This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr G & Mrs S from Aberdeen

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Namibia - June 2011

Namibia between 8 Jun 2011 and 30 Jun 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thought this an incredible holiday.

The accommodation you booked for us was all good and the advice you gave was excellent. If we were doing it again, we might not visit Luderitz and probably would not visit Erongo. That apart it met or exceeded our expectations. We saw incredible scenery, lots of wildlife and interesting geology.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We thought your service was pretty exceptional. We met one of your staff in Luderitz and again at Sinclair - she was seeing some of the hotels and lodges and had clearly seen quite a bit of Namibia. We thought it excellent that you were really keeping in touch with the locations you recommended."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2011
"Very friendly reception and very helpful staff. Room was comfortable and food good. Ideal for a one night stopover.

We visited the Geological Survey in the Ministry of Mining and Energy (near Eros Airport) - interesting and well presented."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2011
"A friendly reception, comfortable accommodation and good food.

The evening game drive was good but the excursion to see the rescue cheetahs was disappointing - we could have achieved the same thing by standing at the fence to the enclosure. We were unable to access the field with the meercats due to a psychopathic zebra that was liable to attack strangers - we relied on a telephoto lens."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2011
"An excellent location for visiting Fish River Canyon.

The Roadhouse is certainly unusual with its old vehicles adorning the public area and grounds. Staff were helpful and friendly. The Canyon was spectacular. We also visited Ai Ais - some great scenery en route."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2011
"While the Nest Hotel was fine, Luderitz was the one spot on our tour that we could have skipped. The penguins were almost worth seeing and Kolmanskop and the mining museum were interesting but overall we thought Luderitz was a "one-horse" town.

We did see around 100 ferral horses near Aus en route to Luderitz."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Sinclair Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2011
"En route to Sinclair Guest Farm, we stopped at Helmerinhausen Hotel for a bar lunch - very good.

A very warm welcome with excellent food. The farm dog led us to the abandoned copper mine - a 45 minute walk each way. Food was really good here and sunset on the surrounding hills memorable."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2011
"The main attraction was the proximity to the dunes and the easy access into the park.

The trip to the dunes was well worthwhile and the climb up the dune was harder than expected. We did have a problem when the electrics in our chalet blew the fuses but the staff were really good in fixing things. We took the trip to Sesriem Canyon - something we could have done in our own vehicle. This was a little of an anti-climax after Fish River."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2011
"This was the best B&B on our trip. Reception excellent and incredibly helpful - super room. Dinner bookings were made and we were given mobile phones in case we got lost around Swakopmund. Breakfast was excellent. We had dinner at the Hansa Hotel and the Tug restaurant - both were excellent.

We went on Tommy's Living Desert Tour which was very good - the desert environment was explained and we saw a good deal of the wildlife - we would recommend the tour.

We visited the Crystal Gallery - superb display of crystals and some interesting jewellery for sale."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2011
"Kipwe was an interesting location amongst rock outcrops. Friendly reception and good accommodation although it did get cold at night. They even washed our car for us.

The main reason for staying at Kipwe was to see the desert elephants and we were fortunate finding a group of 10 and being able to see them from quite close up - too close for one of the young bulls! We also enjoyed the trip to the Twyfelfontein rock carvings and the "organ pipes".

Unfortunately, we were told there was no wifi although I could see it on my computer.

En route to the camp there were a lot of roadside stalls selling gemstones. We looked for our own with reasonable success."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2011
"Between Camp Kipwe and Okaukuejo we visited the petrified forest - worthwhile and the tour only took 25 minutes. We also drove to Vingerclip - an interesting photo.

Okaukuejo camp was large and a little bureaucratic on check in. Our room was close to the waterhole and we saw rhino and elephant there.

On arrival we bought a map of Etosha with illustrated animal and bird identification plus a Guidebook to the Waterholes and Animals- these were excellent publications and enabled us to conduct our own tour round the park rather than taking the organised ones - we think that was a good way to do it. We saw lots of wildlife in the park."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2011
"A friendly reception with good food. It was cold at night and blankets were provided at dinner! I took one to the tent for extra warmth at night.

We again drove ourselves around the Etosha waterholes seeing a great deal of wildlife including DikDik. A much better atmosphere than Okaukuejo."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2011
"Between Etosha and Okonjima we diverted to the Hoba Meteorite - this was well signposted.

The camp was 24km from the main road and this would be tricky in the wet season but arrangements have been made to cater for that. Okonjima was a superb camp although it was very quiet during our two nights there. The game drives were excellent with very good sighting of cheetah, leopard and hyena. Highly recommended as part of any Namibia trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jun 2011
"The last few hundred meters to the lodge were tricky and our Nissan X trail only just managed - to be fair, the lodge had a car park and would have collected us if we could not have managed the climb over a huge boulder.

Reception was friendly and food was good. The location is stunning.

There were guided walks available but after struggling with the climb to the sunset location, we concluded that these were more suited to younger folk."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team