This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr W & Mrs N from Cumbria

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

Brilliant trip

Namibia between 17 Feb 2015 and 8 Mar 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Enjoyed the diverse landscapes, vastness and quiet. Game experiences were excellent.

A 4x4 is in our opinion essential - from a comfort point of view as well as peace of mind. A good itinerary and next time we would have a few more 3 night stops, rather than 2 nights to allow us to see more and relax. Good overall standard of accommodation. No problems with navigation because of information and marked map provided.

An exhilarating experience."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Nice quiet corner of Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 17 Feb 2015
"Easy to find. Comfortable and friendly.

Not very central - Owners recommended not walking into town centre in evenings, so to dine out you had to drive again."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Good introduction to desert/ game"

1 night Arrived 18 Feb 2015
"Good friendly staff. Our first encounter of the too large portions of rich food which seemed standard in many places. Game drive was a good introduction to scenery and game.

Enjoyed our chalet on top of the dunes - gave us wonderful views of a great African night sky."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Scenic setting"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2015
"It had an out of season air - a lot of maintenance work going on, staff were functional.

Rooms small and needed some outside shade in the summer heat. The setting and views were lovely."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"A good base for Luderitz"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2015
"Served as a good base.

We were in Luderitz during high winds and sand storms, so we were bunkered down to some extent here. We would have liked to dine at other places in town but the weather prevented us on Saturday and The Nest seems to be the only restaurant open on Sunday.

Generally the hotel was of a good international standard."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Hospitable family-run inn"

1 night Arrived 23 Feb 2015
"Very welcoming- felt like you were staying with hosts.

Our first experience of slightly better, lighter meals."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Brilliant peace and quiet"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2015
"Very welcoming. Lovely main building and accommodation. Long approach so in a very quiet desert setting.

Good position for visiting Sossosvlei. Only downside was that we could not get on their own guided tours of Sossosvlei because they were full.

Advise people to book this in advance as it makes a big difference to your appreciation of the dunes."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Convenient secure central location"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2015
"Good little guesthouse with secure parking.

If we visited Swakop again we would accommodation with public space and/or pool for relaxing."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Unusual, in a positive way. Stunning setting"

2 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2015
"Staff were proud of their culture and wanted to share it.

Brilliant elephant safari. Unusual lodge resembling a fortress in great scenery.

Very spacious chalets. Good food - sensible portions!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Great safari lodge"

2 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2015
"Everything you want from a safari lodge - views, waterhole with game, we'll organisenised safari drives, easy access to Etosha.

Guide took us tracking white rhino on foot - an exhilarating experience. Experienced and efficient staff.

Significant downside at the time of our visit was construction of a new deck next to the main viewing deck/loung area, which created noise for guests and the game."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Quiet retreat"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2015
"Professional and high standard. Lovely pool and relaxing area.

Good base for Etosha."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Of limited interest"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2015
"Good facilities but next time we would choose a more convenient stopover on the way to or from Etosha.

Of limited game interest with exception of released cheetahs and leopards.

One night would have been sufficient for us."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team