This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge


20°28’51.8"S 17°16’45.0"E

Reviews of Waterberg Wild'ss Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

30 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberg Wild'ss Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 30
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K & Mrs S
NL

"Frozen in time"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2017
"This lodge enjoys a wonderful location at the end of a valley at the bottom of a plateau. We liked the rather quaint, sixties (?) style of the place.

Our favorable impression was however certainly influenced by the size of our room and the fact that were few other visitors when we were there. We were given a huge family apartment (room 11) with three bedrooms and a large sitting area.

We highly enjoyed the guided plateau hike, not for the animals (we didn't see any major ones) but because of the unsurpassed views from the plateau.

The self-guided walk along the porcupine highway to the spring feeding the stream on which the lodge finds itself is also highly recommended." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr PC
SE London

"Waterberg was disappointing"

4 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2016
"This was the least successful stay of our trip. We had booked four nights but cancelled the last night.Three nights were more than enough. The set dinners for which there was no choice were frankly poor - too much stooge, awful soups and so-called salads, and indistinguishable meats.

The staff were friendly but not well-trained. The guides up to the Waterberg Plateau were pleasant but not terribly knowledgeable about the bird life.

On the positive side the settings the lodge is very attractive with lush fields and pastures and more comfortable temperatures." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Lived up to its name!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2016
"Unusually for most of Namibia we experienced torrential rain at Waterberg every night - at least the day time was dry but we were glad to have a 4x4 when departing after the rains.

The setting and facilities are unusual and pleasing with a nice walking trail up the valley and back. An otherwise excellent Lodge was let down by lack of hot water in the morning - which as conditions were quite cool was not good. There was supposed to be a wood heated boiler providing hot water but for some reason - possibly the heavy rain at night - it didn't get lit in time while we were there.

This caused us to mark this down to "Good"." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 10n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Quiet stay at waterberg"

2 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2014
"Long drive here from Naankuse so it was nice to relax here especially as the weather has been so hot so far and here its seems slightly cooler.

Few guests staying here so the general service was good and the food options although limited were OK.

Still the strange arrangement with the 500r returnable deposit, why? nobody checks anything!
Shop still has very little stock.

Animals seen around our chalet were mainly baboons, banded mongoose and dik-dik.
We enjoyed our quiet stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr d
Kilburn

"waterburg for rhinos"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2014
"A very nice lodge with good food and well appointed, but the highlight was being taken to see white rhinos. the guides were superb" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Mr D
South

"Waterberg Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 Nov 2011
"Expert Africa suggested this lodge to us as a place to stay on a final night. The lodge has so much to offer that we were sorry we weren't staying for several nights! Our room was large, spacious and comfortable. Service was efficient, particularly check in/out.

The resorts offers a large number of excursions and activities. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to take advantage of any, but I'd definitely consider returning here as there was a lot to do." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The W Group
Berkshire

"Waterberg Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2011
"Have visited previously in the wet season. This time, the flowering jacaranda made it look really beautiful.

Principally a destination for wonderful walks and scenery. The evening game drive gives intimate on foot viewing of their 2 rhino which had grown considerably since our last trip!

Not luxurious but a stunning setting. Bush babies on the roof." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 9n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Drs
Brisbane

"Bush Babies at Waterberg"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2011
"The location of the lodge is superb with pretty gardens and stunning views. We were very lucky to be given a large room with an upstairs viewing area which provided us with unforgettable views of bush babies coming out to hunt at dusk. We also had regular visits from dik dik. Klipspringer, porcupines, mongooses and baboons were nearby too. We enjoyed a pleasant nature drive, and we also went on a guided walk to the top of the plateau which was worth it for the views. We spent the rest of our time at Waterberg walking on our own in search of birds and other wildlife, and were well rewarded. There are marked paths, but we did tend to lose sight of the markings occasionally.

The lodge is well run by Lucas and Angelika. Everything was spotlessly clean and well kept, and we were well looked after.

We would recommend this lodge to walkers and anyone interested in wildlife - particularly birds, and geology. The scenery is stunning, so it is good for landscape photography too. Stay at least two nights." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Nick & Bev
UK

"Waterberg Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2011
"Access road was in poor condition due to all the recent rains so a SUV type vehicle was the minimum requirement. A regular saloon would not have made it!

Guided hike on the plateau well worth doing for the spectacular scenery. Some of the walking trails were not accessible as they were overgrown after all the rain." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Family R
Brighton

"Wonderful walks at Waterburg Wilderness Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2010
"Lovely accommodation, good food, friendly staff.

One of the highlights of our trip to Namibia was when we went for an early morning walk up to the top of the Waterberg Plateau. Andreas, our guide, told us loads of interesting things about the plants, trees and animals that we passed. When we got to the top he handed out fruit and water and then gave us plenty of time to just sit quietly and take in the amazing view and the sounds and the silence. It was magical.

In the afternoon we went on a game drive. Our guide, Helmut, was very informative and quite amusing. During the drive we picked up a tracker called Nelson who showed us where some white rhino were grazing. We were able to get really close to them!

Waterburg Wilderness Lodge has some walks marked out that you can do unguided and I would have liked to have stayed longer to make the most of these. This would be a good place to go before driving around Etosha because you can learn a lot about different animals from the guides, before going off to find them on your own." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 30
81%
30 reviews of Waterberg Wild'ss Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
9
5
2
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Waterberg Plateau National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

Within the Waterberg Plateau National Park, the newly refurbished government-run Waterberg Camp offers a great location for hiking and birdwatching.


75% (62 reviews)
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Although outside the Waterberg Plateau National Park, Waterberg Plateau Lodge has perhaps the most spectacular views of the lodges in this area.


82% (11 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa