This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr P &R & Ms H & S from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

My Apr 2012 trip

Namibia between 29 Apr 2012 and 15 May 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was our first one to Namibia and all four of us really enjoyed the whole of the experience.

The people and accommodation lived up to / exceeded our expectations. There is lots to see and do and there were a lot of miles to drive which we did expect and it was good to share the driving between four of us. The roads were an experience in themselves. Namibia offers a good variety of places to visit including deserts, mountains, coast and plains with lots of wildlife. The food was good but the main course of meat and veg did get a bit repetitive.

We would recommend anyone to visit Namibia and use the services of Expert Africa who were very helpful, informative and knowledgeable."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Great first night at Kalahari Anib"

1 night Arrived 30 Apr 2012
"We only stayed here for one night, our first night in Namibia.

We received a very warm welcome after our long journey and were shown to our room which was opposite the bush. The 4 course evening meal was lovely and we were treated to after dinner entertainment by the staff a great first night."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune fab location in the national park"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2012
"We stayed here for two nights after travelling from Mariental. The location is fantastic being inside the national park with the advantage of early access to the Sossusvlei area. The rooms are huge and beautifully furnished with amazing views and a deck on which it's nice to have a drink and watch the sun go down.

Paul had his 50th here and the staff made a very nice (and big) birthday cake, what a surprise! The food was good and the service was excellent.

Tip - put your toe into the pool before jumping in to test the temperature it's freezing! Highly recommend is the local hot air balloon trip which was amazing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Friendly atmosphere at Sams"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2012
"Sams Giardino is in a handy location just outside of town in a quiet area of Swakopmund. Sam is ready to help with any excursion ideas on the local area, with lots of reference books being available.

We didn't eat there but he was happy to suggest places to eat and book us a table. Beethoven, a huge Bernise mountain dog, was very friendly and barked a welcome as you came into the tranquil garden via the outside gate. Breakfast was a casual affair with a good choice and Sam on hand to discuss your plans for the day. The rooms were adequate and functional.

Expert Africa organised for these travellers a day-trip to Sandwich Harbor; they commented:

Ernst our driver and tour guide for the day trip was great he was very knowledgeable and passionate about the environment and wildlife and a very experienced 4x4 driver. The trip was a full day and included a lovely two course lunch at a great location on the edge of the dunes overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The time in Sandwich Harbour is governed by the tide and unfortunately we didn't get much time there to explore however there was lots else to see."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Ride the dunes with Turnstone Tours"

4 May 2012 • All-day excursion

Ernst our driver and tour guide for the day trip was great he was very knowledgeable and passionate about the environment and wildlife and a very experienced 4x4 driver. The trip was a full day and included a lovely two course lunch at a great location on the edge of the dunes overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The time in Sandwich Harbour is governed by the tide and unfortunately we didn't get much time there to explore however there was lots else to see.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Great experience sleeping outside at Doro"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2012
"An imposing fortress like lodge on a small hill greets you on arrival. Wow it was hot 39° and it was winter!

The rooms were lovely and very spacious although in the searing heat air conditioning would be good, there was only a ceiling fan. Massive patio doors on to a large deck area meant you could pull the beds outside and sleep under the stars, however the wildlife (moths, bats, lizards, birds) could make sleeping disturbed all the same it was a great experience. The outside shower was also good.

On the first night we had dinner outside on the roof and after dinner entertainment from the staff.

A good location from which to visit Organ Pipes, Burnt Mountain and the rock paintings at Twelfylfontein. Afternoon tea was a nice touch too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Deluxe Dolomite"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2012
"The camp is the new NWR camp in Etosha which is much more up market and smaller than the other two camps in the Park. The rooms were not huge but perfectly formed with a fantastic view over the large open plain below. A nearby waterhole can be seen from the camp and we saw our first elephants there, a herd. The food was great.

After dark you had to ring for an escort to walk from your room to the main building for dinner as the lodge was not fenced in, this added to the atmosphere. As this side of Etosha is only accessible to guests staying here traffic was sparse but the wildlife was not as plentiful as on the east side of the Park.

We travelled across the whole width of Etosha from the Galton Gate in the east and only only stopped at Dolomite for one night on route through, you could spend more time here and chill in this lovely camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great waterhole at Okaukuejo"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2012
"The camp is a large one and our room was located in a terraced concrete row which didn't look great from the outside but was spacious and well appointed on the inside.

The food was buffet style and not the best compared to other camps we visited. However the camp is well located inside Estosha on the east side where there are many waterholes to visit and wildlife to view.

There is a waterhole at the camp which is floodlit at night which is great and we saw various wildlife there including elephant, rhino (5), giraffe and an owl."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Boma eating at Mushara"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2012
"Good location just outside Etosha alongside a couple of other Mushara accomodations. The rooms are very well appointed tent cabins set in a reserve, where we saw warthog and duikers.

The reception / dining area is open fronted and very well furnished with a large round fire inside it's stunning. We had dinner outside in the boma on the first night which was great, although the quantity of food at the buffet / barbeque did not seem enough for those there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Cosy campfire at Elegant"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2012
"We travelled here from Mushara via Tsumeb and Okahandja where there are craft shops / market to buy souvenirs from but apart from that we didn't find much else to see in the area.

Elegant is a handy location if you are wanting to relax before returning to Windhoek prior to flying home. The rooms are set in a lovely landscaped garden with an outside decking area and a pool. The food was of good quality especially the breakfast. It was great to to sit outside around a fire after dinner and chat to other travellers."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove an oasis in the city"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2012
"The welcome was great the staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were fantastic they were very spacious had a TV and bath which we hadn't experienced for two weeks. We sat out on the balcony next to the rooms in the early evening sipping wine which was chilling.

The Olive Grove is a real oasis within Namibia's capital city. We decided to eat out on our last night in Namibia at Luigi and the Fish, where the food was very good. The hotel provided us with a complimentary shuttle service to and from the restaurant which was unexpected but much appreciated. Breakfast at the Olive Grove was fantastic."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team