This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The CWs from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Our Namibian adventure - April 2014

Namibia between 12 Apr 2014 and 28 Apr 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Any journey to the wilderness will bring adventures, some pleasant whilst other experiences are less so. Nothing can be guaranteed, but being prepared and being able to adapt is key to having an enjoyable time, whatever the circumstances.

So, the few problems we encountered during our 14 day stay in Namibia pale into insignificance compared to the spectacular scenery, outstanding guiding and helpful staff. Our holiday will be memorable for many years to come for all the postive things we saw, did and learned.

Tracy at Expert Africa listened to our brief and was patient in arranging and rearranging our itinerary to make our trip feasible."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 13 Apr 2014
"The wonderful scenic detour along the D2102 was worthwhile as the welcome we received could not have been more so!

The triple room was large, well equipped and clean. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious, well presented and served with a smile. Our packed lunch, which we ordered at relatively short notice, was excellent value and again beautifully presented. It was useful to have internet and mobile phone reception as we needed to sort out the problem with the hire car company.

To sum up, we were most impressed with this first overnight stop in this idyllic setting."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2014
"The location of Dore Nawas is magnificent! We were fortunate to see the area so lush and green after the recent rainfall, but can imagine that the area would look rather parched during periods of drought. The 'sleeping under the stars' is an experience worth repeating, even more so after the lesson in astronomy by our guide. Richardt is a very enthustiastic and personable guide, and we enjoyed our geology walk with him especially.

All staff at Doro Nawas are extremely friendly and helpful. We were most impressed (especially our 12-year old son) that all staff remembered and addressed us by our names.

Doro Nawas is an excellent choice for self-drives to Twyfelfontein, the Petrified Forest, the Organ Pipes and Burnt Mountain."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2014
"Without doubt, our stay at Serra Cafema was the highlight of our trip. Not only is the location unrivaled, but also the guiding, the service and the ambiance.

Gert, our guide, deserves special mention, since he was a most professional, knowledgeable and kind, especially to our 12-year old son. We enjoyed all activities with him and learned much about the Himba culture, geogolgy and wildlife in the area.

Without exception, all the staff were excellent. We will remember their friendliness and smiling faces for many years to come. Clement, the deputy manager, is an fantastic host who made us feel most welcome.

The attention to detail is outstanding, so that even out in this remote wilderness, Easter was not forgotten. The surprises laid on by the camp ensure that no day is the same. The three days here went all too quickly!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2014
"Although we had booked a triple room, since the family rooms were booked up already, the room allocated to us was too small for a teenager for three nights. However, the next day the manager arranged for our son to be moved to a guide room (although very basic it had plenty of space and all necessary services) a few minutes walk from our newly allocated room.

Considering that Grootberg is a community project and that many of the staff are new to the hospitality industry, the camp functioned very well. The staff were friendly and eager to please. We especially enjoyed the Grootberg choir during dinner one evening.

We were fortunate to see two bull elephants during our elephant safari with our guide, Gerson, as these wildlife sightings can of course not be guaranteed. The rest of the drive was enjoyable, although not as interesting as it could be, since the guide and tracker were talking to each other almost incessantly."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2014
"Ongava Lodge is a most comfortable retreat in its own private game reserve. Having spent a few hours driving in Etosha where we saw more tourists than animals, we decided to stay put in camp for the duration of our stay.

The water hole in front of the main lodge attracted a fairly regular flow of thristy animals, including zebra, waterbuck, black-faced impala, warthog, giraffe, wilderbeest, lion and rhino, as well as a martial eagle!

The staff were all friendly and eager to point out any visitors to the waterhole, in case we had missed these ourselves. Salomon, our guide was most personable and kind. The service is outstanding and the rooms tastefully and comfortably furnished. The food was delicious and varied and the menu choice excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guest House review"

1 night Arrived 26 Apr 2014
"The Elegant Guest House was a perfect stop-over at the end of our Namibian travels. The rooms, although small, our clean and well equipped and thought out with a good hot shower.

The breakfast was elegantly served with a good choice of cereals, cold meat & cheeses and hot selection. We were most impressed with the faultless arrangements for booking dinner and shuttle to and from the restaurant."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team