This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr B from Suffolk

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

41

Excursions taken

0

Our 13th Trip to Namibia..Lucky for some!

Namibia between 29 Sep 2012 and 15 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"excellent experience as always"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Still the best place to start a trip"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2012
"Our usual pleasant stay was slightly marred this time by some service issues ie we were not offered a welcome drink as normal though others were and in the morning we were phoned and chased over to breakfast, being told it had closed when it had not. We therefore rushed over for nothing (with wet hair!) only to receive an apology from the receptionist who had called us admitting she had forgotten it was the weekend (because every day seems the same to her in the hotel industry she said) and breakfast was half an hour later. Not a good start to our day or the holiday. They did however help with the tyre problem we had with the car company by phoning them for us so this was helpful .

We enjoyed a very good dinner but it was a shame they don't sell glasses of champagne in the evening which we would have liked with our oysters and only full bottles are available at night apparently which we thought restrictive."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"lovely stay"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2012
"Beautifully designed and equipped private accommodation with friendly willing staff in an attractive location.

We enjoyed the variety of the scenic walks. The food was pleasant if rather 'homestyle'."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Alte Kalkkofen Lodge

"A warm welcome"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2012
"The warm and personal welcome from the friendly hosts made for a very relaxed and interesting stay on this old farm site with industrial heritage thrown in. The occasional passing train also added excitement! The accommodation was very clean, simple and stylish with interesting old artefacts used to eye catching effect both in the rooms and around the site. When there was initial confusion over the room we were meant to have (with a bath) the obliging owner immediately helped us move room.

The breakfasts and dinner were especially enjoyable. We enjoyed walking the farm roads and exploring the old farm buildings and lime kiln. We hope to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Good Contrast"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2012
"it is always a contrast to stay here right by the sea as part of our trips to Namibia. As usual we found the staff a mixture of pleasant and disinterested if not sometimes rude but we had a particularly enjoyable seafood dinner served by an enthusiastic waitress full of personality.

She loved showing us how to make crepes suzette! As there were no groups staying that night and therefore no buffet it was a very relaxed personal experience . The rooms have all you need although bottled water was not provided this time."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Still the Best Nest"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2012
"This is our perfect location with beautifully appointed and maintained accommodation, walks from the door in every direction and everything 'just so'. Piet the very friendly and welcoming owner adds to the pleasure of rediscovering this bolt hole each time we return.

It just ticks all the boxes for us without exception."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Norotshama River Resort

"A noisy stay"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2012
"What looked liked a well designed and fairly attractive 'resort' by the river turned into something of a noisy rather than a quiet retreat.

Building work across the site including right by our room (repeated unloading of paving slabs and reversing vehicles right behind our bedroom) marred the peace and atmosphere and at no point were we warned this might be the case or have any apology for it.
On arrival we thought the 'welcome' brusque and indifferent although some staff proved more warm as time went on and the ladies in the kitchen / restaurant were very nice and obliging. The food was simple and plain.

We were glad to be able to walk freely through the estate vineyards for exercise. The river view was pleasant with lots of bird activity in the reeds."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"A growing concern!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2012
"The lodge had been extended since our last stay and feels more like a resort. The accommodation is as interesting as ever but the manicured lawns seemed somehow out of sync. The pool area, slightly off the beaten track, is impressive with great views of the wider landscape.

The food offering is good although the breakfast buffet had been cleared away long before the end time on one of the days and they had to put it out again for us as we had been walking beforehand. The quality of the dinner is very god with interesting choices from the help yourself buffet but waiter served starter and dessert.

However, the logistics of this system didn't work very well and not just for us .On our first night we sat for 20 mins without anyone taking our drinks or starter order so gave up and just took food from the buffet in the end. The manager lady had struggled to find us a table at all and we wandered round the room with her for what seemed like ages before she offered us one. Despite an eventual apology that we had been ignored the waiter finally brought the drinks but never came back so we kept having to ask for things. We had had to accept an awful table by the toilets as all the others had been reserved in advance. It was a dark. pokey corner with less attractive table dressing and lighting and another couple refused to even sit there! It all spoilt the meal and now wise to the tactics we then reserved a better table for the following night although service was still erratic. The seating arrangements and staff didn't seem to be able to cope with the numbers.

One staff member stuck out as being very friendly and knowledgeable but many of the others including the manager were unsmiling and indifferent."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Quivertree Forest Restcamp

"Quivertree Forest Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2012
"An efficient welcome from the owner to simple but very clean accommodation from where we could walk into the forest and drive to the Giants playground."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"A final Flourish"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2012
"We always love the accommodation here and the friendly, informative staff. The facilities tick all the boxes for the final days of a trip. Seeing giraffes and other wildlife as we walked around the reserve ourselves is always a delight and the pool and gym facilities are welcome.

The food is always enjoyable but the offering of a made to order 'stir fry' for our last night (because the lodge only had a few guests there was no dinner menu as such) was disappointing and seemed a bit 'lazy' and simple."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Tremendous Twelfth Trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 29 Sep 2011 and 20 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Brilliant experience well organised throughout and entirely as expected.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

none"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Pelican Bay Hotel, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Pelican Bay Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"good first night stop to get refreshed and sorted out for rest of the trip. Room very noisy with audible voices next door not helped by room having interconnecting door.

Very good breakfast spread and hotel conveniently located close to the excellent Raft restaurant and right on the bay for a bracing walk."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Image alt

Moon Mountain Lodge

"(Honey)Moon Mountain"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2011
"In the absence of the owners the manager CK and his team did an excellent job of looking after us as the only guests on the night of our stay. Without prompting they upgraded us to what seemed to be one of the best rooms right on the end with fabulous views and maximum privacy.

They also let us have a generously late check out as noone was checking into that room the next day . The bedroom and separate bathroom were well designed and furnished. Dinner of prawns and beef were well cooked and enjoyable even if the dessert had clearly failed to work/set and was so sugary we could barely eat it and shouldn't really have been served up at all.

Breakfast was simple but good and all the staff were extremely friendly and keen to help offering suggestions for walks etc and really welcoming us and catering for our needs. The miniature Amarula at turndown was a very welcome surprise!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

"Sophisticated Self Catering"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2011
"The freedom and facilities offered by Desert Camp were just as we had hoped with a well designed outdoor kitchen and eating area and pleasant bedroom and bathroom.

It made for a fun stay with a sense of independence but with the availability of pool/bar facilities and delivered pre packed meals if you wanted them plus a laundry service. Some friendly staff too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

"Handy Hotel Stop"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2011
"Handy and pretty spot to stop over to break a journey. Even the 'new' rooms here lack warmth and charatcer with not a stick of furniture apart from the bare essentials ie no chair, table , wardrobe or anywhere at all to hang anything except on the door hook. No surface whatsoever to place anything save for the bedside tables so we used the windowsill from where we had a not so lovely view of the Mens toilet in the garden! As most people will only stay a single night we can see the logic of this simplicity but it is not a very welcoming environment. The beautifully kept garden is a delightful oasis though.

Dinner outdoors was a bit chilly for most and the food was less than hot too and very slow to come! The whole meal took ages with big gaps between courses . We were told the meal was at 7pm but we sat for ages before even drinks orders were taken and served let alone the food.

The main course was tasty if lukewarm and we felt it was too ambitiously presented when by then all we wanted was a hot plate of filling food after a simple starter of a bowl of soup with a small triangle of bread. The breakfast buffet was very simple."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest ...still the best"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2011
"We just love this place and our third stay was as good as ever. Beautifully designed and maintained chalet in tremendous location with great walks on the doorstep and good braii and breakast packs to cook/cater for yourself.

It is everything we want and we always want to stay for longer or just move in! The personal hands on approach of the owners is evident and we appreciated Piet seeking us out as we left to check that everything had been in order. It made our morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2011
"Nice location and very good reception staff who were welcoming and very helpful on arrival having the twin beds converted to a double without fuss and booking a table for dinner for us without us even knowing just because we had mentioned it in passing at check ini. Later, when we complained of building noise in the evening from a nearby room, we were told they would be asked to stop but it continued and was very intrusive. We later discovered we were not the only ones to bring the matter up to no avail.

It is not our first stay here and we always enjoy the a la carte seafood at dinner but once again were outnumbered by several noisy groups eating from a buffet which meant we were rather forgotten and ignored by the staff especially a very unwelcoming manager lady who 'greeted' us.

The food, especially the oysters, were great but the atmosphere and service were not although there were some lovely personalities working in the restaurant at other times. Similarly on arriving for breakfast with 20 mins to go before it closed we were told rather unwelcomingly that it was almsot finished and felt we had to rush although we were not the only people eating at that time.

The Nest is a place of contradictions and mixed experiences but a good base in Luderitz to walk into town, see the sights and admire the view."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

"Namtib Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2011
"We arrived in a thunderstorm and the owners had to help with a fire on the neighbouring land but the hospitality was barely compromised.The weather conditions meant we could not explore the environs as much as we would have liked but it was very interesting to stay on a working farm and learn a little of what goes on. It is a beautiful spot with a nice atmosphere.

The well marked botanical walk was a joy to follow in the morning before a wholesome breakfast. The homely dinner was both delicious and nutritious. In view of the weather the unattached bathroom (with an uncovered courtyard in between it and the bedroom) was a bit impracital!

We would be very happy to stay again and see and do more. The owners are friendly and enthusiastic"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2011
"an excellent new find for us in this region. Very well run and designed lodge with exceptionally good accommodation especially the outdoor bathroom. Brilliant hands on and helfpul manager and well trained and charming staff with few exceptions.

Dinner was a very civilised affair well presented and served at a suitable pace and at a time to suit you with well spaced and nicely laid tables. Breakfast was equally enjoyable and delicious.

Although not promoted as such there were plenty of walks to devise for yourselves along the riverbed, access drive and round a hill. It was nice to hear the night activity of the wildlife in the riverbed and admire the stars from the very well appointed patio."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"Our 3rd stay and as good as ever with great well marked walks of varying lengths and terrarrin , oroiginal and comfy accomodation and great food.

Incomparable to be honest and a true one off."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

"Hansa Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2011
"Reliable as ever and just the ticket to sort yourself out before a flight. Good laundry service, handy postion to walk around town and by the sea and the same extensive spread at breakfast as always.

As individual travellers we were outnumbered by groups who can rather take over the public spaces and dominate reception so check in was somewhat chaotic but service overall remains generally good.

Some upgrading of our usual choice of room was noticeable and th whole place remained well kept and comfortable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

"Cellars-Hohenort review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"The same smart well presented room for our second stay here with everything you need for a good night. Excellent tasting menu in the Greenhouse and a very impressive breakfast next day with beautifully cooked choices to order.

The garden and vineyard location is a real bonus and not far from the hotel entrance are enjoyable trails to stretch the legs . A very well run hotel with a rather stately but not stuffy atmosphere and obliging, personable staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangement

"Own Arrangements so no review due"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2011
"we made our own arrangements for this night so no review due"
Good
Birkenhead House

Birkenhead House

"Blissful Birkenhead"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"A 2nd excellent stay here. Great room overlooking the ocean and perfect for whale watching in season.

Superb, clued up staff with genuine charm and 'can do' approach. Fantastic walks from the door along the cliff path, the beach or in the nearby nature reserve and you can be dropped off/picked up at start or end if required.

Stunning, sophisticated food and interesting, wide choice of beverages. Essentially there is nothing to fault here from the exquisite decor, everything you could wish for ammenities, fine dining or the memorable personalities ..it is as near to perfection as you could hope for.

A return is guaranteed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Namibia is matchless

Namibia between 1 Oct 2010 and 19 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia is a unique destination, which still ticks all the boxes for us, even after 10 years of annual visits!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Stylish Start"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2010
"Another great first night stay in this fabulously refurbished bolthole. Professional and friendly service with a delicious dinner and lavish breakfast on the terrace.

When our room was not quite the one we had expected the receptionist obligingly moved us without fuss."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Wonderful Walks"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"We enjoyed being in the original individual rooms rather than in the central block like last time.

We love the easily accessible walking and enjoyed another memorable al fresco dinner while the breakfast was once again strangely simple by comparison."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"A memorable Manager!"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2010
"We were disappointed that the 'luxury ' room with bath we had booked was not available apparently due to flooding .The alternative room with shower only was ok but the bathroom smelled of damp and the sheets on one bed were full of holes and the other was quite stained.

It was also very noisy right next to the outside terrace of the restaurant and with staff noise and radio sounds coming through the bathroom window on the other side as well. We had to wait a long time after we arrived for towels and toiletries to be provided so we couldn't use the bathroom straight away.

The manager was a marvellous, personable man who took it upon himself to bring them in the end and the next morning he also ensured we got breakfast even though it had all been cleared away (despite us arriving before it was due to finish and even having told the reception that we were going for a walk first and would be back to eat 15 mins before it ended) We were impressed that he asked the restaurant staff to lay things out again for us and even sent out to a shop for supplies as there was not much left after a large group had been in residence. We had initially been turned away by a waitress when we first arrived and were glad we had persisted and were able to enjoy the most beautifully cooked omelette of the entire trip!

A request for extra coffee supplies in the room to supplement the rather meagre existing ones was very promptly, politely and generously supplied so ironically the service was very good overall when it came to remedying 'problems'! The accommodation was in a useful position for walking round the interesting town and was a pleasant urban stopover with an attractive appearance and nice outdoor area."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

"Hot Springs Cold Reception!"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2010
"We were very disappointed to be told on arrival that the bush chalet we had booked was not available as the accommodation was still being worked on. We were offered a free dinner by way of compensation which we did not want as we had been looking forward to self catering for the night and had our own supplies. As an alternative, the receptionist said her supervisor might be able to organise a treatment at the spa instead but she would need to check. The room we were given was well designed and equipped but no substitute for the chalet with its cooking facilities and jacuzzi.

We had to chase up the question of the treatment with the supervisor ourselves when noone got back to us and he assured us that we could have a complimentary treatment each. This proved difficult to achieve when there was noone to take bookings at the spa and when we finally spoke to the therapist she seemed reluctant and disinterested, sighing and rolling her eyes impatiently. This carried through to the actual treatments which were much shorter than scheduled and of poor quality in any event with the therapist inexplicably leaving the room at times and using her mobile during the treatment time. Certainly no substitute for the downgraded accommodation and not something we would have been happy to pay for at the published price either!

We enjoyed the other camp facilities including the springs themselves and had an enjoyable breakfast with friendly waiting staff who restored our faith after our difficult and almost unpleasant experience at the spa . It was obvious that the chalets (and some other areas ) were effectively a building site still and we couldn't understand why it had not been made known beforehand that the booked accommodation would not yet be available."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

"A Grand Canyon Stay"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2010
"A warm and personal welcome by the delightful Dolores set the tone of the stay.

Beautifully designed suite and attractive public areas with very accommodating staff made for an enjoyable few days. A major let down was the problem with the hot water supply in our room which meant that it was intermittent and never sufficient to even have a few inches of water in the bath. The bath facility had been the main reason we had booked the suite rather than a standard room so it was a particular shame when not only could we not use this properly but the shower was cold as well and we had to resort to boiling kettles!

We told Dolores about the problem on our first full day having wondered if it was just the time of day we were using the water that was the problem. She took the matter seriously but when the maintenace man came to check it, it was running ok so nothing more was done despite us explaining it was 'on and off'. When it persisted it was looked into again and a blockage was confirmed but not in time to remedy it for the remainder of our stay so it was a bit unfortunate.

Plumbing problems are one of those things but it was a shame that a 3 night stay was affected in this way and that we could not fully use the bathroom facility as intended.To her credit Dolores took the problem on board and recognised it had been a disappointment for us.

The full day trip into the canyon was enjoyable though the journey time to get there and back relative to the time spent there was unexpectedly long and information about what the day would or could involve was not fully explained. We would have welcomed more communicative 'guiding' generally and felt frustrated that with hindsight we could have had longer in the canyon had we known that an optional diversion to a viewpoint on the return could have been shaved off.

We liked the walk along the dry riverbed beneath the lodge and also walking along the access road as a brisker option!
The cooked breakfasts were very good and a request for raw oats and sultanas in the absence of any muesli option was willingly obliged and resulted in a bowl of granola being provided the next day in response.

Evening meals were slightly variable with good and not so good elements (eg hot tasy meat dishes but cold lumpy soup and a boringly plain fruit salad for dessert"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"The Best of the Nest"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2010
"We thoroughly enjoyed our return here. The new Eagles View chalet was beautifuly appointed and we spent a wonderful night enjoying the stillness, peace and magnificent starry sky listening to animals passing by outside the veranda. Having our own braai was a highlight and we love the walks from the doortsep.

The pre booked food packs were very good although it was shame we had to return to the reception (half an hour round trip) to collect them a couple of hours after our arrival as we didn't really want to move from the accommodation once there! Although ordered in advance it was only when we asked about the packs that there was any acknowledgment of this and even then the receptionist persisted in telling us about meal times and menus so maybe there had been a communication breakdown.

Next time, we will phone ahead with our arrival time and/or do one of the marked walks from the main lodge while waiting for the packs to be prepared.The quantity of meat (and very little vegetable or fruit content) meant there was easily enough for two not just one dinner for our tastes while the breakfast platter was slightly unbalanced with eg a ratio of just one mini serving of Flora to 8 slices of bread!

A wonderful overnight experience and we can't wait to return again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Zum Sperrgebiet Seaview Hotel, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Zum Sperrgebiet Seaview review"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2010
"A good central base to explore Luderitz with very friendly welcoming staff and nicely presented conventional style hotel rooms , if a bit old fashioned. We were pleasantly surprised by the very attractively presented and tasty breakfast buffet. We had opted to have a seafood dinner however at the refurbished Nest hotel (where we have stayed in the past) and were impressed by the level of service and quality of the food there.

We really enjoyed a tour of the Shearwater oyster farm including samples and fizz before leaving town....highly recommended."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

"Hotel Helmeringhausen review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2010
"A pleasant and very quiet one night stop (we were the only guests that night) A friendly welcome from the owner preceded a peaceful night with the place to ourselves. The room and bathroom were attractively decorated but it seemed strange to be given twin beds when were the only guests and there was no shortage of rooms.

The very pretty floral garden is like an oasis and we enjoyed the open air museum exhibits next door and going up the little hill to admire the sweeping views. The breakfast table was beautuifully laid with a white cloth and huge vase of flowers and was a very civilised, enjoyable affair.

Although we had been told someone would be around in the main buidling all evening we were slightly unnerved when we could not raise them and later found the door locked and all the lights put out (inside and out) quite early on so we could not return the museum key and buy a drink as planned."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2010
"The rooms here were beautifuly appointed and we particularly appreciated the addition of baskets and other thoughtfully placed decorative items which made it seem homely and individual and not at all soulless.

On arrival we were concerned to be told that the only self guided walking to be done was a very short route up a nearby kopje. This seemed to contradict the lodge literature which refers to walks (plural) in addition to guided walking. We seriously wondered why we had chosen to stay two nights on this basis as the availabilty of walks had been a prerequisite. This rather misleading situation was acknowledged by the very helpful Ivan who arranged to take us on a long walk himself when his fast pace and interesting conversation made for a memorable hike which he said he had 'trailblazed' with a colleague when he first started there.

Despite the reference to guided walks it seemed that these were not routinely offrered and /or there was little demand from guests. The rest of the time we amused ourselves by walking along the (fortunately quiet) main road to stretch our legs! As we don't like sitting around and aren't horse riders this probably wasn't the most appropriate place to stay in retrospect but we really appreciated Ivan's initiative and valued his company and knowledge on our talior made walk.

The Healthy breakfast option was wholesome and delicious but the evening meals were disappointing in content and made worse by being served barely lukewarm on cold plates. The seats for meals were hard and low to the table so we borrowed cushions from the sofas."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2010
"Fantastic location for excellent walks in varied scenery.

The new room accommodation is very modern and well designed. We liked the fact that the bathroom and plenty of surfaces were behind the bed and lounge area so that luggage and belongings were well stored out of sight so the room could remain looking as neat and tidy as when we first walked in! Although there was lots of space and surfaces throughout there was no actual closet for hanging clothes and only a very few hangers provided when other aspects of the accommodation were lavishly done.

The room was strangely out of kilter with the otherwise old fashioined, traditional style and ambiance of a guest farm.

Breakfasts were a very enjoyable spread but evening meals less so."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"Gocheganas Lodge & Spa review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2010
"Wonderful final two nights. Lucky enough to be given the Crown suite with huge deck and separate lounge room. Lovely furnishings and facilities in the bed and bath rooms.

Fabulous full board food and delightful service from very friendly staff. The personable manager was very much in evidence and hands .

Enjoyed the self guided walk several times (a bit limiting that there is only one marked route) and it was good to see rhino and giraffe on foot. Lovely elevated position with great views of the bush and wildlife below and we are looking forward to our third visit already.

The spa complex is well maintained and attractive and the quality of treatments from very professional staff, high.The gym equipment is a bonus."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Experts in the Field

Namibia between 21 Sep 2007 and 7 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"The company is a joy to deal with, feels very personal and makes things special even before the trip has begun. Wouldn't dream of booking through anyone else and although tempted at times to make own arrangements feel in such safe hands we wouldn't risk it.

Trip as a whole was as fantastic and rewarding as always and we are planning the 9th (and even the 10th!) already."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Good First Night"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Nice as ever in most ways. Great that room was ready for us despite early morning arrival.

Dinner arrangements and service slow and chaotic though food itself as delicious as always. No time to try dessert though as so protracted and even kept waiting to sign bill first at the table then by the bar and when we gave up they finally came to the room by which time we were already in bed! Other diners were complaining about the service and giving people a sorbet as an apology did not go far enough. At the start we had to ask for menus after being kept waiting for ages and for some reason our glasses were removed at one point when we were only half way through our bottle of wine.

Things seemed less organised generally than before and eg housekeeping were re-making the bed and tidying the room under the impression we were there another night as we were packing to leave and check out which was a bit offputting.

Breakfast on the terrace was as enjoyable as ever but again service eg provision of coffee and clearing away used dishes was a bit lacking.

All in all the experience wasn't as smooth as previously and didn't inspire confidence."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"A good first Stop"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"Nice 'hotel like' lodge with helpful hosts and enjoyable food. Lacked character in terms of surrounding location and general design. Beige bathroom could have been anywhere in the world!

Didn't participate in any activities except the self guided walks so not qualified to comment on the whole exprience on offer. Hosts very helpful about suggesting walks above and beyond the standard route offered on the property and staff attentive."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

"Great Walking!"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2007
"Chaotic check in with parking problems on arrival. Simply not enough places for the volume of visitors. Had to wait in queue for attention on arrival and with both us and previous couple receptionist gave impression there was no booking under that name so did not inspire confidence . Things felt rather disorgansied from the outset.

Accommodation itself was excellent and well styled and whole lodge very attractively designed and beautifully maintained.

Food was some of the simplest we have experienced in Namibia and breakfast in particular was noticeably basic but adequate. Dinner was more appetising than it looked but service was poor by both restaurant staff who totally ignored us and at the bar when it took an age to get a bottle of water to have with the meal as noone offered us drinks. It all felt a bit like a canteen and that the staff were all disgruntled. The hygiene in the dining are was also suspect and the whole dining experience was out of kilter with the overall image and appearance of the lodge as a whole.

