This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Wilmslow

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2008 trip

South Africa and 1 other country between 15 Oct 2008 and 12 Nov 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"First of all we must say thankyou for such an excellent holiday. We had a wonderful time and Namibia in particular was everything we hoped and expected for our second visit to the country. Throughout the accommodation was excellent and the food made a considerable impression at many of the places we stayed - we have the extra pounds to prove it!

In short a very ejoyable and successful holiday with lots of highlights, too many to mention, although the Baboons at Augrabies Falls and the three days of Whale watching at Hermanus will be remembered for a very long time. Oceans Eleven at Hermanus and Camps Bay Retreat were very good recommendatins so thanks Tracy for all your good ideas and helpfulness.

It was a super holiday and getting back to reality is proving very hard We are already working on the next trip to Nambia. What more can we say!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Cheetahs and Springbok"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2008
"A good place to start the holiday. Our room was comfortable and had good views. An enjoyable place to seeing even if a little lacking in "atmosphere".

Feeding the Cheetahs and walking with them is a must and an incredible experience but watch out for the pet Springbok!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Luxury in the dunes"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"This was our second visit to Wolwedans and it was every bit as enjoyable as the first.

How we qualified for the "Mountain View Suite" we do not know but it was greatly appreciated - and enjoyed.

Great views, interesting drives, good food and very friendly staff.

You are really spoilt here and we plan to visit here again"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Splendid isolation at Eagles Nest"

4 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2008
"Even with all the information we had Eagles Nest still came as a surprise - a pleasant one.

The room was very comfortable and the isolation made it feel as though we were really in the wild somewhere special.

The staff were probably the friendliest of the whole trip - and everybody everywhere was friendly. The drive after dinner from the restaurant to the room is an "intersting experience", especially in a sand storm! These necessary night drives are a good opportunity to view some of the nocturnal animals you do not normally get to see.

The isolation of the Eagles Nest Rooms also means that even timid animals such as Klipspringers will come right up to your terrace and you can watch them through the windows of the room - and much smaller animals as well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

"A peaceful retreat near Fish River Canyon"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2008
"Comfortable rooms and excellent food. At times we felt that the lodge was not as professional as it should have been and they really need to either provide torches for the rooms or ensure the limited external lighting is used. Our first night there and on the last the external lighting was all out of use and we had to rely on our own torch, fortunately we always take one with us.

However this is a relaxing place to stay on the unfashionable North side of Fish River Canyon (which can be reached from the lodge) and is in a very peaceful location."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"A home from home full of character"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2008
"This really is a gem with a decor that is really different. We enjoyed the luxury of the honeymoon suite, albeit many years late, in an atmosphere that was very relaxed.

They were most helpful in storing our surplus bags and attending to our laundry whilst we detoured to Augrabies Falls for a few days.

Springbok is a good place to break a journey down the Western side of Southern Africa as the town is large enough for you to replenish and dwindling stores and attend to other requirments"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp

"Waterfalls, Lizards and Baboons"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2008
"A South African National Parks rest camp. The room was comfortable, if basic, and the facilities over all were good considering the constraints of the location. Food was good and crtainly better than might be expected from such a location.

The Falls are the obvious attraction but the game drive (longer route) should not be missed.

The baboons are very friendly. They would love to join you for tea or even for the night! Be warned.

The temperatures at the park are very high in the summer and the parks goes into "hibernation". Visits are not advised during the summer months."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2008
"SEE PREVIOUS"
Excellent
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

"Wonderful lodge, real luxury and great food"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2008
"Luxury and comfort with first class food drawing heavily from local produce and the wild plants of the area.

We had a very relaxing stay here and should have scheduled longer to fully appreciate the facilities and make the most of the opportunities available.

Very personal attention from the staff. Another for the repeat visit list"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Whale watching without leaving your room"

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2008
"We arrived to be greated with "The whales know you are coming and are in the bay performing". For the next three days we did nothing but watch whales and eat - or so it seemed.

A very comfortable and spacious room ideal for watching the whales and very friendly and helpful staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

"Lazy peace near the centre of Cape Town"

4 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2008
"An ideal place to finish (or start) a holiday, peaceful and relaxing with very attentive and friendly staff.

Very good food which we would say was probably the best of the trip - where the food was good at every location we stopped.

At Camps Bay retreat you can enjoy all the pleasures of Camps Bay in comfortable, peaceful and safe surroundings just a short walk from the beach and center of the town.

We even enjoyed some unexpected whale watching from the lawn."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team