This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr. L & wife from Denmark

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

55

Excursions taken

3

Our 5th time in Namibia; we love the place

Namibia between 10 Oct 2022 and 15 Nov 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our 5th trip to Namibia, which we know very well. That is why we are probably also slightly more demanding customers, as we know what the options are and what we want.

For now four of the trips, we have used Expert Afrika, which we have great confidence in. This time was no exception, we had a wonderful trip to Namibia.

However, there was one - not insignificant - moment of irritation this time. We ended up with a hopeless 2WD Kia for the round trip in the beginning. This was very far from our request of a solid 4WD car (as also important during previous trips). When booking, we had an OK 4WD car on hand and then accepted the trip. Later however, we got ""upgraded"" to a larger 2WD car. This was not OK. Fortunately, we got the right category of car (Toyota Forester) after approx. 10 days - otherwise it would have been a disaster.

We look forward to use Expert Africa again for the fifth time, but next time, at first, we will make sure we have the right category of car before proceeding with the planning."

Feedback response

I’m delighted that these travellers had a wonderful 5-week Namibia trip with us, with some amazing experiences.

Unfortunately, we did encounter problems in securing a 4WD vehicle for these travellers when booking, and we are very sorry for the inconvenience this caused.

We have noted on this travellers’ client file the importance of being able to ensure that we can get a larger 4WD vehicle for any future self-drive trips, prior to confirming the booking.

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2022
"When we arrived at Galton House, we received a warm welcome by the manager.

We got the nice room 1 facing the pool area. Everything was spotless clean and beautiful and tastefully decorated. During our stay, we got lunch and a lovely evening dinner on the spot with good South African wines by glass.

The day after, a nice breakfast. All in all, a great place to start the trip, we would happily visit again."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

11 Oct 2022 • All-day excursion

The full day excursion to the massive sand dunes surrounding Sossusvlei from Hoodia Desert Lodge turned out to be the ideal way to visit Sossusvlei and sourroundings, for many THE most famous Namibian tourist attraction. The huge pans (or vleis) receive water from Tauchab River at rare occasions (not every year), from where it evaporates, creating a surreal landscape in the desert only surpassed by Salvador Dali! We left Hoodia Desert Lodge at 05.30 am to be ready at the Sesriem Gate at 06.00. Our guide D. was very talkative along the whole tour but also very skilled and a remarkable source of information.

1. stop: A small bushman walk in the dunes on the way to Sussosvlei. The main attraction was to see a White Lady spider. In the distance, the balloons hovered along the red sand dunes – impressive sight
2. stop: Dune 40 + 45 at distance. We did not climb, but it seems you can avoid the crowds by choosing dune 40 which opened recently. Go early before it gets too hot!
3. stop: Daniel explained the history and geology of South Western Africa drawing on a sand dune. Very interesting and informative.
4. stop: We climbed red sand dunes and reached Dead Vlei via a less known vlei to the right of Dead Vlei. This turned out to be the perfect way to avoid the crowds using the main track for Dead Vlei
5. stop Lunch at Elin Dune. An “Out of Africa” experience. Tablecloths and cool white wine in the middle of the desert under an acacia tree!

Conclusion, this full day excursion from Hoodia Desert Lodge was the perfect way to explore the area.
Excellent
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2022
"Spitzkoppe is a wonderful area to explore with many well-marked trails. You can walk around the lodge / campsite. Alternatively, you can drive around in the area. First time we visited Spitzkoppe with our children, we stayed in tents below the peek “Pondok” at Spitzkoppe Campsite, where we had an interesting hike to Bushman´s Paradise trekking to the top along chains bolted into the mountain. This time, my wife and I are fortunate to experience the luxury of the nearby Spitzkoppe Lodge although we also love camping.

We arrive in the lodge, where we are greeted by a staff member. He gives us cold towels to clean our hands and face for dust and cold juice for the throat. Highly appreciated after the dusty drive. The lodge itself has a unique setting, fused in between the red granite boulders. There is a “natural swimming pool”, where you can cool down and enjoy the many birds drinking (and shi…..) in the same water. Nevertheless, it´s a nice place to rest, have a drink and watch the sunset. We get our “tent” no. 15. It´s situated privately furthest away from the lodge, thus we could enjoy the solitude. I reckon 10 minutes’ walk away from the lodge, the first part on an elevated wooden walkway.

During night, we are kept awake by the hard wind shaking the whole construction, a loud ever-changing sound reminding us of the solitude. In contrast, during the middle of the day, we are dizzy from the sunny 35C, no wind and no air condition! But most of the time, we are just enjoying this spectacular place.

We opt for two activities and a private drive in our own car. At first, we hike to the third highest mountain top in the area together with a guide. Second, we go on a group tour to the nearby; Rock Arch, Little Bushman´s Paradise and the Snake Fossil.

The hike starts at 7 am. After a short drive to the starting point, we follow the slope up the mountain. Quite OK. Then, it becomes increasingly steep and difficult. Wisely, my wife decides to stay behind and wait until we return. The last part that cannot be recommended to anyone in fear of heights. There is nothing to hold on. If you fall, you are in serious troubles for some seconds (then you are released from all future troubles when you hit the ground below). However, the view on the top is spectacular!

Next, the tour to the nearby; Rock Arch, Little Bushman´s Paradise and the Snake Fossil was nice and recommended."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

"Mountain Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2022
"After a very long 9 hours’ drive in our hopeless rental car with alarms flashing all the time on the corrugated gravel roads, we finally reach Mountain Lodge, looking forward to 3 nights with full board and all activities included.

It´s in the middle of nowhere with few signposts. Therefore, we are very happy to see, that there is actually a lodge after the long drive. We are also very grateful for our never failing Tracks4Africa app. If we are lost – at least we know where ;-)

We are meet by the staff and a very kind manager who upgraded us to a “villa with own plunge pool” on the mountainside (!) What a treat and wonderful surprise after the very long difficult drive.

The lodge itself is typical safari style. An old fashioned (or traditional) safari lodge with dark wooden panels, heavy wooden furniture’s, brass, and large mirrors. Surrounded by an enormous balcony overlooking the area. It´s nicely situated on the mountainside (surprise given the name ;-) overlooking a small nearby, and distant bigger, waterhole.

The food is what I would call “solid and plentiful”.

However, the biggest asset is the staff. They are absolutely amazing and genuine friendly. It’s not a “posh lodge” like e.g. Ongava Lodge, we stayed in last time (link), but more relaxed/friendly style. We would be happy to return again."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2022
"We are in Okonjima nature reserve, a family run lodge and conversation project. Once it was a cattle farm, now a 200 km2 nature reserve established in 1992. Through “AfriCat” focusing on the large carnivores; rescue, rehabilitation and release.

We are in the Plains Camp in the protected area. A bit like Jurassic Park, our little village is surrounded by fences to keep the large predators out! We all remember how that worked out in Jurassic Park ;-)

We leave the protected area tracking leopards. In front of the safari vehicle, our guide tracks the collared leopard with an antenna. Beep – beep – beep the sound get higher when we get closer to the animal. Why does it instantly remind me of Sigourney Weaver “Alien” from 1979?

At first, we see a beautiful young leopard in a tree. It decides to vanish into the bush.

Then we track a large leopard in the bush. It´s difficult to find. Amazing how deep into the scrubs we get. No easy route out again. There she is. Just next to a large tree. Guarding her evening meal in the tree. We keep some distance; leopards are very protective when it comes to protecting their prey.

Back in the Plains Camp again after an exciting game drive. Okonjima was just a stopover on our route to Mundulea (link), but it turned out to be a positive surprise. We were in the “standard rooms” rather than the “view rooms”. They were large and spotless clean, had all necessities and a fantastic view. Hard to imagine the view rooms can be much better!"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"A highlight of our trip (our many trips!)"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2022
"“Did you see the leopard passing the road?” asks our guide and owner B. We are on our first walking safari short time after arriving in Mundulea Camp. Previously, on the way to the camp, I just reassured my wife “no visitors have ever seen cats [leopard, loon and cheetah] in this area, it should be quite safe. Fortunately, the second argument I gave for undertaking this adventure still holds “They cannot run a business if tourists are eaten all the time”. After our new leopard information, we keep a tighter formation walking one by one in the dense bush and no one really wanted to be the last person in the row?

We are in Mundulea Private Reserve together with our host the owner and expert guide B. He established this 120 km2 large reserve some 20 yrs ago in 2001. It borders Otavi Mountains. When we look around, we see bush and mountain savannah with dolomite ridges spanning the landscape. We are in the central area of Namibia receiving most rainfall at approx. 300 ml / year. The water can’t escape but forms sink holes, steep gorges and underground caverns, when it disappears into the ground. Near a big fig tree, Bruno points out depressions and crevasses in the ground caused by water erosion.

We walk for about 2-3 hours, and the colors get increasingly more impressive; khaki, brown, orange, and sand as the sun disappears behind the mountain peak to the west of us. Just before we reach the camp again 3 hours later, we see a very large eland bull, the alpha animal marking his territory. An impressive sight. Also, his heard drinking from the waterhole just outside the camp. Finally, back in the camp after the first of what turns out to be a row of wonderful walking safaris, we settle around the fireplace with G&T´s. Animal sounds 360 degrees around us. Enchanting.

Our camp has the outline of a “kraal”; a fence of wooden sticks provide some protection against predators during night. We have a simple – bur fully adequate – tent with mosquito nets and an open bathroom. We check the floor for snakes and scorpions, whenever we step out of your bed or enters the open heaven bathroom. We place our shoes on hangers under the roof and keep our bags on tables zipped up all time. Nevertheless, we fell safe in this small paradise. Or as B. expressed it “Don´t mind all the sounds during the night, you are safe in your tent”. Later we learned that Bruno always sleeps outside his tent on the veranda.

B. and his assistant prepare all meals over open fire. We enjoy them on beautiful homemade DIY wooden tables and chairs, placed under a green canvas roof in the shade of a big tree.

We do two daily walks and realize B. is an extraordinary source of nature information. He literally knows all about plants, animals, insects, minerals, landscaping etc. He is involved in multiple research projects and nature activities and researchers join him from all over the world. We – the tourists – are just a way to produce income for the conservation project.

We walk around for up to 5 hours for each trip. Any animal, bird, track tree, scrub, and B. will know the name and all information behind. E.g., he gave us a 20 mins lecture on termites. And yes, it was interesting from beginning to end. Herbivore, carnivore or omnivore? Droppings: Dung or cast?

In the hours in the camp between walking, we had the most interesting conversations with B. and the four other guests around the fire and dining table. A highlight of our trip so far – actually - of all our many trips to Africa, among others five to Namibia."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

"Onguma Forest Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2022
"We are relaxing in Onguma Forest Camp. It´s one of the many Onguma Lodges close to Etosha National Park. We have been here three times before, but never tried the Forest Camp. Last time we stayed in the impressive “The Fort”, and previously two times, at the Onguma Lodge Campsite / Lodge. They are far better but perhaps also more expensive.

All the Onguma Camps are quite touristic. Still, they are very pleasant places to recharge your batteries.

It´s as far from our authentic experience in Mundulea Private Reserve as we can get (see that review). But what’s not to like? The pool, restaurant, nice private room, fireplace or vintage wines?

Go for one of the other nicer Onguma Camps..."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2022
"Ai Aiba Lodge is situated 1,200 meters above sea level on the Northwestern side of the mountain range. The name comes from Damara/Nama language and means “someone who leads the way”. Perhaps how to integrate tourism and nature conservation? The natural game in the area includes kudu, springbok, oryx, dik dik, duiker, klipspringer, mountain zebra, giraffe, jackal, leopard, brown hyena, warthog, aardwolf, aardvark, bat eared fox, small spotted genet, African wild cat, porcupine and many more. Nevertheless, it seems like a safe place to walk around, you only see few animals. Look where you place your feet and hands, it´s also an area with occasionally a snake or a scorpion. Should you meet a cat – don´t run

At arrival, the lodge seems a bit unorganized. No welcome committee ready as we have become used to. Finally, a receptionist welcomes us and introduces everything. We are in room 9. This appears to be a rather large lodge and it´s quite busy with clients right now. Perhaps also because of German autumn school holiday which means many German couples and their children are on the premises.

We are not used to the lager lodges but have been spoiled by intimate luxury lodges with a personal appeal or visiting very remote locations. At dinner first night, children are playing everywhere including inside the restaurant, not exactly candlelight romantics.

At arrival, we are offered a sunset walk to a nearby mountain peak. It turns out to be a party of seventeen (!) newly arrived guests alone with one guide only (!) It would have been reasonable to split into at least two groups, families with their children and couples. After this peculiar “experience”, we decide only to book additional excursions given the group is not too large. Fortunately, there is a nice pool with stunning views.

Next morning we do our own walk along the well-marked trail next to the lodge. It´s only 1 km but takes 45 mins because of the many rock boulders to navigate and interesting bushman paintings. It´s easy to follow the guiding signs. The 2nd evening, we enjoy the sunset in sun chairs by the swimming pool. Afterwards a peaceful dinner in the restaurant – this time only nice children playing on the lawn outside. We are impressed by the high quality of the food in this lodge compared to other good lodges. Third day, we got our own guide for a 2,5 hour morning walk on the plains below the mountains. It was very beautiful and relaxing. If we were to visit again, we would ask for a full day walk.

Pros:
- Spectacular (!) setting in Erongo Mountains
- Nice comfortable clean spacious chalet with air con
- Large pool area
- Perfect with small children
- Good wine list (try the Snow Mountain pinot noir & Groote Post riesling)
- High quality food

Cons:
- Rather big lodge = many guests
- Many families with young children “all over the place” in school holidays
- A bit disorganized / busy, no personal feel
- Many guests per guide, however we got private guide on request"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge and Farm

"Perfect base for exploring Naukluft Mountains"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2022
"BuellsPort Lodge & Farmhouse is the perfect base for exploring the Naukluft Mountains. It´s run by the Sauber family, who has been living here for decades. It´s not a fancy lodge at all, but a genuine Namibian guest farm where we felt very welcome.

Every evening, we had a solid three-course dinner on the terrace outside the main living room. In the morning, a small buffet breakfast. On demand, lunch. You can select anything to drink from the small self-service bar, register your purchase in a small notebook, and settle the account at departure.

We stayed in one of the “luxury rooms” behind the main house. It was perfect with all necessities and air-condition. A small pool and sun chairs next to the farm-house came in handy in the heat.

The staff were all extraordinary kind, and it was also a pleasure to talk to the owners of the farm; J & E - and play with their three kind dogs.

The main attraction at BullsPort are all the walking tracks in Naukluft Mountains and the horse riding (if you ride). We enjoyed the two most scenic (?) walking tracks in the area, a) the Quivertree George Trail and the Arch Trail.

BullsPort Lodge & Farmhouse:

PROs
- Perfect walking area with well-marked trails
- Genuine “guest farm” atmosphere with kind staff (and dog)
- Solid and good quality food “farm style”
- Nice “luxury” room
- We loved it

CONs
- Do not expect luxury lodge designer style
- Pool / guest areas could need an update"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Tok Tokkie Trails highly recommended"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2022
"We arrive at the Tok Tokkie reception after some wonderful days around BullsPort Lodge & Farmhouse. When we look around, we are surrounded by mountains in all directions. We are in the Namibrand Nature Reserve, which is located in the Namib Desert. This should be the largest desert in the world?! It´s 2000 km in length and 100 km in width, and it only receives 100 mm rain per year, although some years no rain at all. It´s also supposed to be the oldest desert in the world (however that is determined?).

The next 3 days (2 nights), we expect extreme temperatures and spectacular nature when we cover approx. 20 km on foot. We come well prepared, first thanks to a very experienced guide who has done this tour numerous times, but also thanks to high factor sunscreen, good walking boots, lots of water, and a positive attitude.

Before heading into the desert, we visit a place called “NaDEET Centre” which focus on sustainable living. The centre was awarded with the UNESCO price in 2018 for their extraordinary work teaching Namibian schoolchildren how to save the sparse resources. It´s an extraordinary place and worth a visit.

Late afternoon, we leave the Tok Tokkie reception. We have about 1,5 hour walk for our first overnight camp, the “Horseshoe Camp”. We drive to the starting point, eight persons in total. Beside my wife and I, a couple from Switzerland and two couples from France. All wonderful people. During the whole 3 days (2 nights) trip, our experienced guide S. who shows us big and small things in the desert; plants, animals, insects, tracks, etc. A bit like our tour at Etendeka Overnight Walking Trail although more sand and less stones.

The surroundings are magnificent. Red sand everywhere, with scattered trees and mountains in the distance. We line up one behind the other when we climb dunes in the heath. When we reach Horseshoe Camp, the table is set for dinner!

We are shown our “open AirB&B bedroom" in a private sand dune. We have two simple field beds with bedrolls. In addition, a bag of water serve as a sink as well as "racks" and "tables" to keep luggage above ground in consideration of snakes and scorpions.

Before dinner, we get the mandatory sundowner G&T with a view of the desert. The chef prepares our dinner, which is eaten under the starry sky to the sounds of the desert, especially geckos. We are lucky to have an unobstructed view of the starry sky and Milky Way.

S. points out the Southern Cross, Jupiter and two galaxies. This is a UNESCO "dark sky" area with no disturbing light for several hundred kilometers around.

After dinner, we crawl into shelter in our lovely bedrolls, which consist of a waterproof bivouac cover with bedding inside. You lie comfortably protected, high above the ground. “Biological errands” are done at a nearby dry dump with an unobstructed view of the desert.

It is fantastic to sleep in the open air on the back with an unobstructed view of the starry sky. In this area, there are i.e. leopards and hyenas, but luckily they keep their distance from humans (and we don't wander around at night)

The next morning, we are awakened with coffee at the bed (!) at 06.00. At 06.30, breakfast is ready. At 07.30, we venture into the desert towards a mountain pass and new adventures..."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2022
"Hoodia Desert Lodge is located 22 km from Sesriem, the entrance gate to the famous Sossusvlei area. The lodge sits on the dry banks of Tsauchab River and it is surrounded by mountains in a rather harsh landscape with stony plains and limited vegetation.

It´s in a modern and design´ish style, but perhaps lacks a bit of personality. This is however offset by the many comforts: Shared pool with a view to the dry riverbed, large seating area with comfortable sofas and chairs. Large dining room with central fireplace, and a shaded terrace. In addition, good internet.

In the private thatched bungalows, there is a wonderful bathroom with both indoor and outdoor bathing facilities, including an outdoor bathtub. All in beautiful terracotta colors. Furthermore, large double bed, fridge and air con.

We stayed on a half board basis. Both breakfast and dinner were of high quality.

The day after arrival, we did the full day excursion to Sossusvlei from Hoodia Desert Lodge. It´s recommended.

PRO´s
- Completely modern and in perfect condition
- Large, beautiful rooms with a romantic outdoor bathtub
- High food quality
- Fantastic full day excursion to Sossusvlei

CON´s
- Slightly impersonal "designer style lodge"
- Exposed isolated location on the dry riverbed and stony plain"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

"Inside the park gate"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2022
"The short version: The only good thing to say, it´s inside the park gate.

When you see the promotional material and pictures from Dead Valley Lodge, it looks like a desert fort with a fantastic location. In reality, the lodge is just inside the Sesriem Gate to the right on the border of the busy “Klondike" of NWR office, exposed Sesriem Campsite, medical centre, petrol station, police station, and staff facilities.

However, with a list price of approx. 7300 NAD for full board for one night, our expectations were high. Therefore, we were surprised to receive very little attention at arrival at the lodge. There was limited commitment from our host who handed us the mandatory paper forms. We sensed we were just one of many new guests arriving that day.

As we arrived early and our tent (room) was not yet ready (fair), we waited in the open-air lounge. Open-air was to be taken quite literally, as the area was exposed to the strong winds that prevail. We had dust sneaking in from all sides covering everything. It appeared that it was possible to close the area with glass sides, but that did not happen at any time during our visit.

We asked politely for a cup of coffee (after no reaction from the staff). The waiter informed us we could use the self-service coffee station and pointed us in the right direction. In addition, I ask for a glass of white wine. The waiter informed us, that at the moment, we could not buy white wine by the glass (but whole bottles). They only have red wine by the glass. I replied – I admit now slightly sarcastic - that this was the first time we have been unable to buy a glass of white wine in a (luxury) lodge in Namibia after 5 trips and visiting approx. 60 different "lodges".

Finally, we got our tent. It was in “the back row” of tents with a view to the many tents in the front row. All tents were quite close together.

Inside, our tent smelled of tobacco, even though smoking is prohibited in the rooms. It also turned out that the cooling system was not working. The staff promised to fix it. In the meantime, we waited to see if they would succeed before unpacking. By now, we had already decided to find another lodge if not fixed ASAP. However, the cooling was fixed (telling them we were about to leave the lodge speeded up the service). Yet no apology or regret.

In the evening, we had the dinner buffet, which was included in the full board. Excellent food - but still no white wine by the glass.

The next day, we were glad we were only booked 1 night for this place. Needless to say, we will never return. On departure, our host did not ask us about our experiences with the place nor provided an evaluation form. It actually makes perfect sense.

PRO´s
- Inside Sesriem Gate
- Good dinner buffet with amusing chef

CON´s
- Just about everything, read above"
Poor
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location
Average
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Location more than excellent"

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2022
"We are staying in Wolwedans Dune Camp four nights. As stated in the Wolwedans Dune Camp's description on their homepage: ”Positioned on the edge of a 250-metre high dune, Dune Camp has the most extraordinary views across the Namibrand [Nature] reserve. The main areas are spread out across a series of interlocking decks ensuring that the lounge, dining area and tea room all enjoy views across the endless dune landscape to the mountains beyond."

Dune Camp is part of the exclusive Wolwerdans Collection of Camps. Or as they also write: "Wolwedans is more than a collection of camps. It is a collection of dreams. In this land of blue skies and endless plains you will find beauty to feed your soul, tranquility to clear the mind, and space for your imagination to fly. You may feel completely overwhelmed at first, but then quickly settle into a landscape and immersive experience which is ‘simply out of this world”.

There is some truth in that statement; the location on top of the red dunes with a view of the plain and mountains in the distance is absolutely enchanting. In all directions we see spectacular scenery!

However, it comes at a price (8200 NAD per person per day). E.g. some of the guests choose to arrive by private plane at the local airstrip. Others opt for butler and own staff.

We stay in the "tented room". The generous tented room is built on wooden platforms raised off the ground. It´s comfortable and spacious, with a kingsize bed as well as full indoor and outdoor bathrooms. There is no coffee station, but a thermos is provided every night.

Outside, we have a generous deck which allows for plenty of lounging around, but unfortunately, there is not a lot of privacy. You can easily watch your neighbours - and the other way around (!) Not perfect design and perhaps the most important minus regarding this camp.

On the very positive side, you have a “Wolwedans Chiller”, which is a water-filled silo to cool off during hot summer months. We enjoyed this feature very much.

Also, you have full board and activities included in the rate, e.g.: Morning and evening scenic drives, Wolwedans desert sundowners, "Heart and Home village tour" (visit to the Wolwedans Village), full day scenic safari, bushman walk, and E-biking.

We opt for the visit to the Wolwedans Village, where the owner Stephan explained the whole philosophy behind Wolwedans. Very impressive work and recommended tour. We also did the desert sundowner and a very fast bushman walk. However, most of the time, we just enjoyed the most extraordinary views across the Namibrand Nature reserve, from the main buildings and from our own wooden platform surrounding the tent.

Every night, we had nice (but quality wise not very extraordinary) dinners on the wooden main decks overlooking the desert and starry sky! Also, a overlooking a nearby water whole. Before dinner, always sunset + G&T around the fire together with other guests.

On the full day excursion, we went to the North-eastern corner of the nature reserve with our pleasant and knowledgably guide Jacks. We had a scenic drive over the vast plains to a quiver tree forest at the foot of Mt Nubib Berge, actually this uiver tree forest was much more impressive than the famous one near Keetmanshoop which we visited several years earlier (in 2009).

We had lunch at the most spectacular viewpoint “Vultures View” on a small stony mountain peak. What a perfect full day activity.

The last full day at Wolwedans, I decided to climb Mt. Losberg – but that is another interesting story...

In conclusion, Wolwedans was a pleasant acquaintance, and we would like to come back once more. However, given the high-end price tag, Wolwedans staff need to pay more attention to details; not the number of gadgets or fancy facilities, but e.g., make sure; tents/rooms are in perfect shape every day with clean towels (change dirty on the floor), full refrigerator, and hot warm water every morning (e.g., outside the tent) rather than the lukewarm water from the night before. It is also a annoyance that you are not properly shielded from other guests on the private terrace in front of your tent.

Also, the service was always friendly, but certainly not always of the same high quality (some inexperienced staff).

PRO's
- Fantastic and completely unique location in the desert
- Total relaxation and tranquility
- Focus on employee well-being and training in Wolwedans Village
- Focus on local raw materials and a sustainable strategy

CON's
- Tents not properly shielded from neighbours, who have free access to watch each other on the wooden sundeck
- A little too little attention to detail (read above) - given the high price tag
- Some variations in the quality of service provided by staff - given the high price tag
- But bottom-line, we would love to come back another time!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2022
"Last time we visited Klein Aus Vista was with our two children in 2009. At that time, we were absolutely stunned by the vast landscape, solitude, silence, and the extraordinary sunsets over the Namib Desert. Especially, by the special next door “Diamond Sperrgebiet”. We always hoped, we once would be able to return again one day and explore the area. What a privilege to be here again!

The next-door Diamond Sperrgebiet is a prohibited diamond-rich area in the most southern part of the Namib Desert. It stretches along the Atlantic coast from Oranjemund & Orange River in the south - all the way north - to about 72 km north of the coastal town Lüderitz. The area is approx. 97 km wide and 322 km long. From 1908 until the early 21st century, all access by unauthorized persons was rigidly prohibited. Even today, you cannot move around freely, but you are allowed to follow the marked trails.

In 2009, we stayed at the nice campsite. However, this time, we upgraded to the Eagle's Nest Chalets which is eight amazing individual rock chalets literally built into large granite boulders with a rugged granite-gneiss mountain as the backdrop.

The view from our terrace is amazing. Above, eagles soar, and in front, the expansive views take our breath away.

At night, we sleep without any curtains for the windows. Its full moon. A lizard plays on one of the windows and captured by the camera from our bed. It´s the most amazing sight (& picture): A lizard on the window in front of the full moon. From the end of our large double bed, which leans against a huge granite boulder, we have an undisturbed clear view of the Namib desert with mountains in the distance.

Just as we are about to sleep, we hear a strange sound?! It gradually gets louder and louder. It sounds like an engine? Is a car coming now? This late? At this remote place!? Or is it a helicopter? We see lights in the far distance. We realize it is the solitary train from moving slowly on its way to Lüderitz 120 km further vest, where it will pick up uranium. We fall back asleep relieved.

At night at two o'clock, my wife suddenly wakes up. She has a strange feeling that someone is watching us. And indeed, just outside our panoramic window, 3 wild desert horses are standing next to our braai pit (grill), which is still warm after we cooked game for dinner in the evening.

At last, we hear no more sounds this night. The lizards and voles don't bother us.

We want to stay here forever. Just relax, read books, and cook on the fire, and eat in our private “desert restaurant” while appreciating the spectacular boundless space.

