This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J & friends from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

20

Excursions taken

0

A long phot trip to Etosha

Namibia between 13 Sep 2017 and 29 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was very productive from a wildlife viewing and photographic point of view.

I was concerned at the state of many of the park roads which seem to be getting worse. If you have to constantly watch the road surface it makes game viewing more difficult.. Again, there seem to be increasing numbers of noisy large coaches/trucks which have a detrimental effect on the animals. facilities etc.

I would like to see indep. tour operators tackle the park service about this and also get them to improve the management of lodges within the park."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Hadassa Guest House

"Comfortable for a one nighty stay"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"Because of an error by Wilderness safaris we were given 2 double rooms rather that twins as requested.

However, we were provided with some spare mattresses and managed. Rooms simple but perfectly adequate.

We had ordered an evening meal which was very good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Large and busy camp"

5 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"Our visit was to photograph wildlife and as I have stayed here on many occasions I knew what to expect. It was busy and a bit chaotic at meal times with a bit of a free for all. The location is ideal for getting into the park at first light although again gates were sometimes opened late. Our rooms were simple , clean and well serviced.

I first visited back in the mid 90's and have stayed often since. It was disappointing that the management had not improved - maybe they were overwhelmed with visitors? One morning breakfast was very late and few staff seemed to be around.

I would really like to see the service improve. Some staff are very friendly others less so."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"small simple and fairly quiet"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"Quieter that the park headquarters. generally the service was better.

Rooms simple but perfectly acceptable. Served breakfast on time."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Luxurious lodge"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"This is a most comfortable lodge with every amenity.

We had the family house which was extremely spacious.

It is about a 10 minute drive to the park gate. We always arrived early although procedures at the park gate could be speeded up to everyone's advantage.

Food service etc are all of the highest class."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Excellent photo tour to Namibia

Namibia between 16 Sep 2012 and 29 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip was excellent

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Try and persuade the vehicle hire companies to get their act together. They are still the weak point in any visit to Namibia."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"The dune accommodation was very comfortable."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge Keetmanshoop"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"Convenient for the Quiver Tree Forest, pleasant and comfortable."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel, Luderitz"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"Large hotel but in a wonderful position on the coast. Good breakfast and evening meal.

We were able to visit Kolmanskop before sunrise and return for breakfast!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans Dune Camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Now upgraded to a very high standard. Food excellent as are the staff. We did an all day tour which was also most enjoyable.

Staff repaired a puncture free of charge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"sossus Dune Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2012
"Ideally placed to visit dunes before dawn. We did this each morning twice in our own vehicle and once using the Lodge tour. We also had a lodge tour in the afternoon to Sossus Vlei when it is much quieter.

The Lodge vehicles work out at about £45 per person but I felt they were worth it for a hassle free ride through deep sand. Service in the Lodge was much improved from when the Lodge opened and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had packed breakfasts each day which were fine..

The only inconvenience is the long journey from the farthest rooms to the main buildings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2012
"Great place to stay for a relaxing first/final night. Just over an hour from the airport."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Wildlife Photography in Etosha

Namibia between 31 Aug 2010 and 16 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall thr trip was excellent.

The game viewing was excellent and I would urge people to spend more than a day or two in Etosha if they really want to see the wildlife.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I have used you many times and am very happy with the service provided."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2010
"Located within an hour of the airport we found this a convenient spot to spend the night, The buildings and general environment are very attractive, the staff pleasant and the meals excellent."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2010
"This was my 10th visit to Okonjima since the mid nineties so I know it well. It has expanded considerably in that time and although all the facilities are first class I still preferred it when it was smaller. I understand that the owners now feel it is as large as they want it to be.

Staff and Guides were excellent and they provided a special activity programme to meet our needs.

Accommodation and food were excellent."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2010
"Having stayed here several times I have seen several changes over the years. Although this is a NWR lodge the rooms are of a good standard matching many private lodges outside Etosha.

The pool is attractive though not very clean, The food as in all the Etosha NWR Camps is not very exciting but the service has improved since my last visit. However the wildlife and not the food is my main concern

The real advantage of this camp is that it is in Etosha so you can view and photograph the wildlife at dawn."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"We had spacious and comfortable accommodation which was perfectly adequate and met all our needs.

The waterhole is excellent for photography particularly in the morning.

The meals in the restaurant are self service and the food was rather akin to school meals - adequate but unexciting."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"Pleasant room close to the water but a little on the small side. I would have appreciated a little more space as we spent 4 nights here.

Best waterhole for game viewing both day and night although photographically there are problems.

Food again rather ordinary but staff pleasant and more efficient than in the past.

Again the plus is you are in the park."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor

Photo Safari to Etosha

Namibia between 3 Sep 2008 and 19 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"An excellent trip with some wonderful game viewing, All the group were able to capture excellent images.

Suggestions for improvement:

Not really. I have booked about 7 trips with you and I have generally been very pleased.

Sabina was particulary helpful this year."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"We stayed in the new accommodation at the Main Camp. This was excellent and will be even better once the surroundings have matured.

Guided activities were also excellent and tailored to our photographic needs whilst recognising that I and some other group members had visited several times before.

It is important to stay for at least two nights to get the benefits of what Okionjima can offer."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2008
"A new camp which neds time to mature. It is close to Etosha but within its own reserve.

The staff were veryfriendly and helpfiul.

Our game drive was a little frenetic but would probably satisfy those new to wildlife viewing."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2008
"The upgrade has made a vast difference. It is now a pleasant place to stay within the park.

Service has improved and ther shop is much better stocked.

It is a good base to travel to view wildlife from, We stayed 3 nights."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2008
"Again we stayed in upgraded accommodation. Our rooms were a little smallbut perfectly adequate.

Our stay of 4 nights allowed us to view and phtograph wildlife at leisure."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Restcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2008
"The best of the three Etosha camps with accommodation to match private lodges on the edge of the park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team