This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dune larks from Sheffield

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Another day, another great lodge!

Namibia between 23 Jul 2008 and 15 Aug 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa were the Experts for us. We had a vague idea it would be good to go to Namibia - had read the guidebooks but needed Gwynneth to really sort us out and she provided us with a tour of Namibia which encompassed many fantastic experiences of a wonderful country with great people.

When we tell people about the holiday they are surprised, intrigued, interested. It was one of the safest and most relaxing holidays of our experience and we have been a few places.

If you are interested in going to Africa - Namibia has it all - go!"

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2008
"A great place to feel welcomed after the long flight and drive down. Excellent staff and good location. Springbok served here was the most delicious tasted throughout the whole trip!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2008
"Wonderful location - we got the room/bungalow that was in all the postcard pictures so impressive views! Staff very pleasant and helpful and made the stay great.

Took the opportunity to be taken to the Canyon by John, one of the guides and it was great to talk to him about the geology and fauna which was very informative. Food good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2008
"A typical chain hotel with air con, bath, TV but good views it you looked at the island and not over towards Luderitz which looked like Cannery Row!

Staff were pleasant and helpful but not very impressed with the restaurant evening meal choice and food, especially when we compare to other hotels and lodges we stayed in throughout our 3 weeks. We arrived on a Sunday so the town was shut and did not really seem to offer much the next day.

Would not recommend stopping in Luderitz - it could be visited from Aus incorporating the ghost town which was interesting and where light meals were available. You do have to get your tickets to the ghost town from the centre of Luderitz - obviously to encourage to go there!!!"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2008
"One of the greatest views, sunsets and lodges we stayed in (and after a while you see a lot of sunsets!). Love the fact that breakfast and a barbecue can be provided for you so you don't have to go back to the lodge. Staff helpful and very pleasant.

Just be aware that if not staying in the main lodge the other rooms are bungalows 7KM drive along sand road with some big bumps. We had a 2WD and were OK but scraping sounds were slightly worrying at times.

Facilities in bungalows superb and looking back it was worth experiencing the bumps!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2008
"Great views and location for visiting Sossusvlei.

Food was good at the lodge and we were taken to Sossusvlei on one of the trips they offered - ie champagne breakfast with very informative guide, Randy, and climbed the dunes and walked the Deadvlei - great!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2008
"After 10 days busy travelling and sight seeing stopping at Zebra River Lodge was a real tonic. It was more of a home away from home and a great place to relax and recharge ready for more action. Good walks around the lodge, delicious food and a beautiful location.

We were greated by Gail and from then on we felt relaxed. One of our party took advantage of the massages on offer which she said was great. Gail went out of her way to help another of our party by managing to successfully get a prescription item from Windhoek and we only stayed overnight!!! Would recommend a longer stay to relax and recharge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2008
"Had a very good 2 bedroomed apartment with kitchen/dining/braii facilities with great views over the sea. Before we arrived we did not have any information about restaurant facilities but there was an excellent restaurant where breakfast was served.

Was a good location but a short drive out of the centre of Swakopmund, this was not a problem as there was always plenty of parking available. Would recommend staying here for a number of nights to be used as a base."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2008
"Excellent! One of the highlights of the holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for staff, food was very good and the atmosphere wonderfull.

With Elaine as our guide we went for an early morning trip to see wild desert elephants and were rewarded with an extremely close encounter from the magnificent beasts!! Don't miss it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2008
"This location is superb and you have to stay here. Inside the national park we could walk from our bungalow 2 mins to the main watering hole and sit all day and night watching a variety of animals come to drink including zebra, giraffe, rhinos, elephants, wilderbeasts, kudu, etc etc.

The bungalows were very clean, spacious and well prepared for any mozzies. Food at the restaurant was not great (think of mass catering) but was OK for 2 nights.

If you want to self-cater DON'T relay on the shop - very poor range and quantities - bring it with you! Post Office is great!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2008
"After the rather basic food at Okaukuejo Restcamp it was lovely to have quality food and attentive service at this beautiful lodge just outside Etosha. You could stay here and visit the park.

We had stayed in the park so went to Tsumeb which was a small town with banks, shops and a few museums. Would recommend the lodge - lovely visit."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Khorab Lodge

"Khorab Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2008
"We stayed overnight but would not stay again. After the quality of the other lodges the rooms were rather basic . not air con and mozzie net had seen better days!

The staff were lovely and helpful and the food was very good. Had lunch and dinner and would recommend it as a place to eat on the way to somewhere else."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2008
"If there is only one reason to go to Namibia this should be it. On arrival we were upgraded to the Bush Camp which was wonderful! Lodge amazing, staff fantastic from the minute of arrival at the door to the minute of departure.

Customer service was pitched perfectly - not over done but attentive when required.

The guides were brilliant - we had Marius and Dean - whose knowledge of the animals and their environment together with their great sense of humour just added to the greatness of the place. Don't miss it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2008
"Our last day and night in Namibia could not have been spent in a more lovely place. A house that had been a photographer's studio was beautifully decorated and was the owners' home and we felt welcomed as such.

They booked a local restaurant for us, gave us guidance on Windhoek and breakfast was served in our room on the veranda. Lovely."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team