This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Le Sans Souci
Le Sans Souci
Le Sans Souci
Le Sans Souci

Reviews of Le Sans Souci

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Le Sans Souci and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Birdman
Chesham

"Le Sans Souci is exceptional"

5 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2019
"Le Sans Souci is not a Guest House. It is a real hillside home from home into which "family members" are welcomed by Janine, Hugues and their dogs from the moment of their arrival on Mahe right up until they leave. It is a peaceful mini-paradise far from the madding crowd. The bedrooms are outstanding with every facility and situated just down a hill from the reception, dining room, lounge area, bar, terrace and swimming pool. The views are outstanding and the local wildlife comes to one without having to be sought. We watched Fruit Bats and Tenrec feeding at less than 10 metres distance and our bird list included 6 of the12 Seychelles endemics namely the Kestrel, Blue Pigeon, Scops Owl, Swiftlet, Bulbul and Sunbird, along with many other species. We hadn't expected dinners but three course meals were available every evening on request around one big "family" table and proved to be the best and most varied dishes we were served anywhere in The Seychelles. Janine is an outstanding cook. Walking in the mountains was beyond me so the inclusion of a hire car in our package was a huge benefit which enabled us to reach most parts of the island, including many beaches and Victoria. If only Mahe was closer to England, we would be returning 3-4 times a year to Le Sans Souci for at least long weekends. It is the ideal base for individuals, couples and families." See all these reviews: 17n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & P
Lavenham

"Le Sans Souci review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2018
"Very welcoming, great fun.

Super food which we ate with the hosts. This was great because you could talk about life in the Seychelles, great to get an insight.

We were the only people staying and were very lucky to get an upgrade to their new room - bedroom, kitchen/ lounge/ dining room. Designed by Hugues who is an architect - unbelievably beautiful place, with balcony overlooking the harbour! " See all these reviews: 8n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The D Family
Herts

"Le Sans Souci review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2016
"Janine is a lovely host and the rooms and food were superb.

It's not a very convenient location for the beach but it's nice to be out of the bustle of Beau Vallon and Victoria" See all these reviews: 6n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F & Ms K
USA

"Le Sans Souci - a hidden gem"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2016
"Located up in the mountains and away from the main towns, Le Sans Souci is a gem. The owners were onsite and could not have been more helpful or attentive. It is a small property and the feeling is that you are staying among friends. One evening we were invited up for dessert, even though we had not opted to have dinner at the property. Truly a gracious hostess!

The rooms had everything we needed, and the view from the deck was magnificent.

Le Sans Souci includes a car rental with the room. As it is out of town this makes a great deal of sense, but as North Americans used to wide highways and easy grades we found driving on Mahe to be daunting. The roads are narrow and the curves are out of this world. We only took advantage of the car one day.

We would recommend Le Sans Souci, particularly to adventurous drivers." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Seychelles; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Sandy

"Le Sans Souci"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2015
"See previous review. [Ed: see below!]" See all these reviews: 7n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Sandy

"Le Sans Souci"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2015
"A wonderful experience!

The rooms are big, airy and immaculate. The view over Victoria is stunning.

If that wasn't enough, what really sets this place apart is the hospitality from the owners. I ate there every night as they were so hospitable and the food so good. As a single traveller it was great to have some wonderful company!

I'd recommend Le Sans Souci to anyone." See all these reviews: 7n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The B family
Bristol

"Le Sans Souci review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2012
"average

For a guest house was not bad, 2 story accommodation fantastic view of the capital and other islands" See all these reviews: 12n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Banchory

"Very welcoming and great food"

4 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2011
"1. The welcome was exceptionally friendly and the owners were extremely helpful and informative by providing maps and suggestions on where to visit.
2. The free wi-fi was much appreciated.
3. The quality of the room was excellent and the standard of cleaning was very high.
4. The food was very good with particularly good use of fresh and local produce. Breakfasts were feshly prepared and very tasty.
5. Having dinner together with the owners and other guest was particularly pleasant and enjoyable.
6. It would be quite difficult to find the site on your own so being collected by the owner was desirable and appreciated.
7. Being able to hire a car from the site was a bonus.
8. Made an interesting contrast to the Coco de Mer Hotel, in terms of location and intimacy." See all these reviews: 10n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs
Ireland

"Le Sans Souci review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2010
"The accommodation was lovely. The bedroom and bathroom were really clean. One fault was that there were no toileteries supplied and there was a small leak in the shower.

The proprieters were extremely hospitable, gave very good advice on areas to explore. We also had dinner on the premises one evening and really enjoyed the experience. They were so hospitable and the food was lovely.

The drive up the accommodation is not for the faint-hearted. I can see why they have complimentary car hire because the property is isolated from nearest town of Victoria. If travellers were not willing to drive they might perhaps feel very isolated away from all those lovely beaches." See all these reviews: 5n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The A family
Surrey

"Le Sans Souci review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2010
"You would be quite mad to stay anywhere else on Mahe. It is in the middle of the national park with unbelievable views over the bay and across to Praslin fruit bats flying beneath your balcony/terrace. We were there with the owners, some Canadian relatives of theirs and a French family.

Each evening the children sat separately and we basically had a dinner party with warm and interesting people.

The food was outstanding, distinctly better than the 2 hotels we stayed at.

The car meant we explored the island fully. We can safely say no expensive hotel on Mahe would have bettered Sans Souci." See all these reviews: 7n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 11
93%
11 reviews of Le Sans Souci by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Seychelles

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Seychelles.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Mahe Island

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Constance Ephelia Resort

Ephelia Resort

The luxurious Constance Ephelia Resort is set on the quiet western coast of Mahé, overlooking Port Launay Marine National Park.


97% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa