This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Nick & Bev from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Namibia - after the rains!

Namibia between 1 May 2011 and 14 May 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fantastic time in Namibia and would reccommend it to anyone.

One reason for visiting in May was that after the wet season there would be a greener landscape and less dust in the air ... well that was certainly true! The rains had delivered 2-3 times the average amount and everywhere was very lush, making the scenery spectacular.

With so much water around there were no concentrations of game at the waterholes but we still saw plenty of wildlife in most places.

The rains meant that some smaller roads were washed away or in poor condition so some journeys took longer than expected.
A SUV class vehicle was absolutely vital - a normal saloon car would not have made it on some of the gravel roads. Anyone going at this time of year should book a SUV or 4x4. Having said that, the main tarred roads were actually in much better condition than expected.

Thanks to Angela for all the work and advice on our itinerary, everything went very smoothly. The only hint of regret is that after all the rain we didn't see the "real" Namibia ... ah well, maybe next time!"

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 1 May 2011
"Well located in Windhoek, ideal as a first and last night stop for two weary travellers! Very good food and service."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Waterberg Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2011
"Access road was in poor condition due to all the recent rains so a SUV type vehicle was the minimum requirement. A regular saloon would not have made it!

Guided hike on the plateau well worth doing for the spectacular scenery. Some of the walking trails were not accessible as they were overgrown after all the rain."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2011
"Everything here was very good indeed. We loved the "bush-tents" which are well spaced out around the grounds for privacy.
The food and service was excellent - only let down by luke warm coffee at breakfast!

Excellent location for access to Etosha.

My only concern here would be that this lodge makes a point of being "child friendly" so visitors should expect more of a family atmosphere rather than peace and quiet. This wasn't a problem for us but anyone wanting total relaxation should be aware."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2011
"This lodge doesn't really measure up to the high standard of the others we stayed at, but there is nothing specifically wrong with it. The waterhole chalet was fine and everything looked clean and tidy.

It has more of a "Butlins holiday camp" atmosphere - mainly due to its size, the buffet style restaurant and noisy swimming pool area.
The food was decent enough but the restaurant needs to invest in some mosquito coils and "zappers", this was the only place we were bothered by insects.

Around the camp many of the side roads were closed so access to waterholes was restricted. There was also far less wildlife around at this end of the park compared to the eastern end around Namutoni.

With hindsight one night here would have been enough, gving more time in Damaraland."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2011
"This was our favourite place on the trip. Everything was first class from start to finish and we were looked after very well indeed, including a special birthday treat!

The tented bungalows are lovely and the views terrific.

All the staff were friendly and attentive and the food and wine excellent.

Bird feeding time at breakfast is spectacular, and being able to watch Small-spotted Genet and Porcupine over dinner is a real thrill!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2011
"Convenient and quiet location in Swakopmund. We had only booked B&B but the evening meals were superb quality and value, so we didn't bother eating out in Swakopmund. Sam is a very genial host."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2011
"Very comfortable and welcoming after a long drive. Ideal location from which to get back to the airport on the last day."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team