This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr C & Mrs L from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

My May 2012 trip

Namibia between 31 May 2012 and 19 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia exceeded our expectations. Wonderful scenery and wildlife.

Wilderness safaris were efficient in notifiying me of the change of itinerary after the fire at Camp Kipwe"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Perfect for a first night stop"

1 night Arrived 31 May 2012
"Good room and convenient location for a one night stop. Friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Good for a one night stopover"

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2012
"Friendly helpful staff. Rooms and hotel a bit tired. Pleasant outside area to sit.

Good for a one night stopover."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2012
"Perfect for visiting the Fish river canyon.

Good room with lovely shaded outside seating area. Good food and helpful unobtrusive service. Scenic sunset walk behind the hotel."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2012
"Modern hotel on edge of town.

Good rooms except for poor insulation from TV and talking noise from neighbours. Breakfast was very good but we ate in town in the evening as the restaurant was expensive."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Sinclair Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2012
"This was one of the most memorable stops on our trip thanks to Hannelore. Welcoming, and with a wealth of knowledge on Namibia, its history, politics and the realities of running a remote farmstead.

Lovely evening walk from the farm to an old copper mine. Recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2012
"Excellent location near to Sossusvlei with stunning views.

Over three nights the evening meal varied from average to very good.

We found the service oppressive. A constant stream of unwelcome conversations, when we preferred to be left alone to do our own thing. Took an age for them to sort out a very simple bill and I was hauled back form the car park on departure, being wrongly told that I had to pay for evening meals when the booking was for half board.

It was very cold and windy overnight and early morning, so be prepared. I thought it was just me but the breakfast waitress was wearing a woolly hat and gloves. By mid morning it was sunny and warm for a day at the dunes."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2012
"Super room right on the beach.

We ate in the on site "Wreck" restaurant. very good food, beautiful view and good prices."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2012
"We were changed to the sister camp Mowani as camp Kipwe had suffered form a fire. Superb location and rooms.

Service was over the top for us. Valet parking for a couple of backpackers at heart! We went desert elephant tracking with an excellent guide.

The highlight of the trip however was when we had a puncture under the gaze of an interested elephant. No problem ? - ah - no wheel brace. Limped back to the guides home village for assistance which turned out to be another highlight."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2012
"A highlight of our trip. Etosha is just amazing. Easy to see all the animals close up from your own vehicle or at the camp waterholes.

The camp was very quiet so we were offered a room upgrade including evening meal. It turned out to be a bargain.

The food was excellent and the room was 30 metres from the waterhole viewing area. A 24hr constantly changing stream of animals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2012
"The camp was very quiet.

The waterhole had fewer animals than Okaukuejo but the rhinos were the stars. A giraffe poked its head over the fence to look at the humans having coffee on the patio."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2012
"A one night stop just the right distance for the afternoon flight from Windhoek.

We went leopard tracking and although we were excited to see a leopard I now have my doubts about vehicles following the animal with its radio collar. At least two vehicles were on its tail."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team