This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr PC from SE London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Feb 2019 trip

Tanzania between 25 Feb 2019 and 12 Mar 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were very pleased with the whole trip and all your helpful advice."

Arranged By Claire Scott


The Slipway

The Slipway

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 26 Feb 2019
"This was a good choice for a stopover to recover from the travelling from LHR.

Very warm welcome from the staff and a relaxed dinner at the Terrace restaurant"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2019
"A really super Safari camp with the right mixture of wild life drives, boat trips and walks. Michelle and her team were very attentive and dined with us guests every night.

Our guides, Joel and John were really knowledgeable about all the flora and fauna, and we became great friends. Our excursion to the hot springs was fun and Joel videoed us with my iPad in the pools, much to our embarrassment when we showed it to our friends and family.

Bernie the chef produced really delicious meals washed down by good South African wines.

Only one suggestion. As the weather was very much hot (40 Celsius) and humid, it would better to dine under the fans rather by the pool which we did a couple of times."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ikuka

Ikuka

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2019
"Mark and his team were very good and extremely friendly.

The food was plentiful but a bit stodgy.

We were disappointed that there were no walking safaris because of the onset of the wet season.

Our guide, Festo, was most knowledgeable and with help we spotted 70 different species of birds.

A really great location"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Ras Kutani review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2019
"Giulia and Simon were lovely hosts as were all the chaps working around the lodge. It is a great place to unwind after the full-on days while on safari.

Did the Lagoon walk both ways by way of exercise in addition to beach walks and pool and ocean swimming.

The food was fine with varying menus (Indian, Greek, Italian and Barbecue).

Having enjoyed dining communally at the safari camps, we’d have been happy to dine with other guests but unfortunately the other guests did not seem keen on being more sociable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Feb 2016 trip

Namibia between 18 Feb 2016 and 10 Mar 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"A very good trip to Southern Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

See feedback but otherwise nothing further to add apart from thank you for arranging a most enjoyable holiday"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 19 Feb 2016
"Very adequate for an overnight stay after our long haul flights"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo lodge"

3 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2016
"This was the best lodge we stayed in. The manager and staff were very helpful and friendly. The trekking and guided walks were good with knowledgeable guides.

One caveat: beware the glasses of wine they serve; they are extremely liberal and oil large glasses to the brim.l"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2016
"This was the most remote location we stayed in. We were picked up at Palmwag Lodge by the guide Bonnie in a 4WD for what turned out to be an 18km game drive to the camp.This is a tented lodge with bucket showers but the tents are very well appointed,

It is all-inclusive with food served buffet-style and was good. The owner who opened the camp over 25 years ago was around at meal times but did not conduct any guiding when we were there. However he was very informative about the area and with his telescope showed us the fabulous night sky.

We had two fine game and nature drives with Bonnie who was a font of knowledge re flora and fauns."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2016
"This lodge is on the edge of desert area and the accommodation and food was fine.

The game drive with Daffy (or Taffy or Tuffy) was brilliant as he quickly tracked the desert-adapted elephants which we were able to approach very closely and seemed unfazed by our proximity, especially the the young calves."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Waterberg was disappointing"

4 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2016
"This was the least successful stay of our trip. We had booked four nights but cancelled the last night.Three nights were more than enough. The set dinners for which there was no choice were frankly poor - too much stooge, awful soups and so-called salads, and indistinguishable meats.

The staff were friendly but not well-trained. The guides up to the Waterberg Plateau were pleasant but not terribly knowledgeable about the bird life.

On the positive side the settings the lodge is very attractive with lush fields and pastures and more comfortable temperatures."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team