This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T & Ms M from W Molesey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

7

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

67

Excursions taken

0

My 2015 trip

Namibia between 8 Dec 2015 and 29 Dec 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Absolutely fine, no particular problems, the weather this time was mixed with more than usual in the way of stormy and wet days, which meant ETOSHA had fewer animals around."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Na'ankuse

"Warm welcome on a return to the Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 9 Dec 2015
"We received the usual warm welcome from the manager on our return and staff who remembered from last year.

Settled in very easily and ready for all the included activities in our. 3 day stay.

The full board is always interesting, too many options, not good for waistlines!"
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Great scenery"

3 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2015
"Very warm reception as a returning couple for or 3 day stay this time. Great place to relax and just soak up the scenery.
Not the most prolific place for animals apart from baboons but excellent for bird watching and nature walks. Very helpful staff and first class food.

Maureen enjoyed the birthday cake and singing greeting and my 'HOT TODDY' after getting a chill from a rain soaking at our previous lodge. Many thanks to Elaine the Manageress. Sorry to move on from this place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Erindi

"All inclusive but a bit souless"

3 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2015
"Our third stay at Erindi, it does provide everything you would wish from a large lodge, all the animals freely roaming the area and drives twice daily to locate them in their own habitat. great for photos.

Food is served buffet style and there is always plenty of choice.

Accommodation is first class, most rooms have views over smaller waterholes

Overall a really well run place but with so many people coming and going it tends to be a bit souless."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

The Farmhouse

"Happy and busy place"

1 night Arrived 18 Dec 2015
"Our short stopover is always interesting with all the activity and characters around the Farmhouse.
Good food and helpful staff.

Sorry to find The Bakerie opposite has been demolished to make way for bigger premises and a Spa next year."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Ok for short stay"

2 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2015
"Halali seems to be suffering from lack of maintenance these days and feels slightly more run down than our last visit.

Maybe more staff enthusiam might help.

Rooms are OK but the evening meal was not good value or appetising we didn't bother the second night."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Wild weather at Mushara Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2015
"We like the layout at Mushara and the quality of the meru tents among the grounds with the odd DIK-DIK wandering outside as well as other small creatures. It does make for a more 'bush feel'.

The food is of a high quaulity if sometimes there are some odd choices.

The closeness to the Von Lindquist gate is great for the daily visit to ETOSHA (8Km) away. We did see more animals, particularly elephants at this part of Etosha (nearer to Namutoni) than elsewhere in the park.

We also had a few wild storms during our three day stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Christmas at Waterberg"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2015
"A lot more people here as its Christmas than any of our previous visits but staff very helpful and everything went well.

The baboons were here in numbers as usual but there seemed to be no problems with them.

We just relaxed here and did not go on any activities or walks."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

"Nature park just outside Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 26 Dec 2015
"Really only a very short stopover so cannot say a lot about this place. Chalet room was a very modern design bright and colourful.

The park seemed mainly to be used as a camping sites for local people with the swimming pool as the main attraction.The Boma restaurant was largely empty but we found the food to be excellent for our evening meal and the breakfast.

The alternative Kraal restaurant advertised in their brochure does seem to be permanently closed and unused for some time.

We did not have time to explore any of the park but there are animals and good hikes apparently. Very attractive landscape but no longer any water in the dams."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Na'ankuse

"nice end to our 15th Namibian trip"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2015
"Nothing we can add to our two stays here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

My Dec 2014 trip

Namibia between 9 Dec 2014 and 30 Dec 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Having to arrange this trip to facilitate the places we wanted to stay did cause me think about the extra driving i was taking on but in the end everything worked out fine.

As usual many thanks to Tracy (Sabine for Etango) for all their help."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch Guest Farm

"Etango Ranch Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 10 Dec 2014
"This stopover close to the airport was just what was needed after the long journey.

Greeted by Mrs Grellman who welcomed us and settled us into a very comfortable room for our brief stay.

Tea and cake in the afternoon was followed by an excellent dinner.

Thoroughly recommended."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"One of our best stays"

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2014
"Well what a transformation has taken place here since our last visit (a few years ago) the new tents are very spacious with good outside areas,our tent even had a splash pool complete with shower unit.

The lack of many animals is more than compensated by the surrounding scenery , there are a few visitors to the waterhole other than baboons. Many different birds seen around the restaurant.

The staff here are very friendly from the manager to all of the staff without exception and the birthday greetings and cake for Maureen was much appreciated especially the vegetarian options. The food here was first class, altogether one of best stays, well done ERONGO!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Naankuse

"Different type of stay"

3 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2014
"This year our visit to Naankuse was for a three day stay, we really enjoyed being involved with all the activities on offer here which included walking with KIKI the cheetah, LEXY the caracal, feeding and visiting the leopard, wild dogs and lion enclosures. We also visited the farm where the volunteers stay and what they do for the conservation of the mainly rescue animals including large numbers of baboons.

Very friendly staff at the main lodge, excellent meals (great variety of choice most days). Again a surprise bottle of sparkling wine for Maureen's birthday.
All sorts of animals seen in the lodge area including a young ostrich who tried to enter the restaurant for lunch!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Quiet stay at waterberg"

2 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2014
"Long drive here from Naankuse so it was nice to relax here especially as the weather has been so hot so far and here its seems slightly cooler.

Few guests staying here so the general service was good and the food options although limited were OK.

Still the strange arrangement with the 500r returnable deposit, why? nobody checks anything!
Shop still has very little stock.

Animals seen around our chalet were mainly baboons, banded mongoose and dik-dik.
We enjoyed our quiet stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2014
"Our second visit to this camp for a three day stay, we like the scattered tents with their own space surrounding them.and you get the occasional Dik-Dik passing by.

The closeness of the Von Lindquist gate (8km) means quick entry into Etosha We visited TSUMCORE waterhole many times during our stay, it produced the best sightings of elephants seen this year (40+).Animals in general were scarcer than usual due to some early rains.

The staff here were very helpful and attentive,food excellent too. although vegetarian options were limited.

Good pool.

Good stay!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2014
"Original chalet offered had been adapted for 'disabled persons' so we asked for a alternative chalet in case it was required for its intended purpose. We were upgraded to a 'honeymoon chalet' for a small extra charge of 180r for our two day stay, and it came with a jacuzzi.

The camp seemed to be packed with campers this year rather than chalet occupants but it was generally busy. Catering was the usual buffet every day OK but not very interesting.

Moringa waterhole was quiet with few animals on both nights we were there."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Farmhouse

"friendly overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 23 Dec 2014
"Our brief stop here was fine,staff always friendly and helpful.

Good and tasty evening meal,nice breakfast. Recommended as a stopover betwwen Etosha and Windhoek."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Naankuse

"Our Christmas break"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2014
"Our second visit on this trip and to enjoy Christmas with this friendly bunch of staff.

Christmas day started with champagne at breakfast followed by excellence lunch and evening dinner ,too much food!.

Later we walked again with three cheetahs, really nice day.

Sorry to leave this place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Erindi

"Erindi review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2014
"Erindi is a place that provides everything in one place ,magnificent waterhole ,all the animals ,game drives,really good food but there is little personal contact which you generally find in the small lodges.

Accommodation is first class ,we had animals passing our window all daylong. The drives are well organised and guides knowledgeable.

A place to wind down before the long journey home."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

My Nov 2013 trip

Namibia between 5 Nov 2013 and 23 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thanks to Tracy's sterling effort it was very good trip and up to Expert Africa usual high standard of organisation.

Regret not being able to have used SAA this time, we are not fans of BA."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Naan Kuse Lodge - Okahandja

"Thoroughly recommended start to a trip"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2013
"New choice for us and only an hour from the airport via the M53. Very interesting place with good variety of activities mainly around feeding of hand reared orphan animals and are in very large enclosures. Soloman our guide was very knowledgeable about what the Foundation does here.

Excellent food and the unusual house- style of the accommodation was very interesting and comfortable.

We would mention that the receptionist did'nt mention that all activities were included in the price of the booking when we arrived and so missed some opportunities. Having said all of that we could happily stayed another day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Auberge Omulonga, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Auberge Omulonga review"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2013
"We have stayed here before and our welcome was as warm as ever from Christine and Jean Paul.

This place is great for a stopover either for a start of your fly-drive or the last stop."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

The Farmhouse - Outjo

"Lively place for a short stop"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2013
"Lovely ,lively staff made this stop a pleasure.Good clean room but the only entrance to the room was via a fire- type staircase but friendly staff helped us with luggage.

Recommend the really good pizza's and cakes on sale here."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"good company at Huab but very hot!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2013
"Unfortunately Jan and Suzie were away at Swakop so missed the chance of reunion but the other guests here were good company especially Johann (resident well-being expert)

Drought conditions meant that animal sightings were limited."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2013
"Inspite of the great location we found you have to be prepared for the effort of getting to and from your room The pathways are fairly narrow and uneven with steep inclines in places,the only other means of getting to the restaurants and bar etc are via the golf buggies that shuttle guests back and forth.

A lot of the waterholes had dried out so local sightings of animals were limited."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"A very busy place"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2013
"Our one night stay here was enough, although the accommodation was fine the catering was fairly chaotic with so many people the staff had a tough time keeping up with buffet content.

The waterhole had plenty of visiting animals and is always great watching"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Relaxing place"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2013
"We really liked this place, the tented accommodation was very spacious and attractively furnished.
The staff here were very attentive...

The large open sided boma made an ideal setting for meals, the evening usually ended with the staff singing and dancing to us. As the camp is only 8km from the Von Lindquist gate it was easy to day trip into that part of Etosha."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Ohange - Otavi

"Our second visit to Ohange"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2013
"Warmly received by Karla and Justus on our second visit,a place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of the surrounding area with animals visiting their (floodlit) waterhole on and off ..

Very attractive swimming pool

Karla took us a tour and feed of cattle on their farm nearby which was interesting.
Evening meal, depending on the weather, is braai style together with other guests"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Quiet stay this time"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2013
"Another place were you do as much or as little in the way of activity as you wish. Unfortunately I had picked up a 'bug' along the way and spent a lot of time recuperating on our short stay but we did see groups of baboons (and heard them) a few Dik Dik,
a very large group of banded Mongoose

Food was buffet style and pretty bland.

Staff very friendly at a busy time on this visit"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Erindi

"A luxury lodge"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2013
"A long drive off the D2414 and a twisty road from the main entrance of Erindi to the reception area of the lodge itself. We were booked in on the 'all inclusive package' but we were allocated the VIP suite known as the Livingstone Room. This was a completely self- contained unit overlooking the main huge waterhole complete with four poster bed ,window bath ,the largest shower unit we have seen to-date all the drinks etc. a small pool and finally a huge TV (NOT switched on).

The waterhole contained a resident large pod of Hippo,many crocodiles,maribou storks.Visitors included elephant.zebra,kudu.springbok giraffe.Highlight of our time here was the sighting of the pack of wilddogs chasing a warthog.

Having said all of the above we think this place is a very comfortable..

All the animals here are free roaming in the 70,000 hectares of the lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Auberge Omulonga, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Second stay on this trip"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2013
"Not much more we can say about this place and its very friendly owners

Anybody who wants a B&B not too far from or to the airport ,we would thoroughly recommend Auberge Omulonga."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

My Dec 2012 trip

Namibia between 11 Dec 2012 and 29 Dec 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"On our return to Namibia after three years it was going to be interesting to see whether anything very much had changed and
we found the real friendlyness of people was still there ,apart from more police speed and document checks!

Overall we really enjoyed our umpteenth trip, my first time driving a 4x4 was a plus.

Well done Expert Africa once again."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 12 Dec 2012
"This was a good first stop after our long flight as it was only a reasonably short journey being just before reaching Okahanja. The road to the Farmstead was pretty rough due to many reconstructions taking place at the moment on the 27.5 Km D2102.

Warm welcome from the manageress, very quiet here, only two other guests. Very nice garden area and pool. Not a lot of wild life seen. Our room was very comfortable and the evening meal was excellent ."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2012
"We like this place, nice and quiet at this time of year. Our bungalow was fine .

There was a welcome breeze which helped to keep the now hot temperatures comfortable. There seemed to far fewer baboons this time but those who were around were no problem. Many birds seen particularly Hoopoe's, groups of banded mongoose and several Dik-Diks.
Food at the restaurant was pretty good and reasoneable priced.

We don't quite understand the deposit system as nobody seems to check anything."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Ohange Lodge

"Ohange Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Dec 2012
"This place was a real find in our opinion .As we were looking for an alternative to Khorab. Ohanje Lodge was about 20Km after Otavi on the B1 (entrance on the main road).R ough track to the main farmhouse but a very warm welcome from the owners Justus and Karla on arrival.They also have a dairy farm nearby and have a long experiece of the tourist industry and conservation .Very comfortable chalet rooms set in a rocky landscape also a very good pool.

The outlook from the farmhouse is over a large open space with a floodlit waterhole which receives a lot of wildlife including black wilderbest, impala, eland and warthogs. Lots of birdlife including paradise fly catchers.

Very pleasant braai meal in the garden to end the day.

We would happily spent a couple of days here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2012
"Still find the parking and baggage transfer a little strange but the accommodation is fine. Main disappointment is the restaurant, not much choice on an 'a la carte' arrangement in the evenings.

The ability to drive around this part of Etosha is the big plus, the pan had large numbers of flamingo and although Chudop waterhole was disappointing this time Tsumcore more than made up for it. Several hyena were sitting in the water when a huge herd of elephant appeared (over 50).Prior to this several giraffe and warthogs. Did see a couple of lion in the side track Klein Namatoni just lazing as they do."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2012
"On the drive to Halali we stopped of to take in the Goas waterhole, usually very busy, but there was virtually nothing to be seen. Other waterholes such as Rietfontaine, Salvadore, Suede had very little to offer we think earlier December rains had an effect. The vast open plains also seem to be bereft of wildlife this time.

The Moringa waterhole at Halali did not have many visitors in the evening. a sole elephant on one night, second night did have a group of elephants and two rhino, the third night a spectacular storm hit and everybody left very quickly!

Our best waterole was Kalkheuwel back towards Namatomi, very green area Several visits by all of the antelopes but no predators. Later we did see a lion at Goas eating the remains of an impala.

Chalet was fine but again the 'a la carte' menu in the restaurant did not have many options. Fuel garage helped with tyre change."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

"Etosha Safari Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Dec 2012
"First impressions were of very friendly staff here, the decor is based around a Shebeen theme with lots of old political posters and all sorts of paraphernalia from the past. The room was very comfortable, ours was close to the pool and eating area but others are spaced over the hillside.

The evening meal was buffet style with a good choice of meats and vegetables.Tables are set in a circular area and two musicians entertained us all evening.

We really enjoyed our brief stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Bush Pillow GH

"Bush Pillow GH review"

1 night Arrived 22 Dec 2012
"Unfortunately as we approached Otjiwarongo the skies darkened as we booked into the guest house then followed thunder and lightening.
The room was fine and has a nice small garden.No evening meal available so we were recommended to try the C'est Si Bon' hotel in Otjiwarongo,the meal was exceptionally good and very reasonable priced.We think this would be a good place to stay another time.

The gardens looked very good as well."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Lake Oanab Resort

"Lake Oanab Resort review"

1 night Arrived 23 Dec 2012
"Chalet room fine, one of a small terrace overlooking the lake, pretty area but a bit hilly you would find it difficult to go down to the restaurant without a vehicle. A very heavy rain storm brewed up in the late afternoon, lots of thunder and lightening made going down to the lakeside restaurant interesting in the evening but the food was pretty good (large portions).

The resort obviously caters for the many watersports and quad biking and it can get noisy at times.

As expected the next morning was warm and sunny."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2012
"We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day here.The room we had was very spacious and had a lovely outlook across the bush to the distant dunes. It would have been nice had there been a small fridge to keep drinks cool particularly as it is the hottest time of the year.

