This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr L & Family from Denmark

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

39

Excursions taken

2

Third time with Expert Africa, still happy

Namibia and 2 other countries between 27 Jul 2019 and 25 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Except for the very bad experience with Bidvest Car Hire (hired through Expert Africa), once again, we had very good experiences using Expert Africa for assisting with planning and booking the trip. We got highly qualified, fast and efficient help from Tracy Lederer from Expert Africa putting together a good trip to this part of Africa, where we have traveled may times, although were were late out booking.

We look forward to use Expert Africa again (our travel agent for the Southern parts of Africa)."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Galton House

Galton House

"Perfect place for 1st night in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2019
"We arrived tired at Galton House after a 30 hours journey and arguing about the car in the airport. So much the more, we appreciated the warm welcome in Galton House. We got rooms 8 and 9 which had a convenient connecting door for families. Everything was beautiful and tastefully decorated in high quality materials. Spotless clean. Despite our late arrival, we got a lovely tasty 4 course dinner on the spot with good South African wine. The day after, a nice breakfast. We also noticed a nice pool area. All in all a great place we would happily visit again. Only minus was a very slow internet (if you need net, perhaps a star less)"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Nice place, but update needed"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"We stayed at "Sam´s Giardino" for one night. Sam´s Giardine is a comfortable old guesthouse in the outskirts of Swakop. We also stayed here 10 years ago and nothing has really changed over the years. This is both good and bad. The good thing is the owner, who is a very kind and talkative person full of interesting stories. We appreciated his kind welcome and company. Perhaps on the bad side, in order to go for 10 more years with visitors, the place needs an update. Nevertheless, its a nice place to stay."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze Lodge

"Extraordinary place"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2019
"What an extraordinary lodge just outside Swakopmund. We stayed in “the villa”, a large house with three large bedrooms. Perfect for family or friends. Great views of the Swakop River. Also, 3 toilets and 2 bathrooms. Nice minibar with reasonable prices, fireplace and great sourroundings. Friendly staff at reception. Nice breakfast. Beautiful view to Swakop River."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Drifting around with seals"

31 Jul 2019 • Morning excursion

On this tour, you are drifting around with seals in a kayak just off the beach.You can stay on low water if you wish. It is very easy and requires no prerequisites unless you are extremely clumsy. One does not sail much, but mainly drift around among the seals near the shore. We could easily bring our own camera, the tourist kayak was very stable. Bring very warm clothing, sun hat and sunscreen. You are pushed dry-shoed out into the water. Exciting drive to the starting point. Especially good if you like animals. The only bad thing was that was were not booked with Jeanne Meintjies, as indicated in our itinerary. When we called her the day before to confirm our trip it took a while to find out, we were booked with another firm "Pelican Point Cayaking".
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Location, location, location"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2019
"When we finally reached Terrace Bay Restcamp it was like arriving at another planet. Everything seemed abandoned. The main reception was closed and we couldn't find any people or staff. At least, there were signs of civilization. As we were driving around for a while in this dark and deserted lunar base, we saw light in the distance. We found a way to the light. It turned out to be the restaurant (basic cafeteria), where we were greeted by friendly staff. No one had missed us. We got our huge Beach Chatlet with five bedrooms, three bathrooms, large living room and kitchen. Completely surreal. Everything was simple but functional and clean. You sense it was originally built for the mine staff until the government took over in the 1970s. We slept exceptionally well that night. The roaring sea and the wind did not keep us awake.

This is a excellent place because of the extraordinary location and the friendly staff, not because of the facilities (then you will be dissapointed)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Average to good, but only option."

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2019
"Actually, we like this oasis in the desert, that we have visited three times by now (2009, 2012 and 2019). Nice little pools (two), OK restaurant, tyre repairs, and fine tents by the riverbed. Also, an elefant visiting. On the bad side, very large groups (overland) trucks are also present. They easily dominate the restaurant as in our case the had a table with approx. 20 chairs in the middle of the room. The service in the restaurant was not of very high standard compared to the price tag for this place. The location is fantastic and you don´t really have other options. Slow internet, but works."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

"Etendeka Walking Trail review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2019
"The highlight of one month trip! "Trek through one of Namibia’s most remote and untouched landscapes on foot, have sundowners as you look out over never ending vistas of ancient rock formations and sleep under a blanket of stars. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to connect with nature".

We were picked up at Palmwag Lodge at 4 p.m. We were very excited and perhaps also a bit nervous. We were going to trek through one of Namibia’s most remote and untouched landscapes on foot. We drove about 20 minutes to the starting point. We where about to hike approx. 25 kilometers into the Etendeka Mountains. The open Land Rover drove off the small trail onto a small dry riverbed where we set out. We were our family of four people and a very friendly family, likewise of four people, from Switzerland. Our guide Boas briefed us on the trip.

First, a short 3-4 kilometer hike along the dry riverbed to River Camp. The next day, an approx. 14 km long walk up to Mountain Camp, near the top of Crystal Mountain. All through the deserted Etendeka plains and mountains. This is an area with "cats" (we were prepared link), hyenas and black rhinos. Usually the animals are very shy. As Boas said:
"the biggest risk is to sprain the ankle". We believed him.

After a lovely walk along the dry river bed and over a small hill, we reached Rivercamp, which lies on the banks of another dry river bed. In this camp, there are five sleeping platforms where you can sleep relatively safe under the open sky. The two platforms lie a little by themselves on one side of the common area, while the other three lie on the other side. There is no big difference no matter which platform you get. On each platform we found two camp beds with bedrols. The bedrols consisted of a waterproof bivouac coatings (which should prove to be very useful). Then duvet, pillow and a bed sheet. Everything was fine and clean and was ready for use when we arrived.

Our large luggage had been driven to the camp in advance. Pure luxury. In a bag at the end of the field bed, we found a thick blanket, and on a small table, there was a flashlight. Nearby a flush toilet (!) and a nice bucket shower. The bucket shower was a bucket upside down with a shower head. Surprisingly for us, there was also solar heated hot water that could be poured into the bucket. Everything was tastefully built of rusty steel and gabions (steel mesh with stone in it), so it fell nicely into nature.

At sunset, our guide and his two helpers had lit bonfires and prepared our dinner. Chicken pot and fried vegetables made on the bonfire. How nice to sit by the fire and enjoy G&T while darkness creeps in and you can hear the crackle of the bonfire and the sounds of the night.At night, my son and I were on the same platform talking about the moon and the stars. My son saw two shooting stars and a satellite pass across the sky. What a completely enchanting evening and night. It reminds me of a specific night at me and my son's trip to the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.

The next day, we went the long beautiful hike through the Etendeka Mountains to the top of Crystal Mountain. The adventure just continued ..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

"The only place in Opuwo, and fine"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"We stayed at Opuwo Country Lodge, which also seemed affected by the harsh and dry conditions in Namibia at the moment. Dust everywhere, but clean rooms. The road up to the lodge hilltop looked like something that was a lie. It was in a very bad condition surrounded by dead trees and shrubs. It was strange afterwards to relax on the edge of the fine infinity pool in this "troubled" city. Nice restaurant given the location but medium quality food not matching the price tag."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

"Such a nice place"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"We stayed at the nice Epupa Camp approx. 700 meters above the waterfalls. This place is highly recommended. The staff were very kind. The lodge had a spectacular location next to Kunene River, and there was a nice little pool. Dinner and breakfast were perfect. We tried to stay in both the safari tents and in the cottage, both worked fine. OK internet and charging station by the reception. Cars were washed on parking place (convenient given all the dust). Family friendly river rafting (not very difficult at all)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kunene River Lodge

"Perfect sundowner cruise Kunene River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"Wonderfull relaxation next to Kunene River, where we had the most spectacular sundowner cruise, which we can highly recommend. Nice dinner platform next to river with staff singing after dinner! Also, nice campsite with clean ablution block / restrooms and very spacious rooms (we stayed both places). Very slow internet. We loved this place. The river rafting was interesting but be very careful with last rapid and consider going around - there is a long way to the hospital! Search Tripadvisor forum for "Kunene River Lodge river rafting" for details about the rafting."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Toko Lodge

"Basic but fine and friendly"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2019
"This was a basic safari lodge but with clean spacious rooms and very kind staff. Perfect for a short stop. Nice pool and dinner on the terrace. The internet was very unstable and slow. Game drives were not available when we where there, but a village visit was possible."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge was expensive but lovely"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2019
"Before entering Etosha through the Andersson Gate, we stayed at Ongava Lodge in Ongava Game Reserve. It is a lovely luxury lodge, located on a small cliff top overlooking the bush. The thatched cottages have unobstructed views of the game reserve and a local water hole. From our cabin we could see the animals coming and going from the watering hole. Just when we arrived there was a large giraffe, shortly after an elephant.

It is crazy to be able to watch the animals directly from our own private terrace - or the outdoor shower. There is no fence around the lodge and at night an armed guard follows one back to the cabin from to the living area / restaurant.

Ongava Lodge was an expensive and lovely place, though not a very personal lodge. The food and service did not quite live up to the high price. But with a location just outside Etosha's gate, that's probably the price you have to pay. We had a good time at this lodge"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Onguma The Fort, 24 hours paradise"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2019
"When we arrive at the Moroccan fort, the servants are ready with heated white cotton cloths so we can wipe the dust off our faces and hands. As we enter through the gate, our arrival is announced on a large gong gong with two strokes.

Everything is tastefully decorated with several water elements and walkways passing water. Everywhere delicious materials are used and everything is tastefully decorated.

We are welcomed with ice tea in the restaurant. From here there is a direct view of the pool. And to the watering hole where animals come and go.

We are informed when the dinner will be served, after which we will be driven to our room. It is an unfenced lodge, ie. all animals have free access to the area. It is therefore too dangerous to travel outside alone, especially at night.

As we arrive at our room it turns out to be a small mini fort! Impressive Moroccan wooden doors with beautiful carvings everywhere and very high ceilings!

The bathroom is almost a tower room. Outside our own large secluded wooden terrace with lovely sun loungers. We have free views of the bush (room 6). To the right we can see the water hole. Everything is completely secluded including an extra outdoor shower.

Our waiter points out that there is sherry ready on the glass carafe! In addition, there are other carafe and wines from all over the world. Everything is included in the price, which I dare not think about at all.

We enjoy the afternoon completely secluded on the terrace. In the evening, it's the 1001 night adventure on the fort. We sit at a beautifully decked table with a free view of the waterhole. We have our own personal servant all evening. There is "Rust en Vrede" (rest and peace) on the wine list. Our personal favorite from South Africa.

We sleep like a rock all night after a day of wonderland. Here we would like to stay more than one night, but it probably requires an agreement with the bank ...

(We did not do any activities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Excellent high service"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2019
"Our children stayed in Onguma Bush Camp. They said it was the best service so far on this trip. We also know the place from previous trips."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"Good place near Popa Falls"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2019
"This was a nice and kind place to stay near Popa Falls (that are not really interesting at all - just rapids - especially not after seeing Epupa Falls). The safari tents were a bit old and the interior an could need an update, but the staff were kind. Especially dinner and breakfast had a high quality and the staff sang after dinner (gave a little performance). That was a positive surprise."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Wonderfull place off-grid at Okavango"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2019
"Wonderful place on a small island in Okavango Delta (short boat trip from end of track). We loved the private guide and fishing trips on the river. We loved the spacious room and the perfect dinners. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. There was no internet - but that just added to the peaceful feeling at this place. Would love to return (and will)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

"Another highlight!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2019
"After Etendeka Overnight Walking Trail, this was perhaps the second best experience. Fantastic location build on stilts in the national park. Extraordinary big safari tent with bathtub and living room (+ Cognac i a carafe in the room). Fantastic river cruise and perhaps the best game drive on the whole trip (one month) in the afternoon. We saw big herds of elephants and buffaloes. The park is very sandy, don´t take own car unless very experienced with 4WD (and low tyre pressure)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serondela Lodge

Serondela Lodge

"Nice lodge in "safari Ibitza""

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2019
"This was a nice lodge with kind staff. Unfortunately, we started the trip one family together with a very loud south European "family group" that totally dominated the boat trip (game watching). For every animal (including cows) the shouted "bambino bambino" and jumped around in the bout (despite the captains orders) and took photos. They did not care, that we were in the boat as well trying to enjoy the nature and peaceful scenery. That was a terrible start on this visit to Serondela. At arrival, the manager promised we would not have more excursions together with the large group, but his staff tried to send us on the same boat back after our visit.

