This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Waterberg Plateau Lodge
Waterberg Plateau Lodge
Waterberg Plateau Lodge
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge


20°29’1.6"S 17°17’57.4"E

Reviews of Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberg Plateau Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S & Mr E
NSW

"Another fantastic location!"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2017
"Being up on the plateau with views over the vast plains below was stunning. Within the choices to stay at Waterberg, the campsite or the valley lodge, the plateau lodge costs more but offers a big treat. The view is stunning, the little individual plunge pool is a delight and the rock hyrax families that inhabit the boulders are cute, photogenic and posers.

Our rhino drive was fantastic... we never suspected that we could be safely on foot so close to wild rhinos.

We joined the morning hike to the top of the plateau and learned lots about the Herero people from our guide, Wesley. Thank you Wesley." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M & G
UK

"Waterberg Plateau Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2013
"We got a bit lost finding the correct Lodge, no maps seem to be standardised. Although called Plateau, it isn't on the top as we had imagined, but rather a terrace half way up. Spectacular scenery of red cliffs though. Once we negotiated the very steep drive up we were in a cul de sac. No trails were available to walk.

The view was amazing from our chalets, right across the Kalahari. The plunge pool was a nice idea and ideal in hot summer but in mid-winter it was rather a hazard in the dark! Huge bathroom and pretty circular bedroom, a hot drinks tray with a flask but no kettle! Amazingly the staff kept the washing water hot by stoking individual log burners behind our rooms. Thanks very much for that! At night the dining-room staff gave us a hot-water bottle to take to bed. These would not pass health & safety in UK as they were just made of small plastic drinking water bottles in a velvet cover! Needs must!

The room inventory we were given to sign on arrival was a bit unwelcoming. We weren't told of any activities other than the one we had just missed by 5 minutes on arriving. As they knew 4 of us were coming and there were only 6 chalets of people staying it seemed rather churlish.

The staff were struggling to be friendly here, no-one seemed to be in charge. Maybe the owners were away? The dining room had limited rations at breakfast. We had to ask for fruit juice and the bread tasted of paraffin and was a bit stale. No toaster to help freshen it up. However it was out of season, we have to remember where we are and be grateful for food and hot water!

When I bring more friends we will stay in the lower, bigger, Waterberg Wilderness Lodge. From there you can walk the nature trails and birdwatch to your hearts content! The ambience was a little disappointing for our final night, although the views were stunning." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr B & Mrs C
Hants.

"Stunning scenery, great location at Waterberg"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"After a long drive down from Etosha National Park on excellent tarred roads, the last leg on the D2512 was awful. As soon as you turn on to it from the C22 you pass a 100kph speed sign so you think this dirt road is in good condition. It isn't. We soon hit ridges which, no doubt, were caused by water damage from rains earlier in the year. There was also a lot of soft sand on the road which impaired steering so our speed was down to just 40kph for much of the way.

The direction signs to Waterberg Plateau Lodge were not particularly clear and we ended up heading down the long driveway to Waterberg Wilderness reception, despite the lady gatekeeper at the entrance saying that we were heading the right way! We had to return to the D2512 road and carry on for another 8kms (passing through another gate en route) where the Plateau Lodge was signposted along an even more challenging dirt track! Having made it to reception we were welcomed with an orange juice and told to continue in first gear further up the track where staff would be waiting to show us our room.

The climb up was unbelievably steep yet our hatchback managed it fully loaded. Goodness knows how because you don't realise how steep this track really is until you go back down! At the top we were met by one of the restaurant staff who guided us to our chalet. Although it was 5 o'clock, we were invited back to the restaurant for coffee and cake which is usually served at half past three. It was thoughtfully left out for us so that we didn't miss out!

Our chalet was one of eight positioned amongst the trees in a secluded location and with a tremendous view. There was a small patio with deck chairs and a plunge pool. The chalet itself was very spacious with an enormous bathroom (much of it taken up with the shower area) however our hairdryer would not fit the adaptor socket provided so we had to borrow one. Tea and coffee was provided but the hot water was supplied by the restaurant in a flask. There was no fridge. We found that the chalet was poorly lit, the roof being very high and the small spotlights being insufficient (although there were table lamps). The area off to the side leading to the bathroom was not lit at all.

Meals were taken in the large, circular restaurant which was nicely laid out. Dinner was served at 7.30 with candle-lit tables already set for the number of guests staying. The cold starter course had already been placed on the tables to welcome guests as they arrived. We were invited to help ourselves from the salad bar before the main course was served. On our first night this was spiced beef patties with sultanas accompanied by cauliflower, broccoli and rice. I found the meal quite tastey but my wife didn't enjoy it. The dessert was a rather too sweet orange custard slice. We were disappointed that coffee was not offered at the end of the meal.

On our second night the meal was very good. Rolled beef with ham accompanied with runner beans and peppered mash. Dessert was a delicious home made dark chocolate mousse. Mindful of the lack of coffee we asked for a flask of hot water and a small jug of milk to take back to our chalet, which was not a problem. We wished we had thought of that before!

Breakfasts were the usual help-yourself selections, with hot food cooked to order which was very good. There was no toaster and the bread was a little disappointing, being of a cake-like consistency which disintregrated when trying to spread fridge cold butter on it!

There are a number of activities on offer at Waterberg including self-guided hiking trails but after several days spent driving through the incredible Etosha National Park it was great to be able to just chill out and relax for a while and simply enjoy the peace and tranquility. One of the restaurant staff noticed we were not going anywhere and thoughtfully brought us a fresh flask of hot water at coffee time! However, we were not going to miss out on the afternoon's safari drive and that was time well spent. Being taken to see the Lodge's two resident white rhinos at close quarters (we were allowed off the land rover!) was well worth the very reasonable cost alone.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Waterberg is ideally situated in a stunning location and breaks up the long drive from Windhoek to Etosha. There is much to do here and although we chose to do very little we would come back to appreciate what is on offer more fully." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Family Adventure
UK

"Waterberg Plateau Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"The Plateau Lodge was just finishing a new restaurant, which will be stunning. It is perched up on the rocks with views across the plain. It means that people staying there would no longer need to go to the main Wilderness Lodge to eat, but it would be a pity to miss out on going to see the main lodge as the setting is stunning and the short walks around the head of the valley are lovely.

We were dissapointed that the access to the plateau was no better than from the government's resort camp. we would like to find a way to go camping across the plateau for a few nights without having to take a whole lot of gear out with us." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 7n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Waterberg Plateau Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2009
"As our first visit to a refubished NWR it was a pleasant surprise,the bush chalet (4 bed) was indeed very spacious and comfortable.If you are not fond of baboons perhaps this is not the place for you,they do wander about the lodge area but there is plenty of warnings about keeping doors etc closed.

A great place for birders,other animals included families of banded mongoose.The restaurant and choice of food was fine,staff atttentive and curteous.Would have stayed another day.Did not go on any organised drives." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The Pririt Batis
Kent

"Waterberg Plateau Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2008
"This was the least satisfactory place we stayed.

The Plateau Lodge is in a glorious situation, but you are very much on your own. There are limited facilities on the Plateau, and no staff or managers around to answer questions or solve problems. Our sense of being ignored was accentuated by being told that all we needed to know was set out in the Waterberg Wilderness Lodge booklet, which was available only in German and which even the helpful receptionist could not read. Our Game Drive was also in German.

We were irritated to find that the cost of the afternoon game drive had gone up by 40% from the price quoted on their website for late 2008. [In contrast, we did not find any other lodge charging different prices for extra meals or extra activities from those shown on its website.]

We were reasonably happy there because it gave us our first encounter with the landscape and with wildlife - but I would not stay there again, and would not recommend a friend to do so." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Family H
Surrey

"Waterberg Plateau Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2008
"Very remote location particuarly for anybody arriving in darkness as we did!

Dinner excellent but breakfast only average with the staff being somewhat brusque." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr P & Mrs A
Chipping

"Excellent game drive."

1 night Arrived 2 May 2008
"We stayed only one night but enjoyed the game drive in particular. Our host went to great lenghths to find the rhino - successfully. The room had spectacular views." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Cheetahs
Shropshire

"Unexpected Rally Driving in a great location."

2 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2008
"The Waterberg Plateau is a fantastic location and we enjoyed our limited hikes here a lot. That said, the drive in was a a bit of an ordeal because the rains had affected the track/road quite badly in patches and we only had two wheel drive. The drive to the Plateau Lodge was even steeper but mercifully more stable.

The Lodge was in a great location but the overall feel was one of functionality over atention to detail. It was a long drive down to breakfast, which gave the impression that this set up was for the convenience of the management rather than the guests. After all, if evening meal can be served at the Plateau Lodge, why not breakfast?

The main lodge gives the somewhat offputting impression [to us] of being a bit of a colonial outpost - with large numbers of black staff in green fatiques at the beck and call of the white management. Felt a bit like stepping back 50 years. I was not too impressed by the photos of relatives posing with shot leopards displayed adjacent to the breakfast table. It kind of reinforced the above feel." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"Waterberg Plateau Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2007
"The new Plateau Lodge chalets were really nice. Huge showers in the bathroom. The small private plunge pool on your own patio was a good feature - a lovely way to have a quick cool-down on a hot day.

The lodge catered very strongly to Germans. The books provided in each chalet were in German. The staff spoke mostly German. It was such that we decided not to participate in the morning guided walk but did our own walk to the fountain. However the lodge provided a guide to show us the way and he ended up taking us up to the Plateau so it worked out well for us.

The main complaint we had was on the afternoon game drive. The guide (I think it was the owner but he didn't introdice himself) did almost the whole 3 hour trip only in German, despite the fact that we requested an English translation of his commentary.

We did not feel welcome there. I would not recommend it." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 11
82%
11 reviews of Waterberg Plateau Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
4
4
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Waterberg Plateau National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

Within the Waterberg Plateau National Park, the newly refurbished government-run Waterberg Camp offers a great location for hiking and birdwatching.


75% (62 reviews)
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wild'ss Lodge

Holiday in Namibia's Waterberg Plateau National Park whilst based at the Waterberg Wilderness Lodge.


81% (30 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa