This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D & Mrs M from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

3 weeks in Namibia

Namibia between 15 Sep 2012 and 5 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our holiday was a success and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Namibia. Sabina at Expert Africa was careful to give us detailed information, answer any questions, and advise us on all aspects of our trip.

As with the earlier comment regarding our choice of vehicle, we do have a further issue with information provided in the Bradt guide which states that Namibia is an inexpensive country to visit. We are not new to Southern Africa and have previously spent time in South Africa, Swaziland, Mozambique, Zambia and Botswana. We found Namibia to be easily the most expensive country in terms of accommodation, food, guided trips and souvenirs/artefacts. Again we mention this because of the connection between the author of the Bradt guide and Expert Africa."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Overnight stay at Haus Sonneneck in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"Haus Sonneneck made a good place for an overnight stop and a starting point for our trip. Clear directions were provided and we found it easy enough to find our way there (in spite of being told when we arrived that the leaflet we had been given was not the latest version).

The room provided was large and comfortable with a pleasant outside seating area. Gisela gave us a friendly welcome as well as advice about local shops and restaurants, and about our onward journey."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Overnight stay at Central Lodge, Keetmanshoop"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2012
"A convenient place for an overnight stop. The room was comfortable and the food good.

Most members of staff were friendly and welcoming and the owner/manager was involved and keen to have comments from us."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Two nights at Canyon Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"The accommodation was lovely (built into the rocks and with an outside seating area and outlook over the koppies) - although the road to the Lodge was less so. The food was reasonable although we found bar prices to be on the high side.

Participation in an organised trip to the canyon cost N$580pp, which we felt to be outrageously expensive so we drove ourselves there instead.

The pool-with-a-view was a lovely place to relax"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel in Luderitz"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"Although the hotel itself was a fairly standard international-style design, the location of our room - on the ground floor and just a few metres from the waves and ocean bird life - was stunning. Breakfast was excellent although service was a little patchy.

We were told that Franzels restaurant in the town (recommended by Expert Africa) had closed 'some years ago'."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

"Dabis Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2012
"No longer run by Steve and Jenny, who moved away from the property around 18 months ago, Steve's brother Jorg and his wife Michelle provided a warm welcome and good food.

The farm drive was interesting, although we had been under the impression that the cost was included with the accommodation so were slightly surprised when charged N$130pp - not a huge amount and not a problem, maybe we had misunderstood the arrangement."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Comfort under canvas at Sossusvlei Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Convenient for the National Park, the room was very comfortable and well appointed with a lovely outside seating area and sunset view. The food was truly excellent, with more choices than we could possibly sample even over three days. Tea and coffee (with cookies) always available free of charge.

The pool provided a view of animals at the waterhole from the comfort of a sun lounger - a perfect way to chill out.

The only negative was a delay in responding to what appeared to be a problem with a leaking gas bottle, but this was rectified at the second request."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Luxury at Beach Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"A few kilometres from the town centre, the family room at Beach Lodge provided total luxury on two floors, with huge windows and two balconies overlooking the ocean, both double and single showers plus a bath. Kitchen facilities and an eating area made it possible to enjoy a modest meal a deux - quite a luxury after so many evenings spent eating in restaurants.

The restaurant provided good seafood at a reasonable price, although it was very busy and the service was slow. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed views of the ocean from our table."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Damaraland - Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2012
"Comfortable accommodation, thoughtfully arranged so as not to be overlooked by neighbours - making it possible to make use of the outside shower on the veranda - with a huge window/door and view over surroundings.

The food and service were good and what at first sight seemed an over-regimented approach and pressure to partake in the bush drive (eg breakfast at - not from - 6:30) was not followed through. The staff were friendly and helpful and the nightly hot water bottle was very welcome to protect us from the desert chill. The staff choir was a highlight.

Organised trips were disappointingly and excessively expensive so (as at Canyon Lodge) we drove ourselves to the local points of interest."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Animals galore at Okaukuejo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2012
"Accommodation was reasonable although very hot at night and there were no cooking facilities other than an ancient and not overly clean braai. Dinner in the restaurant was very poor as well as over-priced - thankfully Expert Africa had advised us to stock up on food before going into Etosha and we were able to put together a cold meal to be eaten at the waterhole on the second evening.

The waterhole was wonderful, with adequate seating and a constant parade of animals visiting day and night.

Apart from the main road through the park, getting around was unexpectedly difficult with some routes in very poor condition and difficult to navigate in a 2WD car."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"More animals at Halali Camp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2012
"Smaller and cosier than Okaukeujo, the bungalow had an adequate braai and firewood on sale for cooking. Again, it was very hot at night.

The waterhole was further from the camp and less busy than at Okaukeujo but we enjoyed visits from elephant, rhino and kudu.

The large swimming pool was a welcome place to cool off at the end of the day."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Luxury at Okonjima Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"Informed at the gate that we had been upgraded from the main camp to bush camp, who were we to argue?

This camp was a highlight of the trip for us and a wonderful way to round off our travels before returning to Windhoek. Our chalet was superb, with views of the bush and it's own mini waterhole plus bird feeder. A night visit to the hide was included and we were lucky enough to see the honey badger as well as a bunch of very stroppy porcupines!

A morning cheetah tracking expedition by truck and on foot gave us sight of no less than six cheetahs plus a leopard. Our only regret was that we were spending only one night here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Back to Windhoek and Haus Sonneneck"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2012
"As before, convenient and comfortable"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team