This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs LC from SW London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2014 trip

South Africa between 14 Aug 2014 and 17 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thought it was very good value for money.
Staff at airports, hotels, restaurant, everywhere were excellent. Very friendly, very helpful.
Food quality exceeded our expectations.
Good variety of foods available.
Very varied landscape and activities with the choices we made, so no time to get bored.
Packing not so easy with temps from 34degC to 2degC
Very pleased we took our GPS, less stressful, no music in the car is the biggest negative. Radio stations are boring or not in English.
Main reason to travel at this time of year was to see Namaqualand in flower, it was spectacular.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No. In my case I knew what I wanted so Tracy made it work."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Own Arrangements

"Mpumalanga region"

10 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2014
"This is the region adjacent to Kruger National Park. Prices are lower and better value for money where we stayed at Sudwala Lodge, self cataering but with a restaurant, It is only 1 hour drive's to Kruger National Park.

Sudwala Caves are beautiful and suitable for all ages and adventurers.

Blyde River Canyon, the world's 3rd largest canyon, is situation here, its the beginning of the Drakensburg escarpement. with many activities available, mountain biking, hiking, horse trails etc .

Highest temperature was 34degC and its winter.

Some of the best crafts I found in this area.

Spent a morning at Elephant Whispers learning about elephants and having a ride, what a fab experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp

"Augrabies Falls Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2014
"Amazing place. We would definitely recommend it. Stunning scenery, excellent walks.

I did not think I would be that impressed with the waterfall as I have been to Victoria Falls many times as well as Iguazu Falls, but the rocks and endless sky make a wonderful vision.

Well signed trails and excellent walkway facilities to the falls including disabled access.

Watch out for the monkeys!! Just make sure your chalet windows are locked."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View Guest House

"Mountain View Guest House review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2014
"They provided good local information such as restaurants, tourist office.

It was quiet peaceful and comfortable.

We found Springbok very cold and damp, there had been heavy rain, and we were unprepared for such low temps."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

"Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2014
"We were late arriving and had to phone to inform them. Unfortunately our phone did not work in Clanwillian, and I think this is quite common, as the lady working at the Shell garage phoned them for us, and didn't seem surprised by our request. Excellent welcome despite the very late arrival. Our late arrival was mostly due to road works. Not sure what we could have done to anticipate this.....

3 night is the minimum, I wish we had stayed 4.

A most amazing place. There is nothing that I would change, except the extra night!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

"Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2014
"What a peaceful place. Lovely beach to walk or run on.

Meals in the hotel were excellent.

Loved the sitting hammock, the private garden but too cold to try the outside shower."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"Location was excellent for access to the Botanical garden. Bus service was provided to get to the Waterfront. Lovely gardens.

We were facing the courtyard and the toads/frogs were very noisy, we had to open the window for ventilation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Own arrangements

"KwaZulu-Natal South"

7 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"We stayed with friends so no hotels etc

It was too cold to swim in the sea. Some concern with security on unoccupied beaches....we were slightly uncomfortable. Those with restaurants and people felt safe."
Good
Location
Good
Food
Good
Service
Excellent

Jambo

Tanzania and 1 other country between 22 Dec 2007 and 8 Jan 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Magical. We would go back to three of the four resorts - not bad.

We did know that the third resort had not been visited by your staff at the time of booking."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2007
"Accommodation was fabulous, particularly loved having coffee at dawn watching the bush before a game drive.
I found the food excellent, Mark said it was good - he doesn't like mixed foods or self service (for lunch).
We wanted for nothing. Best Christmas I have had as an adult (despite having a virus (from England).
Didn't get time to use the swimming pool.
Thought all the staff were brilliant. Everyone so friendly. Very easy to relax.
Excellent knowledge of local animals, plants, birds etc etc.
Chalets were exceptional, attention to detail amazing.
Animals in abundance, spolit for choice.
I'm speachless, actually!! Can't think of anything negative."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Pole Pole review"

7 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2007
"Top for food - liked that the staff told us the menu and we sat back relaxing. Loved the Zwahili night.
Resort an excellent design with shade and breeze.
Very relaxing including massages which were exellent.
Very romantic and private.
New Year on the beach was magical.
All staff so friendly and helpful.
Excusions easily organised.
Suggest they get themselves Pole Pole postcards - had to go to the another resort.
Thought the menus, welcome notes etc, lovely. The little things are so important to make it special.
Scuba diving available, good sites."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

"Unguja Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2008
"This was not our style, but very suitable for families.
Owners were brilliant and helpful organising great tours for us to the Jozani forest and a spice farm.
Food was average and no flexibility eg we asked for a cheese sandwich for later lunch after a return from a tour and the chef said it was too difficult, otherwise all staff were very helpful and friendly.
We found it more humid that the other resorts - don't know why.
Loved the splash pools in the chalets and also thought the art was fabulous.
Didn't use the swimming pool, and did not go diving.
Found the openess of the chalets a bit disconcerting.
Didn't like all the grey concrete on the floor - would suggest staining and polishing.
Noisy Russians annoying"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Serena Inn

Serena Inn

"Serena Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2008
"Beautiful room. Loved the hammock on the verandah.
For Mark it was the airconditioning that brought a smile to his face!!
Thought the restaurant menu abit boring especially as the other restaurant was seafood only. Cafe menu excellent and so was room service.
Lovely shop.
Excellent tour of the city.
Would liked to have stayed longer (2 nights only).
Hotel building and gardens, the best of british colonialism."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team