PRO´s
- Very kind service at the Desert Horse Inn Lodge (reception)
- Amazing architecture and spectacular views from Eagles Nest
- Extraordinary fine cabins with everything you need available
- Fine well marked walking trails

CON´s
- In some places the nearby nature appears a little worn / overused
- Perhaps a bit busy at the lodge with many visitors
- Not a "posh" luxury place (but friendly)"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Good trekking opportunities"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2022
"We are staying in Fish River Lodge. Literally, as they write on their homepage “on the edge of eternity”. We are in the last of their chalets with undisturbed views to the canyon and southwest. The tall windows and terrace outside allow views of the canyon to take priority everywhere.

Our chalet is in a very modern style and in fantastic condition when we arrive. Everything is perfectly cleaned, a standard that is maintained over the next 3 days (perfect housekeeping). We have both outdoor and indoor showers, a large bedroom with a view, and a platform outside where we can lie and enjoy the undisturbed view. In addition, we find all the small necessities that you expect in a hotel.

The main lodge itself is also incredibly beautifully built on the edge of the Fish River Canyon, with spectacular views everywhere. A spectacular rim pool provides cool comfort in the hot summer months also overlooking the canyon and nature park.

The 45,000-hectare Canyon Nature Park is a sanctuary for the nature, including the rare Hartman’s zebra, oryx antelope and ostriches, which appear and disappear in the rocky side canyons.

We love to hike! And the Fish River Canyon is a top hiking destination. And Fish River Lodge has access down to the Fish River and meandering paths on the rim of the canyon.

First day, we take the short rim walk for 1,5 hours. Second day, we take the full day canyon drive, Followed by the longer rim walk for 3 hours (!)

The Fish River Lodge has some opportunities for improvements: One of the minor opportunities for improvement was the restaurant, where we found the service to be of very variable nature. Fortunately, always friendly, but not always very professional. Orders and requests were forgotten more than once, and guests (including us) sometimes placed very close to the hot fireplace. However, when the problems were pointed out, the staff immediately reacted (but sometimes forgot again). The restaurant did not provide the same "luxury sensation" as the rest of the lodge.

Another thing to be aware of is that the lodge is extremely exposed to wind. Two out of three nights, we had very loud wind noise all night, partly due to the construction of the roof. For the same reason, there are earplugs in the chalets, which you can choose to use. Also, there is no air conditioning in the chalets, but a fan and high ceilings. It can probably be a challenge on very hot days!

However, all in all we loved the place and would be happy to return."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Teufelskrallen Lodge

"Teufelskrallen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2022
"Perhaps a more correct rating would be 3 stars, but based on the very extraordinary kind service and warm welcome, we enjoyed the stay and would be happy to visit again.

It´s inconvenient the lodge is approx. 3 km´s from the tents where you sleep during night and that the place is quite close to a not very nice / interesting town. Also, that guards are present in the camp at night (that they are needed).

Additionally on the good side; very fast internet, nice dinner and nice pool area."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2022
"Perfect place to end the trip before airport next day. We got a kind reception, a very nice luxury room on first floor and a good lunch even though we arrived late (officially after lunch).

The reception assisted kindly with restaurant (Stellenbosch) including taxi and with taxi to airport next morning.

It´s situated in a nice green area of Windhoek in a peaceful neighborhood."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Third time with Expert Africa, still happy

Namibia and 2 other countries between 27 Jul 2019 and 25 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Except for the very bad experience with Bidvest Car Hire (hired through Expert Africa), once again, we had very good experiences using Expert Africa for assisting with planning and booking the trip. We got highly qualified, fast and efficient help from Tracy Lederer from Expert Africa putting together a good trip to this part of Africa, where we have traveled may times, although were were late out booking.

We look forward to use Expert Africa again (our travel agent for the Southern parts of Africa)."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Galton House

Galton House

"Perfect place for 1st night in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2019
"We arrived tired at Galton House after a 30 hours journey and arguing about the car in the airport. So much the more, we appreciated the warm welcome in Galton House. We got rooms 8 and 9 which had a convenient connecting door for families. Everything was beautiful and tastefully decorated in high quality materials. Spotless clean. Despite our late arrival, we got a lovely tasty 4 course dinner on the spot with good South African wine. The day after, a nice breakfast. We also noticed a nice pool area. All in all a great place we would happily visit again. Only minus was a very slow internet (if you need net, perhaps a star less)"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Nice place, but update needed"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"We stayed at "Sam´s Giardino" for one night. Sam´s Giardine is a comfortable old guesthouse in the outskirts of Swakop. We also stayed here 10 years ago and nothing has really changed over the years. This is both good and bad. The good thing is the owner, who is a very kind and talkative person full of interesting stories. We appreciated his kind welcome and company. Perhaps on the bad side, in order to go for 10 more years with visitors, the place needs an update. Nevertheless, its a nice place to stay."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze Lodge

"Extraordinary place"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2019
"What an extraordinary lodge just outside Swakopmund. We stayed in “the villa”, a large house with three large bedrooms. Perfect for family or friends. Great views of the Swakop River. Also, 3 toilets and 2 bathrooms. Nice minibar with reasonable prices, fireplace and great sourroundings. Friendly staff at reception. Nice breakfast. Beautiful view to Swakop River."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Drifting around with seals"

31 Jul 2019 • Morning excursion

On this tour, you are drifting around with seals in a kayak just off the beach.You can stay on low water if you wish. It is very easy and requires no prerequisites unless you are extremely clumsy. One does not sail much, but mainly drift around among the seals near the shore. We could easily bring our own camera, the tourist kayak was very stable. Bring very warm clothing, sun hat and sunscreen. You are pushed dry-shoed out into the water. Exciting drive to the starting point. Especially good if you like animals. The only bad thing was that was were not booked with Jeanne Meintjies, as indicated in our itinerary. When we called her the day before to confirm our trip it took a while to find out, we were booked with another firm "Pelican Point Cayaking".
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Location, location, location"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2019
"When we finally reached Terrace Bay Restcamp it was like arriving at another planet. Everything seemed abandoned. The main reception was closed and we couldn't find any people or staff. At least, there were signs of civilization. As we were driving around for a while in this dark and deserted lunar base, we saw light in the distance. We found a way to the light. It turned out to be the restaurant (basic cafeteria), where we were greeted by friendly staff. No one had missed us. We got our huge Beach Chatlet with five bedrooms, three bathrooms, large living room and kitchen. Completely surreal. Everything was simple but functional and clean. You sense it was originally built for the mine staff until the government took over in the 1970s. We slept exceptionally well that night. The roaring sea and the wind did not keep us awake.

This is a excellent place because of the extraordinary location and the friendly staff, not because of the facilities (then you will be dissapointed)"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Average to good, but only option."

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2019
"Actually, we like this oasis in the desert, that we have visited three times by now (2009, 2012 and 2019). Nice little pools (two), OK restaurant, tyre repairs, and fine tents by the riverbed. Also, an elefant visiting. On the bad side, very large groups (overland) trucks are also present. They easily dominate the restaurant as in our case the had a table with approx. 20 chairs in the middle of the room. The service in the restaurant was not of very high standard compared to the price tag for this place. The location is fantastic and you don´t really have other options. Slow internet, but works."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

"Etendeka Walking Trail review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2019
"The highlight of one month trip! "Trek through one of Namibia’s most remote and untouched landscapes on foot, have sundowners as you look out over never ending vistas of ancient rock formations and sleep under a blanket of stars. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to connect with nature".

We were picked up at Palmwag Lodge at 4 p.m. We were very excited and perhaps also a bit nervous. We were going to trek through one of Namibia’s most remote and untouched landscapes on foot. We drove about 20 minutes to the starting point. We where about to hike approx. 25 kilometers into the Etendeka Mountains. The open Land Rover drove off the small trail onto a small dry riverbed where we set out. We were our family of four people and a very friendly family, likewise of four people, from Switzerland. Our guide Boas briefed us on the trip.

First, a short 3-4 kilometer hike along the dry riverbed to River Camp. The next day, an approx. 14 km long walk up to Mountain Camp, near the top of Crystal Mountain. All through the deserted Etendeka plains and mountains. This is an area with "cats" (we were prepared link), hyenas and black rhinos. Usually the animals are very shy. As Boas said:
"the biggest risk is to sprain the ankle". We believed him.

After a lovely walk along the dry river bed and over a small hill, we reached Rivercamp, which lies on the banks of another dry river bed. In this camp, there are five sleeping platforms where you can sleep relatively safe under the open sky. The two platforms lie a little by themselves on one side of the common area, while the other three lie on the other side. There is no big difference no matter which platform you get. On each platform we found two camp beds with bedrols. The bedrols consisted of a waterproof bivouac coatings (which should prove to be very useful). Then duvet, pillow and a bed sheet. Everything was fine and clean and was ready for use when we arrived.

Our large luggage had been driven to the camp in advance. Pure luxury. In a bag at the end of the field bed, we found a thick blanket, and on a small table, there was a flashlight. Nearby a flush toilet (!) and a nice bucket shower. The bucket shower was a bucket upside down with a shower head. Surprisingly for us, there was also solar heated hot water that could be poured into the bucket. Everything was tastefully built of rusty steel and gabions (steel mesh with stone in it), so it fell nicely into nature.

At sunset, our guide and his two helpers had lit bonfires and prepared our dinner. Chicken pot and fried vegetables made on the bonfire. How nice to sit by the fire and enjoy G&T while darkness creeps in and you can hear the crackle of the bonfire and the sounds of the night.At night, my son and I were on the same platform talking about the moon and the stars. My son saw two shooting stars and a satellite pass across the sky. What a completely enchanting evening and night. It reminds me of a specific night at me and my son's trip to the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.

The next day, we went the long beautiful hike through the Etendeka Mountains to the top of Crystal Mountain. The adventure just continued ..."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

"The only place in Opuwo, and fine"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"We stayed at Opuwo Country Lodge, which also seemed affected by the harsh and dry conditions in Namibia at the moment. Dust everywhere, but clean rooms. The road up to the lodge hilltop looked like something that was a lie. It was in a very bad condition surrounded by dead trees and shrubs. It was strange afterwards to relax on the edge of the fine infinity pool in this "troubled" city. Nice restaurant given the location but medium quality food not matching the price tag."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

"Such a nice place"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"We stayed at the nice Epupa Camp approx. 700 meters above the waterfalls. This place is highly recommended. The staff were very kind. The lodge had a spectacular location next to Kunene River, and there was a nice little pool. Dinner and breakfast were perfect. We tried to stay in both the safari tents and in the cottage, both worked fine. OK internet and charging station by the reception. Cars were washed on parking place (convenient given all the dust). Family friendly river rafting (not very difficult at all)"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kunene River Lodge

"Perfect sundowner cruise Kunene River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"Wonderfull relaxation next to Kunene River, where we had the most spectacular sundowner cruise, which we can highly recommend. Nice dinner platform next to river with staff singing after dinner! Also, nice campsite with clean ablution block / restrooms and very spacious rooms (we stayed both places). Very slow internet. We loved this place. The river rafting was interesting but be very careful with last rapid and consider going around - there is a long way to the hospital! Search Tripadvisor forum for "Kunene River Lodge river rafting" for details about the rafting."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Toko Lodge

"Basic but fine and friendly"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2019
"This was a basic safari lodge but with clean spacious rooms and very kind staff. Perfect for a short stop. Nice pool and dinner on the terrace. The internet was very unstable and slow. Game drives were not available when we where there, but a village visit was possible."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge was expensive but lovely"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2019
"Before entering Etosha through the Andersson Gate, we stayed at Ongava Lodge in Ongava Game Reserve. It is a lovely luxury lodge, located on a small cliff top overlooking the bush. The thatched cottages have unobstructed views of the game reserve and a local water hole. From our cabin we could see the animals coming and going from the watering hole. Just when we arrived there was a large giraffe, shortly after an elephant.

It is crazy to be able to watch the animals directly from our own private terrace - or the outdoor shower. There is no fence around the lodge and at night an armed guard follows one back to the cabin from to the living area / restaurant.

Ongava Lodge was an expensive and lovely place, though not a very personal lodge. The food and service did not quite live up to the high price. But with a location just outside Etosha's gate, that's probably the price you have to pay. We had a good time at this lodge"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Onguma The Fort, 24 hours paradise"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2019
"When we arrive at the Moroccan fort, the servants are ready with heated white cotton cloths so we can wipe the dust off our faces and hands. As we enter through the gate, our arrival is announced on a large gong gong with two strokes.

Everything is tastefully decorated with several water elements and walkways passing water. Everywhere delicious materials are used and everything is tastefully decorated.

We are welcomed with ice tea in the restaurant. From here there is a direct view of the pool. And to the watering hole where animals come and go.

We are informed when the dinner will be served, after which we will be driven to our room. It is an unfenced lodge, ie. all animals have free access to the area. It is therefore too dangerous to travel outside alone, especially at night.

As we arrive at our room it turns out to be a small mini fort! Impressive Moroccan wooden doors with beautiful carvings everywhere and very high ceilings!

The bathroom is almost a tower room. Outside our own large secluded wooden terrace with lovely sun loungers. We have free views of the bush (room 6). To the right we can see the water hole. Everything is completely secluded including an extra outdoor shower.

Our waiter points out that there is sherry ready on the glass carafe! In addition, there are other carafe and wines from all over the world. Everything is included in the price, which I dare not think about at all.

We enjoy the afternoon completely secluded on the terrace. In the evening, it's the 1001 night adventure on the fort. We sit at a beautifully decked table with a free view of the waterhole. We have our own personal servant all evening. There is "Rust en Vrede" (rest and peace) on the wine list. Our personal favorite from South Africa.

We sleep like a rock all night after a day of wonderland. Here we would like to stay more than one night, but it probably requires an agreement with the bank ...

(We did not do any activities."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Excellent high service"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2019
"Our children stayed in Onguma Bush Camp. They said it was the best service so far on this trip. We also know the place from previous trips."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"Good place near Popa Falls"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2019
"This was a nice and kind place to stay near Popa Falls (that are not really interesting at all - just rapids - especially not after seeing Epupa Falls). The safari tents were a bit old and the interior an could need an update, but the staff were kind. Especially dinner and breakfast had a high quality and the staff sang after dinner (gave a little performance). That was a positive surprise."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Wonderfull place off-grid at Okavango"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2019
"Wonderful place on a small island in Okavango Delta (short boat trip from end of track). We loved the private guide and fishing trips on the river. We loved the spacious room and the perfect dinners. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. There was no internet - but that just added to the peaceful feeling at this place. Would love to return (and will)."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

"Another highlight!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2019
"After Etendeka Overnight Walking Trail, this was perhaps the second best experience. Fantastic location build on stilts in the national park. Extraordinary big safari tent with bathtub and living room (+ Cognac i a carafe in the room). Fantastic river cruise and perhaps the best game drive on the whole trip (one month) in the afternoon. We saw big herds of elephants and buffaloes. The park is very sandy, don´t take own car unless very experienced with 4WD (and low tyre pressure)."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serondela Lodge

Serondela Lodge

"Nice lodge in "safari Ibitza""

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2019
"This was a nice lodge with kind staff. Unfortunately, we started the trip one family together with a very loud south European "family group" that totally dominated the boat trip (game watching). For every animal (including cows) the shouted "bambino bambino" and jumped around in the bout (despite the captains orders) and took photos. They did not care, that we were in the boat as well trying to enjoy the nature and peaceful scenery. That was a terrible start on this visit to Serondela. At arrival, the manager promised we would not have more excursions together with the large group, but his staff tried to send us on the same boat back after our visit.

Speaking about peaceful, Chobe National Park is "safari Ibiza", boats everywhere crusing on the river, including several "floating hotels". When you see an interesting animal on the shore, it´s accompanied by 3-4 safari cars. We did not really like this part of the place and have perhaps been to many other good places to appreciate the easy access to animals at Chobe.

We had a nice excursion the a nearby village, not tribal, thus perhaps even more interesting after seeing many himba and bushman villages earlier on."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Nice place "to end journey""

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2019
"Really nice large place to end journey with many activities nearby including free access to VIC Falls. On the bad side, helicopters and flights in the air all day - be warned. Perfect rooms, large pool area and good pool bar. The buffet was not up to the standard and price tag, perhaps just go for the fine bar menu. The staff were extraordinarily friendly. We would be happy to visit again in end of a trip. Super internet."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

Perfect trip to Kgalagadi in Kalahari

South Africa between 21 Nov 2015 and 4 Dec 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This is the second time we use Expert Africa for bookings etc. As last time, everything went perfect.

We got qualifyed and kind help from the staff. At arrival in Africa, everything went according to plans. You can get full help from Expert Africa. However, as experienced in travelling in Africa, we prepared the route on our own. Afterwards, we got good input from Expert Africa and make changes accordingly. This worked fine.

We will use Expert Africa again in the future."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Good starting point for Kgalagadi"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2015
"Nice cottage, well maintained. Kind reception at arrival to Twee Rivieren. Polite staff.

You can buy quite a lot of basic groceries in the shop including meat.

OK restaurant and fine little pool. Good place to start the trip."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Wonderfull wilderness Camp with a view"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2015
"Perfect setting on Aoub riverbed. Well maintained, kind caretaker.

Super view to the riverbed from terrasse. See animals come and go.

The "tents" (huts) seems quite safe. All kitchen equipment present - only bring food and drinks (og buy at Mata Mata 3 km away).

You can easily use 3 days here enjoying the view, reading a good book ect."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Good
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

"Extraordinary place close to waterhole"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2015
"Truely an extraordinary Wilderness Camp. Perfect setting close to waterhole.

Animals very close... Not a problem if you behave wisely. Look before you leave the ground. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the wildlife.

Fair kitchen, room and bathroom. Everything you need, no more. Use 2-3 days here.

We only spent one day and moved on to Gharagab."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp

"Perhaps the best Wilderness Camp - remote"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2015
"Maybe this was the best Wilderness Camp. Spektacular setting in the sanddunes. Very remote and isolated setting. You feel "alone in the dessert".

Difficult access and especially exit road. You need 4x4 WD, low gear, diff. lock and traction control. Bring at least 10L water per person per day if you get stock. Stay by the car until someone pass by - could take a day or two!

Nevertheless, wonderful place if you like nature. Expect predators close up! Look where you go..."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

"Luxury in Kgalagadi; its the place"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2015
"If you want luxury in Kgalagadi, go for Ta Shebube Rooiputs. Perfect nice huts with everything you need. You can also get full board and all activities included in the (then expensive) rate.

If you are already experienced in travelling in Africa, you might not need all the activities, but can use your own car. Our tour guide was OK but notreally fantastic. We have tried better expert guides elsewhere. We learned nothing from the guide, we did not already know.

Note that there is no fence around the place. Predators get very close. Look where you walk all the time. We had lions in the camp - sleeping under hut no. 3. The lodge is very exposed on the top of a dune, especially if very windy. It could be a problem but it is also part of the excitement.

In conclusion, we have tried better luxury wilderness lodges elsewhere, e.g. Etendeka Mountain Camp in Namibia, but Ta Shebube Rooiputs is the best in Kgalagadi; and its a nice place to spend 2-3 days, e.g. in the end of a trip around Kgalagadi."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp

"Might be good in rain season"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2015
"We were there in the end of the dry season after a long period without rain. Also, it was 41 C and very very hot. Not ideal as a main activity is seeing the falls and walking on the paths. Two days was too long at this time of year.

However, the staff were very friendly. The cabins were nice and well maintained. The restaurant was fair (heavy "american style" meals), and there were 3 pools available for swimming. It could be a good place with young children for a few days.

The paths are nice and very well marked. Also, it was fine to drive around in the park."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Yellow Aloe Guesthouse

"Fantastic guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 1 Dec 2015
"We reach the most beautiful small guesthouse in Clanwilliam after 7 hours of driving. We get a very kind reception! We have not eaten much during the trip, but the host immediately provides 2 sandwiches even though the kitchen lady was off duty!

The guesthouse is a nice old villa, located in a very nice large garden. Like an oasis in the city. There is a little shop with organic products, especially based on rooibos. The garden is full of flowers and pots. There are two small pools. The main street in the small town is located just outside the gate.

I would very much like to spend a few days in this place another time and explore the sourondings. The mountains are right next door and offers great hiking."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

We will use Expert Africa again

Namibia between 17 Jul 2009 and 15 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were wery satisfied with the service from Gwynneth and expert africa and had a fantastic tour to Namibia. We will return to Africa again and if possible use Expert Africa again.

There were only to mistakes a) we did not get the 4wd car we asked for and b) we did not get a familyroom at Kulala Winderness Camp as indicated in our confirmation invoice due to a booking mistake. However, everything else went fine during a one month long trip staying many different places."

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Turnstone Tours - Sandwich harbour"

28 Jul 2009 • All-day excursion

Ernest was the perfect guide. He could take you anywere - and you would have a good experience. Was wery friendly to our children and first of all full of interesting information about the nature we passed. Driving through the high dunes were a highlight for our children - amazing where a land rover can go!! Walking around the saltwater lagoon was beatifull. Altogether a fantastic day, highly recommended!
Excellent
Image alt

Pension Steiner

"Pension Steiner"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2009
"Very central location, safe car park, nice little pool and garden.

Family room basic but clean and functional. Extraordinary good breakfast. Frendly service in reception."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2009
"Extraordinary friendly welcome, the strohbale room was even nicer than expected.

The afternoon nature drive was very nice, but the "cheetah drive" in the small enclosure only interesting for small children or if you have never seen cheetahs at close hand before. The resturant served nice dinners and there was a good atmosphere.

You should stay for 2 nights (one is to little)"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2009
"We were dissapointed with the family room at this place and glad we only booked one night. It was worn down and have definitely seen better days. E.g. the curtains were very dirty and fell down when you touched. The door to the toilet could not close ect..

At least the family rooms need a serious makeover! However, the staff in the reception were friendly and the restaurant fairly good. The pool could be nice at summertime, but freezing cold at winter."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Image alt

Klein Aus Vista Camping

"Klein Aus Vista - campsite"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2009
"We used this base to see desert horses (recommended), Luderitz (not much to see in our opinion), Kolmanskop (OK), and Luderitz peninsula (recommended).

However, the warking trails are fantastic and highly recommended. Use at least 2 days here - 3 days if you also visit Luderitz area. The staff were friendly and service minded and you can by meat and firewood for the brai. The campsite need a bit more maintainance but the ablution block was fine."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

"Namtib Desert Lodge, Little Hunters rest camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2009
"The campsite had a spetacular view overlooking the plains. There was good space between the pitches allowing for privacy, however they were quite exposed when windy.

The nature drive was full of interesting information about farming in Namibia - but only possible to participate if not occupied fully by logde guests. We went on a walking safari on our own and climbed the mountain behind the campsite, great expirience! You can bye meat for the brai but need to bring everything else!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Activities
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kulala Wilderness Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2009
"Excellent tents, spetacular isolated location, good restaurant and very friendly service. Only negative thing: the morningdrives to Sesriem canyon and Sossusvlei were overpriced at approx. 1100 N$ per person even for a high end place as this. However, If you have a car, you can easily go on your own.

Also, ballooning approx. 4000 N$ per person, absourd price in our opinion!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2009
"Highly recommended, a fantastic guesthouse to stay in! Very friendly welcome by Sam and his staff.

The rooms were nice. Wine tasting for amateurs like us was a pleasent expirience. Good food and the most compleete breakfast during our month in Namibia.

We also tried the Turnstone tour to Sandwich Harbour with Ernest. Because of his excellent guiding a great expirience.

Ernest was the perfect guide. He could take you anywere - and you would have a good experience. Was wery friendly to our children and first of all full of interesting information about the nature we passed. Driving through the high dunes were a highlight for our children - amazing where a land rover can go!! Walking around the saltwater lagoon was beatifull. Altogether a fantastic day, highly recommended!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Aba Huab Camping

"Aba Huab Community Campsite"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2009
"This place have seen better much days! It is worn down, especially the pitches, toilets and showers. Was perhaps the biggest dissapointment during our one month in Namibia.

Also, an overland truck was allowed to stay outsite the group area, despite place, disturbing everybody else. Its worn compleetly down and the facilities need renovations to function again. Cannot be recommended, find another place nearby. Only possitive comment: the staff vere friendly."
Poor
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location
Good
Facilities
Terrible
Service
Average
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2009
"Absolutely fantastic expirience - one of the highlights on our one month trip in Namibia!

Dennis, his vife, and the guides were the perfect hosts. Talking around the fire, watching the stars, and enjoying the meals in this remote location in Namibia was a lifetime expirience. The walks and drives in Etendeka highly interesting, also for our children at 8 + 9 years.

The tents vere good - you felt like sleaping on another planet. Exciting and a bit scarry to hear the animals just outside during night!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Halali Camping

"Halali Restcamp - camping"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2009
"We stayed at the campsite. Its extreemely dusty during vinter but the location in the middle of Etosia is perfect. We saw 4 black rhinos at the nice waterhole. The swimming pool vere perfect for our children during mid day and not to cold even though winter in Namibia.

The restaurent OK but nothing special, and in the shop you can bye the most basic food and other stuff for camping. The pitches are quite close to one another."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Image alt

Onguma Bush Camp camping

"Onguma Bush Camp - Campsite"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2009
"With regard to facilities and mantainance the best campsite we stayed in during one month in Namibia. Private bathroom to each campsite. In addition, we used the nice facilities including pool and restaurent in the Bush camp (within walking distance).

This restaurant was extraordinary good, especially the service! Good base to see eastern Etosia. Recomended campsite. Rooms = campsite in rating."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Nhoma Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2009
"This was without any doubt the highlight of our one month trip to Namibia. To walk with the bushmen 4-5 hours a day and see the village during the afternoon and nights is an experience we will remember for the rest of our life. We hope to return. We were glad we stayed for no less than 3 nights.

Our children at 8-9 years often talk about how they made fire with stiks, made arrows, caught birds in traps, tried different berries, played with the children in the village, saw a snake, and saw bushmen shooting at a Kudu. Still, we could relaxe in our nice luxury camp next to the village and have a glass of wine before bedtime!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2009
"We enjoyed exploring the caves at the farm together with our children (8+9 years) with only torches spending 1,5 hour in the dark passages!

The guide was very friendly and took good care of the children (and parents). Highly recommended for adventures families. There were good walking trails on the farm and a beatifull large garden (park). We got the best South African red wine in Namibia in the nice little restaurent "Rust en Vrede" (rest in peace) - try it.

The waiters were attentive and the manager asked to our well being all the time - hope they get a good salary. The family room was spacious and nice, the pool was perfect (but cold). Spend no less than 2 days here, highly recomended."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Waterberg Camp camping

"Waterberg Plateau Resort - bungalow"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2009
"We upgraded from campsite to 2 bedroom bungalow. We were a bit dissapointed about Waterberg Plateau Resort. It seemed like it had seen better days.

The pool was "out of order" and and was not possibe to get info on why and for how long time. The shop was nearly empty - a problem for those planning to make their own meals - bring everything. The afternoon game drive was pricy - and we did not really see any game during the 4 hours drive incl. stoping at 3 waterholes.

The bungalow was OK - but most vere empty even though we were there during high season? Curtains should according to a notice in the room be closed at all time because of the baboons! The walking trails were good, especially the view from the top af the plateau. The buffet i the restaurent was also good. Alltogether not good value for the money. Needs a makeover so the price matches the place. Go for the campsite - looked like best value..."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team