This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs SB from N London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful Southern African Trip

South Africa and 1 other country between 1 Oct 2008 and 7 Nov 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were impressed by the luxury of the accommodation throughout - perhaps 'good' given to some establishments on this feedback only because some others were particularly 'excellent'.

The variety of scenery and the distances travelled between stops was well thought out and we'd enjoyed the liaison to work the itinerary out before the trip.

It was very special for us and Completely lived up to expectations.
Huge thank you."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Constantia Uitsig, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Quiet seclusion to start a wonderful trip"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2008
"Great location, sorry we did not take up 'wine tasting' opportunities here. Lovely friendly breakfast service.

Ate evening meal one night in restaurant - most impressed by oral presentation of all menu options. Delicious food"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Luxury on the South Coast"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2008
"The most luxurious room ever!

Watching whales from our bedroom!

Recommend the bookshop in Hermanus too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Image alt

Klippe Rivier Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Beautiful place, would love to return"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2008
"sorry only time for one night here. Excellent treatment. Enjoyed being the only guests (good for us, probably not so good for them)
The next day was the only heavy rain we had (good for them not so good for us!) on our trip.

The Bontebok Reserve was a Joy too - well worth the visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Oulap Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"A special family atmosphere"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2008
"We were treated like honoured guests and really enjoyed ourselves - again (lucky perhaps?) only guests for these 2 nights.
Jans and Almeri made excellent hosts.

Enjoyed seeing the country and the school initiative.

Had a great walk here too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Karoo National Park

"The Karoo - Desert in style"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2008
"Fantastic self catering accommodation beside wonderful, unexpected, restaurant.

The view from our chalet too was marvellous. The restaurant here was well patronised - didn't see anyone doing their own catering while we were there! - no need.

The walking and bird watching opportunities here were well worth the drive to get there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Image alt

Lord Milner Hotel

"Lord Milner Hotel, Matjiesfontein"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2008
"Wow to the balcony of our room here - with a view of a London Routemaster Bus!

Thoroughly enjoyed the Victorian splendour of this hotel"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Rusthof Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Rusthof Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2008
"Arrived late afternoon and were booked into too 'upmarket' a restaurant - unfortunate misunderstanding probably.
Found a great 'pub' for 2nd evening's meal.

Room here too was beautiful, spacious and great views.
Enjoyed the opportunity of walking to a wine tasting session."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

"Lagoon wonderful at Langebaan"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2008
"The largest place we stayed in on our long trip. But very friendly (all seemed very young!) staff.

Very good location to get to the West Coast National Park , where we spent all of the 2 days we had ... That was awesome. Great restaurant there too, where we enjoyed cake and watching weaver birds. But the hides were the highlight - flamingos, egrets, stilts, plus all 'waders' as the tide went in and out.

Hotel PS - large portions - even with an appetite, managing the starter and main course at the hotel was tricky!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

"Clanwilliam bliss"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"We really enjoyed the location, We were unfortunate with our experience in Cederberg mountains - Plans, tried twice, for planned walks fell through, however this venue, friendliness and helpfulness [hosts were great] made that disappointment not so important.

The breakfasts in the garden were a joy.
Particularly liked The Bath!

Plus close proximity to Lamberts Bay , the Gannet colony and restaurant recommendation a bonus."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View Guest House

"Springbok, personal service with a smile"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2008
"We enjoyed this lovely location, another beautiful room. Cars parked in 'bay' for each room.

Dining room (a choice of 2!) for breakfast was comfortable, light, pleasant.
Dinner recommendation on main road also great experience - shop, restaurant, tourist info!

Felt well set up and rested for the drive next day to Augrabies.
Also would recommend going to Goegap Nature Reserve while in Springbok. - had to cram that into a half day, but could have spent longer there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp

"Augrabies Falls Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"The comparison with our Karoo self catering chalet left this one behind.

Although the location is wonderful, with a view out over the fascinating rocks, the facilities for self catering were best for BBQ (as Brits, not geared up for that) and our one meal (dinner / breakfast) in the restaurant here made us realise why it was not patronised much.

Comment on the 'Dassie Trail' billed as 'easy' entailed climbing over some rather large rocks as well as a few tricky balancing acts. But we enjoyed our walk as we'd started by 7.00 am and just finished it before heat of day."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge at Keetmanshoop"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2008
"Beautiful location. Driving down dusty street looking for the hotel, and were whisked into cool interior, Rooms laid out round courtyard with fountain and palm trees!

We also enjoyed going to Naute Dam after leaving the next morning. Spent a quiet morning there with refreshments supplied by pleasant English couple - great way to spend the Sunday morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Farm Stay with Heart"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2008
"We felt very welcome here. Host(ess) was obviously making genuine effort to make people feel at home.
Rooms comfortable.

Food at evening meal was Superb. All home cooked and home prepared. Ditto breakfast, with home made cheese as well as jam, etc.

We climbed the mountain here too - a high spot of our trip."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2008
"We loved our 2 days and nights in the dunes of the Namib Naukluft.

Alex made a good guide, pleasant, knowledgeable, and very keen to share his love of the country and show us fauna and flora.

Eating and Sleeping under the stars is magical - a never to be forgotten experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2008
"Very comfortable and spacious.
Good walking trails well marked. (we did not participate in any other 'activity')

Slightly non plussed at the 'additional charges' itemisation, even for 'afternoon tea/cake', which tended to spoil atmosphere."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House, Swakopmund"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2008
"Great location for us. Although not on sea front, close to town centre, quiet street.

Very friendly service. and the Breakfasts were Superb."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangements

"review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2008
"not applicable"
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team