Meals are served on an open terrace, candle lit in the evening, a huge choice of dishes available on a 'buffet' style arrangement.The only moan was the meats cooked by the chefs was tough as 'old boots' on both evening meals, suggest you ask for meat to be 'well done' to avoid 'endless chewing'.

We did visit the approach to Dead Vlei one afternoon but really no sign of any wildlife on route.

A good place to relax and thats what we did."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Image alt

Solitaire Guestfarm

"Solitaire Guestfarm review"

1 night Arrived 26 Dec 2012
"Short journey to Solitaire on the C19, stopped off to visit Mooses Bakery, now enlarged, he said he remembered us from our many visits in the past. The Guestfarm is very near to Solitaire literally.First impressions were of a lovely layout with a cool garden area and lots of shade around the old farmhouse, it has two pools,one large and a smaller plunge type.

there are many animals around the place, rabbits, peacocks, cats, dogs chickens and a African grey parrot.
The room was very comfortable but no aircon so was pretty hot at night.

Excellent food ,again 'buffet' style ,a 'honesty' bar for drinks.
Other guests were mainly American (relatives of the owner) all made a very friendly atmosphere.

We did visit the Cheetah project run by N/a'an Kuse^ on a enclosure within the guestfarm ,very interesting it was too.
Another place we would recommend and stayed longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 27 Dec 2012
"Long drive to Windhoek using the Spreeghoote Pass, no problem for the Toyota.

First impressions of Galton House, situated in a quiet area of Windhoek, is of a modern design on a old house after being madeover. No real outside area apart from the pool.O ur room was though, very spacious and comfortable. Our evening meal was adequate but very small portions for the price.

Unfortunately, although the manager was friendly enough, this place does lack any kind of atmosphere. OK for our last stop and a chance to visit Windhoek next morning. Sad to find the Zoo Cafe now gone and also the Old Brewery with its arts and crafts centre."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average

My Nov 2009 trip

Namibia between 8 Nov 2009 and 24 Nov 2009

Trip rating: Good
"Because of our fairly late booking some of our first choices were unavailable and thus we had to compromise and shorten our trip this year. Prices in some cases seem to have risen significantly. Some parts of Namibia are now becoming overdeveloped particularly just outside ETOSHA. That said there is still plenty of space to go round!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We have always been very happy with the service all the staff at Expert Africa have provided to us over many years now and long may it continue."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Auberge Omulonga, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Great viewing in Etosha"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2009
"Auberge Omulonga(French owners)
Monday 9/11/09

This is a delightful first stop in Namibia at Okahanja.Situated near to the woodcarvers market it is a little oasis with a charming garden and small pool..It is about an hours drive from the airport.

Christine and JeanPaul and family own this B&B.The accommodation is in 4 rooms,very good food ,excellent value for money.You can also arrange for any other meals.

Some road noise early morning."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

"Waterberg Plateau Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2009
"As our first visit to a refubished NWR it was a pleasant surprise,the bush chalet (4 bed) was indeed very spacious and comfortable.If you are not fond of baboons perhaps this is not the place for you,they do wander about the lodge area but there is plenty of warnings about keeping doors etc closed.

A great place for birders,other animals included families of banded mongoose.The restaurant and choice of food was fine,staff atttentive and curteous.Would have stayed another day.Did not go on any organised drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2009
"We would not recommend the double/twin rooms,the redesign of these rooms needs a rethink especially the toilet/shower area,just about enough room for one small person to use! Considering the recent makeover of this camp things are beginning to look tatty.Missing chair,only one glass,reception say they do not have any replacements.We do not understand the deposit/inventory system as nobody checks anything when you leave.

Anyway the main reason for staying here is the ability to drive around ETOSHA from daybreak to dusk and the animals did not let us down particularly the waterhole at Rietfontein,huge numbers of elephants.The Moringa watehole in the camp 'a bit hit and miss' for night watchers,surprisingly quiet at times."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2009
"Our first stay here for many years so it was interesting to see the changes.We liked the inner fort area where the restaurant is situated but still only one choice (not two as in their brochure).Very strange arrangement with park&ride to your chalet.Our chalet no42 was right beside the camping area which was very noisy at times.The chalet itself was very bright and had all the modern fittings ,large area for the bath/shower ,dimming lights(nice touch).Did not like outside area which consisted of high fencing and gravel!
Pool area OK but then no towels available.

The waterholes outside of the camp were great for viewing particularly Chudop,large numbers of giraffe seen here.

Although booking was described as Full Board and their own flyer states LDB&B, the reception staff says lunch is not included in the price"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Khorab Lodge

"Khorab Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2009
"We really liked this stopover,the garden area is particularly attractive but there is some traffic noise due to its proximinity to the main road.

We had our best evening meal here ,excellent cooking,recommended.

Our visit was only spoilt by a very noisy group of locals using the pool area in the afternoon."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2009
"Not our happiest stay .Reception staff did not (we think)give us clear information about what Half Board included as regard to the activities and this did lead to some confusion when bill paying ,as our last visit in 2007 included all activities .We were particularly concerned that the evening visit to the night feed was now chargeable ,on one night the visit lasted for only appx. half hour(the porcupine were still feeding when the member of staff led everybody out) and this was shown on our bill as 316N$ ,this charge was taken off afterwards.

We were told that as previous guests that we would have the chance to see the feeding of the cheetah's which our guide Chris managed to arrange but unfortunately a cheetah had escaped that morning and could not be located so we had to make do with a visit to main camp.However Dave Houghton came and apologised the following morning and we did have the bonus of a long chat on the latest news from Africat.

We did think that the evening meals were not of the same standard of our last visit."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Auberge Omulonga, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2009
"Wednesday 18/11/09

Second visit to Auberge Omulonga, even more delightful.We did manage meet Jean Paul very briefly on a flying visit ,he had a group visiting the Okahandja market,he is a tour guide for a French company."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

"Solitaire country lodge"

1 night Arrived 19 Nov 2009
"Made a useful stopover on our way to Zebra River Lodge.Very busy place mainly with large groups.

We were lucky in that the pool was back in use after maintenance.It was very hot here.The room was fine and clean.Restaurant served the usual buffet.

The best thing about Solitaire is the bakery now seperate from the general store.Moose is in charge and the apple crumble is just as good as ever,the bakery also has a selection of other delightful cakes and pasteries.A must place to visit!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2009
"As frequent guests at Zebra River we knew it would be a different place following the departure of Rob & Marianne Field.The new owners Peter& Elke Young intend to change the way ZRL was managed and at the present time a lot of construction is taking place,extra rooms are being added,solar water heating,a new waterhole outside the lodge,new staff quarters and much more landscaping.The plunge pool was a bit neglected at the time of our visit,shame,because it was very hot! We feel that the intention is to cater for larger groups in future?

Highlight of our stay was dinner and sundowner combined up in surrounding mountain,lasted until 11.30pm.
(taking a bowl of soup with nothing but a clingfilm cover,although very tasty,was not the best of ideas!!)"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2009
"We really like staying at the Olive Grove,the manager and staff are welcoming and helpful.

Good comfortable room ,excellent facilities.

Very nice evening meal and hearty breakfast.

OK to leave your luggage with reception until time to go to the airport."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Dec 2008 trip

Namibia between 10 Dec 2008 and 31 Dec 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Apart from Villa Verdi ,another good trip

Suggestions for improvements:

We are very happy with the service from Expert Africa for more than 10 years now"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2008
"Although Kate Dunstan is no longer in residence the manager running Eningu was very welcoming and we had a pleasant stay, the only downside, apart from the rain, was the now restricted walks around the lodge due to the neighbouring farmer's hunting consession.

There was nothing to see apart from birds and bushes, shame really."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Intu Afrika - Camelthorn Lodge

"review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2008
"We were the only guests and last before closing this lodge,our room although large was in need of refurbishment. Some of the other smaller units had already been updated and looked more attractive. We had the undivided attention of the staff ,very nice but we were rather overfed!

The game drive was fine ,the 'rehabillitation of the Kalahari Lion' programme was somewhat misleading as the lions have been sterilised and will never be released to fend for themselves, there was also a leopard in a small enclosure. Good boma area."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Dec 2008
"Bright decor everywhere .Good room more akin to motel , good choice of very reasonably priced food if a little like 'Macdonalds'."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2008
"The best feature here now is the new pool area with great views across to the mountains, also there is a fridge full of cold drinks in the small shady section (honesty list for this).

It was particularly hot on this visit and the room has fans which were a godsend at night. Friendly and helpful staff especially for luggage as we were in room 23 ,the furthest from reception."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2008
"This time we had Mountain View as our accommodation, not quite the outlook that Desert Vista had but it did have one advantage, two doors that we could open to the outside and get a airflow through the premises.

Daytime activities limited due to the very hot weather. Good food and friendly staff.P ieter Sweigers always on hand if you wanted to know about activities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

"Hotel Helmeringhausen review"

1 night Arrived 22 Dec 2008
"The room was not particularly bright and cheerful but ok for the one night.No contact with the owners this time although they were around.

The evening meal was fine but we did have to wait over half hour for main course. Staff not in the best of moods next morning, little disappointed with the place on this visit."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

6 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2008
"There is'nt much more we can say about Zebra Lodge, we had room no.9 for our longer stay this year and christmas was a delight, all Mariannes family were over from SA, how she managed the rooms and other guests was remarkable!

Rob has made big improvements to the pool area so that it is now possible eat around a very large table there. We were very happy to welcome the spectackled doormice to no.9 during our stay!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Villa Verdi, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Villa Verde review"

1 night Arrived 29 Dec 2008
"This is the downside of our otherwise great holiday. Tracy had booked a superior room for us what we got was a tatty 'apartment' no 3. On complaining to the disinterested receptionist that our room was nowhere near the standard of that shown in ..the brochure,she initially denied that the one shown was in fact at the Villa Verdi .

The room itself had grubby floors,torn curtains, very old towels, broken kettle probably dangerous, peeling ceiling and walls. Next morning we found that the hot water shower knob would not turn on, we approached the 'manageress 'about this and it was fixed in time for our departure!

I can only compare the standard of this 'apartment' to that of Halali before its revamp but at more expensive price! Not recommended. However the food was good and the outside areas were ok."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Good

trip summary

Namibia between 9 Dec 2007 and 29 Dec 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"First class"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"welcoming reception"

2 nights Arrived 10 Dec 2007
"Excellent accommodation , very good food including vegetarian options,knowledgeable and friendly guides."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2007
"Refurbishment of bush chalets is a vast improvement .

Outside eating area still needs to be improved.

Food in the restaurant variable from poor to reasonable seemingly dependent on number of guests."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2007
"Trips to see desert adapted elephants was first class.

Very warm welcome.

Outside veranda now has canopy which provides welcome shade but perhaps spoils the appearance."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Dec 2007
"First time visit to this lodge and it was a good choice for a one night stay.

Very friendly and helpful staff."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2007
"Welcoming owners and staff although contact was minimal.

Lagoon front position would have been more enjoyable without the continual noise of salt lorries passing the
premises all day long.

Incidently the weather was the pits!"
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Barchan Dune Retreat

"review"

1 night Arrived 20 Dec 2007
"Another good choice for a one night stop.

Very welcoming owners.

Sundowner drive by willem was an enjoyable plus.

WE loved the resident meerkats.

The view from our chalet was brilliant."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2007
"The chalets were well designed and furnished but the views from them somewhat spoilt by the design of the windows
surrounds and as you could not open the lower sections this prevented cool air circulation.

The pool area needs to have a sunshade as it is in full sun all day.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming and this place deserves to be successful, woefully short of guests at the time of our visit.

Recommend the excursion to the dunes be made in the afternoon, better light and less people."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2007
"We have nothing but praise for this lodge and its owners as you might guess from our frequent visits!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 28 Dec 2007
"Pleasant place to adjust to traffic and crowds.

The manager was able to let us keep our room until noon which meant we could do some last minute shopping in Windhoek."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team