This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Birdman from Chesham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

October 2019 in The Seychelles

Seychelles between 12 Oct 2019 and 31 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"First and foremost we enjoyed our trip immensely and have no regrets about having gone to The Seychelles.

The comments we have made above are therefore intended to be constructive. We did however feel that, like so many other places, we were visiting about 30 years too late and that what we really wanted to see, like the wildlife, peaceful places and the real Seychelles, had been overtaken by events, tourists and tourist facilities. We are not beach people. Knowing what we know now, we would have revised our itinerary somewhat. But for the poor food, we could have stayed on Bird Island for at least one more night but would definitely have added two days to the Coco de Mer on Praslin. We would however have excluded any nights on La Digue and just covered that island by a day trip from Praslin and a taxi tour.

Mason's Travel had made all our local arrangements and these generally went well and efficiently as did the local trips we booked through the good island representatives. The one hiccough was caused by our delayed Bird Island to Mahe to Praslin flights. We were supported well at Mahe Airport but no message from there to Praslin with our revised details seemed to have got through and we, a French family and a French group were kept waiting at the Mason's desk for some time until staff eventually arrived and transportation or hired cars were sorted out. The staff member at the Praslin Jetty could also have been more helpful and friendly on our last day on that island. Trips to Aride did not seem to be operating while those to Cousin were heavily booked. We did not attempt to go because of my mobility problems, the number of noisy participants, and a major mosquito presence. Chris had already reacted badly to sandfly bites on Bird Island and we didn't want a further similar occurrence. We made quite detailed lists of the wildlife we did see and those I shall send separately to Lucy soon.


Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None. I shall use Expert Africa again."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

Eden Bleu Hotel

"Eden Bleu Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"This is an excellent hotel but only graded good above as no-one twigged that someone arriving at 0800 hrs after a 10 hour flight would need a dayroom before spending the night there especially as one of the travelers had known disability problems. We therefore had to wait around with our luggage for nearly 5 hours waiting for our room and thus lost an opportunity to do anything else that day. The person at Reception made no real effort to speed up the process or to suggest a dayroom for which we would have willingly paid. We got the impression that as our room had been booked by Mason's Travel, we were only going top be allowed what the voucher said."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bird Island Lodge

Bird Island Lodge

"Bird Island Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2019
"First and foremost we enjoyed our five days immensely bot one has to be an avid birdwatcher, snorkeler or walker to get the best out of Bird Island.

We went fully equipped but 90% of the guests lacked binoculars so why were there none for hire? The briefing on arrival was perfunctory with insufficient information as to what one could/should not do and on what facilities were available although this was to a large degree corrected during Darrel's excellent offered walk on our third afternoon. True, there were leaflets one could read but how many people do so and a verbal message is always best. Fishing which was on the advertised list of activities was no longer available. The Bird Sightings Board was never updated although of great importance to birdwatchers. Word of mouth between guests was the order of the day. We were most grateful for the motorized lifts we were twice given to good bird viewing points as our activities would otherwise have been severely curtailed.
The biggest let-down was however the restaurant as the lack of imagination as to how to serve up the mainstays of chicken, fish, rice and pumpkin differently and with taste for each meal was stunningly obvious. Often dishes ran out and were very slowly replaced if at all. Dinner at 20.00 hrs, the latest we experienced throughout the Seychelles, was far too late for young children and anyone with indigestion problems and, as a result, we were restricted to just the soup and a few vegetables each evening. We also, like others leaving on the same day as ourselves, felt that we could have been offered something to drink while waiting for our delayed flight and doubted if we would have been offered lunch if our plane had arrived even later. There was talk of 15 more chalets being constructed - perhaps the existing facilities including the catering should be upgraded first."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Coco de Mer Hotel

Coco de Mer Hotel

"The Coco de Mer Hotel : a holiday highlight "

4 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2019
"This hotel was one of our two top holiday locations. A general grading of excellent sums up our delight with almost everything. The food was a little bland for our tastes but plentiful and with multiple choices for every course. Otherwise nothing could have been bettered. The location was sublime, the rooms outstandingly equipped, the service outstanding and both the available activities and facilities of a high standard. Being able to see Seychelles Black Parrots and Fruit Bats every evening from in front of our room was an added plus."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Le Domaine d'Orangeraie

Le Domaine d'Orangeraie

"Le Domaine d'Orangeraie in brief"

4 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2019
"This a hotel in two parts - the main excellent facilities on the seaward side of the main road and the chalets on the other. We had asked for a chalet close to the main facilities and it certainly couldn't have been any closer although that meant we had no view, were heavily shaded by trees and bamboos, and just across a stream from the sometimes noisy staff daytime quarters. But none of that really mattered nor did we complain about it as we didn't intend to spend much time in the chalet anyway. Our one complaint was about the high level of anti-mosquito preparations being used and that was corrected immediately. Otherwise the chalet and its level of facilities were extremely good. Service everywhere was of a very high, friendly and efficient standard and on three occasions staff rushed unasked to my aid when I had difficulty getting up stairs or out of the pool.. The food in both restaurants was very good with excellent choice but again it was slightly bland for our tastes in the buffet restaurant only. Our slight disappointment with La Digue as a whole undoubtedly effected our rating of this hotel."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Le Sans Souci

Le Sans Souci

"Le Sans Souci is exceptional"

5 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2019
"Le Sans Souci is not a Guest House. It is a real hillside home from home into which "family members" are welcomed by Janine, Hugues and their dogs from the moment of their arrival on Mahe right up until they leave. It is a peaceful mini-paradise far from the madding crowd. The bedrooms are outstanding with every facility and situated just down a hill from the reception, dining room, lounge area, bar, terrace and swimming pool. The views are outstanding and the local wildlife comes to one without having to be sought. We watched Fruit Bats and Tenrec feeding at less than 10 metres distance and our bird list included 6 of the12 Seychelles endemics namely the Kestrel, Blue Pigeon, Scops Owl, Swiftlet, Bulbul and Sunbird, along with many other species. We hadn't expected dinners but three course meals were available every evening on request around one big "family" table and proved to be the best and most varied dishes we were served anywhere in The Seychelles. Janine is an outstanding cook. Walking in the mountains was beyond me so the inclusion of a hire car in our package was a huge benefit which enabled us to reach most parts of the island, including many beaches and Victoria. If only Mahe was closer to England, we would be returning 3-4 times a year to Le Sans Souci for at least long weekends. It is the ideal base for individuals, couples and families."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team