This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel
Nest Hotel

Reviews of Nest Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

60 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nest Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 60
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"MIXED EXPERIENCES"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2010
"Afeter a long drive from Fish River Canyon, we were warmly welcomed by staff. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea from which we spotted a pateinet heron fishing! The first night we decided to eat 'A la-Carte' rather than the buffet and were disappointed. The food was not good; but upon commenting about this to the staff - the bill was reduced. The second evening we had the buffet which was actually good and better value.

The highlight of staying here were the two most amazing trips we had booked. The first was down through the Sperrgebiet and onto Bogenfells Rock Arch. We had fantastic guides and the atmosphere at the deserted mines was amazing! That trip was worth every penny! This was really fabulaous. From our first stop at the deserted mines; we really absorbed the atmosphere of the place. We have taken some amazing photos of the deserted buildings at Pomona and the guide was brilliant. Lunch at the old Schoolhouse was wonderful and gave us plenty of time to wander round. The cemetry was particularly poignant. We enjoyed the contrast in visting Bogenfells Rock Arch with the wild waves.

We later manager to buy the book ' the harsh and forbidden Sperrgebiet' book to learn more about this amazing place.

The second booked trip was out on the boat Sedina- where upon returning from Penguin Island; a hump back whale breached in front of our boat! What an amazing experience. A great trip. The skipper was fun, very knowledgeable and informative. We saw doplhins and penguins on our trip out and then the hump-back whale breached in front of our boat on the return journey- a truly magical experience and one we never expected from our Namibian trip.

It was fascinating to learn so much about the fishing industry and tides of Namibia too. Well worth it - even without the whale sighting- although that was the icing on the cake!

We did visit Kolmanskop on our final morning which was good; but after the Sperrgebiet was rather an anti-climax." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Dr S
London

"Nest Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2009
"We only stayed here because we weren't able to get two nights at Klein Aus Vista. Only stay here if you're desperate!
We were given a room with a partial sea view (301): probably one of only three rooms with just a partial view, and I can't believe it was that busy.

Maybe eating here will serve us right for not being more adventurous (ie, going into town) but I had the worst meal I've eaten (or not!) for decades. For 'Thai stir fry of seafood in own juices' read 'not particularly fresh seafood in canned lobster bisque soup'. It was inedible. And not cheap, so it's reasonable to expect more. I didn't eat it and said it wasn't enjoyable, and so a supervisor marched over, and basically said I should have expected it to be a soup (??).

They then seemingly redeemed themselves by not including it on the bill and my partner gave a good tip as she thought they'd dealt with it well. However, when we came to check out, they had charged us for it." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
The Blue waxbills
UK

"Nest Hotel Review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2008
"The hotel was fine and once more the staff were helpful for example offering to book a sea trip to see penguins, seals and dolphins, which we did.

I have said the location was good, that meaning within Luderitz. I cannot say Luderitz itself was a highlight. The wind almost blew us away and there seems little of real interest had it not been for the sea trip, which was by the way well worth it. The crew and captain were relaxed and enthusistic, and again keen to share their experience.

The drive to Luderitz was exciting. The sand was being blasted across the road by the wind and even with headlights on it was quite difficult to see far ahead. It sounded like a hailstorm in the car and selfishly I was glad that it was not my vehicle since I guess the paintwork suffers somewhat. The outward journey was very different, perfectly calm. Apparently huge changes in weather conditions within a short time are the norm.

A trip around the peninsula is well worth doing." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr B & Mrs E
Surrey

"Why Luderitz?"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2008
"The trip from Fish River Canyon was great, we took advice from a Swiss couple at Bagatelle and went via the Orange River - what a delightful drive along the valley, athough Rosh Pinah is not such a great stopping point afterwards!

It was a very long drive and unfortunately Luderitz was one of our disappointments. We arrived in the fog which started about 20kms out, spent a worrying night with the waves breaking onto our ground floor windows and awoke to a grey and dismal dawn which didn't change for the 40 odd hours we were there.

The hotel is fine for a short stay although the approach is rather unnerving. The sandy road down to The Nest is lined by derelict warehouses and an old power station. There's not one window intact in the whole street and we would not have dared to walk it after dark! As a consequence we only went into and through the town by car and ate in the hotel both evenings - the food was OK, but not very inspired.

After one day spent touring the peninsula, we left Luderitz in the pouring rain that lasted for 100kms, so didn't bother to try to find the wild horses.

The title reflects a profound question - we didn't understand including the place as a visitor attraction at that time of year. It may, of course, be a different proposition at other times - not sure we would easily be persuaded though!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Dune larks
Sheffield

"Nest Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2008
"A typical chain hotel with air con, bath, TV but good views it you looked at the island and not over towards Luderitz which looked like Cannery Row!

Staff were pleasant and helpful but not very impressed with the restaurant evening meal choice and food, especially when we compare to other hotels and lodges we stayed in throughout our 3 weeks. We arrived on a Sunday so the town was shut and did not really seem to offer much the next day.

Would not recommend stopping in Luderitz - it could be visited from Aus incorporating the ghost town which was interesting and where light meals were available. You do have to get your tickets to the ghost town from the centre of Luderitz - obviously to encourage to go there!!!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr G
Torquay

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2008
"We were given a room without a balcony, which is a pity as it is much better to have a balcony and so to enjoy the sea views and the sunsets.

Our room had not been well maintained - I repaired the wardrobe myself as the door was falling off.

Serive was slow in the overcrowded restaurant, which was struggling to cope with a tour party." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Blackwinged stilts
UK

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2008
"We were initially given a dingy room on the ground floor with bars on the window onto a very poor view which was also a smoking room and smelt awful. I asked for a room change and was given another room also on the ground floor, but non-smoking and with a better view. It would have been nice to have had a room with a balcony though.

The internet was not working during the length of our stay with no real explanation as to why. We could see that other people were wanting to use it and were also told just to try later but with no success and no explanation. The service at the front desk was the poorest here that was experienced in the whole trip but it was nothing to complain about particularly.

The hotel was clean and tidy and the pool area nice. Service in the restaurant area was good from some staff and poorer from others. Food was ok, but not as good as other locations." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2007
"nice hotel, not much charater compered with small places we stayed." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
IOW

"Just a town"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2007
"An average hotel of good quality - nothing exceptional. The town was disappointing." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr L
Bristol

"Fantastic seafood at the Nest Hotel."

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2007
"A little out of the way and room seemed small compared to the lodges. However quite comfortable and food excellent. Although not unexpected, Luderitz was extremely windy.

Unlucky with wildlife on Sedena boat-trip. Kolmanskop well worth a visit." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 60
80%
60 reviews of Nest Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
29
14
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


95% (83 reviews)
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

On the edge of the Namib Desert, the Desert Horse Inn makes a comfortable base for hiking, visiting Lüderitz, or seeking out the area's feral horses.


89% (48 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa