This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Bird Island Lodge
Bird Island Lodge
Bird Island Lodge
Bird Island Lodge
Bird Island Lodge
Bird Island Lodge
Bird Island Lodge
Bird Island Lodge
Bird Island Lodge
Bird Island Lodge

Reviews of Bird Island Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bird Island Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Birdman
Chesham

"Bird Island Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2019
"First and foremost we enjoyed our five days immensely bot one has to be an avid birdwatcher, snorkeler or walker to get the best out of Bird Island.

We went fully equipped but 90% of the guests lacked binoculars so why were there none for hire? The briefing on arrival was perfunctory with insufficient information as to what one could/should not do and on what facilities were available although this was to a large degree corrected during Darrel's excellent offered walk on our third afternoon. True, there were leaflets one could read but how many people do so and a verbal message is always best. Fishing which was on the advertised list of activities was no longer available. The Bird Sightings Board was never updated although of great importance to birdwatchers. Word of mouth between guests was the order of the day. We were most grateful for the motorized lifts we were twice given to good bird viewing points as our activities would otherwise have been severely curtailed.
The biggest let-down was however the restaurant as the lack of imagination as to how to serve up the mainstays of chicken, fish, rice and pumpkin differently and with taste for each meal was stunningly obvious. Often dishes ran out and were very slowly replaced if at all. Dinner at 20.00 hrs, the latest we experienced throughout the Seychelles, was far too late for young children and anyone with indigestion problems and, as a result, we were restricted to just the soup and a few vegetables each evening. We also, like others leaving on the same day as ourselves, felt that we could have been offered something to drink while waiting for our delayed flight and doubted if we would have been offered lunch if our plane had arrived even later. There was talk of 15 more chalets being constructed - perhaps the existing facilities including the catering should be upgraded first." See all these reviews: 17n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
D & P
Lavenham

"Bird Island"

4 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2018
"It was a wonderful and unique place. There was a lovely feeling of freedom, open window, - natural ventilation!! no locks on doors.

But as a lodge, it left much to be desired. There were few activities, but those that were offered, were not well advertised.

The chalets were fairly basic, that was fine. But they were also run down, our mattress was covered with a thick plastic cover, sellotaped on. Surely if they were worried about mattress staining, they could have afforded proper mattress covers! Our toilet didn’t flush properly. It was quite difficult to redress these problems as there was rarely anyone on the desk, and they weren’t very communicative. Disappointing." See all these reviews: 8n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Again the best Island for holiday and birds"

6 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2018
"Just the best of places and not being 5 star makes the place even better.

Food is simple and enjoyable though could get repetitive since the menu cycle is based upon a 4 day stay. We stayed for a week.

The beaches, the sea, the swimming and the snorkelling are out of this world.

However our villa could have done with a make over. The wet room had an old shower head that sprayed water everywhere and the water in the wet room had a mind to come into the rest of the villa. Not mind blowing to design a wet room where the water stays in the wet room! The chairs on the veranda were "tired" and frankly uncomfortable. I had mine replaced with a more modern looking one and my wife made herself comfortable with lots of cushions. Our front door did not lock/unlock correctly being broken though it was only there to keep the birds out! We rather enjoyed the issues with the villa, reminded us of home." See all these reviews: 10n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The D Family
Herts

"One of the very special places in the world"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"An astonishing place. The bird life is unrivalled and the enthusiasm of Robbie the guide was genuine and warm.

We enjoyed it hugely. The food was superb, especially considering the isolation of the place.

The snorkelling is amazing, on one trip I saw 5 turtles." See all these reviews: 6n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Farnham

"Wonderful birds"

6 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2016
"Great finale to our trip, fewer turtles than 16 years ago but same magic.

Fairy Terns nearly landing on my arm, great snorkelling and walking round.

One spectacular tropical storm" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 6n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Sandy

"Bird Island Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2015
"Bird Island is amazing. The birds are superb. The sense of community is wonderful too - as a single traveller I never once ate alone and had several offers to join people every day! The rooms are comfortable and plenty big enough. It's not five star luxury - but you go for the birds, to get away from it all and the snorkelling.

The food is good, sometimes a bit simple, but it's all part of a buffet, so there's plenty to go around and it's all very tasty. I loved the whole experience on Bird and would have happily stayed longer. Many of the other guests I spoke to go back year after year." See all these reviews: 7n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Devon

"Bird Island Lodge review"

6 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2014
"This was our third visit to Bird, and we love the place. Totally laid back, no air conditioning, no fancy hotel or spa facilities.

It seems to appeal to like-minded people who are nearly all repeat visitors most of whom are quiet, thoughtful and equally enchanted by this beautiful island teeming with birds.....the resident naturalist is a mine of interesting information as well as particularly pleasant company. Indeed all the staff from the manager down are all very friendly and efficient.

The Chalets are clean and comfortable, meals are delicious and people like us will keep going back as long as the place doesn't change. Whilst I have described activities and facilities as excellent, don't expect too many of either.

If you want five star luxury, fancy swimming pools and exotic spa treatments, or want somewhere to pose about, please go somewhere else !" See all these reviews: 6n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Heaven comes no nicer"

4 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2013
"If you are the type of person who likes nature, is happy to have birds sitting on the veranda all day and night, loves deserted beaches, golden sands and the constant presence of birds, crabs, tortoises, and other animals then this could just be the place.

We could well understand why the return rate is so high for Bird Island............oh and not a paper, radio or TV was available....................GREAT.

We have given activities and facilities excellent since these were nature based and we loved them.

Not a child friendly place would be our guess, they might get bored and pester the wild life." See all these reviews: 10n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Brockley

"Close to nature at Bird Island Lodge!"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2012
"Snorkelling around Bird Island was fantastic and there's a good wildlife tour round the island. Giant tortoises wandering round as well.

Food quite simple but very tasty, with lots of fish dishes.

Rooms were simple but fine, though we had a few more wildlife visitors than we had hoped for!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 5n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
The A family
Surrey

"Bird Island Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"An unbelievable experience. Look at the official video on Youtube to see what it is really like. You need to think about timing though.If you want to see the birds rearing their young in particular the 700,000 sooty tern breeding pairs you should go July/August but at this time it is windy so while you can snorkel within the reef the waters are choppy and the current difficult-no deep sea fishing or the like-having said that we swam with a green turtle and 2 huge manta rays.

If you want to snorkel in crystal clear waters and not see the birds nesting/their young go in, we think, the winter and spring. It was pretty hot as it was although overcast for long periods so we'd imagine it would then be very hot indeed.

The birds are essentially all around you - no need for binoculars except for the frigate birds and boobys.
The tortoises are good fun too - 20 giant plus 2 from Madagascar. It was good to see reputedly the world's oldest thought born in 1771." See all these reviews: 7n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 11
93%
11 reviews of Bird Island Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Seychelles

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Seychelles.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa