This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms R & Mr G from Hants

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

25

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful

Namibia and 1 other country between 25 Jul 2009 and 2 Sep 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"I think the individual feedback says it all - we were enchanted with our accommodation, captivated by the people, intoxicated by the countryside, the flora and the fauna, not to mention the sea life.

The planning was perfect - we had been closely advised by Expert Africa and found the timings to be spot on - no stay in one place was too short, no stay too long. We were priviledged to have 40 days and the luxury of being able to enjoy two countries, we felt, at our leisure."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"Our luggage was delayed at Frankfurt Airport and so we had to purchase 'emergency' supplies and were directed to the appropriate shops and warned that they closed at 1.00 (it was a Saturday). The following morning, the young woman on reception phoned the airport to find out where our luggage was, without being asked, which was so helpful and put us at our ease.

The accommodation was very elegant, the swimming pool was well placed and although far too cold for us, there were loungers for the brave."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2009
"We loved the accommodation - it was our first real 'taste' of Namibia and although we managed to arrive at dinner at 7.00pm, if we hadn't been starving, we wouldn't have realised that we NEEDED to be there at 7.00 as everyone sat down together.

We loved the 'introduction' of the menu and the wonderful entertainment that followed it. This was an experience that we felt others could learn from, as the entertainment came after the meal!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2009
"It was a bit of a let down after Anib - the AC wasn't working and it was cold - we were supplied with a heater which did the job. The fountain was lovely and lit up.

We ate in the resturant where the food was acceptable, but staff kept walking in and out, leaving doors open and it was freezing!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Kalahari Lodge

"Molopo Kalahari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2009
"Our only disappointment - the accommodation was cute but the freezer part of the fridge had defrosted over the floor and we were told it was ready. When we arrived, we did not immediately feel welcome, rather that we were intruding on their afternoon. So I mopped the floor!

The restaurant was very disappointing - there were very few people eating and the menu was 'fast food'. Not learning from our experience, we ordered lunch packs to take the next day - they turned out to be a cold hamburger and a cold piece of chicken, both of which had been put on bread when hot! The result was not good and we had paid N$ 70.00!"
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Terrible
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

"Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"We really had no idea what to expect - the waterhole was so far away that we wouldn't have seen a lot, and there was only one steenbok to visit for the whole night - however, it was wonderful to be there - the accommodation was much better than we had expected with all mod cons, even though the water failed in the morning, it did eventually come on and we were able to shower before we left - we had been warned that the electricity might fail, but that was not a problem.

The views were stunning and to have our first experience of waking to the sunrise was beautiful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2009
"We were surprised at just how much we enjoyed Twee Rivieren.

We had expected something far more basic, and yet everything we needed was provided, it was good to be cooking our own food and the AC was so powerful, we were really warm at night.

The next morning we discovered that we had a puncture, and several adept men who were waiting for their parties to take them into the Kgalagadi stepped forward to help."
Good
Location
Good
Rooms
Good
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp

"Augrabies Falls Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"Again, the rest camp had everything we could wish for and this time we found the ablutions block and were able to do some washing which was much needed by this time - it would've been useful to know that this was situated in the 'camping' area, as many people we met commented on how difficult they had found getting washing done.

We also undertook the 'Dassie' walk which was most informative and enjoyable, however, there was no information on display at reception and luckily we knew of it through Chris' guide"
Good
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2009
"The room was just spectacular!

Our reception was good and our hostess showed us to our room. We were enchanted by the weaver birds who were nesting in a big tree just outside our room - there was a small veranda in the sun which was very relaxing after our journey.

The one draw back to the location is that it is right across the road from the hospital which can be a bit noisy early evening and lots of lights on through the night, though the curtains are thick and block out most of it."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

"Ndedema Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2009
"The house was stunning - our room was lovely - a four poster bed, the most enormous bathroom and such hospitable people - we saw them around a lot as well as at breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. On arrival we were brought tea by the pool, they were able to recommend a visit to the Rock Art the following day - and book us in to a restaurant that night.

At breakfast, there were four of us, the array was dazzling and included scones, jam and cream, as well as the usual cereals, cold meats and cheese, rolls, jams and toast. Then there was a choice of eggs, sausage, bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes, followed by a 'knickerboker glory' of yoghurt and stewed fruit laced with honey - the follwoing day we had grapefruit laced with passion fruit, all picked from their trees."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Ocean Eleven review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2009
"The location was perfect, on the first morning we walked out of the diningroom to see the tail of a whale disappearing into the sea- wonderful!

The breakfast was beautifully presented, a table full of prepared fruit, grapefruit, passion fruit, blueberries, strawberries, pineapple, melon, kiwi fruit, mango, guava, pawpaw looked delicious and was delicious - again a plentiful supply of yoghurt, cereal, cold meats and cheeses. The most amazingly orange egg yolks and the toasted bread 'popped' in your mouth.

The room was large, modern and tasteful with a TV and armchairs as well as a fridge. Patio doors opened out on to the swimming pool, a restricted sea view which they apologised for, but we were very happy!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Constantia Uitsig, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Constantia Uitsig review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"After Ocean Eleven, you needed to ask what more you could expect from Constantia, and so we were, understandably a little disappointed - the rooms were old fashioned in comparrison, the bathroom needed up dating and the only wine in the room was 250 rands a bottle!

However, we ate in both restaurants where the different food was equally delicious - we thoroughly enjoyed being pampered - and the location was beautiful as were the views from the second restaurant."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"Annie's Cottage review"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2009
"This second visit was disappointing as the first room had been so spectacular. We knew that we would be given a different room and I was looking forward to it, but it was such a disappointment - the family room - 'peach' (which we didn't need) with a pokey little shower and none of the 'nice' touches of the previous room or the breakfast room which are both enhanced with lovely furnishings and careful attention to details of mirrors, lamps and knick knacks.

They were, however, very busy at the start of the flower season and hopefully many of the other rooms please as much as our first! Breakfast was as good as ever."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2009
"We loved the accommodation fashioned from local stone, reeds and wood and we got the one featured in all the publicity - a bit of a trek to the restaurant but what a perfect view and unspoilt silence.

We went on the sundowner walk to the top of a small hill, not all those who set out completed the walk because for the elderly, it was quite challenging, but for those of us who did, our guide was knowledgeable and amusing and the views were spectacular.

Supper was accompanied by roaring fires and very attentive service. By the second night the accommodation continued to amaze, please and exceed expectation, and we were greeted by hot water bottles!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2009
"Again, difficult to follow Canyon Lodge - Desert Horse lacked its ethnic charm and is starting to show its age although the accommodation was more than adequate in terms of size and facilities.

For the first time a cooked breakfast was not 'custom made' so we went without one as we didn't fancy the pre cooked food which was being kept warm. However, there was plenty of lovely fruit salad, seed bread and cheese and ham.

We decided on the 10 k hike which revealed a far more interesting terrain than driving had done. Dinner on the second night was better, on the first they had run out of potatoes and presented us with hard ones - we would have prefered to have been told that there weren't any!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

"Dabis Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2009
"This was one of the 'high' points of the trip. We had travelled exensively through the country and were fascinated to hear how farmers managed to scratch a living from this inhospitable land.

The farmer's enthusiasm for their farming methods, water extraction, the climate, their family history, their hopes and fears for the future was truely infectious. We enjoyed every moment of our drive.

The accommodation was delightfully presented and the swimming pool was for swimming as the tennis court was for playing on."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2009
"The accommodation was delightful - the roof and sides of the bedroom were canvas and ours looked out over the savanha and a patio covered in red sand - fantastic. The food was excellent - a buffet/salad starter and then a choice of grilled 'exotic' meats or stirfry, both of which were cooked in front of you. There was a wide choice of sweet desserts or cheese and biscuits - a good choice of wine at affordable prices.

We were disappointed to realise that we couldn't reach the dunes by sun rise, so we decided to take a guided tour from the lodge. We were very pleased that we had done so, as our knowledgeable guide left us feeling that we had seen things (a black chested eagle, a vulture, a white dancing spider) and learnt facts that we would otherwise not have done. We also felt confident climbing a dune other than Dune 45 which was covered in people!

However, the people selling the trip should have warned us about the freezing temperatures in the morning, made even more intense by the wind chill factor of driving in an open jeep - by the time we came back, it was warm enough for a dip in the pool. But all 6 of us were frozen, in spite of the blankets, on the way out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2009
"A very 'mixed' experience - the previous owners of some years were leaving the next day, and so it was a bit hectic. The setting was unforgetable as was the drive to the lodge. Our room was perfectly adequate and the bathing facilities made of stone and charming.

However, it was cold and the windows wouldn't shut and, for the first time, no AC that could be used as a heater. The fire in the dining room was very welcome but was not lit in the morning which was also cold.

We walked into the canyon, having been driven the first 6 ks - the drive was amazing and I learnt what a 4x4 can really do - driving across river beds full of boulders, up impossibly steep slopes and at one point up what could only be described as steps! The walk to the spring was challenging but very worthwhile.

On our departure, the new owners, in recognition of our disruptive experience, did not charge us for our activity, which we thought was most generous of them. However, the accommodation has been neglected and is now quite run down. The food was good and the staff expressed their sorrow, through song, at the departure of the previous owners. It is going to take a lot of hard work on everyone's behalf to achieve the level of excellence that we came to expect from the accommodation."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2009
"Charming room, lovely breakfast room - everything tastefully decorated and furnished - very hospitable people who waited on us at breakfast, offered to arrange any trips we might want and to book restaurants.

Ideally placed for a stay in Swakopmund."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2009
"Doro Nawas was everything it promised to be - the room was fantastical with its mock stone headboard, stone bathroom and inside and outside shower - the only disappointment was that noone told us that you could unlock the bed and push it out on to the huge verandah - we only learnt that on our second night, in conversation with other guests, and then we slept under the starts which was a breathtaking experience.

The food was excellent - unsurpassed salads, crisp vegetables, delicate puddings.

We joined an afternoon drive to see the desert adapted elephants - was a bit disappointed that the drive around the property is no longer part of the deal (as described in Chris' book) - and were delighted to come across 13 of them and observe them for some time. Our guide was knowledgeable as was the person who pointed out the stars to us on the roof that night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"Etosha Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2009
"The rooms were well appointed and the food was good - buffet starter and a choice of main course and puddings. This is a relatively new lodge and they are still working on the access road which is paved and which will greatly enhance the approach. The staff were welcoming and dealt swiftly with the fact that we turned up there for a second night, having left our luggage in our room believing that we were there for two nights! Fortunately, they had the capacity to accommodate us, phoned ahead to let Okaukuejo know what had happened, had our room cleaned ready for the night and were delightful about the whole misunderstanding.

Bonus was that they serve breakfast early, so you can be at the gate to Etosha as it opens."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2009
"Unfortunately unable to comment as we did not stay! See previous entry under Etosha Safari Lodge - the system will not allow me to continue unless I select an overall rating - hence - average"
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2009
"The accommodation was adequate for 2 but was intended for 4 and the 'living' area was very cramped. It proported to allow for self catering but there were no cooking facilities, the base of the BBQ having rusted out some time ago: although there was a fridge, crockery and cultery, there were no pots and pans nor a stove which would've been disappointing if we had stocked up on food to cook.

The food in the restaurant was adequate, but the fact that they BBQed in doors both in the evening and for breakfast meant that it was very smelly.

The floodlit waterhole was well worth the visit and is well designed to accommodate a number of people."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2009
"The accommodation was very servicable, the people welcoming and charming, the wine good (they had an extensive well priced list), Good food was served for everyone, at the same time, in the open air - blankets provided if needed. The swimming pool looked very welcoming.

It might be better for the staff to perfom their welcome after the meal, as those of us who had spent the day in Etosha were ready to eat at 7.00.

There are 2 entrances to the lodge, both have a drive of about 10ks - we managed to mis the one just outside the Etosha gate on the right as the name of the 'company' is more prominent than the name of the lodge."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2009
"What an end to a wonderful trip - the setting is breathtaking, the accommodation fascinating, the food delicious. When one of the party was unable to continue on the guided walk (included in the price because they want you to explore the place and learn about the flora and fauna) the guide took him on a special walk along the flat so that he too could share in the experience. Such hospitality!

The timing of the guided walks means a late breakfast (10.30am) so that the delicious sweet and savoury snacks at 3.00 just bridge the gap before dinner which is served after sundown. The restaurant was perched above the waterhole and visited by various animals including porcupine.

The swimming pool was a very welcome place to relax in the afternnon as was the verandah which had a wonderful view of the sunset."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kleines Heim

"Kleines Heim"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2009
"We had a huge room which was very useful for packing before our departure.

The swimming pool was not yet ready for swimmers but was being worked on. Reception staff were very welcoming, but I was surprised that there was no offer of help with the luggage.

Breakfast was adequate, but the cooked element was freshly prepared"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team