This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms V family trip from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

Trip of a lifetime

Namibia between 23 Jul 2013 and 8 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were thrilled with our trip. Namibia was an excellent choice for so many reasons. Such a beautiful and unspoilt country - with incredibly well-designed and high-end tourist facilities. First class hotels and delicious food. Good roads and safe to drive. Incredibly varied experiences, amazing animals, wonderful people, fascinating and troubled history.

The whole family (two adults and two teenage boys) loved this truly memorable trip. An amazing adventure which we would highly recommend.

We were also blown away by the superb advice and service we received from Sabina at Expert Africa. She worked so hard to plan our trip and take our preferences into account. Once we were in Namibia, she was also extraordinarily helpful, even phoning our emergency contact in London to track us down when we left a coat behind in a hotel - and then phoning us directly in Namibia - and all this within half an hour of us checking out. We were also very impressed and grateful that Wilderness Safaris organized an upgrade for us at Okaukuejo once they realized they'd made a mistake with our booking. And we were thrilled that Sabina recommended that we stay at Erongo despite the fire - excellent advice on her part that resulted in one of the most memorable 24 hours of our entire trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We found Expert Africa to be a remarkable company and cannot thank you enough for an amazing experience.

(We had no idea that such superb travel agents even existed!!)"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Peaceful luxury at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2013
"Lovely well-designed rooms. Excellent lunch when we arrived and very good breakfast the next morning.

Really helpful staff who booked us a table for dinner in a restaurant and arranged transport to drop us off and pick us up. Bius the driver was delightful. The staff also went to the trouble of contacting Expert Africa when we left a coat behind - so we were able to go back and retrieve it.

We were really impressed by this level of service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2013
"We loved the scenery and surroundings at Zebra River as well as the springbock and warthogs grazing on the front lawn.

It was very exciting to see animals (kudu and zebra) at the waterhole on our first night in the countryside. However, we weren't very keen on the food (too ambitious and overcomplicated) and the place is quite odd. There were very few visitors (us and one other couple) - and the place felt a bit abandoned. Our room was strange too - a stone house with a sort of baronial hall attached. It felt like a folly built for slightly inexplicable reasons - although the rooms were spacious and well appointed.

We booked a guided walk for the morning after our arrival - but there was some confusion and the guide announced over breakfast that he wouldn't take us. The owner then sorted this out - but the guide was monosyllabic on the walk and told us nothing. We loved the surroundings so were glad to have done a walk - and it later turned out the guide wasn't feeling well and hadn't eaten for three days - but no one mentioned this to us and the whole episode felt rather mismanaged."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Beautifully designed fabulous place"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2013
"We loved everything about this place. It looks amazing, rooms were lovely, staff were wonderful, food was great, view was beautiful - everything superb!

One of our favourite destinations."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"High standards at Central Guest House"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2013
"The rooms were comfortable, nice bed linen, very clean, excellent showers. Lovely helpful hosts and good breakfast.

We weren't so keen on the decor however - but it was a safe, clean and convenient place to spend two nights if you want to visit Swakopmund.

Whilst in Swakopmund, we organised an activity Kayaking at Pelican Point. They commented:

Magical experience kayaking amongst the seals.

We loved this trip. Jeanne is terrific and very knowlegeable and fantastically well-organized.

We were bowled over by the flamingoes, the seals and the dolphins. An extraordinary once-in-a-lifetime experience, not to be missed. It made our stay in Swakopmund."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Magical experience kayaking amongst the seals"

29 Jul 2013 • Morning excursion

We loved this trip. Jeanne is terrific and very knowlegeable and fantasatically well-organized.

We were bowled over by the flamingoes, the seals and the dolphins. An extraordinary once-in-a-lifetime experience, not to be missed. It made our stay in Swakopmund.
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Fabulously stylish place with stunning views."

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2013
"Another amazing destination. We were glad we'd paid the extra to stay in such a remarkably designed place - where everything looked exquisite. The attention to detail was on another level - better than we've experienced in designer hotels in Los Angeles or New York!!

Fabulous scenery and a truly memorable trip to find the desert elephants - another highlight of our stay.

Our guide Athanassius was brilliant - charming, funny and very knowledgeable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

"Damara Mopane disappointing"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"Good facilities at a reasonable price and well looked after and efficiently run.

However, compared to some of our other destinations, it felt like a rather unappealing place for a stopover. Nothing to detain us here. The view from the sundowner terrace is of a flat and featureless landscape and we felt a bit crowded out by so many other tourists."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great experience at Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2013
"Due to a mistake in our reservation, we were upgraded to a Premier Waterhole Chalet. The style and design were remarkable - just completely perfect. It was amazing to be so close to the waterhole and to have rhinos, elephants etc just outside our window.

Food was very good too and the staff in the restaurant very lovely. Grumpy staff in the tourist centre who were reluctant to answer questions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Beautiful and restful spot"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2013
"After two days in Etosha, we arrived here and just relaxed in the beautiful and peaceful surroundings. Again, remarkably exquisite design, truly fabulous food (better than Europe) and extremely friendly and helpful staff.

One quibble - there was a powerful smell of sewage as we walked to our rooms - and we even had wafts of it in the dining room when we were eating. But it shows what a fabulous place this was that we still absolutely adored it here and didn't want to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Heavenly time at Erongo"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2013
"Because of the recent fire at Erongo, all the other tourists had (foolishly) cancelled. This meant we had the remarkable good luck to have the whole of Erongo to ourselves. This was an amazing place and a fabulous experience.

The fire had not had any negative impact on the facilities and had been dealt with very well. The place is stunning, incredible scenery, lovely walks, great guide (Johnny) and beautiful tented accommodation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Disappointing stay at Elegant Farmstead"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2013
"An inconvenient place to get to - 27km down a dirt road, and disappointing when we arrived. Unattractive decor and we weren't charmed by the staff. We also couldn't eat the food, which was not nice. Breakfast wasn't good either.

The most disappointing place we stayed - although it made it easier for us to leave Namibia, as otherwise we wouldn't have wanted to depart!!"
Excellent
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team