This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Augrabies Falls Restcamp
Augrabies Falls Restcamp
Augrabies Falls Restcamp
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp


28°35’35.8"S 20°20’14.7"E

Reviews of Augrabies Restcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

16 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Augrabies Restcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 16
Duration
Arrival date
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Wonderful waterfalls and rocks at Augrabies"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Comfortable rooms within a couple of minutes walk from the spectacular waterfall - even in the drought!

There are other great views from viewpoints in the park and an excellent walk to the top of a granite outcrop and back - excellent signage and good paths.

Food and service in the large restaurant were also excellent" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VanZylrus
UK

"Augrabies rest camp"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Surprisingly well appointed riverside chalets by San Parks chalets compared to other dilapidated accommodations you can get in Kruger with SANPARKS" See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"Keep the door shut to keep out the monkeys"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2017
"I really was looking forward to that nougat I left on the table in our Unit 52 but the monkey got it. the unit was described as a luxury one with a view towards the gorge and the distant mountains. Facilities were perfectly adequate and the beds were comfortable. Monkeys and baboons, though, seem to be regular visitors and they can be a bit of a nuisance.

The gorge and falls are awe inspiring though June is not a time during which the falls are ever in full flow. The restaurant is OK but if you wish to self cater I suggest you get your food before you arrive in the park because the shop is not impressive.

There are some great walks and the short one to Arrow Point brings you to a vertigo inducing point just before two gorges converge. The drives in the park take you to some remarkable viewpoints and on the way you may meet the odd giraffe, eland and numberless dassies." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Rainbows at Augrabies"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2016
"We wished we had two nights here as we did not realise there was so much to see.

The staff were happy, friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable. The first time we have ever seen a giraffe sitting down in the park - it was gone when we returned that way later so must have been OK.

A gem of a place!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
R & J
Edinburgh

"Augrabies Falls Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2016
"Fabulous chalet looking across to the gorge. Amazing views from the various lookout points.

Cute dassies and colourful lizards everywhere, and a huge array of birds. Great to be able to wander around freely, and we went on a long walk as well as a lot of excellent self driving. We did one of the organised night drives but did not see much of note.

We had three nights and could easily have stayed longer. Very good restaurant." See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Might be good in rain season"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2015
"We were there in the end of the dry season after a long period without rain. Also, it was 41 C and very very hot. Not ideal as a main activity is seeing the falls and walking on the paths. Two days was too long at this time of year.

However, the staff were very friendly. The cabins were nice and well maintained. The restaurant was fair (heavy "american style" meals), and there were 3 pools available for swimming. It could be a good place with young children for a few days.

The paths are nice and very well marked. Also, it was fine to drive around in the park." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"Comfortable new lodges at Augrabies"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"A very civilised camp. Coach parties are welcome. The restaurant and shop are excellent and the accommodation comfortable.

Walk to the falls which are floodlit at night along walkways that could be wheelchair friendly at a push. The landscape around the camp has been tamed but get away from here and from the trippers along the dirt road to Moon Rock and beyond is a journey through a moonscape to the gorge of the Orange River for stunning views. That's the best bit." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs LC
SW London

"Augrabies Falls Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2014
"Amazing place. We would definitely recommend it. Stunning scenery, excellent walks.

I did not think I would be that impressed with the waterfall as I have been to Victoria Falls many times as well as Iguazu Falls, but the rocks and endless sky make a wonderful vision.

Well signed trails and excellent walkway facilities to the falls including disabled access.

Watch out for the monkeys!! Just make sure your chalet windows are locked." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Awesome Augrabies"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2014
"Great location right by the falls. Well appointed self contained chalets. Good shower and comfortable beds. Only downside is that air con is very noisy. The staff were all very helpful and the food in the restaurant is good value and tasty.

We did the ebony walk which took us way longer than the suggested 2.5 hours. Also did the dassie trail which I would recommend when the weather is dry to anyone with a reasonable level of fitness. The scenery is just stunning.

We also did some self guided game drives to the various viewpoints. We saw springbok, gemsbok, giraffe, yellow mongoose, ground squirrel, daisies, vervet monkeys, black spitting cobra.

We also did a guided night drive and saw cape hare, steenbok and gemsbok.

Overall really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Glasgow

"Good experience at Augrabies"

2 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2013
"a big camp visited on a hot south african holiday weekend. The situation is superb more that we expected and the camp has a good shop and a very good independent restaurant" See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 16
85%
16 reviews of Augrabies Restcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
7
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Augrabies Falls National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence has a pleasant feel and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Upington.


94% (22 reviews)
The Falls Guest House

The Falls Guest House

The family run Falls Guest House offers a tranquil haven on the doorstep of Augrabies Falls NP.


93% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa