This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr P & Mrs A from Chipping

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Overall, a lovely holiday.

Seychelles between 8 Apr 2011 and 18 Apr 2011

Trip rating: Good
"The above rating would have been Very Satisfactory had it not been for the poor performance of Air Seychelles. Expert Africa (Lucy) was very helpful and efficient and the organisation of our trip was excellent.

I would not, however, recommend the Hotel l'Ocean. For your information, one of the other tour operators from whom we also secured a quote and with whom we had some discussion, did not recommend this hotel and suggested as alternatives Patatran Village and Le Domaine which were only marginally more expensive.

The advice on the choice of Islands and the duration of stay on each one was excellent."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Hotel L'Archipel

Hotel L'Archipel

"Trip to Praslin very enjoyable"

3 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2011
"Hotel l'Archipel was lovely with excellent food, service and ambience. The dinners on the beach were a particular "high spot!"

The visit to Val de Mai was extremely good value although the girl who was at the ticket desk was very surly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Hotel L'Ocean, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"Hotel l'Ocean was disappointing."

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2011
"The hotel room was acceptable although the sea view which we had requested was marred by the roof of the main building in front of our room. Other rooms did not have this problem.

The food was only fair and the staff were very mixed in terms of attitude and efficiency."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Image alt

Anse Soleil Beachcomber, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"Anse Soleil Beachcomber review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2011
"Alison, the owner was charming and very helpful. She arranged for a large tree in front of our room to be severely "pruned" so that we had the sea view which we had asked for!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

We had a wonderful holiday.

Namibia between 21 Apr 2008 and 3 May 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Apart from the problem with Europcar, our trip was truly memorable. We have travelled extensively and Namibia currently holds the number one spot.

The overall level of service was excellent as was the organisation."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

"Convenient location for one night."

1 night Arrived 21 Apr 2008
"Overall, the hotel was good but we felt that the staff were not particularly friendly. They did what was necessary but no more.

We had dinner at Joe's Beer House. The meal was good but the service was very slow."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Lovely location plus warm hospitality."

3 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2008
"Marianne was very hospitable and helpful and we enjoyed her company. We were sorry that Rob was away.
The room was lovely. We very much enjoyed our stay.

However, a little more information on the local walking trails (maps etc.) would have been an advantage although the maps which she gave to us for our onward journeys were helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Excellent sunset ride."

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2008
"Very convenient for Sossusvlei. Enjoyed the sunset horseback ride very much. Friendly and helpful staff."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"An excellent hotel."

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2008
"We enjoyed our one night stay at the Stiltz very much. The room was very well appointed with a lovely view of the sea.

We had dinner at The Tug. The meal and service were excellent"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"The desert elephants were the highlight!"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2008
"An excellent lodge with very friendly and helpful staff (they changed my wheel and repaired a puncture at no charge!) Our room was lovely and we enjoyed one night sleeping under the stars on our private veranda. "Peaceful Sleep" was very useful!

The highlight, however, was the game drive which culminated with very good sitings of a herd of around 35 desert elephants."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"The highlight of our holiday!"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2008
"Okonjima exceeded our expectations. In all respects, our visit was remarkable.

The lodge itself, the activities (especially tracking the leopards and cheetha with an excellent guide),the staff, the food and facilities generally all combined to make Okonjima truly memorable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

"Excellent game drive."

1 night Arrived 2 May 2008
"We stayed only one night but enjoyed the game drive in particular. Our host went to great lenghths to find the rhino - successfully. The room had spectacular views."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team