This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Augrabies Falls Restcamp
Augrabies Falls Restcamp
Augrabies Falls Restcamp
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp


28°35’35.8"S 20°20’14.7"E

Reviews of Augrabies Restcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Augrabies Restcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2022, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Augrabies Restcamp.
Leopard

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 11-17 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Glasgow

"Good experience at Augrabies"

2 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2013
"a big camp visited on a hot south african holiday weekend. The situation is superb more that we expected and the camp has a good shop and a very good independent restaurant" See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Augrabies - The elusive Klipspringer!"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2011
"Our main purpose for visiting The Augrabies National Park was to appreciate the landscape and try to spot the ever elusive Klipspringer. The landscape is astonishing , mainly if you drive into the game area. The falls (although not in full blow) and the gorge are quite impressive. Nevertheless, we should point out that of the 6 possible viewpoints only 3 were opened to the public due the destruction of the wooden pathways. This probably due to the destruction made by massive flooding early in the year.

Times for game viewing should be increased i.e., opening earlier then 06:30 AM.One just starts to see game further into the Loops (Hartmanns´s and Quiver Loops) and those can only be reached at least one hour into the game drive. By that time the sun is already high up and probably not the best for spotting Klipspringers. The afternoon drive will have to be shorter - just 2-3 useful hours and by our experience, not to explore the loops. So we have decided to shorten the loop driving and explore the viewpoints driveways ( Echocorner, etc..). Finally when we were already coming back we were struck by luck! A pair of Klipspringers on watchdog function and an infant were sighted. What a gracious and beautiful animal.

The camp itself and the facilities offered are good. People at reception were efficient and informative. Shame they did not have available the official guide for the Park in english. We were informed that it was being reprinted and updated. The shop was well stoked. We did not use the restaurant.

The cottage we stayed in was clean, spacious and very well equipped." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Dorset

"Augrabies Falls Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2010
"Augrabies Falls was our first destination in South Africa - and even though we visited in the dry season (November - therefore the Falls are more of a trickle than a torrent) the scenery here in the park is stunning.

We stayed 2 nights which enabled us to head out for a full day in the park, and travel out to the far end of the reserve - which contains more wildlife, and is quite picturesque. This is a good introduction to the Kalahari area - and we would recommend visiting here first before heading into the Kgalagadi if your focus is wildlife - as the numbers are much smaller here, and the focus is very much on the antelope, deer and smaller mammals. Look out for the Tree-Climbing Rock Hyrax (Dassies)!

Rooms are comfortable and clean - and food at the Restaurant was good. Our only disappointment was that the night drives weren't running (there really didn't seem to be much enthusiasm amongst the staff to encourage people to sign up to activities) - so if you visit here, be prepared to DIY your own trips." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Tadworth

"was a bit of a let down but the area was good"

2 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2009
"The drive from Uppington to Augrabies was very interesting with all of the agriculture that had built up along the Orange river, especially the grape growing, picking and raisin production facilities.

The Falls were very dramatic and well worth a visit but the government Lodge was very "tired" and in desperate need of attention. The restaurant food was very poor. Our original stay was planned for two nights but we ended up checking out early after one night and returning to Uppington. We all felt as though one day was enough. Perhaps we should have stayed in the Lodge outside of the park and gone in as soon as the gates opened. However the gates opened at about 7 to 7:30 and because of the heat at that time of year we really need to start our walking at first light, i.e. 6 am. Our morning walk was very good however.

We arrived by about 4 pm on the first day, checked in and went for the short walk out onto the rocks to view the falls. This was very good. After freshening up we went to the restaurant for our evening meal. Although the restaurant and service was OK the food was terrible. I made a very poor choice with the pasta but nobody else seemied to fair any better.

Early the next morning we got up early and went for a very nice 2 to 3 hour walk. Luckily we had enough food with us to cater for breakfast in our cottages. After breakfast we went into the fenced part of the park and spent several hours driving around. This was very enjoyable.

After this we felt as though we had done everyything of interest and as the accomodation/catering was not much good decided to move on and forfeit the second night." See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Ms R & Mr G
Hants

"Augrabies Falls Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"Again, the rest camp had everything we could wish for and this time we found the ablutions block and were able to do some washing which was much needed by this time - it would've been useful to know that this was situated in the 'camping' area, as many people we met commented on how difficult they had found getting washing done.

We also undertook the 'Dassie' walk which was most informative and enjoyable, however, there was no information on display at reception and luckily we knew of it through Chris' guide" See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Wilmslow

"Waterfalls, Lizards and Baboons"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2008
"A South African National Parks rest camp. The room was comfortable, if basic, and the facilities over all were good considering the constraints of the location. Food was good and crtainly better than might be expected from such a location.

The Falls are the obvious attraction but the game drive (longer route) should not be missed.

The baboons are very friendly. They would love to join you for tea or even for the night! Be warned.

The temperatures at the park are very high in the summer and the parks goes into "hibernation". Visits are not advised during the summer months." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa; 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs SB
N London

"Augrabies Falls Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"The comparison with our Karoo self catering chalet left this one behind.

Although the location is wonderful, with a view out over the fascinating rocks, the facilities for self catering were best for BBQ (as Brits, not geared up for that) and our one meal (dinner / breakfast) in the restaurant here made us realise why it was not patronised much.

Comment on the 'Dassie Trail' billed as 'easy' entailed climbing over some rather large rocks as well as a few tricky balancing acts. But we enjoyed our walk as we'd started by 7.00 am and just finished it before heat of day." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Showing 11-17 of 17
86%
17 reviews of Augrabies Restcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
7
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Augrabies Falls National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence has a pleasant feel and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Upington.


91% (27 reviews)
The Falls Guest House

The Falls Guest House

The family run Falls Guest House offers a tranquil haven on the doorstep of Augrabies Falls NP.


93% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa