This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by D & P from Lavenham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2018 trip

Seychelles between 24 Oct 2018 and 9 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall we had a great time.

All the connections worked well.

All the accommodation was good, apart from the few details we have mentioned in the report"

Arranged By Megan Green


Bird Island Lodge

Bird Island Lodge

"Bird Island"

4 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2018
"It was a wonderful and unique place. There was a lovely feeling of freedom, open window, - natural ventilation!! no locks on doors.

But as a lodge, it left much to be desired. There were few activities, but those that were offered, were not well advertised.

The chalets were fairly basic, that was fine. But they were also run down, our mattress was covered with a thick plastic cover, sellotaped on. Surely if they were worried about mattress staining, they could have afforded proper mattress covers! Our toilet didn’t flush properly. It was quite difficult to redress these problems as there was rarely anyone on the desk, and they weren’t very communicative. Disappointing."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Cap Jean Marie Chalets, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"Cap Jean Marie Chalets review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2018
"Lovely accommodation and attentive host.

Beach looked wonderful but sea too rough for snorkelling. Had to travel right round the island for suitable beaches, which were actually not so far, but only accessible by foot - a long walk in the heat!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Image alt

Fleur de Lys, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"Fleur de Lys review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2018
"Couldn’t fault accommodation. Lovely chalet with veranda.

Nice breakfasts. Bike hire available - took advantage of this - great fun!

Pleasant gardens.

Again had to hunt for snorkelling beaches, as one near chalet was desirable!"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Le Sans Souci

Le Sans Souci

"Le Sans Souci review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2018
"Very welcoming, great fun.

Super food which we ate with the hosts. This was great because you could talk about life in the Seychelles, great to get an insight.

We were the only people staying and were very lucky to get an upgrade to their new room - bedroom, kitchen/ lounge/ dining room. Designed by Hugues who is an architect - unbelievably beautiful place, with balcony overlooking the harbour!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Tour of southern Namibia

Namibia between 26 Sep 2017 and 17 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent trip, great lodges, scenery, no crowds.

An amazing experience,"

Arranged By Tom Morris


River Crossing

River Crossing

"The birds were a wonderful surprise!"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"Great for a one night stopover. Lots of birds.

They now do meals, which were very good, and meant that we could relax rather than going into Windhoek"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"A pleasant and relaxed start"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"We loved it! Especially all the 'local' animals - springbok, eland, meerkats, goats, donkey - all visited!

We really enjoyed the bushman trip.

The night drive was a little disappointing. There was no guide. The driver had to drive and hold the flashlight. He did his best, but not ideal!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Dramatic "

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2017
"Just a wonderful place!

Amazing scenery. Great trip into the canyon. What we weren’t told though, was that walks into the canyon had stopped the previous week - it was too hot, Amazing swim in what remains of Fish River.

No sun beds, limited activities.

Good birdwatching (and Dessie watching) from deck - they provided a small pool.

Only criticism - no sunbeds!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"A cabin in the desert"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2017
"Again wonderful place. Lovely walks. Fairly convenient for visiting Luderitz and Kolmanskop. We loved our cabiin, watching Oryx and Springbok trailing across the sand and the many changed in weather!

Tried the bbq, but really too cold to enjoy.

Breakfast pack very generous,

Super evening drive from cabin to Desert Horse in!

Desert Inn understaffed on desk and bar"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

"A delightfully shelled and friendly place"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"Super spot for one night. Lizards, butterflies, biirds. A large and friendly pig!

Great for walks.

Quite remote, Without a 4 wheel drive, we would have have had to retrace our steps for quite a long way.

Nice family atmosphere!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"An amazing experience"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"An amazing experience,! Fascinating walks, and information. Lots of wildlife!

Possibly tried to make meals too up-Market, simpler meals served more quickly would have been better as it was quite cold. ,Camp fire would have been welcome.. ,Hot water bottles in the beds was a wonderful surprise,"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"A lucky upgrade"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2017
"Upgraded to superior room thanks to a coach party occupying the standard rooms, one night stop over was sufficient to complete an evening and morning walk.

Rescue meerkats were entertaining"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Glamping amongst the rocks"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2017
"Highlights Watching birds feeding just outside restaurant, Warthogs bathing in waterhole, seeing busman cave paintings, walks in hills, sunsets from our deck,
Watchingdaddies and hornbills.

Three nights would probably have been enough.

The lodge got quite crowded on the last couple of days, and there weren’t enough shady sun beds for relaxing by the pool - It was very hot!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Luxury! A little oasis!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2017
"A surprise to see green grass - everywhere else was so careful with water! The most luxurious accommodation of the tour.

More wildlife to see with game drives, cheetahs and leopards living as freely as possible.

Food excellent as it has been on whole trip.

Wonderful day rooms where all sorts of birds and even a warthog came to feed. A jar of food provided and replenished!

Great night hide!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team