Speaking about peaceful, Chobe National Park is "safari Ibiza", boats everywhere crusing on the river, including several "floating hotels". When you see an interesting animal on the shore, it´s accompanied by 3-4 safari cars. We did not really like this part of the place and have perhaps been to many other good places to appreciate the easy access to animals at Chobe.

We had a nice excursion the a nearby village, not tribal, thus perhaps even more interesting after seeing many himba and bushman villages earlier on."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Nice place "to end journey""

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2019
"Really nice large place to end journey with many activities nearby including free access to VIC Falls. On the bad side, helicopters and flights in the air all day - be warned. Perfect rooms, large pool area and good pool bar. The buffet was not up to the standard and price tag, perhaps just go for the fine bar menu. The staff were extraordinarily friendly. We would be happy to visit again in end of a trip. Super internet."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

Perfect trip to Kgalagadi in Kalahari

South Africa between 21 Nov 2015 and 4 Dec 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This is the second time we use Expert Africa for bookings etc. As last time, everything went perfect.

We got qualifyed and kind help from the staff. At arrival in Africa, everything went according to plans. You can get full help from Expert Africa. However, as experienced in travelling in Africa, we prepared the route on our own. Afterwards, we got good input from Expert Africa and make changes accordingly. This worked fine.

We will use Expert Africa again in the future."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Good starting point for Kgalagadi"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2015
"Nice cottage, well maintained. Kind reception at arrival to Twee Rivieren. Polite staff.

You can buy quite a lot of basic groceries in the shop including meat.

OK restaurant and fine little pool. Good place to start the trip."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Wonderfull wilderness Camp with a view"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2015
"Perfect setting on Aoub riverbed. Well maintained, kind caretaker.

Super view to the riverbed from terrasse. See animals come and go.

The "tents" (huts) seems quite safe. All kitchen equipment present - only bring food and drinks (og buy at Mata Mata 3 km away).

You can easily use 3 days here enjoying the view, reading a good book ect."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Good
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

"Extraordinary place close to waterhole"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2015
"Truely an extraordinary Wilderness Camp. Perfect setting close to waterhole.

Animals very close... Not a problem if you behave wisely. Look before you leave the ground. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the wildlife.

Fair kitchen, room and bathroom. Everything you need, no more. Use 2-3 days here.

We only spent one day and moved on to Gharagab."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp

"Perhaps the best Wilderness Camp - remote"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2015
"Maybe this was the best Wilderness Camp. Spektacular setting in the sanddunes. Very remote and isolated setting. You feel "alone in the dessert".

Difficult access and especially exit road. You need 4x4 WD, low gear, diff. lock and traction control. Bring at least 10L water per person per day if you get stock. Stay by the car until someone pass by - could take a day or two!

Nevertheless, wonderful place if you like nature. Expect predators close up! Look where you go..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

"Luxury in Kgalagadi; its the place"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2015
"If you want luxury in Kgalagadi, go for Ta Shebube Rooiputs. Perfect nice huts with everything you need. You can also get full board and all activities included in the (then expensive) rate.

If you are already experienced in travelling in Africa, you might not need all the activities, but can use your own car. Our tour guide was OK but notreally fantastic. We have tried better expert guides elsewhere. We learned nothing from the guide, we did not already know.

Note that there is no fence around the place. Predators get very close. Look where you walk all the time. We had lions in the camp - sleeping under hut no. 3. The lodge is very exposed on the top of a dune, especially if very windy. It could be a problem but it is also part of the excitement.

In conclusion, we have tried better luxury wilderness lodges elsewhere, e.g. Etendeka Mountain Camp in Namibia, but Ta Shebube Rooiputs is the best in Kgalagadi; and its a nice place to spend 2-3 days, e.g. in the end of a trip around Kgalagadi."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp

"Might be good in rain season"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2015
"We were there in the end of the dry season after a long period without rain. Also, it was 41 C and very very hot. Not ideal as a main activity is seeing the falls and walking on the paths. Two days was too long at this time of year.

However, the staff were very friendly. The cabins were nice and well maintained. The restaurant was fair (heavy "american style" meals), and there were 3 pools available for swimming. It could be a good place with young children for a few days.

The paths are nice and very well marked. Also, it was fine to drive around in the park."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Yellow Aloe Guesthouse

"Fantastic guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 1 Dec 2015
"We reach the most beautiful small guesthouse in Clanwilliam after 7 hours of driving. We get a very kind reception! We have not eaten much during the trip, but the host immediately provides 2 sandwiches even though the kitchen lady was off duty!

The guesthouse is a nice old villa, located in a very nice large garden. Like an oasis in the city. There is a little shop with organic products, especially based on rooibos. The garden is full of flowers and pots. There are two small pools. The main street in the small town is located just outside the gate.

I would very much like to spend a few days in this place another time and explore the sourondings. The mountains are right next door and offers great hiking."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

We will use Expert Africa again

Namibia between 17 Jul 2009 and 15 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were wery satisfied with the service from Gwynneth and expert africa and had a fantastic tour to Namibia. We will return to Africa again and if possible use Expert Africa again.

There were only to mistakes a) we did not get the 4wd car we asked for and b) we did not get a familyroom at Kulala Winderness Camp as indicated in our confirmation invoice due to a booking mistake. However, everything else went fine during a one month long trip staying many different places."

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Turnstone Tours - Sandwich harbour"

28 Jul 2009 • All-day excursion

Ernest was the perfect guide. He could take you anywere - and you would have a good experience. Was wery friendly to our children and first of all full of interesting information about the nature we passed. Driving through the high dunes were a highlight for our children - amazing where a land rover can go!! Walking around the saltwater lagoon was beatifull. Altogether a fantastic day, highly recommended!
Excellent
Image alt

Pension Steiner

"Pension Steiner"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2009
"Very central location, safe car park, nice little pool and garden.

Family room basic but clean and functional. Extraordinary good breakfast. Frendly service in reception."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2009
"Extraordinary friendly welcome, the strohbale room was even nicer than expected.

The afternoon nature drive was very nice, but the "cheetah drive" in the small enclosure only interesting for small children or if you have never seen cheetahs at close hand before. The resturant served nice dinners and there was a good atmosphere.

You should stay for 2 nights (one is to little)"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2009
"We were dissapointed with the family room at this place and glad we only booked one night. It was worn down and have definitely seen better days. E.g. the curtains were very dirty and fell down when you touched. The door to the toilet could not close ect..

At least the family rooms need a serious makeover! However, the staff in the reception were friendly and the restaurant fairly good. The pool could be nice at summertime, but freezing cold at winter."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Image alt

Klein Aus Vista Camping

"Klein Aus Vista - campsite"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2009
"We used this base to see desert horses (recommended), Luderitz (not much to see in our opinion), Kolmanskop (OK), and Luderitz peninsula (recommended).

However, the warking trails are fantastic and highly recommended. Use at least 2 days here - 3 days if you also visit Luderitz area. The staff were friendly and service minded and you can by meat and firewood for the brai. The campsite need a bit more maintainance but the ablution block was fine."
Good
Location
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

"Namtib Desert Lodge, Little Hunters rest camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2009
"The campsite had a spetacular view overlooking the plains. There was good space between the pitches allowing for privacy, however they were quite exposed when windy.

The nature drive was full of interesting information about farming in Namibia - but only possible to participate if not occupied fully by logde guests. We went on a walking safari on our own and climbed the mountain behind the campsite, great expirience! You can bye meat for the brai but need to bring everything else!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Activities
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kulala Wilderness Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2009
"Excellent tents, spetacular isolated location, good restaurant and very friendly service. Only negative thing: the morningdrives to Sesriem canyon and Sossusvlei were overpriced at approx. 1100 N$ per person even for a high end place as this. However, If you have a car, you can easily go on your own.

Also, ballooning approx. 4000 N$ per person, absourd price in our opinion!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2009
"Highly recommended, a fantastic guesthouse to stay in! Very friendly welcome by Sam and his staff.

The rooms were nice. Wine tasting for amateurs like us was a pleasent expirience. Good food and the most compleete breakfast during our month in Namibia.

We also tried the Turnstone tour to Sandwich Harbour with Ernest. Because of his excellent guiding a great expirience.

Ernest was the perfect guide. He could take you anywere - and you would have a good experience. Was wery friendly to our children and first of all full of interesting information about the nature we passed. Driving through the high dunes were a highlight for our children - amazing where a land rover can go!! Walking around the saltwater lagoon was beatifull. Altogether a fantastic day, highly recommended!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Aba Huab Camping

"Aba Huab Community Campsite"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2009
"This place have seen better much days! It is worn down, especially the pitches, toilets and showers. Was perhaps the biggest dissapointment during our one month in Namibia.

Also, an overland truck was allowed to stay outsite the group area, despite place, disturbing everybody else. Its worn compleetly down and the facilities need renovations to function again. Cannot be recommended, find another place nearby. Only possitive comment: the staff vere friendly."
Poor
Location
Good
Facilities
Terrible
Service
Average
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2009
"Absolutely fantastic expirience - one of the highlights on our one month trip in Namibia!

Dennis, his vife, and the guides were the perfect hosts. Talking around the fire, watching the stars, and enjoying the meals in this remote location in Namibia was a lifetime expirience. The walks and drives in Etendeka highly interesting, also for our children at 8 + 9 years.

The tents vere good - you felt like sleaping on another planet. Exciting and a bit scarry to hear the animals just outside during night!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Halali Camping

"Halali Restcamp - camping"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2009
"We stayed at the campsite. Its extreemely dusty during vinter but the location in the middle of Etosia is perfect. We saw 4 black rhinos at the nice waterhole. The swimming pool vere perfect for our children during mid day and not to cold even though winter in Namibia.

The restaurent OK but nothing special, and in the shop you can bye the most basic food and other stuff for camping. The pitches are quite close to one another."
Good
Location
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Image alt

Onguma Bush Camp camping

"Onguma Bush Camp - Campsite"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2009
"With regard to facilities and mantainance the best campsite we stayed in during one month in Namibia. Private bathroom to each campsite. In addition, we used the nice facilities including pool and restaurent in the Bush camp (within walking distance).

This restaurant was extraordinary good, especially the service! Good base to see eastern Etosia. Recomended campsite. Rooms = campsite in rating."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Nhoma Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2009
"This was without any doubt the highlight of our one month trip to Namibia. To walk with the bushmen 4-5 hours a day and see the village during the afternoon and nights is an experience we will remember for the rest of our life. We hope to return. We were glad we stayed for no less than 3 nights.

Our children at 8-9 years often talk about how they made fire with stiks, made arrows, caught birds in traps, tried different berries, played with the children in the village, saw a snake, and saw bushmen shooting at a Kudu. Still, we could relaxe in our nice luxury camp next to the village and have a glass of wine before bedtime!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2009
"We enjoyed exploring the caves at the farm together with our children (8+9 years) with only torches spending 1,5 hour in the dark passages!

The guide was very friendly and took good care of the children (and parents). Highly recommended for adventures families. There were good walking trails on the farm and a beatifull large garden (park). We got the best South African red wine in Namibia in the nice little restaurent "Rust en Vrede" (rest in peace) - try it.

The waiters were attentive and the manager asked to our well being all the time - hope they get a good salary. The family room was spacious and nice, the pool was perfect (but cold). Spend no less than 2 days here, highly recomended."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Waterberg Camp camping

"Waterberg Plateau Resort - bungalow"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2009
"We upgraded from campsite to 2 bedroom bungalow. We were a bit dissapointed about Waterberg Plateau Resort. It seemed like it had seen better days.

The pool was "out of order" and and was not possibe to get info on why and for how long time. The shop was nearly empty - a problem for those planning to make their own meals - bring everything. The afternoon game drive was pricy - and we did not really see any game during the 4 hours drive incl. stoping at 3 waterholes.

The bungalow was OK - but most vere empty even though we were there during high season? Curtains should according to a notice in the room be closed at all time because of the baboons! The walking trails were good, especially the view from the top af the plateau. The buffet i the restaurent was also good. Alltogether not good value for the money. Needs a makeover so the price matches the place. Go for the campsite - looked like best value..."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team