hostess."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Weaver's Rock Guest Farm

"Convenient overnight stop, great views"

1 night Arrived 3 Jun 2012
"We used this as an overnight stop only and so have no experience of any of the activities on offer. It was only a short distance off the B1 so is very convenient for breaking a journey from Etosha to Windhoek.

The rooms were clean with balconies with wonderful views across plains to mountains in the distance. The food was well cooked but the portion sizes were very large."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Vertigo Boutique Hotel, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Last night stop"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2012
"There was apparently only one other guest, whom we did not see.

The rooms and facilities were still very good but we felt the food on offer at breakfast was extremely limited There was no juice, fresh fruit and some of the bread rolls were not particularly fresh. This was a bit of a disappointment for an hotel that is obviously aiming to be "upmarket""
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team