The walking opportunities were excellent and made the lodge a very worthwhile base for activities."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"A real highlight"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2007
"A wonderfully positioned and interesting lodge with a warm welcome. We hope there will be many more commmunity enterprises like this in the future. We learned much more about contemporary Namibia by speaking with the local staff and guides than in any place we have stayed before and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience in terms of the hospitality and interaction with the local community as well as the natural delights on offer.

Good opportunities for walking and an excellent guided walk to the Klip Springs in the valley was a highlight. Informative and helpful guide made for a fulfiling experience and all in all we didn't want to leave!

The food was excellent and charmingly served. A truly memorable stay all round."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Memorable"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2007
"An exciting stay with rhino encounters on successive days and two excellent guided walks tailored to our needs.

Although generaly well organised the second rhino trekking experience proved somewhat unnerving when some members of the group felt that the guide did not have complete command of the situation (as far as this is possible) and some people lost confidence in him which detracted from the experience. There was arguably insufficient info given beforehand as to what people could expect so that one of the group complained at the amount of walking required and could not return to the vehicle by foot.

The whole group then had to wait in the open for a considerable period for the vehicles to come to us and again there was a general feeling that the situation was not under control with the guide eventually having to climb a hill to try and spot the vehicles and make contact with them. This is more about the perception of others rather than our own but it did make for a less than comfortable atmosphere at times because of the way the situation was seen to be (mis)handled.

In the camp itself the tents were attractively presented and equipped but were a little worse for wear in places and the 'housekeeping' was inconsistent with hot and cold water flasks not always topped up and eg hot water bottles provided on a warmer night and not when they were really needed when it was so cold people could hardly sleep! This was general concensus not just our opinion as was the fact that laundry wasn't returned until worryingly late in the day and that during 'siesta' time in the middle of the day no member of staff could be raised to request a shower, drinking water or water flasks despite the indication there was always someone around if needed.

2 out of three dinners were very good , the picnic lunches were excellent and breakfast was enjoyable though cooked orders were sometimes very late or forgotten altogether.

Our individual needs were catered for in terms of activities when we asked to do (longer) guided walks in place of the scheduled sundowner drives and these were very rewarding and informative. We realise lodges prefer to stick to certain regimes for all sorts of legitimate reasons but it IS worth asking for something which might suit you better. We would have been very frustrated physically if we had been confined to camp, in vehicles or on short nature walks for the 3 nights we were there.

Overall a very memorable and worthwhile experience but strange that in such an isolated place guests should be made to feel slightly 'neglected'."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"It Rocks!"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2007
"Excellent base to tour the local attractions with good , well designed facilities and enjoyable food. For a buffet, dinner is excellent. and service is friendly and efficient.

The rooms, though spacious, seem out of keeping wiht the attractiveness of the main lodge building and as we thought a few years ago could do with a facelift as could the bathrooms where the towels were a bit raggy and felt damp on arrival."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Stylish and seasidey"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"We liked it very much before and were pleased to find things exactly the same. Welcoming contemporary atmosphere with stylish surroundings and friendly hospitality.

Beautiful spot and very well run with delicious, wholesome food. Likde the ostrich shaped napkin design and the explanation as to how it could be replicated at home!

Great for endless walks along the beach and of course handy for the seal colony. Plan to return and do their trip to the Messum crater."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

"Our bolt hole in Swakop"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2007
"Things never seem to change here, and that's a complement! Reliable as ever and seems to run like a battleship. Housekeeping and maintainance standards remain high (the aircon remote malfunction was follwed up and remedied without delay) and the buffet at breakfast is as extensive as ever and sets you up for those long prom walks!

Nice that the manager always recognises us and takes the trouble to have a word. A personal touch which is appreciated. It is a real home from home including the quick turn-around of the laundry service!

The restaurant menu still hasn't lightened upthough so it's the Tug, or Erich's, for us until the kitchen modernises a bit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team