This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead
Elegant Farmstead

Reviews of Elegant Farmstead

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Elegant Farmstead and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Elegant Farmstead.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 12 Dec 2012
"This was a good first stop after our long flight as it was only a reasonably short journey being just before reaching Okahanja. The road to the Farmstead was pretty rough due to many reconstructions taking place at the moment on the 27.5 Km D2102.

Warm welcome from the manageress, very quiet here, only two other guests. Very nice garden area and pool. Not a lot of wild life seen. Our room was very comfortable and the evening meal was excellent ." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2012
"This was our last night's stay in Namibia and was ideal.

The hospitality was excellent and the staff all very helpful. We didn't take part in any of the activities provided, but we did a couple of self guided walks, one of which had directions provided. Both walks were enjoyable and we saw quite a bit of game. It was a very restful place to stay and finish our trip. For us it was preferable than staying in Windhoek.

The food was excellent and tea and coffee is provided all day in the main reception area. The gardens are very pleasant. With a very large swimming pool." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms J
Brighton

"Relaxed and homely"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2012
"What a lovely spot - it was just a shame the road there was bad with several corrugations and stones." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
E, S, E & R
UK

"Last night at Elegant Farmstead"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2012
"Elegant Farmstead was great for a stay near enough to Windhoek to make a lunchtime flight without getting up at the crack of dawn. It's a really nice place in its own right too, however. It's a fairly lengthy drive up a bumpy gravel road from the B1, but worth it.

The rooms were well-furnished and set in lovely gardens - but the bathrooms need a bit of upgrading and the shower was rather weak. There's a lovely pool, home-made cakes mid-afternoon, and very good food and wine. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable way to end our holiday after all the travelling." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T&M &Ms S&J
UK

"Elegant Farmstead, a tranquil oasis"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"An excellent stop off on our way north, just 1.5 hours from Windhoek. This was the ideal place to rest after a long overnight flight from the UK.

We found it really homely, very peaceful and tranquil it was just what we needed. The rooms were comfortable, the food and service was excellent and the farmstead was set in beautiful surroundings.Definitely a place to remember.
We enjoyed a lovely game drive here too, it was wonderful.

Could perhaps benefit from a "buggy" to carry luggage to rooms, there was no help offered on this front!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
W Lothian

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"Good. comfortable clean good pool. Very friendly." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Purley

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"Very helpful indeed particularly as we left a necklace which they went to great lengths to ensure we got it back.

Could fully recommend although the 27.5k road is a bit rough. Enjoyable walk in the area in lovely surroundings.
Food very enjoyable." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hereford

"A good first night stop over"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2012
"THe Farm stead was easy to find, friendly welcome and a pleasant Sundowner drive and evening meal." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr P &R & Ms H & S
UK

"Cosy campfire at Elegant"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2012
"We travelled here from Mushara via Tsumeb and Okahandja where there are craft shops / market to buy souvenirs from but apart from that we didn't find much else to see in the area.

Elegant is a handy location if you are wanting to relax before returning to Windhoek prior to flying home. The rooms are set in a lovely landscaped garden with an outside decking area and a pool. The food was of good quality especially the breakfast. It was great to to sit outside around a fire after dinner and chat to other travellers." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Mrs C
London

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2012
"Arrived late from Etosha and left early for the airport, so we only spent a limited amount of time at the Farmstead.

The staff, grounds and food were great, but the rooms are a little outdated and the road to the Farmstead is a little rugged ... We passed 3 cars with flats, which is a bit of a worry on the way to airport! Would definitely recommend it for an overnight stay on the way to Etosha" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 37
90%
37 reviews of Elegant Farmstead by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
9
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (72 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (25 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (13 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa