This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Drs from Brisbane

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

Perfect Trip to Namibia

Namibia between 1 Jul 2011 and 16 Jul 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our fourth trip to Africa arranged by Expert Africa, and our third to Namibia.

We feel that Expert Africa operate to very high standards, which is why we wanted them to arrange this trip even though we have now moved from the UK to Australia. Thankfully there is now an office in New Zealand, and Maruska (and Saskia) did an excellent job of arranging our trip. Maruska was very knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, efficient and responsive. All our arrangements were perfect, and the documentation was faultless.

As for Namibia, our trips just seem to get better and better. The trip was perfect. We even received a free upgrade to our hire car, and in several places we were allocated what seemed to be the best rooms with amazing views (Erongo, Ongava, Waterberg). We visited some new areas which we particularly liked (Erongo and Waterberg), but we also visited places where we had enjoyed staying on previous occasions (Ongava and Kulala) and found that they were even better than we remembered! The management and staff at Kulala Desert Lodge provided my husband with a 50th birthday to remember.

All of our accommodation was attractive, well run, clean, comfortable and well maintained at the very least. We felt welcome everywhere, and everyone was polite and helpful. We experienced no problems or difficulties anywhere.

The driving was straightforward, and we found that staff at filling stations, shops, cafes, national park entrances etc were generally polite, friendly and helpful.

The scenery was beautiful, and the wildlife (our main reason for the trip) was wonderful. We had some excellent sightings, and wonderful experiences. We managed to do more walking on this trip than on previous occasions. This had the double benefit of being very welcome after a long car journey, and it helped us to work off all the delicious meals!

We hope to be able to return to Namibia.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Nothing that I can think of. Keep up the good work."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Relaxation at Eningu"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2011
"Eningu was a delightful place to spend our first night following a long journey from Australia. This is probably one of the most attractive places in which we have stayed in Namibia. The surroundings were beautiful, relaxing and peaceful. The rooms were attractive, and the beds were comfortable and cosy. We were surprised by the amount of wildlife at Eningu - porcupine, eland, mongooses and lots of birds. Our evening meal was delicious - imaginative, well prepared and of excellent quality.

Eningu is presently undergoing some renovations following flood damage earlier this year. The owner apologised profusely for any inconvenience, but there was really no need since we barely noticed any disturbance.

We would recommend this lodge to anyone wishing a relaxing day or two on arrival in Namibia, or before departure from Windhoek Airport."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Fiftieth Birthday to Remember at Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2011
"We stayed at Kulala Desert Lodge a few years ago, and decided that we would like to return there to celebrate a 50th birthday. It was certainly a good choice. The management and staff were all wonderful. Everyone was so friendly, helpful and competent. We had comfortable accommodation with lovely views, good excursions, and excellent food and service.

To celebrate the birthday, we enjoyed a sunrise trip into Sossusvlei and lovely afternoon nature drive with a "sundowner". The highlight of the holiday happened that evening when the lodge staff surprised us by bringing in a birthday cake during dinner. The staff sang a beautiful rendition of "happy birthday" and started dancing. The performance was wonderful, and we were very touched by the very kind and thoughtful gesture. The singing and dancing continued as guests joined in. It was a wonderful surprise, and a very memorable day.

Excursions from Kulala Desert Lodge
We had an enjoyable excursion into Sossusvlei. The scenery is beautiful. We have done this trip before, however on this occasion we experienced the delightful view of water in the vlei and increased vegetation and wildlife. On our previous trips it has been completely dry. The walk to Dead Vlei is worthwhile for the amazing scenery.

On our last visit the lodge used an open sided vehicle. The vehicles have been replaced by glass sided vehicles. This is good from the perspective of keeping the biting cold and wind out during the early morning, but it does rattle a bit!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Excellent food and wine Sam's Giardino"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2011
"We have stayed at Sam's twice before, so we knew what to expect and were not disappointed. The guesthouse is in a quiet street, but still well placed for walking to the shops and exploring Swakopmund on foot.

We had a nice ,sunny room overlooking the pretty garden. The room was very clean and comfortable with an excellent shower - just the thing after a dusty drive over the desert from Sesriem! We were only there for one night, and we arranged for a wine tasting and evening meal. The evening meal was one of the finest meals we have ever eaten. The quality was excellent.

We would recommend Sam's Giardino to anyone who wishes to stay in Swakopmund."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Paradise!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2011
"The scenery at Erongo is spectacular. We had amazing views from our room (no 10). The tent was warm and comfortable, and we loved the bathroom built into the rock at the rear. The guided walks were very enjoyable, and the guide was superb.

We would recommend this lodge to anyone who loves peace and quiet (except for birds, baboons and dassies!), beautiful scenery, walking, geology and interesting wildlife - but stay at least two nights. It is in a convenient location for slotting into self drive holidays, and it has so much to offer. You will not usually spot any "big game" at Erongo, but it is a wonderful place to find some of the smaller creatures such as rock agamas, baboons, klipspringer, dassies, porcupine and dik dik as well as a very wide variety of birds. It is peaceful and very picturesque. We were captivated by the variety of birds and animals visible from the restaurant.

The restaurant area was very pleasant and comfortable with a lovely fire, nice friendly atmosphere, great staff and wonderful food. The breakfasts are amazing and highly recommended - it is just as well that we had to move on after three days!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Great wildlife spotting and luxury at Ongava!"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2011
"We have stayed at Ongava on two previous occasions, and wanted to return as we have always had excellent guiding and wildlife sightings here. Unfortunately we could only squeeze in one night, but the wonderful staff and management made sure that we were able to make the best of our time there. We were allocated room 1 which has a fantastic view of the waterhole. We saw an amazing amount and variety of wildlife just from our deck and bathroom. The rooms have been refurbished since our last visit. They are very luxurious, well appointed, attractive and comfortable with an amazing bathroom.

The view from the lodge restaurant across the reserve is one of our favourite views. It is even better now that the balcony area has been extended. The reserve is an excellent place to view wildlife, and we had good sightings and excellent guiding from Teacher. We also had an enjoyable and worthwhile trip into Etosha, again accompanied by Teacher.

We would recommend this lodge to anyone who is interested in wildlife, but who also would like a bit of five star comfort in the bush. We have always found the sightings here to be very good, and the guides are excellent. It is a good location for photography. Stay two nights if you can."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Pleasantly surprised by Okaukuejo!"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2011
"We spent two nights at Okaukuejo as we wanted to stay in Etosha, and also wanted to be able to view the Okaukuejo waterhole at night. We last stayed there in 2005 when we found the rooms to be perfectly adequate, but a little basic and tired. We were very pleasantly surprised and impressed by the refurbishments. Our room (a bush chalet) was great.

The renovation and upgrading has turned the camp into a very pleasant and enjoyable place to stay. Okaukuejo is a fairly busy camp, but it has a "buzz" and good atmosphere. The waterhole is recommended, particularly at sundown.

We found the camp to be well run. The staff were pleasant and efficient, and the check in and check out were both quick and painless.

In particular we would recommend the restaurant. We found it to be much better than Halali and Namutoni. The Okaukuejo Restuarant was a pleasure to eat in. It was busy, but the atmosphere was good and the staff were polite and efficient. It is very well run and serves a variety of well prepared and appetising food in a well organised buffet style. The executive chef was a very pleasant gentleman who was always on hand welcoming guests and asking for feedback on the food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Pretty location, Great staff"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2011
"We stayed in Namutoni for one night in a bush chalet to allow us to explore the Eastern end of Etosha. We had not stayed here before. Our room was beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. We had numerous banded mongooses outside our room, which was lovely. However, the best thing about the accommodation was that it had one of the most impressive shower and bathing facilities we have seen anywhere (we were definitely a bit dusty by this point in our trip)!

On this occasion we found the food at Namutoni was not the best, but it was certainly adequate. However, the camp had a relaxed, pleasant atmosphere and very pretty, peaceful surroundings. We felt that the shops were much better stocked that those in Halali and Okaukuejo, but perhaps this was because the camp seemed so much quieter. Without exception, all of the staff we met at Namutoni were friendly, polite, and helpful - this applied equally to the bar, restaurant, shops, reception, porters, and even the man at the petrol station!

We left with a very good impression."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Bush Babies at Waterberg"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2011
"The location of the lodge is superb with pretty gardens and stunning views. We were very lucky to be given a large room with an upstairs viewing area which provided us with unforgettable views of bush babies coming out to hunt at dusk. We also had regular visits from dik dik. Klipspringer, porcupines, mongooses and baboons were nearby too. We enjoyed a pleasant nature drive, and we also went on a guided walk to the top of the plateau which was worth it for the views. We spent the rest of our time at Waterberg walking on our own in search of birds and other wildlife, and were well rewarded. There are marked paths, but we did tend to lose sight of the markings occasionally.

The lodge is well run by Lucas and Angelika. Everything was spotlessly clean and well kept, and we were well looked after.

We would recommend this lodge to walkers and anyone interested in wildlife - particularly birds, and geology. The scenery is stunning, so it is good for landscape photography too. Stay at least two nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"Excellent Service at River Crossing"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2011
"We had an early flight out of WIndhoek Airport, so we chose to stay overnight at River Crossing due to its proximity to the airport. We were only there for a short time, but we were impressed by every aspect of the lodge. It is set on high ground with commanding views over Windhoek and was a very pleasant and enjoyable place to spend our last night in Namibia. We saw a beautiful sunset, moon rise and sunrise, as well as a great view of the stars from our bathroom window. The public areas were very attractive and comfortable, and the food and facilities were excellent.

The best feature here is the staff. Everyone was incredibly helpful and friendly, and we were made to feel very welcome. There was a happy, warm, friendly atmosphere - particulary in the restaurant.

We would recommend River Crossing as a first or last night stop due to its proximity to the airport, however we do not think that it should be limited to this since it is a very attractive, comfortable and well run establishment. It is close to the city, so it could easily form a base for exploring Windhoek."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Best trip ever!

Botswana and 1 other country between 24 May 2008 and 8 Jun 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Best holiday ever - it was all perfect. We feel very lucky to have been able to experience this trip."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

"Beautiful Location"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2008
"Fantastic location - beautiful room overlooking Zambezi. Loved the rope bridges and mastered them very quickly! Very relaxing and picturesque with the opportunity to do a variety of activities - something for everyone. Excellent food and service. Fantastic sunrises over the river. Great for birds and hippo.

Management were pleasant, friendly and competent. We were persuaded to take helicopter trip over Victoria Falls - I'm glad we did as it was very enjoyable and we would probably have regretted it if we hadn't.

The walk with village elder to the local villages was worthwhile, interesting and rewarding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

"Extremely picturesque - Lovely atmosphere"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2008
"Wonderful camp. Very picturesque and comfortable. Lovely atmosphere generated by friendly and enthusiastic management.

Wonderful food - I wanted to take one of the cooks home with me. Mokoro trip was a nice change from land rovers!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Best camp in the Delta"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2008
"Lovely camp, very comfortable and picturesque. Our favourite camp in the Delta. Best game viewing of the trip.

Gavin was a fantastic guide - we really appreciated such a wonderful, all round knowledgeable and competent guide, particularly as some of my interest lie in the smaller mammals and birds as well as the "big game".

We had some fantastic sightings, and got great photos thanks to Gavin who managed to get us into good positions with respect to the light.

Management in Camp (Sarah, Tendani, Oda (sp?) were lovely and extremely friendly and there was a wonderful relaxed friendly atmosphere. We were very sad to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Great game viewing, lovely guide"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2008
"Good guiding from OT, good variety of game viewing.

Quieter camp than Xigera and Little Vumbura.

Very comfortable, particularly good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
San Camp

San Camp

"Most amazing place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2008
"The most amazing place to stay - we loved it here and have wonderful memories.

Beautiful, relaxing, idyllic and very, very comfortable. Despite being the most basic place we stayed during out entire trip - we felt very pampered indeed!

Best camp staff of our trip - they were all so lovely and went to such efforts to ensure that everything went well. Cook (Sylvia) was amazing, preparing the most wonderful food. Everyone worked so hard to make our stay memorable, and we really appreciated all their efforts.

Wonderful guide (Chaba) ensured that we got the most out of our time there - unexpected sightings of ardwolf and caracal. were a bonus.

You need three nights here (at least!). Would recommend it at the end of a trip to the Delta to unwind."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team