This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Cambs.

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

2

My Jul 2016 trip

Namibia between 18 Jul 2016 and 5 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful three weeks in Namibia.

The accommodation was generally of a very high standard and everything ran smoothly.

I had expected that driving such long distances would be tiring but in a 4WD and with little other traffic this did not prove to be the case."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

The Hilton Hotel

"What you'd expect from a Hilton"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2016
"This seemed like a pretty standard Hilton hotel although the staff were perhaps a little more friendly than in some European Hiltons! We located in the centre of town.

The only downside is that building work is taking place next door and seems pretty long term.

We were woken at 4am when the workmen and their lorries arrived. 4am, is early even by Namibian standards!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Good accomodation but a bit artificial"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2016
"The accommodation here is great, as is the food. But be aware that the game drive is through their enclosed nature reserve rather than in the open Kalahari. as this was our first stop outside Windhoek it was good to learn something about Namibian wildlife but we were unsure about what wildlife we'd seen was native to the area and what had been bussed in.

Stroking a cheetah was an unexpected experience!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Good for Namibian town life"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2016
"Small hotel in the middle of town. The accommodation is not luxurious but it's quiet and more than adequate. Really enjoyed the beer in the courtyard when we arrived!

We liked this place as it gave us a feel for Namibian life as the restaurant was used by locals as well as tourists.

Walking round Keetmanshoop watching Namibians going about their daily lives was also informative."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Magnificent views"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2016
"This hotel is in a terrific location with views over the canyon and the rooms are quite spacious. We'd recommend the sundowner drive but have reservations about the drive down into the canyon. It was a bit lengthy and bumpy and we didn't feel like we were at the bottom of a canyon when we got there as it is so wide. The driver was very informative though.

The drive from the main road is a bit tortuous in places and best done in a 4WD.

Could have done with a hot water bottle in the bed (as supplied at Hoodia and Erongo)! We travelled in July, the rooms face south so don't get the sun on them and it gets quite chilly at night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Terrific view of the sea from room"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2016
"We asked for a sea-view room and certainly got it, it felt like we were walking out into the sea when we walked into the room! This is a big hotel compared to most outside Windhoek and service on the reception desk was a bit impersonal but the restaurant staff were friendly and overall it was a much pleasanter hotel than expected.

Lots of people we met travelling round Namibia missed out Luderitz. This is a shame because it has some interesting architecture (Goerke House in particular) and the experience of driving there through a sandstorm was one of the highlights of our journey! The boat trip to see the penguins is recommended, as is visiting the ghost town of Kolmanskop."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

"Hotel Helmeringhausen review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2016
"A useful stopover between Sossusvlei & Fish River Canyon or Luderitz. (Helmeringhausen is just a collection of around half a dozen buildings so there is nothing of interest to do here.)

The room was a bit dated but clean. Very quiet - only one other couple there."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"The best accomodation in Namibia!"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2016
"The best accommodation in every respect on our tour of Namibia! Thorough information about activities available on arrival, exceptionally helpful and pleasant staff, spacious well-equipped rooms with, good food, all topped off by a hot water bottle in bed!

We had planned to drive ourselves to Sossusvlei but decided to go on Hoodia's tour when we got there and did not regret it. We learnt much more about the area than we would have done on our own and didn't get stuck driving in the sand unlike some other travellers. A very good sit-down lunch was provided, not a packed lunch as on most activities elsewhere.

Be aware that the map at the start of chapter 12 of the Bradt guide shows Hoodia in the wrong place. It is approached from the C19 not the D854. The map of Sesreim and Sossusvlei later in the chapter shows the correct position."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lagoon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2016
"There are pros and cons staying at Lagoon Loge. It's a 20 minute walk to the nearest restaurant (The Raft) and the many salt lorries passing are noisy (although they didn't work on the weekend). An additional irritation was that the cleaners moved everything around each day and I was very concerned that I might leave something behind because it had been moved out of sight. This is offset by the wonderful view from the room of the pelicans and flamingos in the lagoon and the excellent breakfast (we recommend the pancakes).

If you want to canoe with the seals in the lagoon or go to Sandwich Harbour then it's much better to stay in Walvis Bay than Swakopmund."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"One of the highlights of the trip"

29 Jul 2016 • Morning excursion

Kayaking amongst the seals was amazing! Words cannot adequately explain this experience. There are so many seals and the paddling was very easy.

A nice touch was Jeanne videoing us in the boat with the seals so that we have a great reminder of this activity.
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Sandwich Harbor"

30 Jul 2016 • All-day excursion

This tour was quite what we expected because there were so few birds at Sandwich Harbour and the birds were the reason for booking the tour.

But the experience of driving along at the foot of the dunes, dodging the waves, and then up and down incredibly steep dunes was an unexpected bonus.

Good lunch provided.
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Basic accomodation in remote location"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"You go to Terrace Bay to experience the remoteness and desolation of the Skeleton Coast and in that respect we weren't disappointed.

The accommodation was right by the beach but it was dated and basic and the wash basin leaked. The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good given the remoteness of the location."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2016
"Excellent rooms, friendly staff and a wonderful boma dinner. We were given no information about the activities on offer though which was very annoying - we found out was available from other guests by which time it was too late to do everything that we wanted. Having said that we did go on an excellent trip to find the elephants and see the rock paintings.

If you go walking on one of the trails then be aware that only the start is marked and the Shepherd's Trail at least just peters out and isn't a circular walk. We ended up walking along animal tracks before turning back as we were in danger of getting lost.

The drive to the camp from the road is not too difficult in a 4WD."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2016
"Grootberg Lodge was the only accommodation that didn't live up to expectations. The room was cramped compared to elsewhere, the toilet didn't flush properly, the shower was slow to empty and there were no fresh eggs for breakfast.

We stayed here to see the rhinos and although we did see a mother and baby from a distance it wasn't worth the 10 hours of sitting in the back of a vehicle,. There were two trackers and one guide but we were not allowed to take part in the tracking we just has to sit and wait while the trackers went off trying to find rhino tracks. Once they found the rhinos we just had to follow the trackers to the location. No information was given about the rhinos unless we asked."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Should have stayed longer"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"This was just meant to be a stopover on the way back to Windhoek so we weren't able to take part in the evening and morning walks.

The rooms were spacious and well equipped and it's a very peaceful location

We saw more birds here than anywhere else and the dassies were a continual entertainment. Wished we'd stayed longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Mar 2012 trip

Botswana and 3 other countries between 16 Mar 2012 and 2 Apr 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Given all the flights and different accommodation there was plenty of opportunity for this holiday to go wrong. In the event there was only one potential problem which we narrowly averted - our transfer from the Livingstone to Botswana. At 7pm the evening before our departure we'd not had any transfer instructions. We asked at the desk of The Royal Livingstone who said that all the offices were shut so they couldn't find out any details for us but that most transfers were around 9am. So we went to bed that evening having set our alarms for 7:45. Fortunately my husband got up at 7am to discover a letter under the door telling us we'd be collected at 7:45!

The accommodation was better than we'd expected but, in each instance, had the atmosphere that we'd hoped for so well done to Nick Hobbs and the female (can't rememember her name) who recommended Bazaruto Lodge.

Very impressed by Expert Africa and Wilderness Safaris and would recommend them to anyone thinking of going to Africa."

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2012
"Great location overlooking the river. Giraffe and zebra roam the grounds.

Beware of the monkeys - they stole my biscuit!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2012
"Great for game drives. Very friendly small camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

"Xigera review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2012
"Saw Pel's fishing owl plus many other birds. Mokoro boat rides were very peaceful and relaxing.

In contrast, the long boat journey up to Chief's Island was fast and noisy in the motor boat which tended frighten the birds away."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 26 Mar 2012
"Conveniently located and cheap food. Ideal for enforced overnight stay in Johannesburg.

Would have appreciated detailed instructions on how to get there though, which level to cross the road on in particular, as we had heavy bags which we had to carry up and down the escalator. On the return we discovered we were able to push a trolley all the way across at an upper level."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bazaruto Lodge

Bazaruto Lodge

"Bazaruto Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2012
"40 rooms with at most 12 people staying made this a wonderfully quiet place to spend a few days by the beach.

Staff were helpful and friendly, if a little difficult to find at times because there were so few of them. Unfortunately the hobie cats were away in South Africa being repaired - this was the one activity we'd been planning on doing.

We saw no mosquitoes around the hotel but don't walk up to the lighthouse first thing in the morning without insect repellent - the (very steep) path seemed to attract hundreds of them!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team